Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Primordia is a sci-fi adventure with an in-depth story and a philosophical bent.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Aug 22, 2014
    85
    While the story and puzzles falter a bit, there is still something utterly captivating about Primordia. The robots, broken both on the outside and on the inside, claimed for themselves a small part of my heart. And with your heart, not your mind, Primordia should really be approached.
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    80
    A sci-fi adventure? Yes, and even more! A nice story, a true adventure game gameplay and a little voyage into old game melancholy. A game that every point and click lover shouldn't miss.
  3. Feb 6, 2013
    80
    It doesn't reinvent the genre, but Primordia's rich script, interesting world and solid puzzles make up for its minor annoyances. [Feb 2013, p.72]
  4. Feb 9, 2013
    73
    A throwback to the genre's glory days, obtuse puzzle concoctions, awkward controls and all. [March 2013, p.78]
  5. Jan 7, 2013
    70
    There's a dark and meaningful story within Primordia and despite the rush at the end, it's a story worth hearing.
  6. Dec 21, 2012
    70
    Primordia is ticking almost every box. It has an amazing setting with a deep back-story and lore, and some wonderful gameplay ideas. It is a pity though the main storyline and the puzzles struggle so much to keep up and don't quite manage to live up to enticing prospect.
  7. Dec 5, 2012
    50
    Primordia isn't a bad adventure, just not one with the spark of other recent attempts - not least Wadjet Eye's own library. The basic ideas are solid, and it's worth checking out at least the demo for the humor that the Horatio/Crispin dialogue brings.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    Highly recommended, the great artwork and logical puzzles work together to make a truly memorable experience. The dynamic between Horatio and Crispin is a lot like the friendship between Overmann and Joey from Beneath a Steel Sky, but with their own interesting personalities and quirks. And any game with Logan Cunningham voicing the main character is worth playing. Expand
  2. May 29, 2014
    10
    I generally bought Primordia just because I thought the graphics are cool with it's dark and gloomy style. But the game surprised me really good with it's intelligent puzzles and challenges as well as hidden eastereggs. All dialouges, characters and the alternative endings really make it worthwhile and I'll cheerish the time I had playing Primordia.

    It's not a game for everyone, but if you're into these kind of games you'll probably love it.
    Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    this game... is........ EPIC
    if you love philosophy a bit... and a deep story with emotional endings... then this is the perfect game for you

    for me its one of the best games i know, and i dont really play many point and click adventure games.. but the story, the music and the art... all together is just an epic experience
    Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    It's a pretty sight watching the point and click adventure genre being restored in it's former glory, and although not every attempt is as succesful Primordia has truely nailed it. The story is solid, the dialogues are both intelligent and witty and never feel enforced. Horatio and Crispin are the best voiced 2D adventure couple since Sam and Max hit the road and there are plenty of lines of dialogue to enjoy. But all the characters look and sound great, and so do the surroundings. There is no need for high resolution as long as one takes great care in details and animation, and this is the case with Primordia. This game feels like the 90's and to me that is a good thing.
    Its only weaknes is its rather short length, it's easily solved under 6 hours. The puzzles are fun but don't require extreme amounts of intelligence. Most of them just make sense and are easily figured out. Personally I don't mind that that much to be honest. Primordia has been a great experience to me, and I'll be playing it again in a while to check out the other endings.
    Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2013
    9
    The atmosphere in the game is fantastic. You have this rusting and decaying world in the colours of rusting metals and flickering lights here and there. Exactly what I expected from the teaser images I saw before purchasing the game. The purposefully crude graphics are wonderful and I fell in love with them even though I usually prefer HD graphics in games. I also liked the voice acting (except the acting on one minor character) and how the actor's voices fit the visual presentations of the characters.
    The puzzles were of satisfactory difficulty. Some were plain easy while others made me stuck for an hour or so. The usual method of trying every item you possess on every object on every screen works in most cases. I was surprised to also find quite a few puzzles that didn't rely on items in the game but on the player's knowledge and attention to the displayed events and texts. The point-and-click method of controlling the game worked well. I didn't spot any glitches or bugs.
    I saw a review stating that the story isn't fully told in this game but I disagree with this. The backgrounds for all the major players are clarified and told as are the events that have transpired and will transpire in the future. Finding out these stories is in most cases optional or depends on succeeding on puzzles in which you are given a few tries only (you can always save+load though so it's in the players hands if he wants to play to the end even after failing in an optional puzzle).
    I bought the game for five euros so considering that I spent about fifteen hours playing it the deal was good.
    Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    Putting the "adventure" back into adventure games!

    One of the best adventure games in recent memory! The gameplay is akin to classic
    adventure games and as such is nothing you haven't seen (gather items/try them on everything that you see), however the atmosphere is also akin to classic adventure games and that's something I've been missing dearly as of late. Please note that the game is not entirely linear and there are a few instances in the game that could be solved in different ways. There are also quite a few possible ending depending on where the player would wish to stand on the subject discussed in the game. There are also achievements rewarded for finding clever solutions to some of the puzzle (which as I mentioned could sometimes be solved in more than one way).

    Although the game has an entirely different setting (and a darker overtone) I would like to compare it to the Monkey Island 1 and 2 in terms of how consistent and captivating its overall theme. atmosphere and dialog is. Hooray for the classic adventure genre not being dead! (I'm sick of hidden object and mass production detective pseudo-games)
    Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    5
    It's an indie adventure game meaning you will move the cursor around the screen hunting for interactive objects, then collect them into inventory and attempt to apply them randomly to any other interactive object on the screen or in the inventory. I am personally not much into this kind of games. The artwork is pretty mediocre and the resolution is very low (640x480 probably). The music is good. I couldn't get far to see any of the story, just got stuck at the first few puzzles, as usually in such games. The game is definitely for those who like adventure games of this kind. Collapse

See all 38 User Reviews