User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 292 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 292

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SoulPaladin
    Jul 21, 2006
    4
    They are so many faacts to keep in games that it's almost impossible to meet all of them. You have the story line, the sound, the graph, interaction, AI & how long the game is. The game is ok to play to change your mind and enjoy a nice relax moment but there isn't anything into it that makes you jump or say "Damn that is nice". I agree with many of you that the game can lacks They are so many faacts to keep in games that it's almost impossible to meet all of them. You have the story line, the sound, the graph, interaction, AI & how long the game is. The game is ok to play to change your mind and enjoy a nice relax moment but there isn't anything into it that makes you jump or say "Damn that is nice". I agree with many of you that the game can lacks of AI and the graph are same as DOOM III and QUAKE 4. I think the game would have been better with some good jokes like Duke Nukem 3D and make the game much, much longer without feeling to blow your brains out cause it's getting boring. For now the top game remain in my opimion HL2. because the engine hasn't change at all and it seems a copy past from other games. Sorry to say this but ven F.E.A.R is better then this game. Hell... even Marathon from Bungie is better even if it's old. For now all I want is to see in the future a new remade and better Duke Numkem 3D with better chicks and "sex" into it, please don't forget the jokes and porn into it. Take care all and remember... spending too much money on games that end fast isn't cool. Like Episode 1 of HL2. Expand
  2. DanielC.
    Jul 20, 2006
    4
    The game starts out GREAT I was thinking, "wow is this actually trying to compete with the half life 2 engine?!". The pub had a lot of time spent on creating it and making it look just right. Then you get taken into the ship and that is where the game loses everything. You go on a boring ride and fall of into a big butt (you'll know what i mean if you play). So the graphics look The game starts out GREAT I was thinking, "wow is this actually trying to compete with the half life 2 engine?!". The pub had a lot of time spent on creating it and making it look just right. Then you get taken into the ship and that is where the game loses everything. You go on a boring ride and fall of into a big butt (you'll know what i mean if you play). So the graphics look good, but as you play through, pick up weapons etc it gets really tedious there are no differences of creative streeks anywhere. Everything looks the same the only plus point I can give are the gravity paths and that is about it! A disapointing game after a really good start. Expand
  3. FelixE.
    Oct 20, 2008
    1
    In the beginning, I thought like "wow this might just be worth that money" but already after 20 minutes or so of playing, it will get extremely boring. The storyline is really lame, real copycat game, and those upside-down walk things are quite cool the first time you see them, but they do nothing but annoy you. Sorry, but I absolutely do not recommend this game.
  4. KenC.
    Aug 19, 2006
    0
    A turgid mess of switches and portals. Tries to innovate, ends up instead with a bunch of gimmicks and tired, derivative gameplay.
  5. MarkY.
    Jul 13, 2006
    2
    I was very unimpressed by this game. I thought that is was derviative, poorly executed and uninteresting. The AI was subpar at best and the animations were likewise poor. The gameplay was very repetitive. I am very disappointed.
  6. Gamerdude
    Jul 14, 2006
    1
    It looks like any other game using the doom engine out there, the combat is really bad. All it has going for it is some interesting effects. Another hype bite the dust.
  7. zac
    Aug 2, 2006
    2
    some things were cool like walking upside down but u only get 8 guns and gameplay gets boring after about 20mins.
  8. Drazula
    Dec 30, 2006
    1
    This game is so completely abysmal. Why did it take 3DR this long to put out? I mean, DNF is much more inexcusable but look - here is Prey, and it looks exactly like Doom 3 - how many times must we be put through the biomechanical-aliens/save-the-world plot? How many times? Developers, pull your heads out your butts and do something DIFFERENT!
  9. HenryJ.
    Jul 11, 2006
    4
    Well it has some great physics going on but completely lacks atomsphere as is the case with most FPS these days. When is somebody going to create a clever and immersive FPS and stop the cliche? System Shock 2 is about seven years old but still makes Prey feel like doom 1995.
  10. AnsonG.
    Jul 21, 2006
    3
    Dont expect this game very much better then Doom 3 or Quake 4. When starting was okay but after that u will get boring and geedy. Who is this game for? The weapons look very cliched and the combat not very serious. Sometime u board onto ship u will feel headache. The only i gave this point was graphics, display and gravity. This game was not the best series and everything u dont want in Dont expect this game very much better then Doom 3 or Quake 4. When starting was okay but after that u will get boring and geedy. Who is this game for? The weapons look very cliched and the combat not very serious. Sometime u board onto ship u will feel headache. The only i gave this point was graphics, display and gravity. This game was not the best series and everything u dont want in best FPS game. Expand
  11. KeithB.
    Sep 18, 2006
    2
    Boring boring boring! Don't even mention F.E.A.R. or DOOM 3 in the same breath! The biggest letdown ever! Tries to be too clever with portals and upside down ramps - but what is the point of all of it but to eventually annoy! 2/10 because I was being polite. Awful and pointless.
  12. LeeU
    Jul 14, 2006
    4
    Overated, overhyped schlock.
  13. RichardD.
    Aug 19, 2006
    1
    I wanted to like this game so bad, as I'm a huge fan of 3D Realms' previous works. Unfortunately, Prey falls flat on its face in everything it tries... the only thing saving it from a 0 is the inclusion of the Talon segments. Everything else, however, is boring, predictable, and gimmicky.
  14. JoshH.
    Sep 15, 2006
    2
    The storyline is lame and each corner of it is expected very early into the game. In other words, no excellent plot twists to draw you in. The weapons are not innovative; it seems the developers have confused "innovation" with queerness. I hate to break the news but strange gun design is not innovation--especially since they function just like they have in many FPS shooters preceding it. The storyline is lame and each corner of it is expected very early into the game. In other words, no excellent plot twists to draw you in. The weapons are not innovative; it seems the developers have confused "innovation" with queerness. I hate to break the news but strange gun design is not innovation--especially since they function just like they have in many FPS shooters preceding it. The use of gravity is a neat idea, but in reality this only makes one nautious and serve no purpose other than to solve very simple, linear puzzles and rag dolls fall to their doom--as if that's anything new. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. It's so pregnant with ideas and beautiful movements that you'd be a sad fool to to deprive yourself of the experience. If the sequel is longer, a bit more difficult, and plays slightly more intelligently, then I can't imagine it being anything other than a Classic. [Aug 2006, p.58]
  2. Prey is touted as having an adaptive difficulty system -- the better you are, the better it gets -- and it really did seem to get harder as the game went on. As a result, there are just two difficulty settings, Normal and Cherokee, and I'd advise that even vets might want to give Normal a try on the first run out, letting the game's artificial intelligence pick up the pace to a comfortable level.
  3. Plot holes aside, the gameplay in Prey is nothing short of amazing. Whether you're wandering up walls, shifting gravity, shrunk down to the size of a mouse, going into spirit form, fighting in the afterlife, or floating around in a service vehicle... Prey has got everything anyone could want from a sci-fi shooter and more.