Prince of Persia: The Two Thrones Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 258 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Prince of Persia, a seasoned warrior, returns from the Island of Time to Babylon with his love, Kaileena. Instead of the peace that he longs for, he finds his homeland ravaged by war and the kingdom turned against him. The Prince is rapidly captured and Kaileena has no choice but toThe Prince of Persia, a seasoned warrior, returns from the Island of Time to Babylon with his love, Kaileena. Instead of the peace that he longs for, he finds his homeland ravaged by war and the kingdom turned against him. The Prince is rapidly captured and Kaileena has no choice but to sacrifice herself and unleash the Sands of Time in order to save him. Now cast out on the streets and hunted as a fugitive, the Prince soon discovers that past battles have given rise to a deadly Dark Prince, whose spirit gradually possesses him. Play and master two distinct characters: Wield the powers and weapons of two master warriors with different combat styles, attitudes, and histories. Choose your way to fight: Master the expanded Free-Form Fighting system to destroy enemies in your own style; strangle enemies from afar with the deadly Daggertail; or surprise them with full-speed one-shot kills using a brand new stealth art. The choice is yours. Battle freely through Babylon: Dominate enemies on the perilous rooftops, dodge through chaotic streets, and ambush pursuers in dark, underground passageways. Immerse yourself in a dramatic story: Experience unparalleled depth in storytelling as you fight your way through a twisting tale filled with adrenaline, tension and discovery. Manipulate time to surprise enemies: Execute powerful attacks against entire armies by slowing down or rewinding time, or surprise them by using some all-new Sands of Time powers. Experience a masterful blend of gameplay: True to the Prince of Persia; franchise, the game provides a variety of action combat, agility and story-driven puzzles - all masterfully blended together into a rich gaming experience. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. The short version is that Ubisoft has continued its storied tradition of doing nearly everything wrong yet somehow managing to produce a great game. Prince of Persia: The Two Thrones is awesome.
  2. The great talents at Ubisoft have done it again with this one folks and I don't think this is the last we will hear of the Prince of Persia.
  3. Computer Gaming World
    90
    The development team used some real forethought when creating this trilogy. From a plot-development standpoint, think of it as the anti-"Star Wars." [Feb 2006, p.82]
  4. The Two Thrones is quite simply the best Prince Of Persia so far. It builds on what went before and adds a new dimension to the main character.
  5. Computer Games Magazine
    80
    Quotation forthcoming. [Mar 2006]
  6. One of the best new features is the Speed Kill, a stealth attack that requires timed button presses for successful take-downs - a brilliant addition to the already exhilarating game play.
  7. So I fought, each time sitting through an unskippable 30-second scene of the fight's start and then getting killed within a minute. I did this about 70 times. My body trembling from tension and exhaustion, I kept playing not because it was any fun but simply because it was my job, and when after three hours I finally won I experienced not victorious joy but simply relief that it was over. I felt all the considerable pleasure the game had given me had been taken back.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    The final installment (story-wise) to the Sands of Time quadrilogy and this series ends with a bang! Set straight after Warrior Within'sThe final installment (story-wise) to the Sands of Time quadrilogy and this series ends with a bang! Set straight after Warrior Within's events the Prince returns with Kaileena to Babylon where he finds it under war by none other than the Vizier himself, come back to life because of the events at the Island of Time. The combat is typical of the previous game but made slightly better, adding combos and giving the ability to steal weapons and kill and enemy at the same time without looking up a secret guide on the Internet like on Prince of Persia: Warrior Within. Thing is though, they start moving away from combat in this game bringing in stealth kills called in this game Speed Kills. If the Prince is undetected and behind in enemy or in acrobatic placement he can do an animated Speed Kill which is quick, deadly and stylish through a series of left clicks when his weapons glow. Yes they're quick times but they're fun ones that are easy to do! The graphics are like Prince of Persia: Warrior Within's yet vastly better! The Prince also now has random encounters where he'll be transformed into his dark side, his evil side, his Dark Prince! He has a whole new combo system and looks completely different! The best part is when the Prince transforms back the Sand infection spreads up his arm more and more, each time he transforms! Like the other two games before this one has Life Upgrades but unlike Prince of Persia: Warrior Within are less hidden but still a challenge. Prince of Persia: The Two Thrones is a great game and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to feel the Prince's true acrobatic and fighting prowess and someone who wants to see the outcome of the Prince's story! Trust me, if you've played all the others before, the ending will make you cry! I did! Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    ok POP the two thrones so far is my best one in the whole series the story as always is so good and we are introduced to a new prince withok POP the two thrones so far is my best one in the whole series the story as always is so good and we are introduced to a new prince with cool new moves and new abilities the gameplay in this game is just perfect if u like to go and fight everyone you can do it and if u like to go with stealth u can do and that's what made this the best one in the whole series with some new refreshing graphics this is simply a perfect game Expand
  3. Aug 9, 2017
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Most people think time is like a river that flows swift and sure in one direction."

