Prince of Persia PC

Prince of Persia Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 361 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in a land rooted in ancient Persian mythology, the Prince finds himself caught in an epic battle between the primal forces of light and darkness: the God of Light, Ormazd versus his brother Ahriman, the destructive God of Darkness. The Prince arrives just in time to witness theSet in a land rooted in ancient Persian mythology, the Prince finds himself caught in an epic battle between the primal forces of light and darkness: the God of Light, Ormazd versus his brother Ahriman, the destructive God of Darkness. The Prince arrives just in time to witness the destruction of the legendary Tree of Life - an act which threatens to plunge the entire world into eternal darkness. Manifested in the form of the Corruption, a dark substance that physically contaminates the land and the skies, the Prince must partner with Elika, a deadly companion, to heal the world from the evil Corruption. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Prince of Persia is a wonderful and nearly magical game. It’s not very long but it’s long enough, as it will entail around 10-14 hours of continuous platforming and fighting, even if you don’t try to pick up the 1001 Seeds of Light.
  2. The new visual style works and the technical side of the game is flawless but ultimately this re-imaging of Prince of Persia ends up being a bit short and easy. In the quest to rid the game of all potential sources of frustration, the low difficulty level is unfortunate collateral damage. Fun and accessible but fails to match the brilliance of Sands of Time.
  3. 90
    The new title combines strong platforming fundamentals, Assassin's Creed's open-world structure, and some of Okami's wonderful aesthetic flourishes. What it introduces to action games is something truly wonderful.
  4. While Prince of Persia is definitely flawed and can even become tedious at points, it creates a dreamlike world that keeps you interested. It is an interactive extension of what good fiction tries to be, and while it's not for everyone, it can often leave you with a desire to come back for more.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    80
    Having said this, Prince of Persia is one of those games that has obvious flaws but manages to pull together to become so much more than the sum of its parts. The charmingly cliched story, the visuals, audio, and their sparkling polish come together to make the Prince of Persia a modern epic. [January 2009, p.51]
  6. Were it not for obtrusive hints and copy/pasted design, Prince of Persia would have taken its rightful place in our Hall of Fame.
  7. PC Gamer UK
    49
    Dumbed down; drawn out; deeply annoying. [Jan 2009, p.84]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 56
  2. Negative: 20 out of 56
  1. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    For me it was never a problem with game's difficulty. I liked the game more then i expected because it put me in the sense of flow that iFor me it was never a problem with game's difficulty. I liked the game more then i expected because it put me in the sense of flow that i rarely experience in video games nowadays. But what makes it stand out for me so much is that when you make the biggest game decision you never question your choice or it's outcome and you accept all consequences while saying "It was all worth it" and spilling a little tear at the end. The biggest pleasure i got was AFTER i finished the game and realized what was it about and why things happened how they happened. Its a masterpiece. Simple, but it doesn't have to be difficult to be good. Its a perfect example of story-based video games that actually put a "story" and a "video game" not running along but depending on each other 100%. Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2017
    9
    Update to my initial review: I bought the game from GoG and decided to replay it in 8 years (my 2012 review was based on my firstUpdate to my initial review: I bought the game from GoG and decided to replay it in 8 years (my 2012 review was based on my first play-through in 2008). And actually I changed my mind a little bit:
    1. Yeap, the game still lacks nice storytelling (simple dialogues are not what makes you shiver in story-driven games like this).
    2. Yeap, the game still can be a little boring for younger players asking for action (or old solid fans of Warrior Within-like PoP game)

    But what I've rediscovered for myself:
    1. My initial gameplay was in russian and Elika sounds like a selfish b!tch in their voice-over (Prince voice-over is great), now I replayed the game in original and she seems to be quite a lovable girl with her reasons to be a little bit irritated.
    2. The game suffered from its predecessors (SoT trilogy), I wanted it to be similar or even continue the trilogy story. That's why I was irritated by different references like: Farah-name, change-fate etc.
    But now I was able to separate the game and enjoy as a standalone title - and - I think Mechner would prefer the game over Warrior Within and Two Thrones, as it has much more of an orient-tale atmosphere and less violence.

    I add +2 to my previous score, I think 9 is the perfect score for the game, it would be 10 if it can be more actively story-driven.
    P.S. Graphics are so top notch that even in 8 years it looks pretty decent and better than some of modern titles.
    Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2014
    8
    This is my third prince of persia, and the best, Gameplay is excelent, the graphics are nice, the game is large... Any more?
    The cell-shading
    This is my third prince of persia, and the best, Gameplay is excelent, the graphics are nice, the game is large... Any more?
    The cell-shading effect is very good, I have not found anything in the game that I did not like, everything is excellent. There is only a small detail a bit ugly, the shadows are many mountain peaks, but well, esdel 2008!
    The soundtrack I liked it because it fits perfectly with the atmosphere every time I hear music I get wanting to play jajaj.
    ABSTRACT: This game is a 100/100, although I liked, nothing m disappointed, now you can find for less than $ 20, you know, buy it.
    Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    7
    A rich story, often charming and flirtatious, combined with a one-dimensional combat system. Definitely a console port so using a gamingA rich story, often charming and flirtatious, combined with a one-dimensional combat system. Definitely a console port so using a gaming controller is ideal. Keyboard/mouse is possible, but it takes a lot of practice and frustration to get consistently good at it. Most of your time will be spent chasing down light crystals which is just plain boring and repetitive, but if you don't overdo it by trying to get all of them, the story flows pretty nicely. I did find the ending to be extremely disappointing and had me wondering why I went though all the effort to begin with. Expand
  5. LaurenP
    Feb 7, 2009
    6
    Prince of Persia is a masterpiece in its own right. That being said, it's not for everyone. It requires a lot of patience and a Prince of Persia is a masterpiece in its own right. That being said, it's not for everyone. It requires a lot of patience and a willingness to accept that this game chooses accessibility and ease of use over challenging and rewarding gameplay. Once you accept this, you can move on and enjoy the visuals and cinematics for what they're worth. If you are new to gaming and are looking for a fun, easy game experience without frustration, difficulty, or controller-throwing, this is the perfect game for you. If you're an experienced gamer, however, you will probably be disappointed with the complete lack of challenge whatsoever. It is somewhat appreciable solely for its story, but nothing else. Overall, Prince of Persia set out to be a work of art, and at the same time be easy and enjoyable for newcomers. It achieved those two things with flying colors, for better or for worse. Expand
  6. JeremyN
    Jan 7, 2009
    3
    Despite looking rather pretty, it falls short and feels rushed in many respects. Yes, moving quickly through levels feels good, but the Despite looking rather pretty, it falls short and feels rushed in many respects. Yes, moving quickly through levels feels good, but the Prince's movements are blocky and feel absolutely catered to the lowest possible difficulty. Additional gameplay mechanics added later in the game add a token amount of fun, but end up being frustrating more often than not. There is no way to "fail" in combat or moving through the world, so there is a continual feel of a safety net, and the only real perk to proficiency is preventing yourself a vast amount of annoyance. Furthermore, the story bears exceptionally minimal relevence to the character that is the Prince of Persia, except for a handful of lines scattered throughout the game. I do not suggest it for anyone who appreciates the history of the franchise. Expand
  7. SeanT.
    Dec 10, 2008
    0
    This game rocks.

See all 56 User Reviews