User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2011
    7
    This is the latest game in a long line of superb turn based war games made by Ageod (Paradox France). Pride of nations is set in the Victorian / Industrial Age between 1850 and 1920. The game focuses on leading one of eight nations to glory through warfare, colonization, diplomacy and trading. If you are already a fan of some of the other Ageod games, you will feel right at home, but the UI will take some time to learn. This is painstakingly also one of the games shortcomings. If you are a newcomer to the Ageod games you will feel frustrated because of the how little you will actually learn from the tutorial and how much you will have to learn by making mistakes by playing the game. Warfare is handled the same way as in former Ageod games, you move counters around like a board game and it will show you how many days it will take for a unit to get there. Each turn is 15 days. If you are familiar with Victoria II than the combat is far superior in Pride of nations. Terrain, weather and supply plays a huge important role when doing warfare. All in all i give this game 7 out of 10, i would have given it higher but bugs in its current version makes the game near unplayable. Lucky enough you can go to the pride of nations forum at the paradox forum and grab the latest beta patch 1.01F (it is steam compatible). Which makes a huge difference! Collapse
  2. Jul 11, 2011
    3
    It is a poor attempt at a strategy game. Compared with all the other similar games in Paradox's lineup this is one of the ones that simply fails to deliver. With graphics and UI that looks like an amateur's job in Photoshop. Coupled with the fact that this game is complex. You'll find yourself overwhelmed by the lack of user-friendly and intuitive UI. Getting lost in the UI is a very common thing. The game mechanics itself is limited in options. This perhaps due to the time period in the game, or simple due to the lack of flexibility in Paradox Interactive's games. At times, this seems a little more than a 'history channel' on a slightly variable timer, with only a handful of nations that would keep you occupied with interest.

    I give it 3 out of pure originality of this attempt at a game.
    Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2011
    2
    I sincerely wish I hadn't bought this, thanks to the no refunds policy for steam. Terrible clashing, clunky, stuttery graphics. There might be some lovely gameplay there but I haven't found it..
  4. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    A very good game (after the patches). Deep economic system easy to learn the basics but still not easy to master. The only weak point for me that remains after the last patches is the Diplomatic system with its few choices
  5. Dec 9, 2012
    6
    This game could have been a solid Victoria like but is utterly ruined by poor UI design and processing time between turns that can go up to 10 min in the great campaign map
  6. Oct 19, 2012
    9
    For the gender, it is a great game. The low ratings come from gamers used with intuitive control based games. It is hard to learn , but once you get deep into it you will start loving it. This game is full with realism, and you will feel the slow pace of development, instead of "mine this, build this, attack, win" type of strategy games. If it weren't for the diplomatic crisis system, I would have given it a 10.
    A beautiful, smart game for the gender.
    Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    I love this game and I don`t see why it`s not getting good reviews. I can`t believe AGEOD went with paradox.

    This game is a beautiful woman , and it`s everything victoria 2 should have been.
  8. Apr 11, 2013
    0
    This strategy game I wouldn't even call a strategy game. The HUD is amateurish and it lacks even a little bit of complexity. There are still a long list of bugs that haven't been addressed, even to this day, and support for the game is lacking. The game is way too familiar and it barely contrasts with previous releases by AGEOD. This game engine has been overused and this game is just Rise of Prussia with a new package cover. This game engine is outdated and I lost interest after just a few hours. It has sat on the shelf since the day I bought it. Expand
  9. Apr 15, 2013
    0
    Don't bother. I bought this for 29.99 last week and I lost interest quickly. I should have bought it a year ago on Steam when the price was $1.99!!!!

    This portrays the Victorian Age in a cartoonish fashion, with warfare as an afterthought. But don't get too encouraged, the economics and political complexities are lacking. The turn-based mechanics of the game give the AI incorrect
    calculations and they do odd things more often than not. Multiplayer is incompatible with Windows 8 and more than 2 players the game CTD's every five minutes or so. The sprites need an upgrade as well. not to mention the complicated and outdated GUI. Expand
  10. Jun 18, 2011
    0
    This is the latest game in a long line of superb turn based war games made by Ageod (Paradox France). Pride of nations is set in the Victorian / Industrial Age between 1850 and 1920. The game focuses on leading one of eight nations to glory through warfare, colonization, diplomacy and trading. If you are already a fan of some of the other Ageod games, you will feel right at home, but the UI will take some time to learn. This is painstakingly also one of the games shortcomings. If you are a newcomer to the Ageod games you will feel frustrated because of the how little you will actually learn from the tutorial and how much you will have to learn by making mistakes by playing the game. Warfare is handled the same way as in former Ageod games, you move counters around like a board game and it will show you how many days it will take for a unit to get there. Each turn is 15 days. If you are familiar with Victoria II than the combat is far superior in Pride of nations. Terrain, weather and supply plays a huge important role when doing warfare. All in all i give this game 7 out of 10, i would have given it higher but bugs in its current version makes the game near unplayable. Lucky enough you can go to the pride of nations forum at the paradox forum and grab the latest beta patch 1.01F (it is steam compatible). Which makes a huge difference! Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Sep 13, 2011
    79
    If you've got the patience to penetrate this game, and to put up with its dawdling, you're in for a treat.
  2. 50
    Another turn-based strategy of standard "Paradox" quality is more of an add-on than a regular game – five campaigns -however interesting they are-they don't give a full-value game. [Issue#207]
  3. Aug 14, 2011
    60
    The worst thing about Pride of Nations is that it has a much steeper learning curve than Victoria 2.