Postal III Image
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

  • Summary: The Postal series continues in this third installment, using the Source Engine from Valve.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 19 out of 20
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    55
    It's hard to imagine anyone not being offended by Postal III. That's a big selling point for some folks, but the uninspired gameplay and serious technical glitches all but kill this dark, occasionally humorous, and extreme exercise in freedom of expression.
  2. Jan 31, 2012
    40
    The Postal games have always been unoriginal by gameplay standards, but have always made up for it with hilarious situations. Unfortunately, this Postal game seems to have taken too much from inspirations like Gears of War. It literally feels like they spent half the time the game was in development watching Jackass, and the other half reading 14 year old boys' Blogspots. They then combined the two and decided to make a clunky game out of it.
  3. Jan 16, 2012
    30
    We have absolutely no problem with the humor in Postal III. What we do have a problem with is the absolute lack of AI, very poor combat, repetitive action and endless loading times delivered by this game.
  4. Feb 26, 2012
    21
    If you're going to be offensive, you need a point. This has none, either as satire, commentary, videogame or comedy. [Mar 2012, p.118]
  5. Jan 18, 2012
    20
    I have no pleasure in talking badly about this game. It's so poor, that you need a much better comedian and mocker than I am to reveal all of its flaws. The developers have given us a ridicously bad game.
  6. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    At one point Postal III tasks you with collecting HIV-infected cats; I'd rather do that in real life than play this awful game again.
  7. 0
    Almost unplayable shooter elements, with particularly poor movement and melee controls. Non-existent artificial intelligence, endless loading, frequent crashes, repetitive missions, and a general air of obnoxious self-satisfaction.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 73
  2. Negative: 43 out of 73
  1. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Running With Scissors hits it again! A humor filled, gore packed funride that has tons of gameplay. The game can be played through on a goodRunning With Scissors hits it again! A humor filled, gore packed funride that has tons of gameplay. The game can be played through on a good or bad path which brings tons of interesting happenings to the game. Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This is truly an awesome game. this game is a ten out of ten because its whats keeping us from going out and doing this crazy **** in realThis is truly an awesome game. this game is a ten out of ten because its whats keeping us from going out and doing this crazy **** in real life. so **** yeah!!!!!! Expand
  3. May 2, 2012
    7
    Well,I don't know why people complain.Yes,Postal 3 is a very buggy game,yes it has crap graphics,but it has some crude humor,a cover systemWell,I don't know why people complain.Yes,Postal 3 is a very buggy game,yes it has crap graphics,but it has some crude humor,a cover system and many,many gameplay paths.Unfortunately,it was to brutally received. Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2012
    2
    Somebody asked me would I play this game once again? I just answered not. In my mind to play this game is foolishly. Now I regret I playedSomebody asked me would I play this game once again? I just answered not. In my mind to play this game is foolishly. Now I regret I played this. Postal 3 has some sense of humor but it`s too stupid and frankly. If you could spend your time with playing Postal (2003), now it sucks. Just save your 13$ and you`ll be glad. Expand
  5. May 6, 2012
    1
    I'm usually not too critical on video games, but Postal III is undoubtedly one of the worst games I have ever played. The main selling pointI'm usually not too critical on video games, but Postal III is undoubtedly one of the worst games I have ever played. The main selling point of this game is its humor, but nothing in this game is actually funny. The "humor" in this game is about on-par with an episode of South Park, but with less modernity. Also, the campaign gives you a moral choice system. Seeing how this is a Postal game, you're probably going to want to run around and kill everybody. But no, you can't just do that! It's a game about going postal (hence the title), where you can't go insane. Video games like Postal are games where I should be able to go through and kill anybody without any moral repercussions.

    Overall, this is a terrible game, and is a worse revival of a series than Duke Nukem Forever.
    Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2012
    0
    I've been a fan of Postal 2 for years. There's something fantastically fun to go around and just do anything and everything you want withoutI've been a fan of Postal 2 for years. There's something fantastically fun to go around and just do anything and everything you want without any real-life repercussions. The framerate in that game was at least stable, though the game was buggy and crashed here and there. No matter what problems it had, it always served as a nice way to blow off steam and just have stupid fun.

    Postal III isn't like that at all. After 9 years, we're "treated" to a game with, frankly, one of the most abysmal framerate issues I've ever seen, tons of screen-tearing, more bugs than a one-star hotel during summer in Florida, innumerable crashes, large amounts of lines pulled straight from the previous game, INCREDIBLY boring gameplay that took away most of the freedom Postal 2 had, worse voice acting than the previous game, and broken mechanics everywhere you look. I tried long as hard (Oh, look! There's a good amount of the game's jokes right there!) to find something fun about this but, rather disappointingly, there were none. If you wanna go postal, get the second game and have yourself a good time.

    That is all.
    Expand
  7. Jan 15, 2012
    0
    I hesitate to even really call this a game, which saddens me deeply as I was a huge fan of Postal 2, and have recently bought and replayed itI hesitate to even really call this a game, which saddens me deeply as I was a huge fan of Postal 2, and have recently bought and replayed it off GOG.
    First off, if you're surprised to find Postal 3 even came out, especially last December, well, there's a reason for that. Never before have I seen a release so heavily botched. Even Valve seems to be unsure of it's release, as they've been debating over how to handle the unlocking and the store page. You can get a steam code for the game in only one of two ways due to this: 1. By paying an RWS guy $40 and waiting for him to, eventually, email you a code or 2. Buying it from one of a few smaller online download sites and getting a Steam code from them. You can't get it from Steam, as they've even decided to drop the store page.
    Beyond the horrible release issues, there's the horrible gameplay issues. The game crashes constantly, it freezes, there's weird graphical bugs that range from just being annoying to being downright hilarious, there's a wide variety of gameplay bugs that prevent the player from even continuing the game...
    Aside from the bugs, they've also removed the freedom Postal 2 had. Now, instead, it's a level-based linear game reminiscent of the expansion pack to Postal 2, only a lot less funny. The humor... I swear to god it's less Postal 1 & 2 and more Uwe Boll's Postal film. It's trying too damn hard to be edgy, and in the end it feels less like a fun, raunchy experience and more like a little kid that just learned some cuss words and ethnic slurs.
    Go grab, say, Bulletstorm instead. Hell, even Duke Nukem Forever. Postal 3 honestly makes Duke Nukem Forever look like Duke Nukem 3D.
    Expand

See all 73 User Reviews