User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 321 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 321

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    3
    In short, if you liked the first one, avoid this hacked together, amateur mess.
    Even if we are kind and ignore the plague of technical issues that this game shipped with (I only experienced the mouse issue and enabling vsync fixed it for me) this is still a terrible game.
    The graphics are simply dire: no shadows, no reflections, muddy textures and extremely low detail all throughout - it
    loks like a DX8 game. Running this at max details I get a very high frame rate (though it constantly bombs up and down for no reason) and it looks like a game from 10 years ago. It is a flat, boring, featureless world.
    The controls are vague and fairly unresponsive and generally you never really feel as though you are in control of the (utterly hateful and idiotic) protagonist. He is happy to bomb around, doing as he pleases, attacking what he wants, jumping where he fancies and generally ignoring the hell out of you while you miss target after target, normally as arbitrary and pointless countdowns expire meaning you fail the mission.
    The one thing I could have noted as a good point for this game is the ability to save whenever you like, rather than the usual console auto-save nonsense, but even that is broken. Saving produces a pointless replica of the previous auto-save, utterly ignoring anything you did since.
    Even if all the technical issues are fixed, the graphics will remain far below par (even for an xbox game), the port will remain horrible and utterly bereft of care and attention and the story line will be pallid and uninteresting. Do yourself a favour and install the first game - you'll be a lot happier.
    Expand
  2. Jul 24, 2012
    0
    This game is actually unplayable on my computer. The game suffers numerous crashes, has hard locked my system, and feels like Activision has just pushed out a straight console port.

