Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pride of Nations is a turn-based historical strategy game set in the colonial era of the 19th century.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jul 6, 2011
    82
    Pride of Nations is a deep turn-based strategy game where the player can determine every aspect of a nation. Is a good game, but not for everyone.
  2. Jun 14, 2011
    80
    Pride of Nations is another incredible work from Paradox. Covering an aspect never considered before in the software house products (the colonial expansion), it delivers solid strategy for old fans.
  3. Sep 13, 2011
    79
    If you've got the patience to penetrate this game, and to put up with its dawdling, you're in for a treat.
  4. Jun 22, 2011
    70
    Everyone who knows other games from developer AGEOD, have at least an idea what they can expect. Pride of Nations is an extremely complex and challenging strategy game with some very good ideas, but all overshadowed from some serious technical shortcomings.
  5. Jun 24, 2011
    70
    If Pride of Nations is guilty of anything, it's simply guilty of being unimaginative. But what it lacks in imagination it makes up in historical fidelity and sheer depth.
  6. Jul 24, 2011
    68
    Friends of complex and detailed historical turn-based strategy games will certainly have no problems to invest much time and patience in Pride of Nations, but everyone else will probably despair at the lack of comprehensibility.
  7. 50
    Another turn-based strategy of standard "Paradox" quality is more of an add-on than a regular game – five campaigns -however interesting they are-they don't give a full-value game. [Issue#207]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    I love this game and I don`t see why it`s not getting good reviews. I can`t believe AGEOD went with paradox.

    This game is a beautiful woman
    I love this game and I don`t see why it`s not getting good reviews. I can`t believe AGEOD went with paradox.

    This game is a beautiful woman , and it`s everything victoria 2 should have been.
    Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    A very good game (after the patches). Deep economic system easy to learn the basics but still not easy to master. The only weak point for meA very good game (after the patches). Deep economic system easy to learn the basics but still not easy to master. The only weak point for me that remains after the last patches is the Diplomatic system with its few choices Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2012
    9
    For the gender, it is a great game. The low ratings come from gamers used with intuitive control based games. It is hard to learn , but onceFor the gender, it is a great game. The low ratings come from gamers used with intuitive control based games. It is hard to learn , but once you get deep into it you will start loving it. This game is full with realism, and you will feel the slow pace of development, instead of "mine this, build this, attack, win" type of strategy games. If it weren't for the diplomatic crisis system, I would have given it a 10.
    A beautiful, smart game for the gender.
    Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2012
    6
    This game could have been a solid Victoria like but is utterly ruined by poor UI design and processing time between turns that can go up to 10This game could have been a solid Victoria like but is utterly ruined by poor UI design and processing time between turns that can go up to 10 min in the great campaign map Expand
  5. Jul 11, 2011
    3
    It is a poor attempt at a strategy game. Compared with all the other similar games in Paradox's lineup this is one of the ones that simplyIt is a poor attempt at a strategy game. Compared with all the other similar games in Paradox's lineup this is one of the ones that simply fails to deliver. With graphics and UI that looks like an amateur's job in Photoshop. Coupled with the fact that this game is complex. You'll find yourself overwhelmed by the lack of user-friendly and intuitive UI. Getting lost in the UI is a very common thing. The game mechanics itself is limited in options. This perhaps due to the time period in the game, or simple due to the lack of flexibility in Paradox Interactive's games. At times, this seems a little more than a 'history channel' on a slightly variable timer, with only a handful of nations that would keep you occupied with interest.

    I give it 3 out of pure originality of this attempt at a game.
    Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2011
    2
    I sincerely wish I hadn't bought this, thanks to the no refunds policy for steam. Terrible clashing, clunky, stuttery graphics. There might beI sincerely wish I hadn't bought this, thanks to the no refunds policy for steam. Terrible clashing, clunky, stuttery graphics. There might be some lovely gameplay there but I haven't found it.. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    0
    This strategy game I wouldn't even call a strategy game. The HUD is amateurish and it lacks even a little bit of complexity. There are still aThis strategy game I wouldn't even call a strategy game. The HUD is amateurish and it lacks even a little bit of complexity. There are still a long list of bugs that haven't been addressed, even to this day, and support for the game is lacking. The game is way too familiar and it barely contrasts with previous releases by AGEOD. This game engine has been overused and this game is just Rise of Prussia with a new package cover. This game engine is outdated and I lost interest after just a few hours. It has sat on the shelf since the day I bought it. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews