Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. But don’t take our word for it, because Prince won Best Action-Adventure Game at this year’s E3 expo. So it’s got that going for it…which is nice.
  2. A must-have. It's an incredibly beautiful and artistic game that manages to balance eye-candy and gameplay gimmickry with truly solid game design, all paced with perfection. [Mar 2004, p.68]
  3. 100
    From beginning to end, you won't find a more entertaining title.
  4. Such forward-thinking ideas have paid off royally: This Prince is a worthy heir to the best videogame throne. [19 Dec 2003, p.L2T 20]
  5. 100
    This is the kind of game that literally makes you forget you're playing a game, leaving you barely aware of your body and just totally consumed by the action onscreen.
  6. Prince of Persia has taken the best elements of UbiSoft's recent hits and combined them with a compelling storyline that gives gamers the best play in town so far this year.
  7. Excellently produced, with intuitive, responsive controls, a deep, engaging storyline and immersive sound.
  8. A landmark achievement in game design starting with the addictively fun core gameplay, instinctive controls, then rounding out the package with gorgeous visuals, stunning special effects, and professional sound work.
  9. 95
    I haven't played a better game all year.
  10. Proves that a good game concept can be revived in style... a true, compulsive classic.
  11. Visually and aurally, Prince of Persia is right up there with the best that gaming has to offer, although a good gaming-spec machine is required in order to appreciate the finer points of the experience.
  12. The freedom of movement requires a new level of spatial imagination. Before Prince of Persia, platform games were like playing Tetris with only the blocks and bars. [Christmas 2003, p.100]
  13. A game that will live long in the memory, and needs to be played from time to time just to refresh the senses and reinvigorate the gamer inside us all.
  14. A refreshingly smart, elegant adventure.
  15. A great action/adventure game, with the highest of production values and a ton of consistently fun gameplay from start to finish.
  16. The graphics, the music (regular readers know that I’m not all that into music, yet THIS soundtrack is a definite buy if released), the level design, the fighting, the jumping, the story – I can’t think of a single thing that leaves behind anything else but a good impression.
  17. The Sands of Time pulls off smart puzzles, extremely intense combat and a pretty sweet story to boot.
  18. Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time is a well-made revival of the classic action/adventure series with awesome graphics and jumping puzzles that are far less frustrating than you might expect.
  19. The gorgeous visuals and music, great story, responsive controls, excellent level design, and - most importantly - superb implementation of action moves make this a true winner.
  20. Thrillinng acrobatic action, though the controls and camera could be better. [Mar 2004, p.88]
  21. It's a fairly short game, and it's missing the console versions' bonus features, but it's truly excellent for as long as it lasts.
  22. 88
    Ubi Soft Montreal has captured everything we loved about the first game without sacrificing the kinds of things we expect from games these days.
  23. A superior resurrection of a presumed dead legend.
  24. But POP's only really significant flaw lies in its adventure/action ratio: Both aspects are thoroughly fleshed-out but rarely intertwined.
  25. Sands of Time is very much a 21st century product - sumptuous visuals, intuitive control and many unique ideas. Buy it, play it, love it. [Dec 2003, p.92]
  26. If you can get past the shoddy camera controls and precision jumping techniques, you'll be rewarded with a game that makes you feel that a man really can walk on walls.
  27. I was disappointed that no effort was put into the PC version, and it even lacks any of the extras featured on the console versions, but I found it a fun little action game that kept me entertained for 10 or so hours.
  28. Though it may be very frustrating at times, games shouldn’t be easy to complete. Watch out for the controls if you play it on the PC, they change along with the camera angles.
  29. 80
    It can be tedious to baby-sit both characters, but the game otherwise guarantees hours of enjoyment, even if it’s only to jump and flip around.
  30. Prince of Persia includes innovative new gameplay features, jaw-dropping graphics and camera work, and a 'boomin' soundtrack, which all combine to give players of all levels and tastes hours and hours of fun.
  31. The worst part is that Sands uses a save-point system - and wouldn't you guess it, save beacons materialize only after you've destroyed every last zombie. [Mar 2004, p.58]
  32. While it is not particularly long and does not have too much replay value, it keeps one entranced while one is playing it.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 217 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Prince of Persia is a game I simply had to write a review about, because the movie somewhat made it look bad.... It one of the best games I have ever played, the story drew you in, the characters were developed well, the level design was gorgeous, the soundtrack was brilliant, the acrobatics were great, turning back time was just freakin awsome... But if I just had one gripe, it would be the fighting mechanics. It didn't annoy me too much, but after a while you get over how cool the Prince is as he continnously jumps obver enemies, it wasn't as refined as Warrior Within's freeform fighting system alloying you more freedom in using the environment and style of play (that was the only good thing about WW). But this dosen't tarnish POP:SOT, it is still one the most brilliant games I've ever played. Full Review »
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    3
    Horrible controls make this game impossible to play. First, I don't need to see a cut-scene every time I put my sword away. Second, being able to control the mouse for a greater view other than 10o degrees left or right would be helpful. Navigating around is made nearly impossible with very limited mouse view movement. You fee like you are trapped in a box or have a broken neck and can't move more than 2" inches left or right. On newer computers at least on mine I have to set the graphics to low in order to play it. I guess my 16GB of ram and GTX560 is too much for it to handle. The fighting is good but I can't play the game due to the horrid controls. UNINSTALLED. Full Review »
  3. Mar 14, 2013
    6
    This is a perfect example how much otherwise really good game can be destroyed by stupid control system and camera. The control of movement is based on camera position so when the position of camera is changed(this happen as you are moving through) you just start running in different direction than before. In fights sometime camera so stupidly placed you see big pillar and you and your opponents are hidden behind it. But that is not the worst problem of fights, that is definitely auto locking of targets. It is quiet terrible, you have to finish your opponent with your dagger when he is on the ground, but even when he is in front of you and is the closest thing to you the prince actually start attacking somebody else who is not not even next to you nor are you facing his directions instead of finishing that poor sod under your foots. This is pretty annoying as the opponent just stand up while you try retake control over prince. Also jumping and rolling is on same button and the action is taken based on context so it is quiet usual prince is doing something else that you would wish him to do. All the other things as graphic(taking the age of this game into consideration), soundtrack, originality of location and game play are pretty good and I really enjoyed cooperation with that girl who is following you, the puzzles are fun maybe little bit to easy and overall the quality of this game is really good, but the problems of control system is drawing it down and I cannot make myself giving it more than 6 points.
    If the control system was working properly a would give it 9.
    Full Review »