User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 146
  2. Negative: 32 out of 146

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    I've played Pes nonstop since 2002 (damn. ... what a loser I am hahah ...) every year until a new part comes out. I think this year's Pes2013 is an exceptionally big step forward compared to the editions that came out after the legendary Pes6 (in 2006).. The new Pes game is much more challenging due to the possibility to use 100% manual controls.You can now choose movement in a pass or tackle urself (like every cm to the left or right and 10000 options from soft to hard) ... this is very challenging and sometimes frustrating but if the ball is given a correct kick it gives often harder and more extreme goals that are very beautiful, satisfying and always unique!! ...... To get this you must first change all controll settings to manual though!.. Pes is the best football game for PC gamers if you ask me. Fifa appears on the console very well the paint to come. The reason why Pes is primarily a PC game is easy to explain: On the PC you can use the patch from the website patchedit.com so the game is absolutely perfect in every detail ... f.e. the hairstyles of footballers are the same as they were this week in the Champions League league... .. and last but maybe most important of all: The graphics get an extreme makeover leaving out the blur and the low detail graphic settings that Konami chooses by default assuming everybody still has a Pentium 4 pc..believe me..the visuals are stunning... when will Konami wake up and open the available eyecandy for the main audience?? Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    I have a schizophrenic relationship with Pro Evo 2013.

    One moment, I am totally besotted in wonder at the game, the next minute I am wanting to put my fist through some Konami rep's face.

    PES 2013 offers unrivalled playability and heart stopping action, albeit via an engine with some brutal flaws. However, with the super improved defending, it is for the most part possible to block
    repetative lame exploit gameplay as is common when playing against rat-boys online (I have turned into a rat-boy as well when playing strangers online..PES does that to people). However, due to the scripted nature of PES, sometimes it will be very hard, if not utterly impossible to defend the lame exploit attempts. Furthermore, as soon as one realises how much of a hand the AI has in influencing the flow of the game, rage induced panic attacks can occur, especially in situations where some rat boy is exploiting my ass whilst the AI is simulataneously beating me with a faeces covered stick. As much as my PES induced rage would could drive me to hitting sites all across the internet spreading lots of hate about the game. Since PES 2013 came out. I have been totally uninterested in playing any other game. I own a high end PC and can play any title you care to name totally maxed. But all I want is my daily and rather large, intense hit of PES 2013. For that reason, even though I hate PES and want to stamp out Konami's guts, I have to give the game a 9/10. Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    I'm a little disappointed they removed the league mode. Friends and I liked to get together to have such tournaments. But overall, the gameplay improvements are to vast and to great to ignore. This is, without doubt, one of the great sport simulations out there. It's up there with NBA 2K13 as Sport Sim of the Year. Two great games that are authentic to the sport and really highlight the individuality of players. Player ID feature is amazing. Must buy. Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    This game is quite bad, it is just fine involved minor action, 3d fans, and the gameplay is much better than the last part, so I can say that this game is better than FIFA
  5. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    Good PES, good controls, good playing modes... It's still far from PES 6, but it's the best PES since then. Of course, better than FIFA, as PES 2013 is like 2012 but with improved gameplay, goalkeepers, online gameplay... FIFA 13 is FIFA 12 worsened.
  6. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    Don't let the bad review fool you, it's always like that with fanboys. This year Pro Evo and Fifa each have their own merits. They're both good games. If you are like me and have been playing Pro evo and then went to fifa, now is a good year to give PES another chance. The manual runs and manual passing give the game a great uniqueness. Of course the animations are not even close to the perfection that is fifa, but gameplaywise this is a fantastic game...you have at the same time assisted passes and manual passes with the press of a button and also manual runs for players not on the ball... Give it a try! Expand
  7. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    Every last years reviews seem to bash PES and praise FIFA so hard. They keep calling FIFA a sim and PES arcade, yet I tried both and I still feel it's the totally opposite...
    People also keep talking about how the PS2 editions were so much better, but I myself have been playing 2013 and then the PS2 ones... the new game feels so much realistic in every possible way. It's really really fun
    to play with friends, and even though it's better than PES 2012, I have to admit that the changes aren't as many or as important as I expected. But the game is still good, and I think it's on the same level as this year's FIFA. Collapse
  8. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    Very enjoyable game. Gameplay is fantastic and except a few down sides which are not really that important, it is a step forward in the right direction.
  9. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    By far (and I mean far) the best football game for PC. It's slightly difficult to customize your controls and certain teams and players don't have real life names but don't let that stop you - if you actually want to play a football game that feels alive, unpredictable and dynamic, there's nowhere else to go. The AI plays well without doing typical FIFA scripted goals and it feels as if each player on the field is constantly thinking for themselves which leads to the interesting point that the AI also makes mistakes. Not scripted mistakes, just mistakes because two of its players misunderstood each other. It makes the game feel alive. Because the AI is so good and alive, the game only really works well on the hardest difficulty. Attempts at reducing the AI make the game feel strange. So, learn the mechanics on a low level, then play a single player career on the highest and then you'll master it in time. Expand
  10. May 25, 2014
    10
    O melhor PES que existe, quando veio o 2014, dei valor ao PES 2013... leve e excelente jogabilidade!! Nota 10 mesmo!! O que incomodou no 2013 é o juiz... ele dá muita faltinha!! Mas melhor que o 2014, é!!
  11. Jan 15, 2013
    0
    Every last years reviews seem to bash PES and praise FIFA so hard. They keep calling FIFA a sim and PES arcade, yet I tried both and I still feel it's the totally opposite...
    People also keep talking about how the PS2 editions were so much better, but I myself have been playing 2013 and then the PS2 ones... the new game feels so much realistic in every possible way. It's really really fun
    to play with friends, and even though it's better than PES 2012, I have to admit that the changes aren't as many or as important as I expected. But the game is still good, and I think it's on the same level as this year's FIFA. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 86
    Pro Evolution Soccer 2013 manages to revitalize essential aspects of the game’s rhythm and gameplay details. The end result is a deep, interesting, ever-enjoyable football game that will cater to the needs of both hardcore followers of the franchise and casual gamers. [November 2012]
  2. 80
    We've approached the new PES with increased caution because of the last season – but the core gameplay is great and the flaws are of minor character. [Nov 2012]
  3. Oct 22, 2012
    65
    The latest iteration of Konami's football game is fine, but inorganic, stolid, and a little dull. Pick FIFA over this on PC.