Prey PC

Prey Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 582 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You awaken aboard Talos I, a space station orbiting the moon in the year 2032. You are the key subject in an experiment meant to change humanity forever – but things have gone terribly wrong. The space station has been overrun by hostile aliens and you are now being hunted. As you delve intoYou awaken aboard Talos I, a space station orbiting the moon in the year 2032. You are the key subject in an experiment meant to change humanity forever – but things have gone terribly wrong. The space station has been overrun by hostile aliens and you are now being hunted. As you delve into the dark secrets of Talos I and your own past, you have to survive using the tools found on the station, your wits, weapons, and mind-bending abilities. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. May 15, 2017
    97
    I’m having trouble remembering when I’ve had this much fun with a FPS in the dozens I’ve played over the years. The first Half-Life for sure, and BioShock. Dishonored probably. Prey is better than the recent Wolfenstein revival, as good as that was. Deus Ex? Solid, but IMHO not as good. So, anyway, bottom line, I’m giving Prey what I believe is the highest score I’ve ever given. It’s that good.
  2. 92
    Once again, Arkane Studios delivers an amazing title. Prey is a huge, non-linear adventure in which the player really is the king, a simulation where everything works just fine, with a deep and inspired sci-fi story. A true masterpiece.
  3. May 14, 2017
    90
    Deep, systemic and old school, Prey is a beautiful and haunting world to explore and overcome. A reminder of long forgotten design philosophies applied to modern game design.
  4. May 15, 2017
    83
    All in all I would definitely recommend Prey to anyone interested. It is very reminiscent of Bioshock with some hefty Dead Space elements thrown in and some solid Deus Ex mechanics driving it all. It is a well-balanced, lengthy game with a substantial story that is intriguing enough to keep you interested for an extended period of time. Lackluster combat can make some stretches a drag, but that next room to explore and that next secret to uncover keeps you going. If you are on the fence, I would suggest you pick this one up. In a year that seems to just keep on delivering, Prey is yet another success story.
  5. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Jun 5, 2017
    80
    It’s hard to shake the feeling that development time on Prey was seriously (and suddenly) cut. Developers took their time designing a magnificent space station, they worked out the relationships between personnel and outlined various background stories, they begun fleshing out the main storyline and alien ecology when suddenly they received an order to wrap it up and ship the game as it is. At least, that’s the most plausible thing I can think of to explain the staggering difference in polish between various elements. [Issue#220, p.44]
  6. May 12, 2017
    80
    Arkane’s tale of wrench-wielding, audio log sleuthing, and human hubris wears its videogame heritage on its bright red space suit sleeve. Until such time that System Shock 3 may challenge it, Prey is the worthy follow up to System Shock 2 in everything but name.
  7. May 10, 2017
    40
    If the PC version of Prey hadn’t become completely unplayable from crashes and save-game corruption just as it was hitting its stride, I’d have called it a very good or perhaps even great game. Its strange alternate-history universe, sidequests, hidden threats, and detailed environmental storytelling make Talos I a joy to explore, one that’s well worth slogging through combat that doesn’t feel fresh enough to sustain it throughout a long game.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 106
  2. Negative: 14 out of 106
  1. May 10, 2017
    10
    Wau finaly some system shock vibe ! Game got that space feeling like it was in System shock 20 y ago. Overall its great its not 10 more likeWau finaly some system shock vibe ! Game got that space feeling like it was in System shock 20 y ago. Overall its great its not 10 more like 8-9 but ill give 10 to nullify those idiotic 0 reviews like "change name and would be 10 but its 0 cauze its PREY". Expand
  2. May 6, 2017
    10
    As a fan of this genre want to say that the game I really liked it)) Separately say about the pros/cons.
    Pros:
    +++ 60 FPS in 2017, it's
    As a fan of this genre want to say that the game I really liked it)) Separately say about the pros/cons.
    Pros:
    +++ 60 FPS in 2017, it's something);
    ++ Music - she's amazing, never boring, always in theme;
    ++ Crafting - very nicely done, and the processing resources;
    ++ Skills - they are all useful, useless as such without;
    ++ Dynamic battles, even if 1 on 1 with a small enemy;
    ++ The possibility of passing in the same place in completely different ways;
    ++ Some game moments that make you wince, for example, enemy jumps sharply, in addition, this is accompanied by loud sound));
    ++ Respect for Arkane Studios! Yeah, it's my personal factor.
    Cons:
    -- Interface, 90% of the game Dishonored 2 interface;
    -- The monotony of locations;
    -- lots of enemies, here he is almost 1, well a maximum of 3 sometimes... But hence the advantages no need to learn a lot of tactics, almost no damage to finish fights;
    -- Shotgun for pre-order is so poor, that a wrench is better... Yes, he is able to knockdown enemies, but it's damage is terrible.

