Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 260 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in a land rooted in ancient Persian mythology, the Prince finds himself caught in an epic battle between the primal forces of light and darkness: the God of Light, Ormazd versus his brother Ahriman, the destructive God of Darkness. The Prince arrives just in time to witness theSet in a land rooted in ancient Persian mythology, the Prince finds himself caught in an epic battle between the primal forces of light and darkness: the God of Light, Ormazd versus his brother Ahriman, the destructive God of Darkness. The Prince arrives just in time to witness the destruction of the legendary Tree of Life - an act which threatens to plunge the entire world into eternal darkness. Manifested in the form of the Corruption, a dark substance that physically contaminates the land and the skies, the Prince must partner with Elika, a deadly companion, to heal the world from the evil Corruption. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Prince of Persia is a wonderful and nearly magical game. It’s not very long but it’s long enough, as it will entail around 10-14 hours of continuous platforming and fighting, even if you don’t try to pick up the 1001 Seeds of Light.
  2. 90
    The new title combines strong platforming fundamentals, Assassin's Creed's open-world structure, and some of Okami's wonderful aesthetic flourishes. What it introduces to action games is something truly wonderful.
  3. While this one doesn't quite reach some of the stylistic and gameplay-oriented heights of Sands of Time a few years back, this re-imagined Prince of Persia delivers great thrills and plenty of accessibility inside a very pretty package.
  4. While its lack of challenge may lull fans, its ease of use will delight newcomers and draw in anyone who appreciates a touch of magic.
  5. It feels like I'm playing an absurdly extended minigame, leaping a pit here, using a glove there, pushing a button from time to time and generally enjoying the movie-like experience. But if you don't find any of the aspects of it enjoyable, the whole puzzle falls apart and even Elika's charms won't save it. [Jan 2009]
  6. Were it not for obtrusive hints and copy/pasted design, Prince of Persia would have taken its rightful place in our Hall of Fame.
  7. Dumbed down; drawn out; deeply annoying. [Jan 2009, p.84]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 51
  2. Negative: 20 out of 51
  1. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    For me it was never a problem with game's difficulty. I liked the game more then i expected because it put me in the sense of flow that iFor me it was never a problem with game's difficulty. I liked the game more then i expected because it put me in the sense of flow that i rarely experience in video games nowadays. But what makes it stand out for me so much is that when you make the biggest game decision you never question your choice or it's outcome and you accept all consequences while saying "It was all worth it" and spilling a little tear at the end. The biggest pleasure i got was AFTER i finished the game and realized what was it about and why things happened how they happened. Its a masterpiece. Simple, but it doesn't have to be difficult to be good. Its a perfect example of story-based video games that actually put a "story" and a "video game" not running along but depending on each other 100%. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    Princ u novom ruhu, grafika i atmosfera su odlični, tu je ona djevojka što nas spašava, misije i zagonetke su raznovrsne, a jedina mana suPrinc u novom ruhu, grafika i atmosfera su odlični, tu je ona djevojka što nas spašava, misije i zagonetke su raznovrsne, a jedina mana su dosadne borbe sa lakim protivnicima... Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I liked it's completely different story and the adictive gameplay. The game is not really difficult, but I think it was made to make us have fun, not to have a challenge. The map and the environment is very attractive, even being made like cartoon and the gameplay is very fluid and varied, because there is a lot of diferent movements.
    The story shows us something completely diferent, I've never seen something like this, but I hate the end of the game, because it makes me think: "everything I've done during the game was useless". Even with it, I recommend the game if you want to have fun and if you want to watch a story completely new.
    Expand
  4. LanceG
    Feb 18, 2009
    7
    Actually, I'd give it a 7.5, and here's why. Now, I am a huge fan of the previous POP games, particularly Sands of Time, but Actually, I'd give it a 7.5, and here's why. Now, I am a huge fan of the previous POP games, particularly Sands of Time, but initially, I had trouble getting into the game. The game just sort of throws you into the action without much explanation, and leaves you to figure most things out for yourself. That's fine and all, as you will soon realise that the game is really simple. On the plus-side, the game is visually stunning, and the very cool stunts the Prince can do remains intact. However, this game is completely and utterly void of any challenge what-so-ever. You simply CANNOT die - ever. If you fall into the abyss, or if you fall into the primordial black goo (or "corruption"), or if you accidently press the wrong button in the slowed-down quicktime events in the combat system, your new companion, Eleka, will save you. And then you just run through the very nice-looking worlds, fighting the same boss fights over and over again, collecting shiny balls, and occasionally encountering the random grunt baddy who dies the second you push them to the edge of the battleground. I really would have liked to see more combat sequences, and this new combat system is really unnecessary, as it just adds to the dumbing down and simplification of this already easy game. I liked how in Sands of Time the Prince's cool moves just flowed together with the combat. Not this time, as your character somehow loses the ability to JUMP in the combat system, and as an alternative, you can just roll over the bad guys, allowing you an opportunity to throw your woman at them as if she were some sort of potato sack, which she actually could have been replaced with as that would have made the game mildly amusing. Another annoying thing about this game is the painfully awkward and forced dialogue that goes on between the two characters - the Prince has become this cynical douchebag who sounds like an 18 year old North American teenager, and Elika is about as dynamic a character as a block of wood. Isn't this game suppose to be in "Persia"? Why do these people sound like a bunch of Americans? But, to be fair, I am nitpicking. I did get some fun out of this game, and i'm sure fans of the POP series will as well. However, the fact is Ubisoft has gone out of their way to make this game accessible for the "slower" demographic, and the game is over in less than 15 hours. I, my first play through, took the time to collect every single shiny ball (or "Light Seed"), and still finished the game in under 14 hours. So, it's good, but far from great. Probably best to rent it before you consider buying. Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2011
    4
    If I wanted to pay $60 bucks for a movie, this would be the way to go. The hero cannot die, and there are only a few different bad guys. LikeIf I wanted to pay $60 bucks for a movie, this would be the way to go. The hero cannot die, and there are only a few different bad guys. Like many other games I was suckered into product loyalty, and then this comes along. Graphically, it looks fantastic, but there is little depth to the character and the difficulty seems to peak about two boss fights in. Expand
  6. JeremyN
    Jan 7, 2009
    3
    Despite looking rather pretty, it falls short and feels rushed in many respects. Yes, moving quickly through levels feels good, but the Despite looking rather pretty, it falls short and feels rushed in many respects. Yes, moving quickly through levels feels good, but the Prince's movements are blocky and feel absolutely catered to the lowest possible difficulty. Additional gameplay mechanics added later in the game add a token amount of fun, but end up being frustrating more often than not. There is no way to "fail" in combat or moving through the world, so there is a continual feel of a safety net, and the only real perk to proficiency is preventing yourself a vast amount of annoyance. Furthermore, the story bears exceptionally minimal relevence to the character that is the Prince of Persia, except for a handful of lines scattered throughout the game. I do not suggest it for anyone who appreciates the history of the franchise. Expand
  7. SeanT.
    Dec 10, 2008
    0
    This game rocks.

See all 51 User Reviews