    By far the best and the most fun of the trilogy. There's never a dull moment. Chain slicing sand monsters and stabbing walls with the dagger to reach high places is oddly satisfying every time. Acrobatics are so smooth you feel freedom and get to feel cool as you reach unreachable high places.

    Also it's the first one in the series to add some real personality to the characters, making the story feel more real as you face the greatest antagonist yet - yourself. I loved the dynamic between The Prince and Farah, and even more so between the noble and serious Prince and the evil and wisecracking Dark Prince.

    Lots of changes in scenery and in the flow of the story and gameplay helped the game remain diverse and avoid becoming repetitive and monotonous.

    Unfortunately even this entry is still plagued by bad camera. In fact, it has the worst camera controls of the trilogy. Mouse movement is so stiff it takes forever to turn the camera, obviously because of the lack of proper mouse support.

    Kakolookyam!
    Expand
  4. JamesH.
    Dec 17, 2005
    7
    Overall an enjoyable game, although it is really a glorified console game. Graphics are a tad dated on the one hand, but on the other hand it Overall an enjoyable game, although it is really a glorified console game. Graphics are a tad dated on the one hand, but on the other hand it makes for a game that can be ran well, unlike FEAR or Doom 3. The controls are difficult to get used to. I wished that the camera angle was fixed to following behind the character and free look was activated by a keyboard button. It is difficult get your bearings when facing off with multiple foes because of the always-on freelook, but the attack moves and combos are great, a lot of variety. The save system is the biggest flaw. You can only save every so often at certain points. There should be a quicksave feature, because some of the acrobatic/climbing/jumping maneuvers are difficult and have to be rehearsed until you get the hang of it, and if you fall to your death, you are sent back a bit, and have to repeat the same maneuvers which you had done previously. Fantastic music, I actually keep the volume for the in-game music turned up, unlie the irritating thmuping music in Half-Life 2. Nice cut scene graphics as well. The only bug I have encoutnered is that the mouse cursor in the in-game options menu occasonally freezes, requiring a restart. Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2016
    7
    dfsaj;fdlkasfjk;lda;jkfa;jlkf;djlka;kjlfda;jlkdafs;kjl;fdaskjlfdalkj;fajlkdlkj;fda;jlkafdlajkfdsljkafdlkjfdaslkjfdaslkjlkajfdkjlfdaslkjafd;jkldfsaj;fdlkasfjk;lda;jkfa;jlkf;djlka;kjlfda;jlkdafs;kjl;fdaskjlfdalkj;fajlkdlkj;fda;jlkafdlajkfdsljkafdlkjfdaslkjfdaslkjlkajfdkjlfdaslkjafd;jklafd;kjlfdaj;lkfds. Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    5
    I really like prince of Persia but after playing the first 30 minutes of two thrones I just had to right this review. First of all, the cutI really like prince of Persia but after playing the first 30 minutes of two thrones I just had to right this review. First of all, the cut scenes are beautiful but then ones you start playing YOU LOOK LIKE A STICK! your arms are pencil thin and you body is huge. but probably the biggest thing is when you start playing it says "use the right analog stick to move the camera" UH last time I checked mice don't have analog sticks. now this is my review based on the first half hour so don't hate me it might get better I know I haven't even gotten into the story so please don't hate. Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2011
    0
    This game is the worst port of all time. I bought it on Steam, and guess what it says "Move Right Analog Stick" Like seriously were Ubisoft soThis game is the worst port of all time. I bought it on Steam, and guess what it says "Move Right Analog Stick" Like seriously were Ubisoft so lazy that they couldn't even be bothered to change the basic instructions? Also, get this, the camera moves really slow when you move it around, even at 100% mouse speed, it's still the same, and thats what really kills the game. The extremely sluggish camera speed. Resolutions aren't that good, doesn't go up to 1680x1050, it's a fairly old game but look at Half-Life 1, Valve makes it compatible with every resolution so why cant this game?

    Dont buy this for PC it's most probably a lot better on consoles.
    Expand

See all 20 User Reviews