Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    80
    Prime World Defenders is a lot of fun and one of the best tower defense games on the market. Its problems lie more in the lack of refinements on some great ideas.
  2. Jun 20, 2013
    75
    With a long campaign, randomly generated side missions and many cards to collect, Prime World Defenders offers fans of the Tower Defence genre a lasting and varied challenge, with new elements being added throughout.
  3. Jun 20, 2013
    60
    If you are looking for a refreshing tower defence title, then there is something in Prime World: Defenders you will enjoy. People who are more fussy with their choice of tower defence games might find this to be an ambitious title with problems.
  4. May 22, 2013
    60
    Prime World: Defenders has some good ideas, but the execution of its core mechanics lacks of dedication. If you are a fan of tower defense genre, you can get some fun, but beware: grinding between missions is required and can be a boring chore.
  5. Jun 10, 2013
    56
    Some things must not be mixed under any circumstances, like vodka and soda or pickled herrings and milk. This rule holds true for CCGs and tower defense. Get ready to waste hours of your time playing through the same-looking levels, so you can get a slightly more powerful card.
  6. Jun 5, 2013
    50
    Prime World: Defenders had an exceptionally low bar to clear to get me on board, but the staid design and brutal grind managed to miss even that simple goal. Because the power differential between basic and improved cards is so great, the difficulty ticks over from impossible to trivial out of nowhere. Neither extreme is much fun, and unfortunately neither is Prime World: Defenders.
  7. Jun 26, 2013
    40
    I wanted to like Prime World: Defenders as it really had me going for the first few levels. I had a couple of close calls where my HP almost went down but I managed to keep it perfect with well placed towers. This exciting back and forth between me and the enemies rarely showed its head again during the rest of my playthrough.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 7 out of 22
  1. May 21, 2013
    8
    While this is primarily a tower defense game, it also has elements of ccg and rpg, and does all three very well. The high quality graphics, appropriate music, and above average voice acting combine to add a nice atmosphere. You get a lot of game for the price. They did a good job of balancing the maps for the main story line so that you need to build a lot of strength to get through them, but most of the maps you build up that strength on become way too easy very quickly. There's a hint in the storyline that there will be more to come. I will definitely buy any dlc that comes out for this game. Full Review »
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    I don't quite understand the bad official reviews. The game is sheer fun to play from beginning to end. Even the grinding between official missions has always been fun, since it's never that long, and you always get a nice reward after every victory. Game length also seems ideal to me. I just finished the game and I feel like starting again with a different tower setup. (You have to invest in your towers, so you can never take more than half of the assortment with you really) Full Review »
  3. Jun 13, 2013
    2
    I was unimpressed.

    It's a tower defense game where you play in a very beautiful environment but with substandard interface and upgrade
    options. In fact, you can't upgrade your towers at all during the first five levels and clicking the "speed up" icon will kill you more often than if you suffer through the long marches.

    In terms of pros, the game is visually very nice. The "creeps" you are killing can be very funny. Some of them look like brooms and some of them have eyeballs that dangle in front of their bodies.

    In terms of cons, the very first "bomb" they gave me does less damage than a single hit from a single tower and costs more than all the other starter towers. That should tell you how poorly conceived this game is. The card forging system is interesting, but ultimately fell flat for me. The tutorial is endless, condescending, and in some cases counter-productive.

    This game is a rewrap of several other free-to-play casual games I've seen from the same genre but with the Prime World theme and characters. If you love Prime World, stick with Prime World; don't get fooled by the marketing. For me, this one was a pass.
    Full Review »