Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 139 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pro Evolution Soccer 2013 brings Konami's football franchise back for another year.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sep 26, 2012
    90
    Due to AI improvements and the players' better pathing, PES 2013 feels smoother than last year's incarnation of the series. Coupled with new features like PES Full Control or player ID you get the best PES so far on next generation consoles. Too bad though that the AI still tends to be absent in some situations and that the graphics haven't been improved since 2010.
  2. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. 86
    Pro Evolution Soccer 2013 manages to revitalize essential aspects of the game’s rhythm and gameplay details. The end result is a deep, interesting, ever-enjoyable football game that will cater to the needs of both hardcore followers of the franchise and casual gamers. [November 2012]
  4. Sep 27, 2012
    80
    It isn't the greatest, but it keeps making strides to reclaim its former glory.
  5. 80
    We've approached the new PES with increased caution because of the last season – but the core gameplay is great and the flaws are of minor character. [Nov 2012]
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    68
    PES 2013 continues the course that Konami charted three years ago. It's more confident, makes less mistakes, but still, it lost the final battle for soccer domination in this generation of gaming platforms.
  7. Oct 22, 2012
    65
    The latest iteration of Konami's football game is fine, but inorganic, stolid, and a little dull. Pick FIFA over this on PC.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    This game is quite bad, it is just fine involved minor action, 3d fans, and the gameplay is much better than the last part, so I can say that this game is better than FIFA Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    I've played Pes nonstop since 2002 (damn. ... what a loser I am hahah ...) every year until a new part comes out. I think this year's Pes2013 is an exceptionally big step forward compared to the editions that came out after the legendary Pes6 (in 2006).. The new Pes game is much more challenging due to the possibility to use 100% manual controls.You can now choose movement in a pass or tackle urself (like every cm to the left or right and 10000 options from soft to hard) ... this is very challenging and sometimes frustrating but if the ball is given a correct kick it gives often harder and more extreme goals that are very beautiful, satisfying and always unique!! ...... To get this you must first change all controll settings to manual though!.. Pes is the best football game for PC gamers if you ask me. Fifa appears on the console very well the paint to come. The reason why Pes is primarily a PC game is easy to explain: On the PC you can use the patch from the website patchedit.com so the game is absolutely perfect in every detail ... f.e. the hairstyles of footballers are the same as they were this week in the Champions League league... .. and last but maybe most important of all: The graphics get an extreme makeover leaving out the blur and the low detail graphic settings that Konami chooses by default assuming everybody still has a Pentium 4 pc..believe me..the visuals are stunning... when will Konami wake up and open the available eyecandy for the main audience?? Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    Good PES, good controls, good playing modes... It's still far from PES 6, but it's the best PES since then. Of course, better than FIFA, as PES 2013 is like 2012 but with improved gameplay, goalkeepers, online gameplay... FIFA 13 is FIFA 12 worsened. Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    I have a schizophrenic relationship with Pro Evo 2013.

    One moment, I am totally besotted in wonder at the game, the next minute I am
    wanting to put my fist through some Konami rep's face.

    PES 2013 offers unrivalled playability and heart stopping action, albeit via an engine with some brutal flaws. However, with the super improved defending, it is for the most part possible to block repetative lame exploit gameplay as is common when playing against rat-boys online (I have turned into a rat-boy as well when playing strangers online..PES does that to people). However, due to the scripted nature of PES, sometimes it will be very hard, if not utterly impossible to defend the lame exploit attempts. Furthermore, as soon as one realises how much of a hand the AI has in influencing the flow of the game, rage induced panic attacks can occur, especially in situations where some rat boy is exploiting my ass whilst the AI is simulataneously beating me with a faeces covered stick. As much as my PES induced rage would could drive me to hitting sites all across the internet spreading lots of hate about the game. Since PES 2013 came out. I have been totally uninterested in playing any other game. I own a high end PC and can play any title you care to name totally maxed. But all I want is my daily and rather large, intense hit of PES 2013. For that reason, even though I hate PES and want to stamp out Konami's guts, I have to give the game a 9/10.
    Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2012
    8
    great game and on par with fifa in terms of gameplay, field feels big, not so cramped as in fifa. however, i think they can do so much in terms of graphics, animations and that atrocious sound design and commentary. if it werent for mods i wouldnt even be playing it now. AND WHAT ABOUT that afternoon matches? why remove that? one of the bes tparts of the PES were those afternoon matches with awesome lighting unmatched in any sports game. now its the same old lame night and day crap. Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2013
    7
    I was a fifa fan since Fifa 98, played almost all... but when was abt to get fifa 13.. i thought why not give pes 2013 a try for once, maybe its CR7 influence.. playing it for 4mnths.. initially the clubs were limited and their names were wierd (North London, East London etc...) and players names were ridiculous(football life mode), last week i downloaded a patch(6.0) and now it has all premier league teams with latest (sep) transfers, proper names, latest sponsors, jerseys etc..... SO now its gotten better and thinkin should i even buy fifa 14 for my ps3... Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2012
    1
    Much better teamwork, better online play, best of the PS3 generation.... Then Konami decide to remove the league option stopping you from playing with friends in 1 location unless you want to go back to the days of writing a league table on some paper. For the simple fact they removed a core mechanic behind playing with friends and organised tournaments PES 2013 gets a 1 as it is simply unplayable and has 50 of us involved in North East England PES tournaments and buy our own copies for practice during the week are now having to look at the enemy in FIFA which would still allow us to play in the manner we have been accustomed to. Whoever made that decision at Konami should be sacked and never work in gaming again as they quite simply have zero grasp of the games target market. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews