Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 19 out of 20
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    55
    It's hard to imagine anyone not being offended by Postal III. That's a big selling point for some folks, but the uninspired gameplay and serious technical glitches all but kill this dark, occasionally humorous, and extreme exercise in freedom of expression.
  2. Jan 10, 2012
    45
    I could fill novels with what is wrong with Postal 3. To shorten the whole thing, three words are enough: I am shocked. Not by the representation of violence and the scabrous knee-slappers, that many people see in the series. No, I'm shocked that Postal 3 turns out to be a technically older than dirt data cluster with lame gameplay, which has absolutely nothing really individual anymore. Oh dear, Postal 3 stimulates not even controversial discussions! In the end, it consists only of trivial game mechanics, which were copied cheesy from other games and have nothing to do with Postal itself anymore. Thereby Postal 3 is one of the biggest disappointments of 2011 for me. What have the developers just done for all eight years?
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    40
    The Postal games have always been unoriginal by gameplay standards, but have always made up for it with hilarious situations. Unfortunately, this Postal game seems to have taken too much from inspirations like Gears of War. It literally feels like they spent half the time the game was in development watching Jackass, and the other half reading 14 year old boys' Blogspots. They then combined the two and decided to make a clunky game out of it.
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    30
    Postal III is a disappointment: the game shows a very bad technical realization and little respect for civil and ethical tastes.
  5. Jan 16, 2012
    30
    We have absolutely no problem with the humor in Postal III. What we do have a problem with is the absolute lack of AI, very poor combat, repetitive action and endless loading times delivered by this game.
  6. Jan 16, 2012
    30
    There are a few nice ideas and funny moments in there, but in the end even the most hardened fans should pass this opportunity to visit Carthasis. (...) It´s kinda sad when even Uwe Boll's movie is more fun.
  7. Jan 10, 2012
    30
    Bad gameplay, bad jokes, and bad technical execution make Postal III one bad game.
  8. Feb 13, 2012
    25
    To keep thing short and sweet – Postal III is a bad game. [March 2012, p.52]
  9. Jan 18, 2012
    25
    Because of the technical ineptitude and the lousy level design, I can't recommend the game for those looking to have a good time with its mechanics. I suppose someone less desensitized could still find Postal III offensive in an enjoyable way, but the odds are if you've been through the previous games this will disappoint on that front as well.
  10. Feb 15, 2012
    23
    An unfunny, unplayable mishmash of fart jokes, stereotypes and wanton violence. [March 2012, p.101]
  11. Feb 26, 2012
    21
    If you're going to be offensive, you need a point. This has none, either as satire, commentary, videogame or comedy. [Mar 2012, p.118]
  12. Jan 25, 2012
    20
    This title is intended for gaming fetishists having the same sense of humour, and who are primarily willing to degrade themselves in order to enjoy this incredible frustrating setting filled with flaws and miserable artificial intelligence.
  13. Jan 18, 2012
    20
    I have no pleasure in talking badly about this game. It's so poor, that you need a much better comedian and mocker than I am to reveal all of its flaws. The developers have given us a ridicously bad game.
  14. Jan 2, 2012
    20
    It's frankly incredible to think that Running with Scissors made fans wait eight years for this. Is the trademark Postal "humor" still there? Postal Dude's frequent remarks about hoping to "kill women and minorities first" say hello. But a lack of freedom, unforgivable glitchiness, and generally terrible design make this a hard sell even for fans of the series.
  15. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    At one point Postal III tasks you with collecting HIV-infected cats; I'd rather do that in real life than play this awful game again.
  16. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Postal 3 wanted to offend me and it succeeded. It wasn't the racist stereotyping, the rampant sexism, the spankerchiefs or the laughable gore. All of that is done in a manner so pedestrian that I'm more embarrassed for them than I am offended. What offended me was that people are actually selling this. That RunningWithScissors/Akella would have the balls to slap a 'finished' label on this title and start taking people's money.
  17. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    It's irredeemable and, frankly, I'm running out of synonyms to describe how utterly appalling it is. It isn't fun to play, it regularly breaks for those who persevere, it isn't as funny as it thinks, the graphics are bad and you can't even share the misery online; if you need more reasons to avoid this unsurprisingly terrible game then I don't know what to say to you.
  18. Jan 23, 2012
    5
    I couldn't shake off the feeling that I was playing a game made by a bunch of school students.
  19. Mar 2, 2012
    0
    The uninspired gameplay, incoherent narrative, and off-color humor of Postal III result in a game that has clearly passed its expiration date.
  20. 0
    Almost unplayable shooter elements, with particularly poor movement and melee controls. Non-existent artificial intelligence, endless loading, frequent crashes, repetitive missions, and a general air of obnoxious self-satisfaction.
User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 251 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 71
  2. Negative: 43 out of 71
  1. Jan 27, 2012
    4
    There is a reason Postal 2 is a cult game and Postal 3 will never be. Postal 2 had a sense of humor to be shared with the worst South Park episodes. Postal 2 had it's bugs and crashes were to be expected. Postal 2 had a confusing map and annoying load zones. Then again Postal 2 was made in 2003. That's a good 9 years ago that the game dropped and 9 years ago flaws like that were more acceptable. To have a game come out in 2012 and have those problems is just plain embarrassing. While the fans will be split along lines of "is this game faithful or not" and i have to say in some regards it is. If you play the Postal series for buggy gameplay and horrendous crashing, on par with the AWP mod but that's a mod not a game sold for money, then you'll be happy. If you came for the humor you'll be disappointing. While much of the dialog is the one liners you would expect the feel of the new town is terrible. Many portions of the game are not fun and most of the missions are more bland than an MMO. I stopped playing the game halfway through the meager campaign just so i could play Postal 2 and have fun, a major component missing in this sequel Full Review »
  2. Jan 11, 2012
    5
    This is the first postal game I've played, but I have watched my friends played the previous two and I have to say, save your $40. This game isnt worth it, with so many bugs and long loading time as well some boring quests, it deserves a 5. Basically that's the most annoying part of this game is the loading and walking only a small distance on the map it has graphics rendering issues so it freezes. Full Review »
  3. Jan 2, 2012
    1
    So buggy its unplayable and the developers depended on some Russian company to release the patches and all their content after, but they only been keeping it in Russia so its unplayable for the rest of us with crashes every 10 to 20 min. If it was not for that it would be a good game. I would say screw Akella and release the patches myself if I where them. But there are so many freak-en bugs I doubt RWS will be able to fix them and probably just blame it on valve when it was poor dissensions made by them. Which lead to a completely unplayable game, and if you look in the positive reviews some of them are made by the developers themselves. While others I am guessing either have found a way to get the Russian patch working or never played the game itself, There is no avoiding glitches or bugs that will make you fustraighted with this game. Go with postal 10th anniversary instead if your going to buy a postal game. Its much more worth it than this cash-in. Full Review »