Praetorians PC

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    Praetorians is definitely, to me, the greatest strategy game of all times, because it's not only the first game I have ever played since i was 10 years old but also stands out in contrast to other mainstream popular strategy games like Age Of Empires thanks to the complete absence of resources ( gold, food, wood,...). My friends say this is a significant drawback, but i personally find itPraetorians is definitely, to me, the greatest strategy game of all times, because it's not only the first game I have ever played since i was 10 years old but also stands out in contrast to other mainstream popular strategy games like Age Of Empires thanks to the complete absence of resources ( gold, food, wood,...). My friends say this is a significant drawback, but i personally find it a plus as all you need to do is to concentrate on military tactics: you've got decide which unit to recruit, what village to take, which position to capture - a high hill to build catapults or vast woods to hide your units from enemy scout so that your troops can organize an ambush. There are lots of things to be done should you wish to seize victory, and you don't have abundant time to do that. Pressure that is constantly put on you does a marvelous job because you have to make up your mind very quick without hesitation. Trust me, you'll get to know it when you play it. Expand
  2. AbelN.
    Jan 17, 2006
    9
    Spectacular! one of the best strategic games I've ever seen.
  3. MoRISFiSH
    Apr 27, 2003
    8
    This is a very good game. Action and strategy without any gestion phase... Maybe frustrating... But in solo or in Lan/Net it's pretty good.
  4. DennisH.
    May 3, 2003
    8
    Tactics and strategy are the parts that really shine in this game! Sneaky really pays off (ambush, etc).
  5. AlessandroT.
    Dec 3, 2004
    9
    Very great game. It's one of my favourites. I played through all the campaign and then I enjoyed skirmish matches and also multiplayer. The enemy AI is very intelligent and graphics are very beautiful and a bit naif. It's a gift to Roman History and to De Bello gallico!.
  6. Jok`RdeMo
    Mar 3, 2003
    8
    This game is really great, at last one game in wich unit formations mean something. Still it is very similar to Age Of "whatever", except as I said- formations. It looks similar to Age Of Mythology but it is more historical. Shortly: must have if U like that kind of games.
  7. frank
    Dec 20, 2008
    8
    I loved this game. .. i purchased it new and am still playing it BUT it fails to launch now.. contacted securom "not our problem" contacted support and they walked me thru many tests.. concluded "not our problem" and would warrantee it for 20.00 usd
    DAMN i still want to play this after 3 years now i will have to purchase it again JUST to see if it will play .. and i wont get my money
    I loved this game. .. i purchased it new and am still playing it BUT it fails to launch now.. contacted securom "not our problem" contacted support and they walked me thru many tests.. concluded "not our problem" and would warrantee it for 20.00 usd
    DAMN i still want to play this after 3 years now i will have to purchase it again JUST to see if it will play .. and i wont get my money back if it doesn't
    Damn .. that is how much i like this game
    Expand
  8. Jun 8, 2015
    10
    Awesome game to this day. Really fun and tactical. Would like a remake!!! :D. Its definitely the best strategy game of all time, a real classic. You have to put some thought into military tactics in the game, as apposed to some games where you can just hurl troops at the enemy and they will take victory with ease. Will they be hiding troops on that hill? Can I ambush them? I need to getAwesome game to this day. Really fun and tactical. Would like a remake!!! :D. Its definitely the best strategy game of all time, a real classic. You have to put some thought into military tactics in the game, as apposed to some games where you can just hurl troops at the enemy and they will take victory with ease. Will they be hiding troops on that hill? Can I ambush them? I need to get that base quickly otherwise they will! Things like that. 10/10 Faultless. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 80
    A little unmanageable when large opposing forces enter toe-to-toe melee combat. The front line becomes a clanging, tangled, dying mass of soldiers, and no player micromanagement is going to save them.
  2. Computer Gaming World
    80
    Praetorians never really achieves the gigantic scope of a "Total War" game, but it is more easily controlled and offers much more obvious tactical problems. [May 2003, p.95]
  3. 79
    A lot of fun despite some serious missteps; the bad news is Praetorians falls far short of the greatness that it might have achieved.