    Well, I suggest the game to all, especially fans of the genre, here has something interesting to occupy the time)

    My rating: 9.4
    Expand
  3. May 6, 2017
    10
    This review is based on the game after completing it with all the side-quests available, except two (as far as I know). I played it for aroundThis review is based on the game after completing it with all the side-quests available, except two (as far as I know). I played it for around 25 in-game hours.

    I'm one of those people who was heavily disappointed when Bethesda cancelled Prey 2 (2006's Prey's sequel, which I played and very much enjoyed). In a way, even if I wasn't one of them, I totally understood the people who started bashing and boycotting this new Prey game. But was the hate justified?

    The short answer is no. Not at all. Based on my experience so far, I have to say this game is simply amazing in every possible way. The music is phenomenal, thanks to the talented Mick Gordon who also did the soundtrack for 2016's Doom and for Wolfenstein: The New Order.

    But what is more important though is that the game is full of very smart and intelligent gameplay design ideas. It's more than obvious that the devs well thought out every little gameplay aspect and tweaked them to achieve perfection. This game has a very high production quality.

    Also, I think I never saw a game before that so well utilized the enviroment such as this. In every single area I spent a very large amount of time to be able to discover everything, and it was a whole lot of fun. Prey mixes verticality and platforming very well with the usual, more horizontal gameplay.

    And if I mentonied exploration: the exploration/discovery is fantastic, the game is very complex and deep in terms of world building and gameplay, in fact it's more complex in a way than most AAA games out there today. The story and the lore looks promising, and I like the visual design the artists went for.

    The game clearly took inspiration from the best movies in the sci-fi genre (Stanley Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey, or Ridley Scott's Alien). Other than that, it reminds me some of the best games I've played, such as Deus Ex: Human Revolution, Bioshock, Dishonored, and of course, it also has a very strong System Shock vibe. In fact, it could be called System Shock 3. It has a Dead Space feeling in a way too.

    The good news won't end here. This game is perfectly optimized. I have a rig that is around the recommended specs, and I manage to hit 100FPS average at 1080p on the absolute highest settings (EVGA GTX970 FTW, 16GB DDR4 2400Mhz RAM, i5-6500).

    This game is a joy to play. It's very impressive that it managed to grab me this much under only one hour and never let me go till I finished it. In fact, I'm still not finished (even if I completed the story). I'm starting a second playthrough now and I'll try to get the remaining achievements.
    I definitely recommend checking out this game, it well worth the money!

    If I have to say a con, it's a minor thing, but normal human-sized enemies will provide unpleasant difficulty spikes every time you face them as long as you don't get a shotgun. Fighting against them with the Glue Gun, Pistol, or Wrench is not easy, and they kill you in 3 hits on Normal difficulty. The easiest is to avoid them and/or try to throw explosives at them from a distance (red pipes).
    Expand
  4. May 19, 2017
    9
    Prey isn't A Perfect game but it is a good game the semi-open world design is surprisingly done well with a pretty good Combat system the gamePrey isn't A Perfect game but it is a good game the semi-open world design is surprisingly done well with a pretty good Combat system the game does not focus on stealth as much as dishonored 1 or 2 and as much as they push you can do different approaches they don't allow you to do stealth at all and the game runs amazing on pc and even though after a while the jump scares do get repetitive after a while in the beginning i never stopped becoming paranoid hitting almost every object i found and even got suspicious of the gloo cannon in the beginning of the game and talos 1 is huge with tons of side quests that are interesting and A.I that is ok and i love the weapon variety though and the jet pack is still savage as ever the combat and story i mostly stayed for and the enemies are pretty well done and i simply adore the sound track i have nearly put 1,000 characters into this rambling about the mostly mixed feelings about this game but i had to lift it up to at least an 8 just because the game has an amazing semi-open world and in the end had nearly 50 hours into the game when i felt satisfied the game is great with an awesome combat system with ok A.I and a feeling of joy also no item in this game every feels useless just because even junk can be made to materials which is made for items and the different stories through audio logs and emails are surprisingly intriguing and the gloo cannon allows for different and unique ways of use but not as much as say a portal gun the weapons are diverse and the game never stopped becoming tense and i felt their was more stuff to learn and i was left with a huge amount of playtime and a somehow unique experience also it rewards exploration and every game needs that if their semi open world or open world without it the game will feel empty and even if you don't find humans till later in the game i felt like this is a new world and it was somehow unique and a lot of first person games or games in general can do that no other game has this feeling except maybe the 1st dead space and even i that is the closest comparison it's still somehow hundred's of miles away Prey is that unique that's why i give it a 9/10 Expand
  5. May 7, 2017
    8
    finally the System Shock 2 sequel everyone was waiting for!
    this game has nothing to do with Pray and it's System Shock 3 with modern
    finally the System Shock 2 sequel everyone was waiting for!
    this game has nothing to do with Pray and it's System Shock 3 with modern mechanics
    the overall theme is the same, the atmosphere is the same, the story is very (VERY) similar
    this game is very difficult if played on hard, but that's how a game should be

