Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Primordia is a sci-fi adventure with an in-depth story and a philosophical bent.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Aug 22, 2014
    85
    While the story and puzzles falter a bit, there is still something utterly captivating about Primordia. The robots, broken both on the outside and on the inside, claimed for themselves a small part of my heart. And with your heart, not your mind, Primordia should really be approached.
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    80
    A sci-fi adventure? Yes, and even more! A nice story, a true adventure game gameplay and a little voyage into old game melancholy. A game that every point and click lover shouldn't miss.
  3. Feb 6, 2013
    80
    It doesn't reinvent the genre, but Primordia's rich script, interesting world and solid puzzles make up for its minor annoyances. [Feb 2013, p.72]
  4. Feb 9, 2013
    73
    A throwback to the genre's glory days, obtuse puzzle concoctions, awkward controls and all. [March 2013, p.78]
  5. Jan 7, 2013
    70
    There's a dark and meaningful story within Primordia and despite the rush at the end, it's a story worth hearing.
  6. Dec 21, 2012
    70
    Primordia is ticking almost every box. It has an amazing setting with a deep back-story and lore, and some wonderful gameplay ideas. It is a pity though the main storyline and the puzzles struggle so much to keep up and don't quite manage to live up to enticing prospect.
  7. Dec 5, 2012
    50
    Primordia isn't a bad adventure, just not one with the spark of other recent attempts - not least Wadjet Eye's own library. The basic ideas are solid, and it's worth checking out at least the demo for the humor that the Horatio/Crispin dialogue brings.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    Highly recommended, the great artwork and logical puzzles work together to make a truly memorable experience. The dynamic between Horatio andHighly recommended, the great artwork and logical puzzles work together to make a truly memorable experience. The dynamic between Horatio and Crispin is a lot like the friendship between Overmann and Joey from Beneath a Steel Sky, but with their own interesting personalities and quirks. And any game with Logan Cunningham voicing the main character is worth playing. Collapse
  2. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    Just astounding. The characters are interesting with just enough info that you want to know more. The story is great. The art is unceasinglyJust astounding. The characters are interesting with just enough info that you want to know more. The story is great. The art is unceasingly amazing with an original style that I really loved. The overall story was perfect. Expand
  3. May 29, 2014
    10
    I generally bought Primordia just because I thought the graphics are cool with it's dark and gloomy style. But the game surprised me reallyI generally bought Primordia just because I thought the graphics are cool with it's dark and gloomy style. But the game surprised me really good with it's intelligent puzzles and challenges as well as hidden eastereggs. All dialouges, characters and the alternative endings really make it worthwhile and I'll cheerish the time I had playing Primordia.

    It's not a game for everyone, but if you're into these kind of games you'll probably love it.
    Expand
  4. Apr 18, 2014
    9
    I'd highly recommend this game to all sci-fi lovers, disregarding their gaming preferences. Combining witty writing, atmospherical music, andI'd highly recommend this game to all sci-fi lovers, disregarding their gaming preferences. Combining witty writing, atmospherical music, and absolutely amazing art, this game is a must have for everyone. Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    Putting the "adventure" back into adventure games!

    One of the best adventure games in recent memory! The gameplay is akin to classic
    Putting the "adventure" back into adventure games!

    One of the best adventure games in recent memory! The gameplay is akin to classic adventure games and as such is nothing you haven't seen (gather items/try them on everything that you see), however the atmosphere is also akin to classic adventure games and that's something I've been missing dearly as of late. Please note that the game is not entirely linear and there are a few instances in the game that could be solved in different ways. There are also quite a few possible ending depending on where the player would wish to stand on the subject discussed in the game. There are also achievements rewarded for finding clever solutions to some of the puzzle (which as I mentioned could sometimes be solved in more than one way).

    Although the game has an entirely different setting (and a darker overtone) I would like to compare it to the Monkey Island 1 and 2 in terms of how consistent and captivating its overall theme. atmosphere and dialog is. Hooray for the classic adventure genre not being dead! (I'm sick of hidden object and mass production detective pseudo-games)
    Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    Let me just say, I adore this game. As someone who enjoys point-and-click adventure games as well as cyberpunk themes, this was a match madeLet me just say, I adore this game. As someone who enjoys point-and-click adventure games as well as cyberpunk themes, this was a match made in heaven.

    The story revolves around Horatio and Crispin, two robots who live in a wrecked ship. Horatio is a believer in Humanism, that humans are the creators, which is a frowned upon idea in the world the live in. They live far away from the city, isolated, until their power supply is stolen and they are forced to go to Metropol. As they search they discover the corrupt system that the city is operating under and Horatio's past.

    The characters themselves were enough to keep me playing. I enjoyed each one's own personality, their dialog, their story, it was all well done. The art style very well sets the tone for Primordia and was pleasing to look at while playing. The story was actually surprisingly well done and with multiple endings it just increases the replay value as well as my interests. It was challenging enough to where I felt incredibly accomplished once I finished it, but easy enough to where I didn't rage quite and ignore it for days. I was easily absorbed into Primordia's world and it's certainly a game I will replay more than once (and already have).

    Overall, worth the money and the time if you enjoy this genre. A must have.
    Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2014
    4
    The graphics are terrible, arty but ridiculously low resolution. The mechanics are clunky, with slow menus and too much time watchingThe graphics are terrible, arty but ridiculously low resolution. The mechanics are clunky, with slow menus and too much time watching pixellated figures crossing the screen painfully slowly. Some of the puzzles are good, some are annoying. It isn't consistent, e.g. most exits are identified my mousing over, but some only if you move the character to the edge of the screen. E.g. there is a system of storing info useful for solving puzzles but some of the info stored is irrelevant and some vital info is not stored. E.g. to combine items in inventory you pick up A and mouse it over B - message telling you that's a dumb idea, but it turns out you need to pick up B and mouse it over A. The story is good, though some of the elements don't fit together. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Trailers