User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 224 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 224
  2. Negative: 34 out of 224
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    From day 1, All the way back to its NES roots Prince of Persia has amazed people all over the world, the first of it's kind and the best too. The "Sands Of Time" Trilogy set the world on fire with it's unique game play and puzzles, it really made a milestone and kept it's throne "The Forgotten Sands" is part of the "Sands Of Time" Trilogy taking place between "Prince of Persia: The SandsFrom day 1, All the way back to its NES roots Prince of Persia has amazed people all over the world, the first of it's kind and the best too. The "Sands Of Time" Trilogy set the world on fire with it's unique game play and puzzles, it really made a milestone and kept it's throne "The Forgotten Sands" is part of the "Sands Of Time" Trilogy taking place between "Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time" and "Prince of Persia: Warrior Within"

    If you are into puzzles that make you think, and death defying jumps that make you doubt gravity exists, then any Prince Of Persia game is for you, Also if turning back time makes you happy... then also think about getting it.
    Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands is a well made game deserving of the place it's been given as a game in the Sands of Time quadrilogy! It's combat consists of an attack button, quick attacks being a click and holding it does a power attack which is stronger, a dodge button, and a jump button. They obviously must have forgotten to add a block button. There are also four powers to getPrince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands is a well made game deserving of the place it's been given as a game in the Sands of Time quadrilogy! It's combat consists of an attack button, quick attacks being a click and holding it does a power attack which is stronger, a dodge button, and a jump button. They obviously must have forgotten to add a block button. There are also four powers to get through the level up menu I'll talk about next but after mastering one of the powers you're pretty much unstoppable in your quest to destroy Ratash, leader of the Sand Army your brother Malik mindlessly releases upon his own kingdom to stop the invading army. The level up system consists of you getting exp points through defeating foes and every 50, 100, 150, 200 etc. you unlock one skill point which can be used to purchase one upgrade. There are 31 upgrades in all. The two major cons that made me very sad is that that you can't replay the game without deleting your complete game save and starting over from the beginning! The second is for Steam only and that is that the game requires Wi-Fi to play! Overall, a very fun game to play... As long as you have Wi-Fi! Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    prince of persia the forgotten sands is a great game i bought im a month after it come out.and i very liked it.its a great game with a great story.i played it over and over.and now its just something like 10 bucks so buy it.
  4. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    many bugs got stuck in many levels still combat and gameplay is good graphics could be better overall its a good game but they really need to fix those issies save feature is still the same give a manual save new powers are very cool and good but it makes you unbeatable was very easy
  5. Oct 24, 2010
    8
    The game lives up to all you'd expect from "Prince of Persia". Insane acrobatics, dynamic fights with overwhelming crowds of bad guys, huge and terrifying "boss" monsters: the "Forgotten Sands" has a fair share of everything. I heard a few complaints about new combat system as being overly simplified. They don't seem well-founded. Fights are enormous fun. The list of combos has beenThe game lives up to all you'd expect from "Prince of Persia". Insane acrobatics, dynamic fights with overwhelming crowds of bad guys, huge and terrifying "boss" monsters: the "Forgotten Sands" has a fair share of everything. I heard a few complaints about new combat system as being overly simplified. They don't seem well-founded. Fights are enormous fun. The list of combos has been reduced, but frankly I was never able to use most of the old ones in a meaningful way in combat, so good riddance.

    There are few neat surprises in acrobatics. New elements (i.e. "abilities" of the Prince) are uncovered gradually as one goes through the game, keeping player from getting bored. Some sequences are infuriatingly hard and may require flawless timing and a lot of practice to get through. Implementation of camera and controls is not exactly perfect. Occasionally, a sloppy camera movement may mess up some complex acrobatic combo, which is frustrating.

    Traditionally, as it gets closer to the end, the game goes completely crazy. It's hard to believe that what you see on the screen is possible even in a computer game. It's still fun though.

