Prince of Persia PC

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 345 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 345
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dude
    Oct 14, 2009
    0
    It's hard to believe how bad this game is. Prince of Persia 2008 feels like a bad animated feature. Unchalenging and simply not fun. And the name Prince of Persia does not belong to this game, it belongs to the 1989 Prince of Persia. Now that was a good game, not like this crap.
  2. BrianB.
    Dec 11, 2008
    2
    The game's difficulty is a joke, the story is awful, the dialogue is forced and hackneyed, and the 'FIR-TILE' ground combined with the orgasmic animation each time you beat a boss and the collecting of 'seeds' for your female companion would make Fellini roll in his grave. Warrior Within is still worse, although not by much. Definitely not worth the money. Other The game's difficulty is a joke, the story is awful, the dialogue is forced and hackneyed, and the 'FIR-TILE' ground combined with the orgasmic animation each time you beat a boss and the collecting of 'seeds' for your female companion would make Fellini roll in his grave. Warrior Within is still worse, although not by much. Definitely not worth the money. Other than that the graphics are ok. Expand
  3. Mar 15, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Worst Prince of Persia Ever.
    I fell in the trap of buying this game blindly due to the non DRM promise from Ubisoft. All I can say the graphics and the non existent DRM are the only positive things I can say about the this game, and I am a huge fan of PoP way back since the first game.
    First the game, easy, way too easy, highly repetitive and short. You basically run around in various environments and the visually very appealing jump and run sequences basically are a hit the displayed button within 5 seconds quicktime event. The puzzles which always have been one hallmark of pop are virtually non existent, and the boss fights are constantly over and over again to be done. Worse every boss has to be defeated 5 times, 4 of the times there is literally no change in pace or strategy.
    The non dying is not the worst design decision in the game, there are others way worse.

    Add to that that the voice actors now come with disney like american accents and you have the perfect Prince of Persia designed by marketing droids, where the gameplay simply was forgotten, or there was forgotten that there was a game at all, hence I am giving this game a score of 2, both points for the visual appealing presentation and non existent DRM. Too bad that the game was forgotten behind the presentation.

    All I can say is games industry, please stop trying to design your games after marketing peoples demands and start again to design games. For me this game was enough reason to quite the series for now, maybe the latest PoP is better, but I am taking an absence from PoP!
    Expand
  4. Sean
    Apr 7, 2009
    4
    The game starts out pretty cool; you get to do some fun acrobatics and you have access to all the combat combos from the beginning, which are nice to watch the first few times you do them. But it quickly starts dragging. There are 20 main levels plus 4 boss levels. Every single one of them is super repetitive. Not to mention the fact that you have to go through each level twice in order The game starts out pretty cool; you get to do some fun acrobatics and you have access to all the combat combos from the beginning, which are nice to watch the first few times you do them. But it quickly starts dragging. There are 20 main levels plus 4 boss levels. Every single one of them is super repetitive. Not to mention the fact that you have to go through each level twice in order to pick up all the light seeds after you cleanse the level. The fights are also boring and repetitive and completely lacking in challenge, given the fact that you cannot die. If you happen to mess up and get "killed," you are saved by your companion, the opponent regains some health, and the fight continues. So in summary, for about 30 minutes the game is fun. The visuals are nice, the controls are simple, the camera works decently (occasional screwiness, but on the whole, satisfying). But the repetitiveness, lack of excitement and challenge, the prevalence of annoying and contrived obstacles, and the poor quality of combat drags it all down very quickly. I'm not sure how it got so many high scores from the critics. Perhaps they played it for less than an hour. Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2011
    4
    If I wanted to pay $60 bucks for a movie, this would be the way to go. The hero cannot die, and there are only a few different bad guys. Like many other games I was suckered into product loyalty, and then this comes along. Graphically, it looks fantastic, but there is little depth to the character and the difficulty seems to peak about two boss fights in.
  6. Dec 24, 2012
    3
    The game looks good in therms of design and graphics but that's the only positive thing I can think of.
    This game basicly destroyed almost every aspect of Prince of Persia I enjoyed for the past years.
    From basicly the first second I was feeling like a useless addition to the entire story. There's nothing left of the epic prince I remember. You're wining little prick that carries a
    The game looks good in therms of design and graphics but that's the only positive thing I can think of.
    This game basicly destroyed almost every aspect of Prince of Persia I enjoyed for the past years.
    From basicly the first second I was feeling like a useless addition to the entire story. There's nothing left of the epic prince I remember. You're wining little prick that carries a magical princess through the entire country. I thought it was maybe just for the start of the game but I ended up not feeling epic a single second in this game. The game should in my opinion be called:
    "Princess of Persia" There's no serious fighting and you can't even die anymore.
    It became a nice looking platformer for kids. For anyone new to prince of persia and is not looking for serious action, this game might not be as bad as I make it seem. For anyone used to the great action, fighting and challenges from the PoP series, this game will bring nothing but disappointment.