    Today steam unlocked Prototype 2 and having pre-loaded it I quickly launched it on my default computer. An Intel Core I7-3770, dual ATI 6990's, and 8GB of ram on a 64-bit Windows 7 system. The game would not
    start with all 4 graphics cards enabled (the 6990 is a dual-gpu card). As such I had to disable down to one card. I game on three 30" HP LP3065 monitors each running a resolution of 2560x1600. Prototype 2 does not even SUPPORT 2560x1600 and as such I'm forced to run at a non-native resolution of 1920x1200. With the single ati 6990 (the others are disabled using Radeon Pro) the game stutters and chugs. All of the "in engine" cut scenes are unwatchable due to the fact I'm getting 3 to 5 FPS according to the built in Radeon Pro fps counter. In play, the game behaves better but if I attempt to turn a quick 180 the game will either crash or it will lockup for a few moments and then continue on normally. While the 6990 isn't bleeding edge anymore its the equivalent of an ATI 6970 and shouldn't have these kinds of problems. From the 65 minutes that I've played Prototype 2 feels identical to Prototype. I honestly wish I could give a more in depth review but at this point I can't even play the game. I know, this might read as a rant but if you're running a crossfire configuration, a 2560x1600 resolution, or didn't care for the first Prototype I would recommend avoiding this game. Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2012
    4
    Where to begin.. horrible port. Different controllers on the PC require different in-game response. The camera is too floaty, not always responsive, and usually very choppy due to being tied to FPS. Textures are very often just blobs of blurry color mixed together. At least one main story mission is broken for a lot of people, stopping any progression at all. Way, way, WAY too many "challenges" for the kiddies to stroke their e-peens on. Seems like most of the game IS challenges now, with very little story, and nothing to do on the side except try for gold medals and the best time among your friends. I loved Prototype I and expected far more from the sequel at the price they charged. Unfortunately it fails on almost every level with a dull thud. Wait for more PC reviews and/or gameplay videos on YouTube before buying this disaster, or just pick it up when it is on sale. Note to Activision and the now-defunct development team: PC gamers expect more than e-peen stroking and bland gameplay ported from a console. Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    In short: the game is amazingly fun, you really feel like a bad-ass superhero blinded by revenge who will go through anything to get his vengeance. Lots of awesome animations and powers; the city zones are interesting (the Red Zone really feels like a warzone); the story is intriguing with plenty of twists. The only downside is the performance on the PC. If you're not that big of a frames per second critic then you'll hardly notice the bad fps during all this awesomeness Collapse
  5. Jul 31, 2012
    1
    This game had so much potential. It seemed like Activision just wanted to get their quick fix for money with the PC version here. Even with my i7 920 4 core 2.66 GHz processor , my GTX 560ti x2 and 8GB RAM, the game runs at about 20 fps on the very lowest possible settings. It also does not support 1080p so if you are using a 1080p resolution you will get around 5-8 fps. (This is with my current hardware). The story is fantastic so that's what I give it a 1 for, the open world is ruined by the laggy world, and constant crashes that make you redo everything all over again. Do not waste your money on this, it is not worth it. Expand
  6. Jul 30, 2012
    6
    @ SonOfACracker: Glavius isn't the only guy having issues. He and the others are right, in technical terms this is indeed a horrible console port. The engine is horribly optimized for PC, and several people with high-end computers are having framerate problems. -- I also had FPS problems/lags, but with that said, the game is entertaining as hell. I'll have to stick with a 6/10 though because of the technical issues, otherwise this would have been an 8/10. Hope they will patch it eventually! Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2012
    0
    The story of the game is excellent and the characters are greatly written. However if you level up too fast, like I did, the gameplay can become very bland before you reach the third island (red zone). I didn't do this on purpose, I just thought I need the extra power and did all side missions before the main missions. The dialogues between Blackwatch and Heller are extremely amusing some times, this helps not getting to worked up about the mediocre AI. You can even turn your enemies into living bombs, but they wont get alarmed if you do that in disguise (poke a sting in the back of the neck of an enemy). Most of your actions won't cause any counteraction by your enemies. Hell, even the pedestrians are smarter: They get distressed and panic when you act strange. Took the time to do side and main missions and finished just after about 12 hours with 95%. That's a good bang for your bucks if you can get it cheap. Once you're finished there's freeroam mode wich gets boring real fast. The activities and side missions can be replayed, but they are less fun that the core game. Almost every important character is an infected (called evolved) which is annoying after a while. The consolized controls and low-res textures however ruin everything. Expand
  8. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    Gameplay is fantastic, just as I expected. Story is not as good. The protagonist, James Heller, is too simple minded. Playing as Heller is not as fun as playing as Alex Mercer, who underwent from avenger to redeemer. I don't think Alex from Prototype 1 would turn into the villain in 2, based on his character: He hunts down the runners, he saves the city, he cares about his sister, he doesn't easily trust others (why would he recklessly give so many random people with shapeshifting powers in 2?), etc. Alex Mercer from 1 is my favorite protagonist of all time. The team shouldn't have made him the villain. Expand
  9. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Great game! Very good graphics animation physics, awesome gameplay. I played at full settings it looks gorgeous in fullhd AMAZING JOB! Shame that the game dont come the same time as console verison maybe it would sell more and we would have NUMBER 3.

    + VERY GOOD GAME WITH EVERYTHING BETTER AND NICER THEN IN PROTOTYPE 1

    + LOOKS AWESOME ON PC IN FULL HD UBER
  10. Jul 31, 2012
    0
    This game is absolutely awfull. I have a I5-2500k running at 4.5Ghz, twin HD6970, and 16gb of ram, and a 240gb ssd, yet that game laaaag all the time. It dosent even support multi-screen or resolution over 1080p. Control is absolutely failed, the mouse feel like a joystick emulation. Many visual glitches, flickering textures and the like. Visuals are outdates, with shapes made of not enought polygons "squarish".

    Typical Activision pc port... Save your $$$ for a better game.
    Expand
  11. Aug 6, 2012
    6
    This game could be a lot better, but it lacks the most important thing: a good story. to know the story, you just need to read the first sentence of the game description, "kill your maker". Thats it. A few boring plot twists, nothing exciting. when i saw the trailers, i thought Sgt. Heller might be an interesting character, like Mercer was, but he isn't. He just swears the whole game. i think the wasted too much time to make the game brutal as hell, and didn't give it much thought. 6/10 because of the fun gameplay. Expand
  12. Oct 29, 2012
    3
    The story is an insult to everyone who actually enjoyed the plot in the first game. The fact that you need to read a comic that bridges the gap between the two games to understand why Alex acts the way he does now is ridiculous (and what's worse: the comic is quite bad). The camera is extremely unresponsive (and it's even worse in the indoors sections). Gameplay improved since the first installment (which I enjoyed a lot more though) but it could have been a lot better, it's like they were afraid to add more animations or give you more than 5 powers. A game like this driving me away because of its plot is new for me. Expand
  13. Aug 1, 2012
    8
    People with bad computers and no gamepad are going to red their user scores with hate.