    -- GOOD--
    WRENCH: you have the iconic SS2 weapon! enough to sell the game to me :D
    STORY: extremely good story telling and writing, good mix of horror and sci-fi
    LEVEL DESIGN: feels like a mix between SS2 and Half-Life with a touch of Bioshock, in other words: top-notch level design.
    CRAFTING MECHANICS: mechanics borrowed from SS2 and perfected
    GRAPHICS: it's using the CryEngine but fortunately enough they decided for a non-photorealistic rendering, which would have completely ruined the game. Even the graphics is a strong reference to SS2...

    -- BAD --
    ENEMIES: they glitch out like crazy...very poor AI overall (almost no AI:, enemies will just run towards you disregarding the environment or avoid you completely. Probably this fits the storyline but makes the game incredibly hard or incredibly easy)
    ENEMIES, again: they're not infinite! this was a huge point in SS2 atmosphere! in Prey once you clear a section, you feel relatively safe. In SS2 you could go all way back to the beginning and get attacked by a screaming enemy! This removes a lot from the atmosphere, it's not scaring enough. Moreover, after a while you can easily predict where they will appear! In SS2 enemies were completely unpredictable. Here they went for the easy jump scare, which probably suits better modern gamers, who knows..
    ENEMIES, again and again!: they're badly designed with very few variations. I was hoping for some inside-out warped abominations (Dark Souls style) looking at the trailers..all you get is the same four-legged creature rehashed multiple times...might fit the storyline, but then don't advertise something your game clearly does not have. The mimic effect is cool, but everything else feels pretty cheap and rushed.
    UI sometimes is a bit messy but it's nothing terrible.

    In short: very good overall, but poor AI and enemy design. Does not reach the perfection level of SS2 or Half-Life (the best FPS games ever made) but it's very, very close. Nothing that a well-done sequel, prequel or whatever cannot fix.

    Overall, given the low quality of modern FPS games (at least most of them), this game is a long awaited gem that every fan of the genre should play.

    Thanks Bethesda and Arkane Studios for bringing back true old-school RPG FPS style.
    Expand
  6. May 13, 2017
    7
    An amazing adventure. I really enjoyed the story, the locations, overall creativity and complexity but simply couldn't stand these weapon andAn amazing adventure. I really enjoyed the story, the locations, overall creativity and complexity but simply couldn't stand these weapon and item models, design or animations. It ruined a lot of good vibe for me. It has to be someone who worked on bioshock and dishonored because I had the exact same feeling about this aspect in these titles. Absolutely the most disgusting design. Not saying anything about the locations, just weapons and items. I'd give it a 9 out of 10 if it wasn't for that. Expand
  7. May 8, 2017
    0
    When Bioshock and Dead Space give each other a special hug you get PREY. Atmosphere and ambience are amazing, the weapon variety is solid, theWhen Bioshock and Dead Space give each other a special hug you get PREY. Atmosphere and ambience are amazing, the weapon variety is solid, the shooting mechanics are acceptable and the graphics are above average. This game is worth at minimum a rental but I recommend a buy. 10/10 Would special hug again. Expand

See all 106 User Reviews