    The game features new DRM sub-system. Apparently, a substantial part of game "logic", e.g. which door is supposed to be open or closed, which lever does what, etc. is downloaded on the fly from remote server. That's why stable Internet connection is required to play. This is a cool technical achievement. It also seems to work: all "cracked" versions so far are buggy.
    Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    Thanks to the addition of several new gameplay mechanics, the platforming in this game is some of the most entertaining of the entire series. On that basis alone I think it's worth a purchase. On the negative side, the combat is still the worst part of the game, but thankfully this time around it's pretty easy and generally doesn't drag on for too long. Also, the story is prettyThanks to the addition of several new gameplay mechanics, the platforming in this game is some of the most entertaining of the entire series. On that basis alone I think it's worth a purchase. On the negative side, the combat is still the worst part of the game, but thankfully this time around it's pretty easy and generally doesn't drag on for too long. Also, the story is pretty forgettable. Nonetheless the great platforming makes up for the faults. Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2012
    8
    Being a fan of the series I really enjoyed this latest chapter. Like the previous games, the weakest thing about this is the controls. It's still hard to plan certain moves based on some of the clunky angles and weird designs. Aside from that, The Forgotten Sands is an exciting, vibrant and entertaining game. The story is engaging with some good acting, the environment is lush andBeing a fan of the series I really enjoyed this latest chapter. Like the previous games, the weakest thing about this is the controls. It's still hard to plan certain moves based on some of the clunky angles and weird designs. Aside from that, The Forgotten Sands is an exciting, vibrant and entertaining game. The story is engaging with some good acting, the environment is lush and detailed, the engine runs smoothly, the music is beautiful and the AI is strong and smart. I only had the game crash on me once and the fact that the video options are outside the game make it very odd. The audio for whatever reason is too low and there is no way to raise the master volume level. All these kinks aside it's a great game with some very clever new additions to the Prince's powers and the leveling system is clean and simple. Expand
  8. Aug 26, 2011
    8
    I haven't played many of the other 3D PoP games. I loved the very 1st one back in the day and my son plays the "HD" remake of it on the 360. From that perspective, this is a pretty fun game. Environments are nice, texturing is good, gameplay is solid. Maybe this game doesn't offer much over the other PoP/Assassin's Creed games, but that doesn't mean it's a bad game. I bought the PoPI haven't played many of the other 3D PoP games. I loved the very 1st one back in the day and my son plays the "HD" remake of it on the 360. From that perspective, this is a pretty fun game. Environments are nice, texturing is good, gameplay is solid. Maybe this game doesn't offer much over the other PoP/Assassin's Creed games, but that doesn't mean it's a bad game. I bought the PoP pack when Steam had it on sale a while back and I don't regret it one bit. Expand
  9. Aug 2, 2012
    8
    This game is quite good. Good things - nice graphics, good engine of levels, good moving system, some nice puzzles and physycal challenges. Bad things - slow enemies, sometimes bad camera. I dont understand why so many players hate this game. There are lots of things what can you do. You have three magic spells: freezing water, special fight jump and rebuilding the walls. There is a lotsThis game is quite good. Good things - nice graphics, good engine of levels, good moving system, some nice puzzles and physycal challenges. Bad things - slow enemies, sometimes bad camera. I dont understand why so many players hate this game. There are lots of things what can you do. You have three magic spells: freezing water, special fight jump and rebuilding the walls. There is a lots of things to do in this game by this spells and i was not bored. Lots of people say this game is too short and easy. Dont believe them. Maybe is shorter than earlier princes, but some parts of this game was not easy. When i play this game, sometimes i am angry by mechanical traps and sometimes i am amazed, because this game has really nice atmosphere. Expand
  10. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    Despite being accompanied by a terrible, terrible movie, the game is quite good even when compared with the four other titles of the series. The controls and camera are FINALLY as good as those of the first title, succeeding even in making the movements more fluid. The story and graphics are okay although there is no clear artistic touch to the environments. The characters and animationsDespite being accompanied by a terrible, terrible movie, the game is quite good even when compared with the four other titles of the series. The controls and camera are FINALLY as good as those of the first title, succeeding even in making the movements more fluid. The story and graphics are okay although there is no clear artistic touch to the environments. The characters and animations are great. There are some annoying things the lack of proper gamesaves management (you only get one), the terrible ubisoft launcher (even on top of the steam layout) and finally the boring repetition of unchanging environments. All in all, it is still pretty fun, very well designed with no bugs at all and the best controls there are in all the PoP series. Expand
  11. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    the game is not so bad it is good but not like the first three parts it is hardly memorable but the final chapters in the game when u get to use all your powers in the game was the only good and fun to play the combat system is really good although i didn't like that you can't block the enemy's attack and the final battle was really awesome i loved in the end it is worth playing
  12. Dec 17, 2015
    9
    Gameplay : 9
    Graphics : 8
    Story : 8
    Sound : 8
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 9
  13. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    Only 1 bug for me being stuck on a vase for like 2 minutes.Despite that it is a very nice aditiong to the prince of presia series with a decent story a nice gameplay and finally the game feels so natural to play.After the sands of time trilogy the camera seems just perfect in the forgotten sands
  14. Feb 5, 2014
    9
    Wonderful Game. I enjoyed the story and the game play I've played the whole Series. But I didn't like the new look of the prince in this game compared to the previous parts.
  15. May 12, 2016
    10
    best games in the world and should be congratulated for making this beautiful and exciting game and hopefully be better next versions.
    Certainly, this game series Assassin's father.Wait for the next version of this match
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. PC PowerPlay
    70
    Inoffensive, easy and relatively fun. [Sept 2010, p.60]
  2. Forgettable story, linear levels, some technical snafus, boss copy-pasting, combat issues... the list of bits that don't quite cut it is long and it is all over far too quickly, yet Forgotten Sands is a fine addition to the Prince of Persia storyline that plays well and manages to capture some of the platforming magic of Sands of Time.
  3. PC Gamer UK
    74
    Button-mashing combat and new powers aren't particularly inspiring, but the large-scale level puzzles are rock solid. [Aug 2010, p.96]