    Prototype 2 has one flaw. The storyline from the first and into the second doesn't make any sense. Plain and simple doesn't matter.

    The missions are fun, the sandbox is a joy to fly around in and the battles are pretty epic even if you are able to follow a map and exp up before later game missions
    there is some fun to be had. Rent this. Buy it on sale but don't give it a red review just because you couldn't run it. Expand
  14. Aug 17, 2012
    2
    I'm a BIG fan of the frist Prototype game. But this secound game is just horrible. And here is a few reasons.
    1. Heller (the main new character) is one of the most overdone and stereotyped black man in video games. 2. Ruined the story of Prototype 1- no conspiracy-ex- Pariah, Greene, etc. 3. HEY KILLED OFF MERCER FOR NO REASON.
  15. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    @Athinira: In response to your post and as an edit to my earlier post, I'm sorry to hear that so many people are having technical issues with the game. I do not feel that the technical issues with Prototype 2 are centered around people with high end computers, however, as I, and many of my friends have high end equipment. It seems to me as though there are technical difficulties within the software launch that users are experiencing across the board. Although this is a terrible thing to see, I don't think it can be condoned that users simply come and spam 0's for such a great game. That is why I appreciate your honesty in giving the game a realistic score and a separate score if it did not have the primary launch software issues. As for the game itself, I think @Dudda has an excellent review. After being on the second play through of the game, still no technical difficulties what so ever--call me lucky I guess, I still find the primary storyline interesting. However, I'm not going to try and fool anyone, you shouldn't buy Prototype 2 for the storyline. If you instead want to feel like a completely badass, indestructible beast, that can scale an entire skyscraper in a single bound and probably give the Hulk a run for his money, than yeah I would totally buy this game. As for any consumers that are worried about purchasing a game that may turn out as some of these users are experiencing, wait a bit. Because on my end the game runs perfectly, so I'm sure there will be a software patch out soon that will fix any lingering issues. Expand
  16. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best Action games I have ever played! What did you expect when you were buying Prototype 2? Ponies, rainbows or detective adventures with plot twists and unexpected reveals? NO! YOU WERE BUYING BLOODY DISMEMBERMENT OF EVERYONE AND EVERYTHING! A gorgeous mosh pit with body parts of people and creatures! 9/10! Don't whine lil' **** This what I expected and this is what I got with its awesome action and gameplay, nice graphics and audio! One exception is sometimes unexpectedly difficult challenges! But this doesn't matter CUZ WE ARE MEN! MEN LIKE DIFFICULTIES! AAAARGHHH! *censored* 9 out of 10! Bloody massacre in its apocalypse! Hell will be surprised! Expand
  17. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    Its very similar to the first game with a few improvements. If you did not like the first game, do not bother with this one.
    Personally, i think its really fun. You basically have unlimited power and few like a semi-god running around new york. Free roaming and some repetitive side missions, but very rewarding. The story is bad and does not let you relate to any character (because you
    play both "bad" and "good" guys), but the main missions are usually fun and the fact that your powers make you feel like you could kill superman with a click of your fingers compensate to all that. Expand
  18. Aug 24, 2012
    6
    Meh, i don't know. On one side it was fun to run around jumping and just experiencing the incredible smoothness of the animations, but as with Prototype 1 the missions are very generic and there is no real story. On the other hand the interactions with the people in the streets are nicely done, the way they react, run away, bump into each other and everything was nice to see. Also the combat was pretty good, especially liked the battles with the giant monsters, there is a real feeling of superiority every time but you still need to put the right moves together which made for a strangely stress-less gaming experience. The length is just right for me, i was getting a little tired of the generic missions so i stopped doing the altogether after a bit and just rushed the main story. So i don't know, this game has very good gameplay and looks very good, but has a very poor story and non-existant replayability. But still it was more or less enjoyable. Expand
  19. Aug 9, 2012
    5
    In a few words.... Prototype 2 is Prototype 1 with a different story, and a couple new features.... Pretty sure all the character animations were just ripped straight from the first one... Don't get me wrong. I enjoyed the game. But the game was just a bunch of lazy. Developers just waiting till Prototype died out then re-releasing it with a different campaign and fancy new black and white cut-scenes...

