Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Primordia is a sci-fi adventure with an in-depth story and a philosophical bent.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. 85
    Only a few clunky systems, a couple of irritating puzzles, and a brief playing time let the game down, and none should put you off buying. Between this and Machinarium it seems post-apocalyptic adventures in robot civilisations are a safe bet for excellent puzzling.
  2. Dec 14, 2012
    80
    Primordia follows the path set by recent indie adventures and combines a well written story with an old-school presentation. Ridiculous pixel hunting occasionally obscures the better parts of the gameplay but interesting events and characters keep the game coming out on top of any technical problems.
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    80
    Every weakness is compensated by a strength, and while I would prefer to have the latter without the former, I can't complain too much about the overall effect. I found Primordia charming and intriguing, and its mysteries well worth solving.
  4. Dec 11, 2012
    70
    Primordia is proof that Wadjet Eye doesn't develop amazing games. This point-and-click adventure tells a good story in an interesting world, but is troubled by some annoyances and a lack of innovation.
  5. Jul 24, 2013
    70
    There is plenty to forgive Primordia for, but if you can get past the issues and lose yourself in the game there’s a rich and emotional story waiting for you. I’m a bit of a robot nut myself and despite all of my nitpicks about the game I found myself deeply affected by the ending.
  6. Jan 7, 2013
    70
    Primordia is delightful, smart and packed with personality, but it also comes to a close just as you're ready to explore more of its engrossing world.
  7. Dec 5, 2012
    50
    Primordia isn't a bad adventure, just not one with the spark of other recent attempts - not least Wadjet Eye's own library. The basic ideas are solid, and it's worth checking out at least the demo for the humor that the Horatio/Crispin dialogue brings.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    Highly recommended, the great artwork and logical puzzles work together to make a truly memorable experience. The dynamic between Horatio and Crispin is a lot like the friendship between Overmann and Joey from Beneath a Steel Sky, but with their own interesting personalities and quirks. And any game with Logan Cunningham voicing the main character is worth playing. Collapse
  2. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    Just astounding. The characters are interesting with just enough info that you want to know more. The story is great. The art is unceasingly amazing with an original style that I really loved. The overall story was perfect. Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    this game... is........ EPIC
    if you love philosophy a bit... and a deep story with emotional endings... then this is the perfect game for you

    for me its one of the best games i know, and i dont really play many point and click adventure games.. but the story, the music and the art... all together is just an epic experience
    Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    I give it a 10 for introducing a griping storyline; something that's sadly lacking in the industry of today. Yes, the world turned wasteland thing is played out more than zombie clones; yet this title manages
    to make you *care* about the characters, something I can't seem to do with games like Walking Dead and
    Star Wars No.70000 for example. It's more than just the interaction of the protagonist and sidekick. It is the deadpan humor with perfect timing when you try out new solutions to a puzzle. But I give it a nine overall for the lack of attention spent on the graphics customization. Even with the setup.exe set to max out all features it manages to look worse than 320 by 400 resolution. And would it have killed them to give you these options in game via the options menu? It is rare that a game comes along that can keep my attention and imagination for as Primordia has.
    Buy it if you like games like these, but don't if you think Modern Warfare is the best thing since sliced bread.
    Expand
  5. Xon
    Jul 7, 2013
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed this little gem of a game. The post-human world is richly detailed, the story interesting, the puzzles good and a clever hint system to help you along if you get stuck. If you are a sci-fi fan you should give this game a try. Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    Let me just say, I adore this game. As someone who enjoys point-and-click adventure games as well as cyberpunk themes, this was a match made in heaven.

    The story revolves around Horatio and Crispin, two robots who live in a wrecked ship. Horatio is a believer in Humanism, that humans are the creators, which is a frowned upon idea in the world the live in. They live far away from the city, isolated, until their power supply is stolen and they are forced to go to Metropol. As they search they discover the corrupt system that the city is operating under and Horatio's past.

    The characters themselves were enough to keep me playing. I enjoyed each one's own personality, their dialog, their story, it was all well done. The art style very well sets the tone for Primordia and was pleasing to look at while playing. The story was actually surprisingly well done and with multiple endings it just increases the replay value as well as my interests. It was challenging enough to where I felt incredibly accomplished once I finished it, but easy enough to where I didn't rage quite and ignore it for days. I was easily absorbed into Primordia's world and it's certainly a game I will replay more than once (and already have).

    Overall, worth the money and the time if you enjoy this genre. A must have.
    Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    5
    It's an indie adventure game meaning you will move the cursor around the screen hunting for interactive objects, then collect them into inventory and attempt to apply them randomly to any other interactive object on the screen or in the inventory. I am personally not much into this kind of games. The artwork is pretty mediocre and the resolution is very low (640x480 probably). The music is good. I couldn't get far to see any of the story, just got stuck at the first few puzzles, as usually in such games. The game is definitely for those who like adventure games of this kind. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews