User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 3447 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. gpf
    Nov 4, 2011
    1
    i don't know how 2000 users can find portal a good game. it' innovative, but completely without any motivation. As an arcade game for free or $2,50 it would be nice. as a full blown game it's just crap.
  2. Jan 28, 2013
    1
    This game is tied for my least favorite valve game. The game is puny, puzzles are just finding the right place to aim a blue portal then making a orange one and hopping through it. The levels that aren't like that are just making portals to send random balls of energy through and the last mission witch is just running from glados. The "humor" is forced, stupid, a chuckle at best, Portal 2 is worth it, this is not. Its $10.00. And its 1 hour of gameplay with the slightest replay value. The graphics are mediocre, but only because the game is puny. The levels are small, too, with about 2 colors. Expand
  3. Mar 15, 2011
    4
    first of all i was looking forward to play portal but at the end i got dissapointed the game is about 2 hours long if you know what to do if you dont it will take you a few hours more but your characters you dont knwo who she is you dont know why you are there what is going on it doesnt have a story is just solve a an easy puzzle go to next chamber and there are a total i think of 19 chambers.there are only two guns in the whole game the humor isnt that great i laugh of how pathetic it was but serioulsy valve needs to put some good story in their games Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2012
    3
    I want my $10 back because 3 hours of my time is worth more than $10. This game like the majority of Valve games minus Half-life was originally developed then bought out by Valve. It is a first person puzzle game with the gravity gun from Half-life 2 becoming a portal gun. Overall, this game started out as a senior college project, a capstone project more accurately and it shows. Once you beat it, you have beaten it 1000 times. Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2012
    3
    The game involves navigating test chamber after test chamber. Each is slightly different, but about half way through the game it becomes far too repetitive. The end of the game opens up a fair bit, but it becomes far too difficult to know what you can attach portals to and what you can't.
  6. Feb 29, 2012
    3
    For me, the best part of this game came at the very end. There was a lot of fun dialogue and interesting little moments in my Portal experience, but in general, I think that this game is highly overrated. I found that a lot of the puzzles themselves were more frustrating than interesting; easy to solve, with most of the difficulty coming from physically moving things around. I'll also add that Portal is a very short game; it didn't take very long at all to complete, although I suppose that I didn't really mind that aspect of it. Expand
  7. May 10, 2014
    1
    If you get motion sickness avoid this game. I can play at most 20 mins of it before I get a headache and want to throw up. I suppose if you don't have motion sickness check it out I hear its good but there's no way I could ever finish it.
  8. Jul 3, 2014
    0
    Oh, Metacritic deleted my humble review without any reason? No problem, I can restore it. Here it is:
    I tried the demo version from Steam. Graphics are good, the main menu looks good, and the game runs good as well. However, gameplay is too boring: create a portal here, move a box there, proceed into the next test chamber, repeat until the demo ends. Computer voice is annoying. Constant
    voice distortion effects are also annoying. Some sounds, models and textures are reused from Half-Life 2. And there is an elevator glitch (google it) instead of generic "That's all folks! Please, buy the full version if you like this game!" message. Sorry, but I won't buy it.
    See? There is NOTHING offensive in my review, just my opinion.
    Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 82
    The idea behind Portal ends up being more brilliant than Portal itself. Regardless, we definitely had a lot of fun with what is there and appreciate the level of polish and thought that went into the presentation.
  2. Portal is a magnificent puzzle game. The titillating wrongness of every solution and the wonky thinking required to get there make you feel like a space-folding genius, and yet you'll almost never get stuck.
  3. One of the most interesting and delightful things Valve's ever done, but also one of its least fulfilling. If only we had our own portal gun to bridge the gap to the first infusion of new content, perhaps we could forget it.