Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Prime World: Defenders merges classic tower defense gameplay with collectible card mechanic.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    80
    Prime World Defenders is a lot of fun and one of the best tower defense games on the market. Its problems lie more in the lack of refinements on some great ideas.
  2. Jun 20, 2013
    75
    With a long campaign, randomly generated side missions and many cards to collect, Prime World Defenders offers fans of the Tower Defence genre a lasting and varied challenge, with new elements being added throughout.
  3. May 22, 2013
    60
    Prime World: Defenders has some good ideas, but the execution of its core mechanics lacks of dedication. If you are a fan of tower defense genre, you can get some fun, but beware: grinding between missions is required and can be a boring chore.
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    60
    If you are looking for a refreshing tower defence title, then there is something in Prime World: Defenders you will enjoy. People who are more fussy with their choice of tower defence games might find this to be an ambitious title with problems.
  5. Jun 10, 2013
    56
    Some things must not be mixed under any circumstances, like vodka and soda or pickled herrings and milk. This rule holds true for CCGs and tower defense. Get ready to waste hours of your time playing through the same-looking levels, so you can get a slightly more powerful card.
  6. Jun 5, 2013
    50
    Prime World: Defenders had an exceptionally low bar to clear to get me on board, but the staid design and brutal grind managed to miss even that simple goal. Because the power differential between basic and improved cards is so great, the difficulty ticks over from impossible to trivial out of nowhere. Neither extreme is much fun, and unfortunately neither is Prime World: Defenders.
  7. Jun 26, 2013
    40
    I wanted to like Prime World: Defenders as it really had me going for the first few levels. I had a couple of close calls where my HP almost went down but I managed to keep it perfect with well placed towers. This exciting back and forth between me and the enemies rarely showed its head again during the rest of my playthrough.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 21
  2. Negative: 6 out of 21
  1. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    I don't quite understand the bad official reviews. The game is sheer fun to play from beginning to end. Even the grinding between official missions has always been fun, since it's never that long, and you always get a nice reward after every victory. Game length also seems ideal to me. I just finished the game and I feel like starting again with a different tower setup. (You have to invest in your towers, so you can never take more than half of the assortment with you really) Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    I have no idea why everyone is giving this game a bad review? This is a solid Tower Defense game with many extra features that normal tower defense games just do not offer. The graphics are amazing, the card system is very coo, and the fuse/evolution feature is genius. This game does require a lot of grinding to be able to rack up money, exp, and stars....but that's where the fun comes in. If it were just so damn easy to play through this game and win, then it would not be fun. I have to say it is one of my favorite games i have played in the resent years. Only fault i have with this game is there are a minor glitch with the STEAM achievements, there are a few that even though you achieve them, they do no work. BUT they have just released a new patch that is supposed to fix this. I can not wait until they release more content, or even a sequel game! A must buy! Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    I don't understand how this is considered only 58% here. The official reviewers should try more diverse genres before giving such low mark to a really good game.

    I bought it for only 3.89$ on steam, I just haven't stopped playing in days. I love it. The system is great, it's challenging yet forgiving. It allows you to customize your different cards (towers or magic) and has multiple talents to choose from. I think it's the first 3D paid tower game which is actually well balanced. The story is small but fun and adds to the style of the game.

    Well, I wish we could classify games on steam by user ratings instead of critics ratings.

    BTW there's a demo for this game. I played it before buying the game, it convinced me.
    Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2013
    8
    I played the game for eight straight hours and i must say that it is worth the money i payed. There are some bugs with server that needs to be fixed. Atmosphere is very good, graphic is vivid and colourful. To keep the story short, this is not the best tower defence game but it is worth playing. Collapse
  5. Jul 3, 2013
    7
    Great Game Hooked me more than some full price games. I really like highscoring against other players. Tower need some tuning but its agreat game and alot of fun. Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2013
    6
    The idea of joining card game and tower defense was a nice one. It opens up for a lot of customization and the way you do it in the game is pretty neat and interesting.
    Having a full deck allows you to think each level and how you can beat it.
    The graphics are pretty nice too, but the towers look ugly and the enemies are the same over and over again.
    The real problem with the game is that it gets boring real fast. First you are presented with a story of two warring factions that do not appear in the game at all. Then you go to the tutorial, which shows you every detail about the nuances of the game but it does so in so many levels that it gets frustrating and, sometimes, counterproductive.
    After that you're off to go play the real game and, guess what, nothing changes. You're off to level after level of the same enemies, not so different map layout and same towers (they don't chance when you level them up to look different or mode bad ass). And since you're going to have to play a lot in the same levels for money and new cards, well, you can imagine that the game gets dull fast.
    Not to mention that the game is pretty unbalanced, you're getting your ass wiped easily, then you get a new card to upgrade an already existing one and suddenly it's a piece of cake. The damage sometimes more than double for one level up of a tower. All I had to do for most of the levels was to level up the most basic tower to max level and place it on the levels. I got perfect on all of them. Didn't even need another tower.
    Oh, and don't think it's easy to get new towers to upgrade, you'll be playing level after level after level and, at the end of each one you're going to have to get lucky and pick, between five cards, something useful. You can spend in-game currency to try and pick 3 out of the 5 instead of 1 (which is free after the level is beaten), but it doesn't pay off since they charge a lot for that second and third try.
    Despite all that, the game will grow on you if you're a fan of tower defense and can overlook it's many flaws, spending some nice hours beating all the levels and trying to get perfect score on them.
    For me, it was a pass.
    Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2013
    0
    I gave the game a try based on some positive reviews of the game itself. Unfortunately it didn't address the players. There were some of the most rude, vulgar and mean-spirited people I've seen in the virtual and real world. I've been playing games online for over 10 years and have yet to encounter any player base as hostile and disturbing as the player community of Prime World. The social aspect of it is the most "epic fail" I've seen.

    Not all of the players were bad, but those that were not completely silent. I would suggest avoiding this game and looking elsewhere. There are plenty of great games out there where you won't be abused by troubled kids. and those that as them. It seems to be a haven for cowardice and misdirected hostility. Combine that with a frequently buggy game accompanied by painfully long queue times to play, and I would hope it fades away sooner rather than later. Do yourself a big favor and spend your money and time elsewhere.
    I
    Expand

See all 21 User Reviews