Prey PC

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
Buy On
  1. May 15, 2017
    83
    All in all I would definitely recommend Prey to anyone interested. It is very reminiscent of Bioshock with some hefty Dead Space elements thrown in and some solid Deus Ex mechanics driving it all. It is a well-balanced, lengthy game with a substantial story that is intriguing enough to keep you interested for an extended period of time. Lackluster combat can make some stretches a drag, but that next room to explore and that next secret to uncover keeps you going. If you are on the fence, I would suggest you pick this one up. In a year that seems to just keep on delivering, Prey is yet another success story.
  2. May 11, 2017
    90
    With a setting that tells a story better than any human voice, Prey’s combat and quests will suck you even deeper into its world.
  3. May 23, 2017
    80
    Arkane's work on PC is finally up to expectations.
  4. May 15, 2017
    97
    I’m having trouble remembering when I’ve had this much fun with a FPS in the dozens I’ve played over the years. The first Half-Life for sure, and BioShock. Dishonored probably. Prey is better than the recent Wolfenstein revival, as good as that was. Deus Ex? Solid, but IMHO not as good. So, anyway, bottom line, I’m giving Prey what I believe is the highest score I’ve ever given. It’s that good.
  5. Edge Magazine
    May 27, 2017
    80
    Prey is an accomplished game in an under-served genre. Its problems are those of a game that tries to do more, and give the player more, than most shooters aspire to - and to that extent, they're forgivable. [July 2017, p.106]
  6. May 9, 2017
    79
    It's let down by lacklustre combat and some annoying enemy design, but Prey is still a compelling, beautiful immersive sim.
  7. May 24, 2017
    90
    Excellent first person action with a strong RPG element allows countless gameplay approaches with its sensitively set systems and fantastic game- and level- design. It brings an eye-catching story, a great scriptwriting, a mercilessly exciting atmosphere, and it does not allow criticism of logical deficiencies because it explains everything carefully. Technically, it is flawless and runs smoothly. A handful of minor flaws can be overlooked with no regret.
  8. May 5, 2017
    85
    I just like them, these "Great scenery with lots of freedom and story-snippets" games. Whether underwater ideology as in Bioshock, transhumanist dystopia like in Deus Ex or magic steampunk as in Dishonored - as long as I am allowed to explore and experiment, I am happy. Prey satisfies both needs perfectly.
  9. May 22, 2017
    85
    Prey is satisfying for anyone looking for a deeply immersive gaming experience, and it might just make you think a bit more than the surface-level tension would lead you to believe. Prey is not only smart enough to let you figure out how to get into a locked room, but it also lets you decide what the point of that locked room is. That may frustrate some, but Prey is a very special game with guts to treat you like an intelligent human being.
  10. May 8, 2017
    80
    Prey offers a good story, utilizing great environmental storytelling and design. Combat, especially melee combat, suffers somewhat, but the game deserves credit for delivering on story and ambience above all else.
  11. May 17, 2017
    85
    Prey sure did change between its original inception and the new one, and honestly I'd say it's almost entirely for the better. The original Prey didn't stick with me, or much of the gaming community, and seemed to fade away quietly. While die hard fans of the original game may claim that this reboot is only Prey in name alone, I would argue that this is what Prey should've been in the first place. It's not perfect, but it is engrossing and stole quite a few hours of my life between start to finish. Here's hoping for a sequel that builds upon the solid ideas here, and improves them much in the same way Arkane did for their Dishonored series.
  12. May 10, 2017
    85
    Arkane has the confidence to let Prey end on its own terms, even if it occasionally leans too heavily on its least interesting aspects. When it looks most like a shooter, Prey is merely competent. But as a mystery, a deep space haunted house with dozens of stories of tragedy and humanity to tell, Prey is a remarkably successful archaeological expedition — and it manages to compellingly ruminate on what it means to be.
  13. May 8, 2017
    80
    Prey is a collection of past influences - a bit of System Shock here, some Bioshock there, a bit of Dead Space - but the whole is something we don't get very much these days. With the twisting halls of Talos I, Prey gives you meaningful choices in your abilities, as the level design challenges you to find interesting ways forward. The game falters in combat, but overall, Prey is a wonderful love letter some older titles that are sorely missed.
  14. May 14, 2017
    92
    For all practical intents and purposes, this is System Shock 3. Arkane Studios has salvaged Looking Glass’ throne, gorgeously decorated it with alien glass from the valleys of Neptune and now comfortably sits on the immersive sim throne, presiding over one of PC gaming’s founding and most influential genres. A masterclass in every respect, Prey is a very strong contender for 2017’s Game of the Year award.
  15. May 14, 2017
    90
    Deep, systemic and old school, Prey is a beautiful and haunting world to explore and overcome. A reminder of long forgotten design philosophies applied to modern game design.
  16. May 5, 2017
    85
    Although Prey never rises to the first Bioshock for me anyway, but it does not have to be: If you are looking for a game in the style of a System Shock and do not expect an exceptionally good shooter, you'll get an exciting, comprehensive and challenging Sci- Survival adventure.
  17. May 23, 2017
    90
    Prey truly is more than the sum of its parts. Don’t let its immediate familiarity or obvious influences fool you, because when you look under the hood, it’s not just Dishonored set in space.
  18. May 7, 2017
    95
    Two days after finishing it, I'm still having Prey dreams. I'm still thinking about the ending, still wondering about the places I went, the things I did. I'm itching to talk about the things that occurred within it and similarly knowing I can't because nobody I know has yet finished it. It took me 24 and a half hours. I loved every minute of it. I woke up early to play it and went to bed late because I didn't want to stop.
  19. May 8, 2017
    90
    Prey is the best BioShock-style game we've seen in years. It gets better the more you play it, and hides secrets that encourage repeat playthroughs. For fans of single-player titles, Prey is a game that belongs in Game of the Year discussions.
  20. 92
    Once again, Arkane Studios delivers an amazing title. Prey is a huge, non-linear adventure in which the player really is the king, a simulation where everything works just fine, with a deep and inspired sci-fi story. A true masterpiece.
  21. Arkane really did it again. Against all preconceptions, Prey has come out as a great product. It has a great visual and sound design, fluid mechanics and a whole space station waiting to be explored. Play as Morgan Yu, who needs to uncover the past and survive.
  22. May 9, 2017
    92
    Prey is a masterpiece of the science-fiction genre. A game that hooks the player from beginning to end and creates a wonderful experience.
  23. 80
    With Prey, the developer Arkane Studios has built on the proven success of its stealth shooters. The gameplay discourages a head-on approach, slowing down the pace of the action. However, the frustration of having to hide instead of fighting enemies is remedied by excellent graphic and sound design, a strong RPG element, and the possibility to gather resources and build useful devices. An additional perk is the inventive writing, which manages an immersive, haunting atmosphere.
  24. May 12, 2017
    80
    Arkane’s tale of wrench-wielding, audio log sleuthing, and human hubris wears its videogame heritage on its bright red space suit sleeve. Until such time that System Shock 3 may challenge it, Prey is the worthy follow up to System Shock 2 in everything but name.
  25. May 8, 2017
    80
    Sure, it doesn’t add much to the ol’ audiolog/email/locked room paradigm pioneered by its predecessors, nor does it reinvent the space station, but Prey and Talos I are so well-constructed I honestly don’t care. You’re given systems, you’re given spaces, you’re given a goal, and how you exploit the former to accomplish the latter is a source of so many surprises in Prey it makes up for the overfamiliar setting and story.
  26. May 22, 2017
    75
    There are precious few games right now which do what Prey is trying to do, preserving the core single-player FPS experience for those who don't want to just blast everything in sight. I wouldn't say Prey is the thinking man's FPS, but it's certainly got plenty of substance. In the absence of BioShock 3, this is going to be as good as it gets.
  27. May 13, 2017
    80
    Prey's greatest success is its approach to choice and exploration. For players looking for a direct and focused single player shooter experience, this will undoubtedly disappoint and perhaps even frustrate, but for players looking for a smart and immersive world rife with intrigue and tension, Prey is a quality companion for some true classics.
  28. May 12, 2017
    81
    Prey's dynamic gameplay adapts beautifully to players as they explore an interesting space station crawling with bizarre alien life forms. Its involving action proves entertaining when combined with a solid base of resource management. Despite a few presentation problems and minor issues, Prey is one mind-altering trip that should be played by fans of the genre.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 5, 2017
    Prey feels like the mirror image of Bethesda's recent Doom remake. That game let you dance around endless hordes of disposable beasts, making you instantly feel like a super-soldier that could single-handedly take on whatever came at you. In Prey, you constantly feel besieged by unseen horrors that you can barely handle even one-on-one, and you often pray that you can just get by without being seen. Maybe this feeling will go away as I approach the end game, but part of me kind of hopes it doesn't. By limiting your power and resources as you scrounge through its amazing architecture, Prey makes you feel like, well, prey. In a genre that seems more often focused on letting you fulfill your every power fantasy via heavy artillery, it's kind of refreshing so far.
  2. May 12, 2017
    The worst version of Prey is the game its ending thinks it is, an action-y game with stealth elements about humanity and moral choices. The best version of Prey is the game that happens in between, one where you ignore its plot completely, take your time to explore every cranny, and hide in a tree to look at the stars. It fails itself when it tells you what to do, but you have plenty of opportunities not to listen to it and have a great time in the process.
  3. May 4, 2017
    Indeed, Prey is the best performing triple-A game I’ve played for many months. It’s incredibly rare to be able to boot up a game at maximum settings and get consistent reports of 90+ fps when using mid-tier hardware, but here we are. No matter how many benchmarks I ran, the reports came back clear and consistent: on a GTX 1060, an average of over 100 fps is easy to attain. [Tech Review]
  4. Prey is a game that’s smart about almost every aspect of itself, and yet with that, so crucially modest. It doesn’t yank the camera from you, doesn’t force you to sit through cutscenes, doesn’t demand you sit still and listen to its backstory. It’s content to be itself and let you find it, which is a damned rare treat in this hobby. Even more amazingly, for all its array of abilities and powers, you can finish the game without touching them, perhaps even find a narrative rationale for doing so. It lets you improvise, explore, make big decisions without needing to tell you they’re big. And yes, it absolutely does let you turn into a cup. [RPS Recommended]
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 503 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 93
  2. Negative: 12 out of 93
  1. May 6, 2017
    10
    This review is based on the game after completing it with all the side-quests available, except two (as far as I know). I played it for aroundThis review is based on the game after completing it with all the side-quests available, except two (as far as I know). I played it for around 25 in-game hours.

