Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 26, 2012
    75
    Prototype 2 on the PC is almost identical to its console counterparts, which makes for a brutal and exciting adventure.
  2. Aug 2, 2012
    80
    A good game despite its flaws, but manages to become very fun thanks to the great possibilites Heller's powers bring. This PC version is very conservative in comparison with the console version, with minimal graphical improvements and imprecise mouse+keyboard controls. This three month delay could have been used to make the most of the PC capabilities.
  3. Aug 1, 2012
    85
    You may have a few hiccups here and there, but there's plenty to do in Prototype 2. More times than not, you'll have a blast doing all of it.
  4. Jul 30, 2012
    86
    Prototype 2 is not perfect and there are a few things which need to do a better job next game - like the lack of variation in missions - , but nonetheless this is one of the most visceral, spectacular and brutal sandboxes out there. A far better videogame than its predecessor.
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    60
    It could have been great, but this gruesome and ridiculous power fantasy is spoilt by a disgracefully shabby port to PC.
  6. Aug 15, 2012
    90
    On PC, Prototype 2 hums along nicely in the presentation department, but playing a game a game like this with a keyboard and mouse is ridiculous. It's not as accurate as playing with a controller, which this reviewer switched to after about 20 minutes fidgeting with the keyboard and mouse and finding them completely impractical at best and frustrating at worst.
  7. Jul 30, 2012
    78
    A solid conversion of a solid game, but the three months delay can't be justified in any way. A really poor treatment for the PC gamer.
  8. 70
    Prototype 2 lets you feel like a hungry predator among defenseless chickens and it feels great. Only pity is you hit the same hennery over and over again. [Sept 2012]
  9. Jul 27, 2012
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. Aug 30, 2012
    60
    By blindly copying the first game, Radical killed most of its original ideas and made a lot of mistakes. Prototype 2 is a derivative tale of a stupid superhuman who walks in a city made of shoeboxes.
  11. 87
    Like a lot of action games, the story needs a bit of work, but if you can overcome it's minor short comings, this game can be a whole lot of fun.
  12. Aug 31, 2012
    82
    Prototype 2 (the swan song of Radical Entertainment) is a decent open-world action game, that does not invent the wheel, but it does manage to offer solid amounts of entertainment, splattered with generous servings of blood and mayhem. [September 2012]
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 321 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 63
  2. Negative: 22 out of 63
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    3
    In short, if you liked the first one, avoid this hacked together, amateur mess.
    Even if we are kind and ignore the plague of technical issues
    that this game shipped with (I only experienced the mouse issue and enabling vsync fixed it for me) this is still a terrible game.
    The graphics are simply dire: no shadows, no reflections, muddy textures and extremely low detail all throughout - it loks like a DX8 game. Running this at max details I get a very high frame rate (though it constantly bombs up and down for no reason) and it looks like a game from 10 years ago. It is a flat, boring, featureless world.
    The controls are vague and fairly unresponsive and generally you never really feel as though you are in control of the (utterly hateful and idiotic) protagonist. He is happy to bomb around, doing as he pleases, attacking what he wants, jumping where he fancies and generally ignoring the hell out of you while you miss target after target, normally as arbitrary and pointless countdowns expire meaning you fail the mission.
    The one thing I could have noted as a good point for this game is the ability to save whenever you like, rather than the usual console auto-save nonsense, but even that is broken. Saving produces a pointless replica of the previous auto-save, utterly ignoring anything you did since.
    Even if all the technical issues are fixed, the graphics will remain far below par (even for an xbox game), the port will remain horrible and utterly bereft of care and attention and the story line will be pallid and uninteresting. Do yourself a favour and install the first game - you'll be a lot happier.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 24, 2012
    0
    This game is actually unplayable on my computer. The game suffers numerous crashes, has hard locked my system, and feels like Activision has just pushed out a straight console port.

    Today steam unlocked Prototype 2 and having pre-loaded it I quickly launched it on my default computer. An Intel Core I7-3770, dual ATI 6990's, and 8GB of ram on a 64-bit Windows 7 system. The game would not start with all 4 graphics cards enabled (the 6990 is a dual-gpu card). As such I had to disable down to one card. I game on three 30" HP LP3065 monitors each running a resolution of 2560x1600. Prototype 2 does not even SUPPORT 2560x1600 and as such I'm forced to run at a non-native resolution of 1920x1200. With the single ati 6990 (the others are disabled using Radeon Pro) the game stutters and chugs. All of the "in engine" cut scenes are unwatchable due to the fact I'm getting 3 to 5 FPS according to the built in Radeon Pro fps counter. In play, the game behaves better but if I attempt to turn a quick 180 the game will either crash or it will lockup for a few moments and then continue on normally. While the 6990 isn't bleeding edge anymore its the equivalent of an ATI 6970 and shouldn't have these kinds of problems. From the 65 minutes that I've played Prototype 2 feels identical to Prototype. I honestly wish I could give a more in depth review but at this point I can't even play the game. I know, this might read as a rant but if you're running a crossfire configuration, a 2560x1600 resolution, or didn't care for the first Prototype I would recommend avoiding this game.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 25, 2012
    4
    Where to begin.. horrible port. Different controllers on the PC require different in-game response. The camera is too floaty, not always responsive, and usually very choppy due to being tied to FPS. Textures are very often just blobs of blurry color mixed together. At least one main story mission is broken for a lot of people, stopping any progression at all. Way, way, WAY too many "challenges" for the kiddies to stroke their e-peens on. Seems like most of the game IS challenges now, with very little story, and nothing to do on the side except try for gold medals and the best time among your friends. I loved Prototype I and expected far more from the sequel at the price they charged. Unfortunately it fails on almost every level with a dull thud. Wait for more PC reviews and/or gameplay videos on YouTube before buying this disaster, or just pick it up when it is on sale. Note to Activision and the now-defunct development team: PC gamers expect more than e-peen stroking and bland gameplay ported from a console. Full Review »