Prince of Persia Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 282 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in a land rooted in ancient Persian mythology, the Prince finds himself caught in an epic battle between the primal forces of light and darkness: the God of Light, Ormazd versus his brother Ahriman, the destructive God of Darkness. The Prince arrives just in time to witness theSet in a land rooted in ancient Persian mythology, the Prince finds himself caught in an epic battle between the primal forces of light and darkness: the God of Light, Ormazd versus his brother Ahriman, the destructive God of Darkness. The Prince arrives just in time to witness the destruction of the legendary Tree of Life - an act which threatens to plunge the entire world into eternal darkness. Manifested in the form of the Corruption, a dark substance that physically contaminates the land and the skies, the Prince must partner with Elika, a deadly companion, to heal the world from the evil Corruption. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Prince of Persia is a wonderful and nearly magical game. It’s not very long but it’s long enough, as it will entail around 10-14 hours of continuous platforming and fighting, even if you don’t try to pick up the 1001 Seeds of Light.
  2. The new visual style works and the technical side of the game is flawless but ultimately this re-imaging of Prince of Persia ends up being a bit short and easy. In the quest to rid the game of all potential sources of frustration, the low difficulty level is unfortunate collateral damage. Fun and accessible but fails to match the brilliance of Sands of Time.
  3. 90
    The new title combines strong platforming fundamentals, Assassin's Creed's open-world structure, and some of Okami's wonderful aesthetic flourishes. What it introduces to action games is something truly wonderful.
  4. While Prince of Persia is definitely flawed and can even become tedious at points, it creates a dreamlike world that keeps you interested. It is an interactive extension of what good fiction tries to be, and while it's not for everyone, it can often leave you with a desire to come back for more.
  5. Having said this, Prince of Persia is one of those games that has obvious flaws but manages to pull together to become so much more than the sum of its parts. The charmingly cliched story, the visuals, audio, and their sparkling polish come together to make the Prince of Persia a modern epic. [January 2009, p.51]
  6. Were it not for obtrusive hints and copy/pasted design, Prince of Persia would have taken its rightful place in our Hall of Fame.
  7. Dumbed down; drawn out; deeply annoying. [Jan 2009, p.84]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 50
  2. Negative: 20 out of 50
  1. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    For me it was never a problem with game's difficulty. I liked the game more then i expected because it put me in the sense of flow that iFor me it was never a problem with game's difficulty. I liked the game more then i expected because it put me in the sense of flow that i rarely experience in video games nowadays. But what makes it stand out for me so much is that when you make the biggest game decision you never question your choice or it's outcome and you accept all consequences while saying "It was all worth it" and spilling a little tear at the end. The biggest pleasure i got was AFTER i finished the game and realized what was it about and why things happened how they happened. Its a masterpiece. Simple, but it doesn't have to be difficult to be good. Its a perfect example of story-based video games that actually put a "story" and a "video game" not running along but depending on each other 100%. Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    Charming and beautiful game. Creative areas with breathtaking vistas. Repetitive game play which still feels fresh until the end. GoodCharming and beautiful game. Creative areas with breathtaking vistas. Repetitive game play which still feels fresh until the end. Good character animations. Excellent voice acting. Surprise heart wrenching ending. Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2014
    8
    This is my third prince of persia, and the best, Gameplay is excelent, the graphics are nice, the game is large... Any more?
    The cell-shading
    This is my third prince of persia, and the best, Gameplay is excelent, the graphics are nice, the game is large... Any more?
    The cell-shading effect is very good, I have not found anything in the game that I did not like, everything is excellent. There is only a small detail a bit ugly, the shadows are many mountain peaks, but well, esdel 2008!
    The soundtrack I liked it because it fits perfectly with the atmosphere every time I hear music I get wanting to play jajaj.
    ABSTRACT: This game is a 100/100, although I liked, nothing m disappointed, now you can find for less than $ 20, you know, buy it.
    Expand
  4. AndrewD.
    Jan 17, 2009
    7
    I'm gonna be honest; The first time I played the game, I got to the first fertile ground, then decided to turn it off. The game drops I'm gonna be honest; The first time I played the game, I got to the first fertile ground, then decided to turn it off. The game drops you off into the tutorial, where you're not really entirely sure what's going on, which is fine for a tutorial. This, however, becomes an issue when you finish the tutorial and all of a sudden the real story starts without any explanation. Even that was forgivable to me before I realized, just after the first fertile ground, that the gameplay was going to whittle down to the following: 1. Perform easy series of jumps and flips to climb to the Fertile Ground. 2. Fight easy boss with easily executed combos and easily timed counters (By checking your combo list, you can easily find the one combo with the most hits, and keep trying to use it until the boss stops parrying your sword attacks; The combo itself will take a good 3/4 health from most bosses.) 3. Collect as many random "Light Seeds" as you can. 4. Rinse and repeat. So, not feeling engaged in the story and seeing the repetitive gameplay as a problem, I turned the game off and went on about my life. Two weeks later, however, I turned the game back on and played for a few hours, just to give the game a second chance. Somehow, my impression of the game was changed. While my initial statement that the game drops you off in the middle of the story with no real means to engage you stands strong, something about traveling along the (mostly) beautifully constructed landscapes to bash the brains out of the easy bosses became entertaining, and some of the later puzzles were even a little bit challenging. (Ok, one of them was a little bit challenging, but my point stands.) For the record, the never really ties itself up either. My main complaint with this game is the weak story telling, but if you enjoy a "Push Button, Get Positive Response" gameplay style, then go ahead and try this. Expand
  5. Sean
    Apr 7, 2009
    4
    The game starts out pretty cool; you get to do some fun acrobatics and you have access to all the combat combos from the beginning, which are The game starts out pretty cool; you get to do some fun acrobatics and you have access to all the combat combos from the beginning, which are nice to watch the first few times you do them. But it quickly starts dragging. There are 20 main levels plus 4 boss levels. Every single one of them is super repetitive. Not to mention the fact that you have to go through each level twice in order to pick up all the light seeds after you cleanse the level. The fights are also boring and repetitive and completely lacking in challenge, given the fact that you cannot die. If you happen to mess up and get "killed," you are saved by your companion, the opponent regains some health, and the fight continues. So in summary, for about 30 minutes the game is fun. The visuals are nice, the controls are simple, the camera works decently (occasional screwiness, but on the whole, satisfying). But the repetitiveness, lack of excitement and challenge, the prevalence of annoying and contrived obstacles, and the poor quality of combat drags it all down very quickly. I'm not sure how it got so many high scores from the critics. Perhaps they played it for less than an hour. Expand
  6. BrianB.
    Dec 11, 2008
    2
    The game's difficulty is a joke, the story is awful, the dialogue is forced and hackneyed, and the 'FIR-TILE' ground combined The game's difficulty is a joke, the story is awful, the dialogue is forced and hackneyed, and the 'FIR-TILE' ground combined with the orgasmic animation each time you beat a boss and the collecting of 'seeds' for your female companion would make Fellini roll in his grave. Warrior Within is still worse, although not by much. Definitely not worth the money. Other than that the graphics are ok. Expand
  7. SeanT.
    Dec 10, 2008
    0
    This game rocks.

See all 50 User Reviews