    I'm one of those people who was heavily disappointed when Bethesda cancelled Prey 2 (2006's Prey's sequel, which I played and very much enjoyed). In a way, even if I wasn't one of them, I totally understood the people who started bashing and boycotting this new Prey game. But was the hate justified?

    The short answer is no. Not at all. Based on my experience so far, I have to say this game is simply amazing in every possible way. The music is phenomenal, thanks to the talented Mick Gordon who also did the soundtrack for 2016's Doom and for Wolfenstein: The New Order.

    But what is more important though is that the game is full of very smart and intelligent gameplay design ideas. It's more than obvious that the devs well thought out every little gameplay aspect and tweaked them to achieve perfection. This game has a very high production quality.

    Also, I think I never saw a game before that so well utilized the enviroment such as this. In every single area I spent a very large amount of time to be able to discover everything, and it was a whole lot of fun. Prey mixes verticality and platforming very well with the usual, more horizontal gameplay.

    And if I mentonied exploration: the exploration/discovery is fantastic, the game is very complex and deep in terms of world building and gameplay, in fact it's more complex in a way than most AAA games out there today. The story and the lore looks promising, and I like the visual design the artists went for.

    The game clearly took inspiration from the best movies in the sci-fi genre (Stanley Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey, or Ridley Scott's Alien). Other than that, it reminds me some of the best games I've played, such as Deus Ex: Human Revolution, Bioshock, Dishonored, and of course, it also has a very strong System Shock vibe. In fact, it could be called System Shock 3. It has a Dead Space feeling in a way too.

    The good news won't end here. This game is perfectly optimized. I have a rig that is around the recommended specs, and I manage to hit 100FPS average at 1080p on the absolute highest settings (EVGA GTX970 FTW, 16GB DDR4 2400Mhz RAM, i5-6500).

    This game is a joy to play. It's very impressive that it managed to grab me this much under only one hour and never let me go till I finished it. In fact, I'm still not finished (even if I completed the story). I'm starting a second playthrough now and I'll try to get the remaining achievements.
    I definitely recommend checking out this game, it well worth the money!

    If I have to say a con, it's a minor thing, but normal human-sized enemies will provide unpleasant difficulty spikes every time you face them as long as you don't get a shotgun. Fighting against them with the Glue Gun, Pistol, or Wrench is not easy, and they kill you in 3 hits on Normal difficulty. The easiest is to avoid them and/or try to throw explosives at them from a distance (red pipes).
    Full Review »
  2. May 5, 2017
    10
    Pros:
    1.Runs Very Good, Dosen't drop below 100 fps, So FAR
    2.Really like the Art-Style, has some nice Graphics and Advanced settings too
    Pros:
    1.Runs Very Good, Dosen't drop below 100 fps, So FAR

    2.Really like the Art-Style, has some nice Graphics and Advanced settings too

    3. Strong story

    4. Cool Abilities

    5. Excellent level design, 10/10

    6. Reminds me of Deus Ex, Bio shock, Dishonored, and a little bit of Half life, and that's a good thing

    7. Is it WORTH the money, YES

    Things that will be fixed:
    1. Can't change FOV, in-game, but they will be adding a fov slider later on, for now you will have to go and edit the game.cfg file

    Same with motion blur, to turn off go into game.cfg add this line r_MotionBlur = 0

    If you change graphics settings in-game after that the file would be rewritten
    Full Review »
  3. May 5, 2017
    10
    - Runs very well
    - Well written
    - Gameplay is awesome - Atmosphere is top notch - Not the best graphics - Reminds me most of System
    - Runs very well
    - Well written
    - Gameplay is awesome
    - Atmosphere is top notch
    - Not the best graphics
    - Reminds me most of System Shock, with a bit of Bioshock, Half Life and Dead Space
    Full Review »