    As far as graphics go, they are EXACTLY the same as the first one..... Gameplay is a 7-8, but I have to dock it for being so lazy

    Invest in a gamepad (like a wired 360 controller) for best results

    This game is a straight port of a console game so playing with a controller is best
    Expand
  20. Aug 3, 2012
    0
    I was so excited to play Prototype 2, but I just can't play it because of how much of a horrible **** console port it is.
    The PC controls are horrible. But the worst of all is that it doesn't matter if I run the game on highest settings or lowest settings the game will always run on ~30 FPS with many huge lag spikes when I glide around the city, why is that? My Computer can handle the
    game just fine, why Activision WHY WHY WHY??!?!?! Expand
  21. dgn
    Aug 4, 2012
    0
    It's so boring. Same missions again and again from start to end. Also there's no difference from first game. Actually I can say that this game is kinda a mod of first game. Anyway both of them are so boring.
  22. Aug 12, 2012
    9
    Ironically, I bought the first Prototype game and experienced all of the lags described in the other reviews. With Prototype 2, the game ran perfectly on my I7 processor, 64 bit, 8gb, and GP200 graphics card. The game itself is exciting with alot of different powers and moves that are unique to this game. Story line was kind of boring, but the missions and fights more than made up for the shortfall. Expand
  23. Aug 1, 2012
    8
    pretty **** epic a decent 2nd game i preferred the first one myself with being such a **** badass
  24. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    Absolutely awesome! Playing on i7 laptop with 8GB RAM and GTX560M chip-set it's as smooth as butter, ignore comments to the contrary. Best played with a controller. If you're like me, looking for entertainment and not so much of a challenge, Prototype 2 will satisfy your destructive desires like nothing else. The violence is over the top but ridiculous in some ways because you mercilessly pulverize, explode, tear apart and destroy millions of innocent people for no reason other than because you can. Cuss-filled cut-scenes may offend. Best action game in years! Expand
  25. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    i found pc version to be bit smooth i could get handle on it frankly my pc in my bedroom could not handle the power of this cool game i play it on my laptop which so fast i found it good game texture brilliant i got my ps3 version even that bit better but i prefer both of the game


    i think you should play it over again again
  26. Nov 25, 2012
    3
    Let's start by saying that Prototype 1 is one of my all time favorites and Prototype 2 one of my all time worst sequels. I play PC games and clearly this is a bad console conversion. Apart from various crashes, the game has an awful frame rate which makes it completely unplayable. I don't have a ninja PC, but I could play every other game I tried. For me it is simply a matter of bad game design.
  27. Oct 29, 2012
    0
    WARNING! SERIOUS! Do not get this game. I installed it, every time I loaded it crashed my pc. I tried turning threading optimization on, only have 1 or 2 cores on. Finally I got a blue screen of death and said "Ah hell no!" Uninstalled the game for good. No game developer should release this crap. Anything with this many problems and this severe problems is NOT acceptable. I'm not some bot trying to stop you from buying this. I am a concerned gamer. Look me up on steam if you have to Twitch375 Is my tag. If there was a negative score, I would give it one. Please take heed. Expand
  28. Jul 28, 2012
    7
    An acceptable plot, cutscenes not overlong, voice acting not cheesy. The only thing about the satisfyingly gory gameplay is that it can be a bit repetetive when you think of it as "do mission - cutscene - run there - cutscene - end mission - cutscene - run somewhere else - repeat". Of course, like every other PC game this year, from a technical point of view, it's terrible. The game has broken mouse support, I played through it with a PS3 controller. I found, although i amlucky enough to be able to play the game, that after every 30 mins or so my frame rate had slowly dropped to such an unplayable level I would have to quit the game and restart whatever mission i was playing - the game has an obvious memory leak.

