User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 57
  2. Negative: 8 out of 57

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2014
    6
    Unfortunately, I wasn 't really able to play the game as much as I would have liked as multiplayer was completely dead. The AI can't keep up with a (decent) player but the graphics are interesting, I enjoyed the atmosphere and the racing seemed solid although the one-shot kills are a bit cheap.

    I would not recommend buying this unless you get a kick out of beating horrible AI because
    Unfortunately, I wasn 't really able to play the game as much as I would have liked as multiplayer was completely dead. The AI can't keep up with a (decent) player but the graphics are interesting, I enjoyed the atmosphere and the racing seemed solid although the one-shot kills are a bit cheap.

    I would not recommend buying this unless you get a kick out of beating horrible AI because that's all there is left. It is unfortunate that these racing games become obsolete as soon as the community dies out, they should just hand out the games for free instead when that happens.
    Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    Post Apocalyptic Mayhem - гоночная игра, на выживание. Во многом недооценённая как критиками, так и игроками. Целью игры является не обгон всех машин и достижения финиша первым, а их уничтожение. Для этого, нам предоставлено 12 различных машин с оружием. Каждая машина имеет не только кардинально разнаплановое оружие, но и свой стиль. В этом игра во многом преуспела. Часть атак у некоторыхPost Apocalyptic Mayhem - гоночная игра, на выживание. Во многом недооценённая как критиками, так и игроками. Целью игры является не обгон всех машин и достижения финиша первым, а их уничтожение. Для этого, нам предоставлено 12 различных машин с оружием. Каждая машина имеет не только кардинально разнаплановое оружие, но и свой стиль. В этом игра во многом преуспела. Часть атак у некоторых машин смотрится не только забавно, но и очень оригинально. Машину выбрать можна на любой вкус: это и автобусы и огромные грузовики с массивными оружиями, а так же маленькие машинки, но с очень мощным, агрессивным оружием. Не сказать, что все машины равны, всё же быстрые имееют чуть более преимущества от остальных, но в целом, баланс присутствует.
    У машин есть три вида атак. В зависимости от положения вашего оппонента, можно использовать либо переднюю, либо боковую, либо заднюю атаки. Но при одном немаловажном условии. Необходимо подбирать бочки. В игре по трассе расставлены 4 вида бочонков(4й - ускорение). Каждый бочонок отмеченный своим цветом, отвечает за каждую определённую атаку. И только вам решать, какой вид оружия необходим в данный момент. Передние атаки в основном требуют практически вплотую подезжать к сопернику, до контакта с ним, боковые то же являются ближними атаками и имеют небольшой радиус поражения, задние предствлены во многом ограждениями, препятствиями, иногда самонаводящимися ловушками. Все атаки при использовании работают около 5-7 секунд. Так же существует условие, при котором можно подбирать лишь один раз, определённый вид оружия, пока его не используешь. Плюс, при вашем убийстве все подобранные оружия обнуляются. Ну и конечно же, есть полоска жизней у машин. Какие то атаки убивают и выводят из строя сразу же, какие то лишь только ранят. От них можно постаратся увернутся или же атаковать самому, не дав сопернику вас опередить. Впрочем после взрыва вашей машины, вы спавнитесь в том же месте и продолжаете гонку.
    В игре присутствует лишь один режим игры "Аркадный", в котором вам даётся 5 минут на трассе. За это время, вам требуется убить как можно больше своих соперников, используя своё оружие. После конца гонки подсчитывается ваше кол-во киллов и очки за них. Побеждает игрок набравший больше всех очков.
    И для вполне достаточного кол-ва машин, нам дают лишь 6 трасс. Впрочем трассы кардинально отличаются друг от друга. И учитывая ток факт, что в игре слабая графика, выглядят эти самые трассы довольно интересно и красиво. Тут и разрушенные города, и кладбище самолётов, есть даже зимняя трасса с идущем на ней снегом, что немного затрудняет обзор. Стоить учесть и то, что трассы прекрасно сделаны под здешний геемплей. Есть как и узкие участки, где трудно увернутся от чьей либо атаки, так и широкие места с различными путями и объездными дорогами.
    Немного резкое управление и ужасающая физика, которая прекрасно работает в моменты вашего попадания в ловушки врагов, и которая ужасно работает в простых условиях(к примеру наехав на кочку). От некоторых атак, машина может делать настоящие кульбиты и сальто, переворачиваясь по 10 раз в воздухе и подлетая до точки полёта птиц.
    К сожалению, игра начинает надоедать после нескольких часов игры. Всё больше и больше понимаешь, что она однотипна и однообразна, вне зависимости от выбранной сложности. И казалось бы, мультиплеер в этом случае прийдёт на помощь, а нет. Малое кол-во игроков, длительное ожидание в лобби. Нет возможности подключится во время гонки. Есть какой то второй режим для мультиплеера, но и тот мало чем отличается от основного аркадного.
    Ну и самое неприятное это лаги в игре. Сообщество не то что не работает, оно зависает, часто игра не сворачивается. Бывают краши и ошибки. Если у вас открыто окно чата, приготовтесь к тому, что ваш друг прочитает набор букв, которые набираются если свернуть или открыть сообщество. Один раз даже другая игра парралельно запустилась :)
    В завершении скажу о неплохом разножанровом саундтреке. Представленном лишь в кол-ве 7 треков, причём с привязкой к определённой трассе. Хорошо подобранная музыка, но надоедает очень быстро.

