Portal PC

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 4028 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichaelUrban
    Mar 3, 2008
    4
    Very overrated. First of all, this game is unbelivably short. I kept waiting for all the training missions to end so i could play the game, but the training levels WERE the game. After that, there is just a long escape level which has barley any puzzles and is more about jumping and taking out turrets. The final boss was way too easy and the only thing motivating you to beat it was theVery overrated. First of all, this game is unbelivably short. I kept waiting for all the training missions to end so i could play the game, but the training levels WERE the game. After that, there is just a long escape level which has barley any puzzles and is more about jumping and taking out turrets. The final boss was way too easy and the only thing motivating you to beat it was the timer. Their attempt to make the game funny and put in jokes just makes the game look worse. This game was meant to be an extra toy included in the orange box. Definatley not worth buying seperatley. Expand
  2. gpf
    Nov 4, 2011
    1
    i don't know how 2000 users can find portal a good game. it' innovative, but completely without any motivation. As an arcade game for free or $2,50 it would be nice. as a full blown game it's just crap.
  3. Jan 28, 2013
    1
    This game is tied for my least favorite valve game. The game is puny, puzzles are just finding the right place to aim a blue portal then making a orange one and hopping through it. The levels that aren't like that are just making portals to send random balls of energy through and the last mission witch is just running from glados. The "humor" is forced, stupid, a chuckle at best, Portal 2This game is tied for my least favorite valve game. The game is puny, puzzles are just finding the right place to aim a blue portal then making a orange one and hopping through it. The levels that aren't like that are just making portals to send random balls of energy through and the last mission witch is just running from glados. The "humor" is forced, stupid, a chuckle at best, Portal 2 is worth it, this is not. Its $10.00. And its 1 hour of gameplay with the slightest replay value. The graphics are mediocre, but only because the game is puny. The levels are small, too, with about 2 colors. Expand
  4. nickmurray
    Oct 14, 2007
    0
    well when i first saw the game i thought this will defenantly get a ten on my scale but when i got the game and couldn't play it because the valve team are bunch of incompitant retards. its wierd i can't play a game on my brand new laptop that meets the recommended requirements. this game has also fucked up all of my other steam game except half life 2 which is a good game thewell when i first saw the game i thought this will defenantly get a ten on my scale but when i got the game and couldn't play it because the valve team are bunch of incompitant retards. its wierd i can't play a game on my brand new laptop that meets the recommended requirements. this game has also fucked up all of my other steam game except half life 2 which is a good game the first 5000 time i beat it. i would give the game a lower score but numbers dont go that low!!! Expand
  5. JaredJ.
    Mar 25, 2008
    0
    Short, boring, no story, stupid, not fun, 'nuff said.
  6. ChanceO.
    Jun 13, 2008
    3
    No simply no this was a waste of my 20 bux.This is terrible frankly the only thing i liked was the story TF2 was much better.
  7. AugustE.
    Jul 9, 2008
    3
    The levels are is too easy and they are too few.
  8. LeeW.
    Aug 16, 2009
    3
    Valve's best achievement yet, apart from the original Half-Life. Of course, that doesn't say much. This game is an hour and a half long. It stays exactly one theme and one theme only: portals. You solve every puzzle with portals and a quick trigger finger. There is only one way to solve each puzzle, which really deters the phrase "thinking with portals." If you wanted, you could Valve's best achievement yet, apart from the original Half-Life. Of course, that doesn't say much. This game is an hour and a half long. It stays exactly one theme and one theme only: portals. You solve every puzzle with portals and a quick trigger finger. There is only one way to solve each puzzle, which really deters the phrase "thinking with portals." If you wanted, you could easily just press buttons until you ended the level without thinking. Obviously, this would make the game take longer to complete. The first two thirds of the game are a robot talking to you and practically holding your hand while guiding you through a bunch of tutorial chambers. You then get to the escape route where it suddenly turns on you and you, of course, escape. The only challenge you really face are acid on the floor and some new-paint-job annoying Half-Life 2 turrets that say things in a cute voice to get sympathy votes. Like Half-Life 2, it's not a puzzle game. It's a game, where you do scripted things in a linear fashion to get the programmed result that takes little to no effort that only disguises itself as a puzzle game. It's about the same as Prey, where portals pop up in the locations you need them to in order to succeed, except this time, you place the portals there without any choice. Expand
  9. SteveL.
    Oct 10, 2007
    2
    This game is based on one giant gimmick. It's an unoriginal idea. The producer of this game should just quit now.
  10. CodyM.
    Oct 17, 2007
    2
    Are you kidding this game had no depth. hardly any story. I found it oddly boring. The last level was great, had the whole game be like that I would have given it a 6 or 7. Still I was dissapointed.
  11. MatW.
    Aug 6, 2008
    0
    Doesn't support my graph card, and crashes all system. Just great.
