Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 208 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 centers everything on the ball including how it moves and how players use it. First touch and sublime control are what set certain players apart from others. The ability to not only read a pass, but to be one step ahead and to know what is needed to gain yards on an encroaching defender. Trueball Tech allows the player to trap or knock on a pass using the analogue stick with detailed bar-centric physics determining the weight shift of the player and the height and speed of the pass, as to how the player's body will automatically shape to receive it. The Pro Evolution Soccer series has long since treated the ball as an individual entity, allowing the player huge amounts of freedom to pass into space, run on to a knocked-on counter, or produces short triangular passes to make space. Trueball Tech adds even more freedom, with full 360-degree control within several yards around the player and the ability to shield the ball from opposing players, use deft controls to wrong-foot them, and intuitive methods to master close control. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    A great playable, fun and always challenging football simulation.
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    84
    PES 2014 looks better than ever and the gameplay's a lot of fun, but nostalgia stops it from being a huge leap forward.
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    80
    It's not always easy to develop a game with a new physics engine but Konami did well. Unfortunately PES 2014 still has some issues with the collisions system, but it's a great start for the new era of this brand.
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    70
    Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 is a little disappointing - we were expecting a huge revolution, and what we got is just a beginning of a revolution (and not that perfect, to be honest). The game offers lots of fun, is difficult enough and stays on the simulation side, but lots of technical issues truly test the player's patience. There are many steps in the right direction, but at the same time there are lots of steps back.
  5. Oct 4, 2013
    70
    PES 2014 is a solid title whose lively presentation and animation improvements are offset by slower, heavier gameplay. Not a bad game by any measure, it nonetheless counteracts some of the improvements made in last year's excellent PES 2013.
  6. Sep 25, 2013
    70
    I was looking forward to the new Fox-Engine as a foundation, but the next big step for the series is just not there. Instead of reaching a new level the gameplay is hindered by the teams’ problems with the engine, resulting in bugs and loads of minor flaws. That’s a shame, because the core mechanics are better than ever.
  7. 60
    New engine brought freshness to the series and if it wasn't for shoddy online support and a bunch of nasty bugs, FIFA 14 would be trembling. [Nov 2013]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 63
  2. Negative: 36 out of 63
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Much better than FIFA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    PES 2014 is definitely some good fun. The graphics are just gorgeous, being miles, leaps and bounds ahead of the competition counterpart. The atmosphere surrounding the match is almost surreal. The sound department doesn't fall behind and delivers quite well. Might not be as good as the competition, but had a significant improvement from the last version (no, even though the sound has seen improvements, the commentary still sucking some royal "s"). The new team licenses add value to the game definitely (at least to some south american and asian players), but, unfortunately, the gameplay has some flawed aspects. The AI is unbalanced, oscillating between unmerciful and plain retarded. The controls, even though not being utter sh**, like some say, could've been better; the player with the ball could run a tad bit faster, just enough to not seem like he sh*t himself moments after the start of the match. Overall, the game has it's flaws, but is definitely a step ahead to franchise. Once the problems get ironed out, the competition will need to come up with something actually new to compete. Expand
  3. Sep 20, 2013
    5
    Worst PES I've played. As others have stated, the graphics and the new engine is somewhat interesting, but the rest of the game is just awful. Player movement/control is horrible, AI is dumb, game modes are the same as ever but with even less features, etc.. It's a shame really. Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2013
    3
    My background: Played 3D football simulation games since FIFA 97. Played football in real life in a two amateur clubs. Football fan, watch games on a weekly basis.

    PES 2014 is probably the worst PES they made.

    What happens when you have two companies making games about a sport they don't understand: FIFA14 and PES14 happen.

    First let's keep in mind an idea, which is, when you actually play football you have insight that its impossible to simulate in a game, so what happens when you create huge delays for player actions, you actually make a double delay and add a huge random factor into the game.

    So basically when they made it almost impossible to make first touch passes, they broke the game completely,it makes this game unplayable. Football is not remotely about predicting movement, its about realizing its about to happen, so you cant have a game about football that relies on the concept that you have to pass the ball to a player that is fully marked 2 seconds before you even get the ball in your feet, and hope that the AI realizes that the pass must avoid the opposing player and predict the teammate run, therefore making all actions a random action where so much can go unintentionally wrong.

    I could go on and on about these completely wrong game design concepts, but now let's take a look at the game modes, they are basically the same thing they were 8 or 9 years ago, almost no evolution whatsoever, I'm not asking for a mix of football manager and football simulator, I'm asking for something with a less arcade boring concept, something that isn't made just for the player to suceed and feel good about itself, football is about challenge.

    The AI... can it get any worst than this? The positioning is just crazy bad, the computer always uses the same type of gameplay, be it Barcelona or the worst team in the game, they all play alike, no difference whatsoever, how dull, how boring, this is not football. Making pressure is just damn useless because bad players behave like good players, they always know precisely what to do, to who they should pass the ball and how.

    At least now players can hold the ball and not be overrun by super tacking defenders, which is the only improvement to the game.

    FIFA is the same dull boring simulation, this games are years away from being considered simulations. Can we have a european company with people that actually know football to make a football game?
    Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    1
    Have been playing Pro Evo since it was ISS on the Super Nintendo in 1995 and after 18 years i can say without any doubt what so ever that this by far the worst Pro Evo Version Ever!!! I waited until I could say that I am now used to the new version before I made a comment on it so that I would be more Impartial. Now the time has come. I always went between Pro Evo and Fifa until Pro Evo came out on the PS2 and Finally decided that despite being tougher it was an Evolution in football Games. I mainly play this game with a group of friends who all but one think it is dreadful, so dont care about the AI. This version is so bad that it has almost ruined the tournaments my friends and I play in. we always start the new season with the new version of Pro Evo. This year for the first time ever we had to make the unprecedented decision to revert back to Pro Evo 2013. Despite having worse graphis, Pro Evo 2013 has far more realistic game play, response, movement, running on and off the ball, passing, crossing, etc. It is just amazing at how badly Konami have Messed Up!!!! I agree with everyone who says how bad this version is and other friends who have tried my Pro Evo 2014 are never going to buy it. Very Smart. Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2014
    0
    Good graphic but lack of license team. A very disappointing game play and worst PES series I've ever played. Waste of money, is complete rubbish. The sluggish controls, when you try to hit the shoot button the player will comply after 2,4 seconds delayed. Such a step back for the franchise. Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    $80 (R$ 179,90) for brazilian version on Steam? I'll stay with Fifa, you loosers, thieves.
    If they dont low the price, ill never get Konami
    games again. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews