User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 138

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2013
    8
    While this is primarily a tower defense game, it also has elements of ccg and rpg, and does all three very well. The high quality graphics, appropriate music, and above average voice acting combine to add a nice atmosphere. You get a lot of game for the price. They did a good job of balancing the maps for the main story line so that you need to build a lot of strength to get through them,While this is primarily a tower defense game, it also has elements of ccg and rpg, and does all three very well. The high quality graphics, appropriate music, and above average voice acting combine to add a nice atmosphere. You get a lot of game for the price. They did a good job of balancing the maps for the main story line so that you need to build a lot of strength to get through them, but most of the maps you build up that strength on become way too easy very quickly. There's a hint in the storyline that there will be more to come. I will definitely buy any dlc that comes out for this game. Expand
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    I don't quite understand the bad official reviews. The game is sheer fun to play from beginning to end. Even the grinding between official missions has always been fun, since it's never that long, and you always get a nice reward after every victory. Game length also seems ideal to me. I just finished the game and I feel like starting again with a different tower setup. (You have to investI don't quite understand the bad official reviews. The game is sheer fun to play from beginning to end. Even the grinding between official missions has always been fun, since it's never that long, and you always get a nice reward after every victory. Game length also seems ideal to me. I just finished the game and I feel like starting again with a different tower setup. (You have to invest in your towers, so you can never take more than half of the assortment with you really) Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    I don't understand how this is considered only 58% here. The official reviewers should try more diverse genres before giving such low mark to a really good game.

    I bought it for only 3.89$ on steam, I just haven't stopped playing in days. I love it. The system is great, it's challenging yet forgiving. It allows you to customize your different cards (towers or magic) and has multiple
    I don't understand how this is considered only 58% here. The official reviewers should try more diverse genres before giving such low mark to a really good game.

    I bought it for only 3.89$ on steam, I just haven't stopped playing in days. I love it. The system is great, it's challenging yet forgiving. It allows you to customize your different cards (towers or magic) and has multiple talents to choose from. I think it's the first 3D paid tower game which is actually well balanced. The story is small but fun and adds to the style of the game.

    Well, I wish we could classify games on steam by user ratings instead of critics ratings.

    BTW there's a demo for this game. I played it before buying the game, it convinced me.
    Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    The game's highlight is by far its rpg and ccg elements. It features tower, spell and item cards that you can fuse or upgrade and you can get them either by winning battles or purchasing booster packs at the store. The game is pretty challenging if you want to get all 3 stars and 2 achievements in every level which gives it its replay value. To sum up, the game may not be the best towerThe game's highlight is by far its rpg and ccg elements. It features tower, spell and item cards that you can fuse or upgrade and you can get them either by winning battles or purchasing booster packs at the store. The game is pretty challenging if you want to get all 3 stars and 2 achievements in every level which gives it its replay value. To sum up, the game may not be the best tower defense out there but its unique gameplay makes it worth playing and deserves an enthusiastic 8 Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    This game is FUN! I cant leave once I begin to play with. The card system is cool, the towers and enemies looks awesome! This middle-age fantasy world is the best for a Tower Defense game!
  6. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    I have no idea why everyone is giving this game a bad review? This is a solid Tower Defense game with many extra features that normal tower defense games just do not offer. The graphics are amazing, the card system is very coo, and the fuse/evolution feature is genius. This game does require a lot of grinding to be able to rack up money, exp, and stars....but that's where the fun comes in.I have no idea why everyone is giving this game a bad review? This is a solid Tower Defense game with many extra features that normal tower defense games just do not offer. The graphics are amazing, the card system is very coo, and the fuse/evolution feature is genius. This game does require a lot of grinding to be able to rack up money, exp, and stars....but that's where the fun comes in. If it were just so damn easy to play through this game and win, then it would not be fun. I have to say it is one of my favorite games i have played in the resent years. Only fault i have with this game is there are a minor glitch with the STEAM achievements, there are a few that even though you achieve them, they do no work. BUT they have just released a new patch that is supposed to fix this. I can not wait until they release more content, or even a sequel game! A must buy! Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    Can't get enough of this game. Defence Grid was good, but this pushes it up a notch. The magic system is interesting, but the collectible card system and crafting where you can fuse and evolve your towers is what really makes it sweet. It connects the battles with that 'just one more game' feeling.
  8. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    Tower defense with RPG elements. Some battles are too easy, but the collection of cards, levelling of those cards aspect is pretty fun. Overall, a nice grinding game when you have nothing else to do.
  9. Feb 12, 2014
    8
    This is certainly a different take on tower defense games, Its ccg like elements make this one stand out. The card fusing and evolving mechanic is also a different and actually very enjoyable. The only real drawbacks to the game are the imbalance in the towers themselfs. Some towers are just to good not to use in every map while some have no place in the game at all. Also as you progressThis is certainly a different take on tower defense games, Its ccg like elements make this one stand out. The card fusing and evolving mechanic is also a different and actually very enjoyable. The only real drawbacks to the game are the imbalance in the towers themselfs. Some towers are just to good not to use in every map while some have no place in the game at all. Also as you progress in the game, earlier maps become retarded easy. Overall It has its flaws, but I personally had a great time playing this one took me around 70 hours to beat normal and heroic. Im sure I could have beat it alot quicker, but I was just having a good time with this title. Expand
  10. Jun 12, 2013
    8
    I played the game for eight straight hours and i must say that it is worth the money i payed. There are some bugs with server that needs to be fixed. Atmosphere is very good, graphic is vivid and colourful. To keep the story short, this is not the best tower defence game but it is worth playing.
  11. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    If you like tower games to pass the time, this is a hit. I also like Soul Survivor so take this review for what it is worth. Grid is still the tops however even that game got boring in time. So, this game would be better priced at 10$ but if you want to do something new for say 15+ hours I say roll it. The card melding thing is meehh. I like the Idea but you don't get to create anythingIf you like tower games to pass the time, this is a hit. I also like Soul Survivor so take this review for what it is worth. Grid is still the tops however even that game got boring in time. So, this game would be better priced at 10$ but if you want to do something new for say 15+ hours I say roll it. The card melding thing is meehh. I like the Idea but you don't get to create anything outside of the box. You advance towers according to your play style. The interface reminds me to much of a "free to play" game, other than that no negative from me. 1$ an hour for entertainment is fair, and this game has gone above and beyond the 1$ mark. I look forward to any DLC that may come. Yes this game makes me want to play Orcs Must Die /sigh. Expand
  12. Dec 2, 2013
    8
    Bought this in the Steam sale...

    Yes it's grindy...
    Yes you can see it was originally meant to be an F2P game...

    BUT

    what you get is a lot of fun, some great ideas, and a huge time-sink..
    definitely one for TD fans...
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    80
    Prime World Defenders is a lot of fun and one of the best tower defense games on the market. Its problems lie more in the lack of refinements on some great ideas.
  2. Jun 26, 2013
    40
    I wanted to like Prime World: Defenders as it really had me going for the first few levels. I had a couple of close calls where my HP almost went down but I managed to keep it perfect with well placed towers. This exciting back and forth between me and the enemies rarely showed its head again during the rest of my playthrough.
  3. Jun 20, 2013
    60
    If you are looking for a refreshing tower defence title, then there is something in Prime World: Defenders you will enjoy. People who are more fussy with their choice of tower defence games might find this to be an ambitious title with problems.