    Aside from the now common problems that PC users face with cheap, rushed, console ports, (even though this game was delayed for 2 months or so) if you can see past these problems, the game itself is quite good.
    Expand
  29. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    There are some people **** about technical issues. I've encountered none. After finishing the entire game I have to say that I really like this game and that people are idiots for giving it scores as low as a 0... The game is quite improved look at its prequel, the new way of upgrading your powers makes you feel like you're more in control of the way you play the game. The story is nice too, I love the idea of murdering your maker. Alex Mercer must and shall go down. Expand
  30. Jan 6, 2013
    5
    Horrible port to PC, you can swim through the forums about how furious people with high-end systems are that their vid cards/processors aren't supported by craptivision's engine. Side-by-side with the first game, same person, same powers, same missions. The only difference with this one is fighting grotesque/enormous bosses, which all hail in comparison to any God of War or Darksiders boss.
    Technical specs aside, how you felt about this one compared to the first aside, and any possible bias towards Activision out the window; this game is essentially a mature renovation of a spider-man game. Same extensively repetitive button mashing, same endless and stale side quests, generic "your the good guy but actually the bad guy too" plot wherein being good/evil doesn't decide anything game changing. Bottom line, it feels like this game is 4-5 others mashed up together into an excuse for a sequel. Replay-ability is 0, and the story line is forgettable.
    Expand
  31. Nov 5, 2012
    3
    New character? Checked! New powers? Checked! Same old boring story? Checked! Same gameplay? Checked! Add some new characters? Checked! Tentacles? Checked!
  32. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    I like this game. You get exactly what you see in the videos and that's what I wanted - ton of action, lots of fun, unlimited aggression. The graphics are pretty good (in Prototype 1 they are way worse, just install simultaneously and see for yourself). Also, I've never experienced a single bug or low fps moment on my 1920x1200 screen during 18 hours of game play. So, some user reviews here seem to be stating facts that are just untrue. There won't be any technical problems on a good PC and the guy who says that 1080p is not supported just lies. Everything is stable and smooth at the top graphical settings. Expand
  33. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    Totally an kick-ass game where vengeance is everything. The only thing that i hated is the storyline. Playing as Heller is not as fun as playing as Alex Mercer was. Side missions are also helpful for Heller evolution.
  34. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome and i don't know why most other gamers don't like this game.This game's excellent features are its wall run and gliding.My favoirite weapon is blade.
  35. Nov 16, 2012
    7
    Finally came the long awaited sequel to one of the most underrated games. She came with a new character, a better story, better with new features, more interesting missions. It is a pity that the designers practically have not changed too much, the story remained the again the graphics are not great, this optimization is rubbish, and generally a lot of items in the game has changed for the worse. Too bad, because I expected better after a really good single room. My rating - 7/10 Expand
  36. Aug 7, 2012
    8
    An awsome game,great graphics better than prototype 1....i get that people having high resolution pc are having issues playing dis game such as game crashes hard drive being locked........it is mostly due to too much high performance computers.....i have 4 gb ram 1 gb asus graphics card and core i3 3.66Ghz processor and prototype 2 is running great on mine......for high performance pc users...try to lower or performance such as removing external graphics card and ram card.... Expand
  37. Dec 6, 2012
    8
    Quite fun to play game but still lacks a good base...it has lot of errors on the pc port and mostly it provides nothing..Textures are very often blobs of blurry color mixed together
  38. pog
    Aug 8, 2012
    8
    I truly enjoyed this game all the way to the end. The story, while linear, is engaging and it's just a LOT of fun smashing things and jumping around/etc. The graphic quality might not have been top notch but the modeling, physics and animations really made me smile. I played in 1080p and did not experience any of the framerate issues others complained about. I do not have stellar specs, either: i5-2500k with a single 450GTS and 16GB RAM. My only complaint is that it was a bit short. Expand
  39. Oct 16, 2012
    5
