Project Zomboid Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Surviving isn’t just about blowing zombie’s heads off. Depression, starvation, trust issues, loneliness, illness, insanity. These are just some of the things you have to deal with in Project Zomboid.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 46
  2. Negative: 14 out of 46
  1. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    after all the terrible zombie games that came out this is nice. it has **** graphics but that is the charm for me. it is so primitive yet soafter all the terrible zombie games that came out this is nice. it has **** graphics but that is the charm for me. it is so primitive yet so complicated its just bloody great go play it now Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2016
    10
    Look through the reviews. Bear in mind, that almost all of the negative reviews are immature, and the ones who have written most of them,Look through the reviews. Bear in mind, that almost all of the negative reviews are immature, and the ones who have written most of them, seems quite unintelligent, swearing unimagineable much. Just take it all easy, reader, and have a little faith in my review, and faith in the game.

    As for my experience of the game, I have about 200 hours in the game. This game is not extremely action-based. Not neccesarily. This game is a game you will love EXTREMELY much, if you end up actually caring of what is happening. The thing is. Once you play the game, and you feel enthusiastic about it, hype might built, and it will over time, if you give det game a fair chance. This is not always the game where you should expect the "go into town with shotgun and shoot every living thing" piece of content. This is a game, where you will feel like you're trapped in a world of zombies, where there is nothing but fighting for existence to do.

    But what is fighting for existence? As easy, and as uninteresting it might sound like, there are a lot of factors put into that. You won't just be running around the map killing zombies for fun, and shooting wildly. This is SURVIVAL. What a lot of people tend to do when playing this is actually planning things out, just like they would do if it happened in real life. This is what makes the game very unique. It is survival. it is a struggle, and you are always challenged to be on your toes ready for every unexpected procaution.

    Listed below, people are already talking about all those moods, and factors you should care about, when playing the game. Therefore I will take a moment, and just let you know, that this is neither stereotypical game, or alike all other Survival games. This is a game where you are among a lot of zombies, and a lot of other dangerous things, such as your own needs. Being all alone you will have to keep yourself alive, and it will be hard. It will require that you strive for it. You can't depend on luck. You gotta depend on your own strategies, and the way you will take your turns. This game is unlike any others.

    If you have a passion for the zombie genre, or

    Notes: This game is extremely customizeable, and features a fine amount of mods.

    This game is heavily under development, and by purchasing this game for only 14 dollars, you are bound to get all updates, and all content possible.

    The game might look weird, and you might think "How can I enjoy this". try it. If you don't like it, learn more about it. Play it with friends, and try it more than you want. Perhaps 10 hours. If you've played it for 10 hours, and you still don't like it, then you may of course just say it isn't your type of game, but just try Zomboid. Usually people get addicted to it, once they start valueing what they're doing.

    As for myself, I do not feel much for playing it right now, due to my mood, and right now I feel like "Zomboid is all the same". that is a feeling. Zomboid is really unique, and it isn't all the same. Not at all. Therefore, once you start really liking the game, and when you're playing it a lot, you will discover new things about the game, that you didn't expect, nor having heard from anyone. This game is a personal experience, and it is rated as "Hardcore Survival Game". Expect to die, and expect to try again.

    Greetings. for the readers, have a nice weekend, and I hope you enjoy. This review/Post was solely for the purpose of giving you all the chance of an interesting, and different, perfect experience.
    Expand
  3. May 11, 2012
    10
    This is a phenomenal game - it's just as stressful and challenging as I would hope a survival horror game would be. The isometric renderingThis is a phenomenal game - it's just as stressful and challenging as I would hope a survival horror game would be. The isometric rendering turned me off at first, but I have high hopes for the next version of the game that gets released. I've never been a fan of Resident Evil or Left 4 Dead, but this zombie game has me hooked. I wish there was the ability to save games, though! Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2013
    8
    It is in alpha right now, so expect bugs. However, even with the bugs that I have encountered, this game is awesome. The map you are able toIt is in alpha right now, so expect bugs. However, even with the bugs that I have encountered, this game is awesome. The map you are able to explore is huge. It takes an extremely long time to explore every area. This game has a bunch of new features and bug fixes coming. I would give it a 9 if it weren't for just one annoying bug in the game. Some leniency is to be had for the game being still in the early development stage still. However, I bought the game knowing this since it was advertised as such with a big banner saying "Early Access." The game has already paid for itself and is very enjoyable in its current state. Some are experiencing game stopping bugs and problems getting the game to run and keep running. I feel for them as I have experienced the same issue with another previously purchased game. Hopefully those bugs and crashes will be sorted out quickly once the game progresses more with development. Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2011
    7
    First off I would like to request that this title be added with Alpha as thats the title it has when bought as of 10/25/2011

    Also I would
    First off I would like to request that this title be added with Alpha as thats the title it has when bought as of 10/25/2011

    Also I would recommend looking for updates to the game.

    That being said Project Zomboid is a zombie survival and one thing is for certian, YOU WILL DIE. Thats the point. It is not to get to the end of the game. It is to survive as long as possible and use your surroundings and items to the best of their abilities.

    Now the game is currently in Alpha phase. It is extremely buggy and some elements you expect in a game do not exist. For example, as of now there is no way to save your game, nor is there a menu once in-game, usually games have a menu giving you the option of quitting or other buttons by pressing the escape key.

    At the beginning of the games sandbox mode you are given a screen that resembles an RPG game, where you have points to allocate for perks. The perks are not really explained by any tutorial, nor is there a in-depth tutorial to teach the player the ropes. There is a tutorial story mode though it is very hard to understand it.

    Once you get through the clunky user interface, and get acquainted to more aspects of the game you have to understand, this is not your "Left-4-Dead" shooter. You can take on a single zombie, but any more and you risk getting scratched, and in this game you are NOT immune. You will become infected and will sooner or later die. You can get sick from food poisoning and you get hungry and tired. All of these effects can actually kill you (e.g. passing out outside and getting eaten alive, starving to death, dieing from illness, not being able to sleep due to being in too much pain.)
    This game is more of a simulation, in the Alpha version there are limited moods, as of now I have encountered the mood of, pain, panic, tired, hungry, sick, wet(from being out in the rain too long) from being wet I got sick. Also getting hurt, cut or scratched, may not infect you, however you could still die from loss of blood if the bleeding is not stopped in time. If your legs are harmed you may have slower walking speed and running speed. This makes combat much more risky with melee weapons.

    The game gives the player the ability to barricade any house they choose. As long as they have the correct supplies to make barricades. I would like to delve into the crafting system in the game as of Alpha 10/24/2011, the game allows you to take the items you find in the world, and modify them with other items, for example you find some bed sheets? Craft them into ripped sheets to use as bandages.

    The other aspect I would like to go into, is that the producer The Indie Stone, is moving production along as Minecraft has. The game was only released This June, however when you buy the game, you are entitled to all of the updates to come. There is a free demo for you to see if you want to play it as it is now. It will soon however with updates and time, shape up I think to a nice and fully addictive game.

    However that being said I would not place too much time in it without understanding at the current moment, there is no way to save the game for later use. As of now with the addictive nature to just go out and try and survive, I will give it a 6/10, however with time I can see me modifying the review to add new features and the score can only go up, I am highly anticipating later versions of this game.
    Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2017
    4
    Becoming one of the poster boys for Early Access games that go nowhere. Years into Early Access now without any substantial updates in a longBecoming one of the poster boys for Early Access games that go nowhere. Years into Early Access now without any substantial updates in a long time. This is the game that made me swear off ever buying Early Access games again, as it has just become an excuse for everything, similar to the old "it's in beta" excuse that was prominent before Early Access titles. Regular news updates from the developers always bring up topics that the players are waiting for, but these never turn into actual updates to the game. This fact alone, after so long now, is why I felt it time to write a review on this game.

    Singleplayer is an empty experience, void of any substance or real interaction. It is just you, there is no one but you, there is no one you will find, no surprises, nothing but you and the zombies, which is fine for short time until you realise that is all there is to it - rinse and repeat, life after life. Multiplayer suffers its own problems too, where servers can run mods (install required by the user) which only manage to divide the very tiny playerbase into even smaller fragments.

    I do not recommend spending money on this game until it leaves Early Access and they actually deliver on all their talk.
    Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2014
    0
    There are 2 things every game needs to have:

    1. Fun factor. 2. A Purpose. Project Zomboid is not solid on any of those points. What's
    There are 2 things every game needs to have:

    1. Fun factor.
    2. A Purpose.

    Project Zomboid is not solid on any of those points. What's the point of a game where all you do is go from one house to another to loot things just to survive until you eventually die? Where are the NPC's? Where are the random events? Storyline? Quests? Mission? Purpose? This game is so mediocre it has no purpose or fun to it.

    I know they are an indie group but this games been out since 2011, I'm sorry but that's way too much for such mediocrity 0/10, don't recommend buying even on offer.
    Expand

See all 46 User Reviews