    В общем гонка на выживание, с интересной реализаций оружий у машин, забавным геемплеем, неплохим саундтреком, но с малым кол-вом трасс, частыми крашами и слабой физикой управления.

    Оценка: 7/10

    (данная рекомендация написана Extragamer ,
    я только скопировал её, но со всем вышеперечисленным я согласен)
    Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2013
    3
    Horrible controls (playing with a Xbox 360 game pad), poor physics (even for an arcade racing game which I love), random invisible walls which result in car jumps/spins in the air, almost all weapons are instant kill with no aim required, wtf?! How can some reviewers compare this to the masterpiece that Mario Kart is!? I got this in a bundle, but even at that low price I don't think I willHorrible controls (playing with a Xbox 360 game pad), poor physics (even for an arcade racing game which I love), random invisible walls which result in car jumps/spins in the air, almost all weapons are instant kill with no aim required, wtf?! How can some reviewers compare this to the masterpiece that Mario Kart is!? I got this in a bundle, but even at that low price I don't think I will ever be playing again... Graphics does look nice but that don't make a game... There is definitely potential but I really wonder what they were thinking... Expand
  4. AWG
    Aug 14, 2013
    7
    Unexpectedly good. Post Apocalyptic Mayhem is a cool racing game with a fair set of challenges and well-designed achievements. Cars are funny and tracks are interesting. Too bad the multiplayer seems to be dead.
  5. Aug 13, 2013
    5
    The main problem is that this game misses the fast pace and momentum that would be expected from a powerup racer. If this game had some better physics and tighter levels, it would even come close to Blur.

    However it's pretty polished, looks nice, has a lot of tracks and fun to boot up if you're bored. Don't expect busy multiplayer though.
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    very funny game great balanced vehicles candy enviroments my favorite racing game The game has very nice graphics and sounds large choice of cars wich are well balenced
  7. Jul 19, 2012
    7
    This is an arcade game, not a simulation and in the arcade game genre is a good game even if we would have hoped a little more side choices or customization.
    Finally it is a good fun game, he we ammuse, isn't the principal ?
    PS : Very good for children.
  8. Apr 22, 2012
    6
    Cars+Guns = Profit.
    Take out all the enemies with powerful guns and tricks, be ready also to meet not easy wins against the other participants, as you want to take them down, they do the same to you !
  9. Mar 25, 2012
    5
    PAM is a MarioKart-style racing game with an emphasis on attacking other racers. The races I played were fun enough... I found the vehicles easy enough to handle (I crashed a few times, but still stayed with the pack regardless). The attack options are unfortunately limited. You have three types of short-range attacks, which really doesn't feel like enough for a game where you win byPAM is a MarioKart-style racing game with an emphasis on attacking other racers. The races I played were fun enough... I found the vehicles easy enough to handle (I crashed a few times, but still stayed with the pack regardless). The attack options are unfortunately limited. You have three types of short-range attacks, which really doesn't feel like enough for a game where you win by attacking.

    The complete lack of tutorial surprised me. The complete lack of a single-player campaign really surprised me. The unfortunate thing about this game is that there is very little incentive to keep playing. There are a few unlocked cars and achievements, but that's it.