    Prototype 1 with a different protagonist. The only thing that makes this game worth playing is the fun you can have by destroying things and killing people using your powers. The problem is this can't be fun for a long time.. 2 hours? maybe 3? After spending some time killing and destroying everything and everyone, you just realise that there's nothing else worth playing this game for. It could have had a great story that sucks you in, but that's not the case. The story is boring and the only thing you'll want to do while watching a cut scene is to make it stop so you can go back to destroying sh*t. If you enjoy that, then maybe you'll like the game, but I got bored after 1 hour of gameplay. Expand
  40. Nov 16, 2012
    2
    This is a terrible game, with plenty of technical that renders it unplayable. Although I have a PC capable of running all current games at maximum settings at over 60fps, this game runs with lots of stuttering and several performance drops, that turn the game into a mess.
    The level of incompetence to make such a bad conversion to PC of a console game is just astonishing.
    A game to avoid.
  41. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    Despite the memory leak, the game was fun. I just wish more of my friends had it so i could fully appreciate the RADnet package so i could compete with them for top scores and such. Also, the helicopters take a while to get used to flying (that, or i'm just completely hopeless at flying aircraft)
  42. Dec 28, 2012
    3
    Though they increased the visuals and control, it feels as though they have taken a step backwards with not only the story but the overall interest that made the original popular. The protagonist is in no way of the same caliber as Alex Mercer in Prototype 1 and you tend to get tired of his "man-pain" very quickly. If story and continuity are not something you think contribute to the overall greatness of a game, then you will probably love this game - but if you want more than just GTA on steroids ... look elsewhere. Expand
  43. Feb 13, 2013
    0
    Having never played Prototype, I thought this would be a good game to try out, given how it is a relatively new release, so it can't really be that bad. Turns out, it was that bad. Frame rate stutters often at the most random intervals when the graphics is turned on high, and even when the setting is high, the game still looks like something out of 2005. The buildings looks as if they were copy and paste, and the whole city feels artificial, lacking in any kind of feeling or personality. This, unfortunately, complements the artificial story. Even in the beginning of the game, the player is left wondering how Heller was able to completely overcome his hatred of Mercer so quickly.
    On top of this, the gameplay sucks pretty bad as well. Why is it that while sprinting, a shockwave pulses out from your character, and it is completely ignored by the patroling soldiers. And why allow people to pick up the plentiful guns if the game lacks any kind of free-aiming? Plus, how is your character able to jump into the air and flying jump kick a helicopter 50 meters away? Things like this make the game feel as if it is some low budget knockoff of some generic superhero story. Disliked it.
    Expand
  44. Mar 11, 2013
    3
    Prototype 2 is one of those braindead games that will just have you destroy stuff while being overpowered and nearly invincible. The only fun I had was jumping from rooftop to rooftop, but they made this game so dull and uninterresting and the main character just so overpowered that he'll leave the Hulk crying in a small dark corner.
  45. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Well i don't know about everyone else but i liked the Game. and the Free Roam was awesome.
    Not to mention The dude is pumped with God knows what in his body and is missing a Child i can understand the lack of Tact and more Rage. Intellect was unnecessary for this man and i think they played it well. If he was stupid he would have sided with the bad guy. The mutation Made him evil and it
    makes every one Evil including Heller and that's why he was killing Alex. Understand the story people. Open your Eyes. Expand
  46. Aug 29, 2012
    5
    if you liked the first game and got attached to it then you will hate this one.why?
    story is worse than the first game.gameplay is wosre than the first.making alex mercer the exact opposite of the first game.final boss is a joke.alex mercer abilties are not the same as the first game.heller is just a black stereotype that you grow to hate.me personally if ever a sequel was to be made i am
    never playing it.THEY RUINED PROTOTYPE FOR ME Expand
  47. Sep 5, 2012
    6
    Prototype 2...it improves on the first one by a lot, you have to remember it is a sequel, so I will admit it's not the same as when you could control Alex Mercer, which I will admit I like him better than James Heller from the second one, There is one thing I will say about Prototype 2, it's fun, it's good for stress relief, good for destruction, if it'll run properly anyway, i'd rate it higher if it weren't for the fact they didn't do proper quality control making sure the game was actually free of game breaking bugs, like memory leaks, crashes, etc. It's really annoying, but the game itself is great Expand
