Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 80
    If you want another MOBA game and you do not want to spend a penny, this is the one to get. A surprisingly competent freemium product for fans of the popular strategy genre.
  2. Mar 28, 2014
    70
    Both familiar and interestingly different, this is a gentle introduction for newbies, or a charismatic change-up for MOBA veterans. [Apr 2014, p.61]
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    68
    You will find great value for the cost of nothing with Prime World. It’s also a fairly small download, currently clocking in at 1.36GB, so there’s no real reason why you shouldn’t try the game if you’re a fan of the MOBA genre.
  4. Oct 11, 2013
    60
    With all the additional features that expand Prime World beyond traditional genre definitions, the game lacks the heart and focus needed to keep you invested in each match.
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    59
    Prime World fails to follow through on many of its innovative ideas. From boring castle-building to unrewarding single-player and a typical map, there isn’t much reason to choose it over any other free-to-play MOBA.
  6. Oct 12, 2013
    55
    Prime World is free to play on Steam, so if you’ve got time to burn and are looking for a game that tries to shake up the MOBA genre, then give Prime World a shot.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    Unfortunately, due to character limit I can't go into deep detail about Prime World. But, here's my review:

    I love it! Talents are a nice
    Unfortunately, due to character limit I can't go into deep detail about Prime World. But, here's my review:

    I love it! Talents are a nice change and provide a different level of building. The zuma game has a lot of controversy from newer players but trust me, it's a must. Not really a must has in it has to stay in the game, but a must has in you'll want someone playing zuma. The scrolls really help lanes (scrolls like healing over time) and other scrolls for late game that can completely turn around fights. It also allows everyone to solo lane and not lose out on Prime. I've been playing Prime World since the closed betas that began several months ago. I absolutely enjoy this game and would recommended it to anyone.

    Let me note a few downsides though. Currently, we have a rather low population. Now, since the game just released on Steam that should be gaining us a lot of players. This is what will solve the major problem of Prime World which is Matchmaking. Prime World's Matchmaking focuses on getting the players in games rather than sitting in queue for hours on end. This causes unbalanced games to occur at times. Such as, higher ratings vs low ratings that leave little chance for the lower players to win. However, increasing the populating will fix this issue and Steam should take care of that. The other negative note is hero balance. Overall, the balance of Prime World is, well balanced. However, there is always room for improvement and Prime World isn't exempt from that.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    Out of all new MOBA's that have been our recently, Prime World is one of the most interesting and exciting. The first thing you will comeOut of all new MOBA's that have been our recently, Prime World is one of the most interesting and exciting. The first thing you will come across is it's unique and beautiful art style&graphics. Despite having a pretty low system requirements, the game looks really refined and designed. The sound and music is also extremely good. I even downloaded a few tracks for myself (they are distributed freely). The gameplay itself does not come far from general MOBA, but has it's own interesting additions, like some tactical elements with flag capturing. Additionally, the game has 8 different modes, far more than most other MOBA's have.
    Now, the most unique feature of the game is it's persistant progression. This is what defines the game as innovative.
    The only thing I was cautious about is its castle part. I first associated it with a FarmVile type of games, but in the end it proved to be quite different from that.

    Overall, I really like this game. Surprisingly, It's free to play and far from being p2w. But I guess it's what all MOBA's are these days.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 6, 2013
    9
    While very early in development compared to other MOBAs, this game has great potential. The talent system is wonderful, allowing for endlessWhile very early in development compared to other MOBAs, this game has great potential. The talent system is wonderful, allowing for endless customization of your heroes. The castle system offers alternatives in how you obtain talents and EXP to level up your heroes to be more efficient in battle, but is not explicitly needed, so those who prefer just the MOBA part aren't obligated to take part in the castle building.

    The minigame, more commonly known as zuma, gives very significant strategic advantages and disadvantages, making it useful, and perhaps even essential in some cases, but if you're not careful, you can throw the game with it. With the splitting of Prime (the ingame EXP system used to "buy" talents for leveling and items) between all nearby heroes, the minigame allows a team the option of not having to share in farming a lane (a 1/1/1 lane situation, with a jungler and a minigame player), giving the team maximum gain from farming lanes on a per-player basis. The minigame player earns slightly less Prime overall compared to their allies, but they provide their allies with consumable scrolls which can easily turn the tide of a lane if they're in trouble, or give that extra push to allow for total domination of a lane.

    As this game develops more and more, it will continue to improve, and give a unique aspect to the MOBA genre that hasn't been touched yet.
    Full Review »