    Don't even consider PAM for single-player alone unless you really want MarioKart (any of them), but can't get it. This game can only really be worthwhile in multiplayer, and even then, MarioKart is a more enjoyable experience with far better weapons. I won't say that PAM isn't fun, but I will say it's not worth the money spent.
    Expand
  10. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    This game is a blast and so much fun. You can be on it hours or just for a couple of minutes. Plenty of tracks, 'cars', updates and DLC every now and then. At time of writing it's only a couple of quid on Steam, well worth it at this price. You'd be daft to miss it. I don't usually like racing type games, as I don't usually win them, but everyone has an equal chance here.
  11. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Un bon jeu avec un exellent gameplay, le multi ratrape le solo qui est trés court a mon gout.
    En résumé c'est un bon jeu (pour les amateurs de jeux de course automobiles) et je le recommande.
    Expand
  12. Jan 5, 2012
    7
    Good fun with friends, and free DLC has been added.
    Although it could do with some more expansion, it doesn't deserve the low critics rating.
    I bought it while it was on sale on Steam (after a free weekend, if I remember correctly), and it was worth what I paid for it.
  13. Jan 4, 2012
    7
    Play it with friends.
    But this game is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo short -.-
  14. Dec 20, 2011
    4
    Brings up nostalgia for old school car fighting games but it has a ton of issues and the online community is basically nonexistant. It also comes off like a very poor console port.
  15. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    The game is awesome. I was kind of separated at start but after a free weekend it was a must buy. Single player is pure fun, but on still kind of easy on medium. The cars are all well balanced. The large ones with strong weapons are less handy and slow. The smaller ones with weaker weapons are faster and more agile. The four tracks which ship with the game are well balanced and really goodThe game is awesome. I was kind of separated at start but after a free weekend it was a must buy. Single player is pure fun, but on still kind of easy on medium. The cars are all well balanced. The large ones with strong weapons are less handy and slow. The smaller ones with weaker weapons are faster and more agile. The four tracks which ship with the game are well balanced and really good designed. The coolest and also the weakest point of this game is the multiplayer. When there are games going on it's a pleasure to play. Sadly the amount of games vary and sometimes there are also no games available. But as long as you play multiplayer you will enjoy this game like hell. Expand
  16. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    After a couple of dlc's and some free maps added after the fact, I can honestly say that this game is worth the 10$ I spent on it.
    Fun little combat racer .
    Cross between Twisted Metal and Motor-Storm Apocalypse.
  17. Oct 5, 2011
    2
    Was this game even beta tested? I bet it wasn't after playing this game. Your weapons in this game are VERY overpowered. Not only do they spam the entire track, they are mostly instant kill. Handling is terrible no matter which car you have (god forbid I pick the ones the game tells me have bad handling) and the biggest problem is that your car is prone to RANDOMLY fly off the track andWas this game even beta tested? I bet it wasn't after playing this game. Your weapons in this game are VERY overpowered. Not only do they spam the entire track, they are mostly instant kill. Handling is terrible no matter which car you have (god forbid I pick the ones the game tells me have bad handling) and the biggest problem is that your car is prone to RANDOMLY fly off the track and spin out of control. No reason except that this game is glitchy and that level design is littered with bugs. When this game isn't being too easy, its being frustratingly flawed to the point that you can't finish the map knowing that at any moment you will run into the invisible pebble that has the amazing power of flinging your car off the track. Expand
  18. Oct 3, 2011
    2
    This is a very mixed game. It has potential for being really entertaining racing game; imagine Carmageddon combined with Fallout world, sounds good right? But the potential ends fast with complete lack of content. Just 3 tracks, and one way of racing which could be improved, too. It took me something like 25 minutes to beat the game (with 1st try) one medium level. Replay value? PrettyThis is a very mixed game. It has potential for being really entertaining racing game; imagine Carmageddon combined with Fallout world, sounds good right? But the potential ends fast with complete lack of content. Just 3 tracks, and one way of racing which could be improved, too. It took me something like 25 minutes to beat the game (with 1st try) one medium level. Replay value? Pretty much zero.

    It's truly a shame, because the environment looks very nice, fallout'like - and racing in the post apocalyptic setting is quite fun in itself. But the game itself is a complete torso. I paid ~5 euros for it through Steam (50% discount price) and it feels like even that was waste of money. DLC pack adds few cars, nothing else.
    Expand
  19. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    Great game for that price.i had pure fun playing this game.They improved the game a lot.the only thing is the collision checking thats why it don't get a 10 from me.otherwise great game , great ppl to play with.
    Maybe a little more tracks and race options if you are hosting.Its feel good to fly and stunt with a car like in this game.Its good to let off some steam after a hard days work.
  20. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    This is a really nice racing game, good balanced vehicles. it reminds me a little of the Twisted Metal series, only with less frontal weapons.The gameplay involves killing other opponents with different weapons for each vehicle. The multiplayer works like a carm, and although one game is only 5 minutes, its a nice addictive game. I've bought myself a 3-pack on steam, and give 2 copy's toThis is a really nice racing game, good balanced vehicles. it reminds me a little of the Twisted Metal series, only with less frontal weapons.The gameplay involves killing other opponents with different weapons for each vehicle. The multiplayer works like a carm, and although one game is only 5 minutes, its a nice addictive game. I've bought myself a 3-pack on steam, and give 2 copy's to some friends. its even nicer if you can convince some other friends to battle you. The game has been improved so much lately ! its having a free DLC with 3 new vehicles, and a new DLC ( chaos pack) with another 3 new vehicles, and a new free track( airplane cemetery) is out for only â Expand
  21. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    Looking for an action racing game? Then you should get PAM. 6 racers + 3 weapons each car = war on the track. The game has very nice graphics and sounds, ships with 4 arenas and a variete of cars and provides so much fun that has one of the best entertainment/price ratio. All post apocalyptic arenas are well designed and the cars are well balanced. This is not a racing game. It's war!
    If
    Looking for an action racing game? Then you should get PAM. 6 racers + 3 weapons each car = war on the track. The game has very nice graphics and sounds, ships with 4 arenas and a variete of cars and provides so much fun that has one of the best entertainment/price ratio. All post apocalyptic arenas are well designed and the cars are well balanced. This is not a racing game. It's war!
    If you are looking for an addictive racing game, PAM is a must buy.
    Expand
  22. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    You must have seen this game on Steam. If it offers a discount, GET IT RIGHT NOW! The scores from all the critics have outdated. The game has been improved so much. I doubted the quality of the game at a first glance since it only got 44 from critics and 5.8 from the reviewers. The biggest flaw of this game was a lack of contents. However, it added a number of free DLCs which are alreadyYou must have seen this game on Steam. If it offers a discount, GET IT RIGHT NOW! The scores from all the critics have outdated. The game has been improved so much. I doubted the quality of the game at a first glance since it only got 44 from critics and 5.8 from the reviewers. The biggest flaw of this game was a lack of contents. However, it added a number of free DLCs which are already included in the original game and got fixed numerous errors. You could not get the same feeling as that gained by playing sophisticated racing games such as F1 and Grand Tourismo, but it will clearly give you some entertainment.