    P.S. Also it's now available on steam for only
    Expand
  7. May 14, 2013
    0
    the worse prince of persia ever, a saga who caracterized for it diffucult sells it to the noob public, great desappoint, stupid dialogues and principal character, and donĀ“t forget to say the best word to describe this "bored"
  8. Jan 9, 2013
    0
    Absolutely rubbish. Nothing like the other superb games in the series. This one is an experiment gone wrong. Its boring, dull and a waste of your money and time. AVOID!
  9. SeanT.
    Dec 10, 2008
    0
    This game rocks.
  10. JeremyN
    Jan 7, 2009
    3
    Despite looking rather pretty, it falls short and feels rushed in many respects. Yes, moving quickly through levels feels good, but the Prince's movements are blocky and feel absolutely catered to the lowest possible difficulty. Additional gameplay mechanics added later in the game add a token amount of fun, but end up being frustrating more often than not. There is no way to "fail" Despite looking rather pretty, it falls short and feels rushed in many respects. Yes, moving quickly through levels feels good, but the Prince's movements are blocky and feel absolutely catered to the lowest possible difficulty. Additional gameplay mechanics added later in the game add a token amount of fun, but end up being frustrating more often than not. There is no way to "fail" in combat or moving through the world, so there is a continual feel of a safety net, and the only real perk to proficiency is preventing yourself a vast amount of annoyance. Furthermore, the story bears exceptionally minimal relevence to the character that is the Prince of Persia, except for a handful of lines scattered throughout the game. I do not suggest it for anyone who appreciates the history of the franchise. Expand
  11. SJT-Ruler*
    Feb 7, 2009
    1
    Just pathetic, what's with the new girl all of a sudden, what's with making the Prince look like an idiot? The Prince was pretty cool in all of the previous games but this makes him look like a funny joker with a new girlfriend. Aother game that nicely damages the good name the originals used to have.
  12. vinEETR
    Mar 7, 2009
    4
    Its a disappointment for me because it dosnt come anywhere close to achieving those standards of pop Warrior with in & pop Two throne.The gameplay is so easy u just hv to push a button again & again and it does all the trics which is quiet boring. Fighting same boss for FIVE times is just unforgatable.BUT graphics are prity cool & Prince became a superman & a wallruner that i think only Its a disappointment for me because it dosnt come anywhere close to achieving those standards of pop Warrior with in & pop Two throne.The gameplay is so easy u just hv to push a button again & again and it does all the trics which is quiet boring. Fighting same boss for FIVE times is just unforgatable.BUT graphics are prity cool & Prince became a superman & a wallruner that i think only thing i liked in this entire game. Expand
  13. Jake
    Dec 27, 2008
    2
    This game was a disappointment for me, the lack of action was a downer, as well as the having to collect a million orbs to continue, and the rinse and repeat of "death defying acrobatics" got old to, especially when you cant die. Maybe i didnt give it enough time?(rhetorical question and the answers no) If a game fails to entertain, then it fails.
  14. JohnS.
    Jan 23, 2009
    0
    Extremely monotonous and repetitive game ! Not entertaining at all. Your only goal is to collect lightballs now. Amazing ... not ! No traps, no enemies, no spectacular jump sequences like in the old trilogy anymore. Thus no thrill at all. It also became so easy that only casual gamers might be pleased. You can't die anymore. Elika will always save you and "teleport" you back. The Extremely monotonous and repetitive game ! Not entertaining at all. Your only goal is to collect lightballs now. Amazing ... not ! No traps, no enemies, no spectacular jump sequences like in the old trilogy anymore. Thus no thrill at all. It also became so easy that only casual gamers might be pleased. You can't die anymore. Elika will always save you and "teleport" you back. The Prince also does pretty much automatically compared to its prequels. You usually just have to press the jump button over and over again and every now and then a 2nd button to make a longer jump, a 3rd to grap a ring to reach higher areas. When you have collected enough lightballs to enter a new area you first have to fight against a boss. Very boring because you can't do anything else then blocking (and waiting) when he starts a series of attacks. Then you do your usual prince-elika-prince-elika-prince attack and you are done. No more stunning acrobatics and combos like in "Warrior Within". Oh, and you have to fight the bosses multiple times ... . The short dialogues are also crappy because they are just meaningless and awkward. They have the same entertainment value like doing your taxes. Plus this game basically has no story at all. I think the only reason it became such high ratings is because of its graphics style. Expand
  15. ganfeel
    Jan 3, 2009
    0
    Im afraid to buy this game because of previous releases. Ubisoft sucks for computer games, as they cannot seem to write a program correctly. I wasted 50 bucks on far cry 2 only to find out that you cant have a sound card that is decent (mine is an x-fi fatality from creative) to play the game.