  12. nicholasc
    May 28, 2009
    0
    This game is a waste, and does not deserve a ten... I give the game a 0 --and it deserves a 0. Originally I was excited to play, I brought a cup of tea with me. And the levels "puzzles"(if you can call them that...) were ridiculously easy, so easy. I hit this one "loading..." screen toward the end of the final chapter and figured I had just finished some sort of testing area for the real This game is a waste, and does not deserve a ten... I give the game a 0 --and it deserves a 0. Originally I was excited to play, I brought a cup of tea with me. And the levels "puzzles"(if you can call them that...) were ridiculously easy, so easy. I hit this one "loading..." screen toward the end of the final chapter and figured I had just finished some sort of testing area for the real game. The game was stuck on this "loading..." screen, so I got up and got another cup of tea, returned to the games main screen. I thought nothing of it, some sort of glitch maybe. I went back into the level I completed last and ran through it, couldn't have taken more than a minute, literally ran through it and into the elevator again. "loading..." then back to the main screen. Now I thought to myself, "has the game really ended??" so I tried one more time --"loading..." and the same thing. I went online to learn about the game and it turns out that the game had ended. I want to use the word "scam", but people are not only dumb enough to pay money for this game, but also they give it good reviews, so i look at the game as a money making portal. A portal over the internet, where STEAM takes your money and portals it into their bank account. bravo. Expand
  13. CharlesEvans
    Nov 28, 2007
    1
    My computer isn't as good as the suggested specs, but it beats all the minimum requirements. Despite this, nothing I do stops the game from crashing every time I start it. If I had known this would happen, I wouldn't have wasted my money buying the game off of Steam.
  14. RogerW.
    Oct 25, 2007
    1
    Don't understand all the 7 through 10 ratings. This game is simple and boring. Packaging it in the orange box made me think it was a add on to Half-Life from the portal there. Of course I much prefer an action shoot em up anytime.
  15. Griper
    Mar 29, 2008
    0
    You have to remember, portal is ONLY a game... it cannot talk and tell you what to do.
  16. Alvin
    Apr 27, 2008
    0
    I gave this game a 0, prior to not enough info on purchase box that this is a puzzle that I pd 20.00 and beat it in a couple of hours. I could have received a lot better game for the same price
  17. JohnW
    Apr 25, 2009
    2
    They could have done so much more with this game! They're out of their minds for just sticking you in some creepy lab for the whole game! They RUINED an amazing concept by doing that. it would've been awesome if there was even some team combat against the administration in the lab, but nothing! I mean think about it, it would have some awesome strategy if you could use the They could have done so much more with this game! They're out of their minds for just sticking you in some creepy lab for the whole game! They RUINED an amazing concept by doing that. it would've been awesome if there was even some team combat against the administration in the lab, but nothing! I mean think about it, it would have some awesome strategy if you could use the portal gun in battle; you could appear right behind somebody and take em out! If I made something like this, I'd make some CTF levels and make people use this gun for something, rather than just go from start to finish in a series of tests. Expand
  18. Mar 15, 2011
    4
    first of all i was looking forward to play portal but at the end i got dissapointed the game is about 2 hours long if you know what to do if you dont it will take you a few hours more but your characters you dont knwo who she is you dont know why you are there what is going on it doesnt have a story is just solve a an easy puzzle go to next chamber and there are a total i think of 19first of all i was looking forward to play portal but at the end i got dissapointed the game is about 2 hours long if you know what to do if you dont it will take you a few hours more but your characters you dont knwo who she is you dont know why you are there what is going on it doesnt have a story is just solve a an easy puzzle go to next chamber and there are a total i think of 19 chambers.there are only two guns in the whole game the humor isnt that great i laugh of how pathetic it was but serioulsy valve needs to put some good story in their games Expand
  19. Aug 30, 2012
    3
    I want my $10 back because 3 hours of my time is worth more than $10. This game like the majority of Valve games minus Half-life was originally developed then bought out by Valve. It is a first person puzzle game with the gravity gun from Half-life 2 becoming a portal gun. Overall, this game started out as a senior college project, a capstone project more accurately and it shows. Once youI want my $10 back because 3 hours of my time is worth more than $10. This game like the majority of Valve games minus Half-life was originally developed then bought out by Valve. It is a first person puzzle game with the gravity gun from Half-life 2 becoming a portal gun. Overall, this game started out as a senior college project, a capstone project more accurately and it shows. Once you beat it, you have beaten it 1000 times. Expand
  20. Mar 17, 2012
    3
    The game involves navigating test chamber after test chamber. Each is slightly different, but about half way through the game it becomes far too repetitive. The end of the game opens up a fair bit, but it becomes far too difficult to know what you can attach portals to and what you can't.
  21. Feb 29, 2012
    3
    For me, the best part of this game came at the very end. There was a lot of fun dialogue and interesting little moments in my Portal experience, but in general, I think that this game is highly overrated. I found that a lot of the puzzles themselves were more frustrating than interesting; easy to solve, with most of the difficulty coming from physically moving things around. I'll alsoFor me, the best part of this game came at the very end. There was a lot of fun dialogue and interesting little moments in my Portal experience, but in general, I think that this game is highly overrated. I found that a lot of the puzzles themselves were more frustrating than interesting; easy to solve, with most of the difficulty coming from physically moving things around. I'll also add that Portal is a very short game; it didn't take very long at all to complete, although I suppose that I didn't really mind that aspect of it. Expand
  22. May 10, 2014
    1
    If you get motion sickness avoid this game. I can play at most 20 mins of it before I get a headache and want to throw up. I suppose if you don't have motion sickness check it out I hear its good but there's no way I could ever finish it.
  23. Dec 27, 2015
    0
    This game is overrated, it's really boring. Played until the end...just a waste of time. Stay away, don't waste your money, there are better puzzle game out there.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 82
    The idea behind Portal ends up being more brilliant than Portal itself. Regardless, we definitely had a lot of fun with what is there and appreciate the level of polish and thought that went into the presentation.
  2. Portal is a magnificent puzzle game. The titillating wrongness of every solution and the wonky thinking required to get there make you feel like a space-folding genius, and yet you'll almost never get stuck.
  3. One of the most interesting and delightful things Valve's ever done, but also one of its least fulfilling. If only we had our own portal gun to bridge the gap to the first infusion of new content, perhaps we could forget it.