    Certainly it has so much fun. All vehicles in the game are all distinctive, and there are many ways to get scores. You can drive small cars such as Cowboy, Fuzz or Nucleon to get scores from completing laps asap or from killing opponents. Or you can drive massive truck-like vehicles to crush all the enemies around you. The impacts of the moments when you kill others are really impressive due to nice explosions. The developers certainly have some good attitude toward gamers and its own products, otherwise they would have not updated **** game. Do not underestimate this game. It is GOOD.
    Expand
  23. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    This game is really fun, and I definitely recommend it while it's on sale. The gameplay involves blowing up cars with creative weapons, and while the mulitplayer is not flawless and there are a few glitches, it's well worth the price.
  24. Oct 1, 2011
    8
    This is a cool game for those who are fans of jump filled, candy apocalyptic enviroments. Airplane graveyard and new chaos cars look great. Takes some skill to win but worth the price.
  25. Oct 1, 2011
    7
    The game looks a lot better than I expected, it really captures that Post-Apocalypse feel. The game mechanics themselves are simple and the controls aren't the best but all in all I've had fun with PAM, especially with friends.
  26. Jul 19, 2011
    5
    Decent Mario Cart rip off. It's fun when it works, but the lobby system is glitchy and the driving physics are poorly implemented--the driving doesn't feel arcadish enough for this type of game. Cars lose control way too easily. Lots of invisible walls to run into. Uneven balance of available vehicles.
  27. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    Saw it on Steam, it was cheap for $9.99, said what the hell, bought a 3-pack purchase for $20.00, and gave the other 2 copies to friends. Short and sweet - its a fun game, like a cross between Twisted Metal and Mario Kart, lap track racing with colored weapon pickups like in Mario Kart, but in the form of barrels, and it "weapons" are of Twisted Metal inspiration. The downfall of this gameSaw it on Steam, it was cheap for $9.99, said what the hell, bought a 3-pack purchase for $20.00, and gave the other 2 copies to friends. Short and sweet - its a fun game, like a cross between Twisted Metal and Mario Kart, lap track racing with colored weapon pickups like in Mario Kart, but in the form of barrels, and it "weapons" are of Twisted Metal inspiration. The downfall of this game is that its very limited, only 6 vehicles to choose from, that aren't very well balanced in offense/defense/power/speed, one vehicle in particular is extremely over powered, but it moves like a tank, if you get stopped, good luck catching up. Also, there are tiny glitches and track edges that literally stop your vehicle of all momentum thus losing your position, and instead of trying to kill your enemies, you end up playing catch up just to finish the race...with only 6 vehicles, 3 tracks and very limited game modes, it would be worth purchasing for $5.00 honestly... Although I said this game was fun, and it is! its only worth purchasing if you can convince 5 more friends to get it as well, and have fun playing this with friends from time to time...I only say this because the games search mode is faulty and it makes it almost pure luck to join in on someone online unless you're already friends playing this together. I give PAM 6 for a mildly entertaining game among friends, playing this by yourself or trying to find random opponents online is just boring. If this game had more support, more vehicles, more maps, MORE EVERYTHING, it would be well worth purchasing. Expand
Metascore
44

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Jun 19, 2011
    55
    PAM - Post Apocalyptic Mayhem is cool, but way too short.
  2. May 22, 2011
    50
    Entertaining, but flawed; just like its mythological counterparts! [June 2011, p.71]
  3. Apr 21, 2011
    45
    This short ride's definitely a lemon. [June 2011, p.72]