  16. kyleb
    Mar 14, 2009
    3
    I can't believe this is getting good ratings! Next to Sands of Time this is primitive crap. Figuring out where to go next was a huge part of the puzzle of the old POP, but this one insists on leading you around by the nose as you chase coins (oh,I mean "light seeds"), Mario style. Or you can always have the princess magically show you where to go if you're too dumb even for I can't believe this is getting good ratings! Next to Sands of Time this is primitive crap. Figuring out where to go next was a huge part of the puzzle of the old POP, but this one insists on leading you around by the nose as you chase coins (oh,I mean "light seeds"), Mario style. Or you can always have the princess magically show you where to go if you're too dumb even for that. Gone is the innovative rewind feature, which forced you to realize your mistakes quickly enough to undo them and penalized you by costing you a sand tank. Now the princess just steps in and magically makes it impossible to die thereby killing any sense of tension. Walking into a room full of baddies in the old POP meant you were about to get your ninja on for 10 minutes. That's been replaced by painfully slow Boss fights where you're forced to hold the block button 80% of the time instead of, you know, FIGHTING. It's times like this I seriously wonder if there really might be some payoffs to reviewers. The only thing reviewers should be pondering about this game is why Ubisoft would so completely castrate their franchise. Expand
  17. rollo
    Jun 8, 2009
    1
    Artistically 8/10. Playability 1/10. The prince looks and acts like the last American muscular cocky action-film star loosing all pathos and atmosphere... it's like a teenager B movie. The controls and playability is something of the '80 like Dragon's Lair or Space Ace laserdisc games. Only if you're 15 or less and it's the first game you have ever seen in your Artistically 8/10. Playability 1/10. The prince looks and acts like the last American muscular cocky action-film star loosing all pathos and atmosphere... it's like a teenager B movie. The controls and playability is something of the '80 like Dragon's Lair or Space Ace laserdisc games. Only if you're 15 or less and it's the first game you have ever seen in your life you could give it more than 5/10. Don't buy it. Let me go back and play POP on the Amiga emulator. Expand
  18. rollo
    Jun 8, 2009
    1
    Artistically 8/10. Playability 1/10. The prince looks and acts like the last American muscular cocky action-film star loosing all pathos and atmosphere... it's like a teenager B movie. The controls and playability is something of the '80 like Dragon's Lair or Space Ace laserdisc games. Only if you're 15 or less and it's the first game you have ever seen in your Artistically 8/10. Playability 1/10. The prince looks and acts like the last American muscular cocky action-film star loosing all pathos and atmosphere... it's like a teenager B movie. The controls and playability is something of the '80 like Dragon's Lair or Space Ace laserdisc games. Only if you're 15 or less and it's the first game you have ever seen in your life you could give it more than 5/10. Don't buy it. Let me go back and play POP on the Amiga emulator. Expand
  19. Chrisno
    Dec 11, 2008
    2
    I'm a huge Sands of Time Trilogy fan. This game is frustrating. In fights, the prince is slow. His donkey is named Farrah(sic, maybe it was Farah). Ridiculous to mock the character from the previous games. Jump/wallrun are the same button, and leads to the prince running along with minimal guidance to reach his destinations. That was a huge part of the fun... Oh, and I have to run I'm a huge Sands of Time Trilogy fan. This game is frustrating. In fights, the prince is slow. His donkey is named Farrah(sic, maybe it was Farah). Ridiculous to mock the character from the previous games. Jump/wallrun are the same button, and leads to the prince running along with minimal guidance to reach his destinations. That was a huge part of the fun... Oh, and I have to run around and grab lights orbs? Lame. If I wanted to collect crap, I'd play Super Mario Bros 3 and get myself some coins. Talking to Elika is great, but why can't I keep moving while they speak? What have I done to deserve dozens of cutscenes of them waving their hands? Oh, and when Elika helps you double-jump, why am I limited to only going forward? It would be more fun/useful if you could choose the direction, doing 90 degree jumps...Bleh, that's all for now. Expand
  20. MikeH.
    Jan 15, 2009
    3
    If this game were nothing but graphics, it would be great. The art direction is superb, with long draw distances and some inventive set design. However, the utterly woeful dialogue, even worse delivery, the simplistic gameplay (including fighting the same bosses over and over, who can always be defeated easily with a combo which alternates between a prince / Elika attack) and the totally If this game were nothing but graphics, it would be great. The art direction is superb, with long draw distances and some inventive set design. However, the utterly woeful dialogue, even worse delivery, the simplistic gameplay (including fighting the same bosses over and over, who can always be defeated easily with a combo which alternates between a prince / Elika attack) and the totally forgettable story which has an ending entirely at odds with the tripe which came before it, adds up to a seriously disappointing experience. If the prince was a silent hero, the gameplay required a little more precision and had more options than just "press key x now to watch action sequence y, then press key z to complete chain", and less linearity in its ways around the map, it could have been something truly special indeed. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. 93
    It has its shortcomings, but I already sense that Prince of Persia will be one of the few games from this generation that I carry with me for the next decade.
  2. PC PowerPlay
    80
    Having said this, Prince of Persia is one of those games that has obvious flaws but manages to pull together to become so much more than the sum of its parts. The charmingly cliched story, the visuals, audio, and their sparkling polish come together to make the Prince of Persia a modern epic. [January 2009, p.51]
  3. While its lack of challenge may lull fans, its ease of use will delight newcomers and draw in anyone who appreciates a touch of magic.