Portal Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 3683 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Portal is a new single player game from Valve. Set in the mysterious Aperture Science Laboratories, Portal has been called one of the most innovative new games on the horizon and offers gamers hours of unique gameplay. The game is designed to change the way players approach, manipulate, andPortal is a new single player game from Valve. Set in the mysterious Aperture Science Laboratories, Portal has been called one of the most innovative new games on the horizon and offers gamers hours of unique gameplay. The game is designed to change the way players approach, manipulate, and surmise the possibilities in a given environment; similar to how Half-Life 2's Gravity Gun innovated new ways to leverage an object in any given situation. Players must solve physical puzzles and challenges by opening portals to maneuvering objects, and themselves, through space. [Valve] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Just as Valve's Half-Life 2 is the moody loner to Halo 3's high-school quarterback, Portal is smarter, cooler, funnier, and more sinister than almost any game this year.
  2. From beginning to end, it's hard to find something not to like about Portal. Everything from the gameplay to the presentation are top-notch.
  3. Portal is a magnificent puzzle game. The titillating wrongness of every solution and the wonky thinking required to get there make you feel like a space-folding genius, and yet you'll almost never get stuck.
  4. With delightfully unique gameplay and fantastically witty writing, Portal is a huge success.
  5. Skilled players will portal their way through the nineteen levels in just a few hours, but this little puzzle game / tech demo provides plenty of entertainment and makes a great addition to The Orange Box.
  6. One of the most inventive, original, and down right entertaining games you’ll play this year.
  7. By anyone's reckoning Portal isn't a long game, weighing in at around the three to four hour mark. Those of you who do see this game from start to end though are in for a very special experience.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 785
  1. LukeM.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    I found this game to be fun to play and very replayable. The script is very funny and I can't wait to see what it brings to the I found this game to be fun to play and very replayable. The script is very funny and I can't wait to see what it brings to the half-life universe. I have so far played this game 8 times and will continue to play it again and again. Expand
  2. MarselI.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    I am here to explain to anyone who dosen't like this game why they're wrong. *The game is short. Damn agreed. *It holds your hand I am here to explain to anyone who dosen't like this game why they're wrong. *The game is short. Damn agreed. *It holds your hand through the entire game Dowload maps, they are fun and provide you with infinite playtime. *The "puzzles" are not really puzzles Agreed, but read above. *the humour is terrible. Are you from this planet man? Expand
  3. Urthow
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Doesn't keep you doing the same level from start to finish 30 times when it gets hard and never seems to be completely impossible. also Doesn't keep you doing the same level from start to finish 30 times when it gets hard and never seems to be completely impossible. also constant black humor references in contrast to the style of game make it an extremely refreshing taste to the gaming societies palate. Expand
  4. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    I got this game for free after winning a Steam competition (Bonus!) and have already played through and finished Portal 2 so playing this gameI got this game for free after winning a Steam competition (Bonus!) and have already played through and finished Portal 2 so playing this game was really quite hard for me at first because of the high expectations I gave it but it quickly grew on me... Almost as fast as I finished it. After two hours I finished it and that does sound very short but I felt like it stayed just enough as not to outstay it's welcome, like when you let a hobo in your house on a rainy day and he leaves after a coffee and when the rain stops, unlike some games where the hobo would stay after the rain has stopped and refuses to leave until you're forced to enjoy his company before he actually decides to high-tail it! Overall, very fun game with lots of challenges along the way that I thoroughly enjoyed so I give it an amazing ten out of ten! Expand
  5. May 7, 2013
    10
    Well... It's been about 10 years since I last played a Valve game. The first one I ever played was Half-Life Uplink (demo to original HL1).Well... It's been about 10 years since I last played a Valve game. The first one I ever played was Half-Life Uplink (demo to original HL1). And it was terrific. I finished it maybe 50 times. Then I got full HL1 and finished it a couple of times too. And then I never played a Valve game again.
    Until a week ago. I got Portal Bundle on Steam about a year ago for as cheap as 10$ or so. And I wish I'd play this earlier.. This game is perfect! Its somewhat short, but the storyline is very intriguing. At first you may find it strange or even boring but do not give up on it it is well worth your 3~4 hours of playtime.
    Being a grown up semi no-life I can honestly say that this game firmly holds a high rank in my top 10 games of all time (an I've played a ton of games in my life).

    This is the type of game that you would sacrifice your weekday night for just to finish this last puzzle!
    Excelent choice worth any money!
    Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2011
    9
    A magnificent game that is only stained by its length. While the game lasts around 5 to 7 hours the first time you play, you'll easily finishA magnificent game that is only stained by its length. While the game lasts around 5 to 7 hours the first time you play, you'll easily finish it in less than 3 hours once you know how to complete the puzzles. However, Portal brings you in a very unique universe and that what it's all about. You'll enter a world that is unbelievably cute but dangerous at the same time: this is why Portal is so particular. Your brain will be your best friend. You have no weapon, besides a gun that fires two linked portals. The designers made the levels in a clever way with several ways to solve them. But what is even better is that you don't even *see* the other ways until you reach the "hard" mode of the game: indeed, you even have more challenges waiting for you in the very same rooms that you passed in the normal adventure after completing the game. And you'll see that... you'll eventually start thinking with Portal. Expand
  7. Griper
    Mar 29, 2008
    0
    You have to remember, portal is ONLY a game... it cannot talk and tell you what to do.

See all 785 User Reviews