  48. Nov 18, 2012
    5
    If you LOVED the first one, don't get this. Unless you want a mediocre story and nothing else. If you never played the first Prototype and do not care about the story then pick this up.
  49. Mar 10, 2013
    5
    though it has impressive graphics and visuals, but the game is just boring and very repetitive.. the story is dumb and james heller is consensually obnoxious.. Side missions are almost all the same.
  50. Feb 6, 2013
    1
    Another definition of mediocrity. It's yet another poorly done console port with bad graphics (especially textures) and abysmal performance on PC. The gameplay is as mediocre as it can go. Button masher that is poorly executed with no feeling of impact or momentum, backed by more shallow, forced RPG elements that are linear and bland character upgrades. Run up walls, jump 15 meters, glide through the air, rip tanks apart with your hands, thanks YET ****ING AGAIN TO A MAGICAL VIRUS! Story is just uninteresting, mainly due to the poor writing, as it consists purely of cliches and a common profanity after every 3 words. This silly game feels unfinished and was entertaining for about an hour. Expand
  51. May 9, 2013
    8
    prototype 2 is a really fun game. the gameplay is great, though its a little repetetive. the combat uses one of the greatest combat systems i have ever played. the bad stuff is the story is OK and not more than that. the characters are flat and boring. the graphics are OK as well though they are a bit outdated. some animations and effects look really bad, especially explosions.
    overall
    this is a really fun game!!!!!! just dont buy it for the story or graphics. you should buy it if you want really awesome gameplay!!!!!! Expand
  52. Mar 5, 2013
    2
    Prototype 2 takes the great potential of the previous bio-weapon setting and unfortunately does nothing new with it. The new protagonist falls flat, and the missions quickly grow as repetitive as in the first. Although some attempt has been made to inject more flavour to the missions to make them feel slightly more varied and more linked to the overarching story, they still feel like hollow padding for additional stats. I would see this game as a typical high-budget romp, only the technical issues from the first remain. Many confuse these technical issues as a mere matter of PC strength, yet for reference my system is quite stable and capable of running Crysis 2 and Skyrim on high settings at a solid framerate. No, these technical issues run deeper. For many, the game generates gradually worsening performance lag akin to a memory leak, just as the first game did. The longer the play session, the more severe the performance is hit. Others have to search for fixes just to open the game or to enable sound. Once again, the developer has shown complete disinterest for those in the 'dead spot' between fixes, either unable or unwilling to ensure full compatibility for their port. Some of the official fixes being listed as "disconnect your keyboard and mouse for the duration of your play-session" or "manually overclock your graphics card to factory default settings". It is worth noting that the port of the original Prototype game had similar issues, that were mostly resolved by deleting a sound pack of ambient sounds of all things. After struggling against the issues until halfway into the game, I found an unusual work-around in simply alt-tabbing out for a moment or two, which seemed to calm the progressive lag. No, it wasn't a heat issue on either my CPU or my GPU, I checked. Then finally, when I pushed through to the ending, I was faced with a blank screen. The game decided to feed me the ending as audio-only. At this point I was no longer phased. I almost expected it.

    The game content itself is squandered potential, but provides a mediocre 'high budget' affair minus the fine polish. Chock full of typical annoying boss-fights, in-plain-view 'stealth' moments, character tropes and stat chasing. The novelty wears off fast. Purchasing this game is a giant gamble on simply being able to play, and that alone is a sad statement for PC gaming, when the number of discontented customers is so easily swept under the carpet. Your customer base is not a disposable team of bugfixers, youtube is not a valid way of showing the ending, and telling people to butcher their settings isn't really a 'fix' to your product, y'know? Score heavily influenced by technical issues, though had there been none, I feel it would have only earned something in the region of a 6.
    Expand
  53. Jul 30, 2013
    2
    I love Prototype and Prototype 2 but this game suffers from tremendous Lag, i really wanted to see this game so i turned off everything that would make it look good and still got Huge lag so Long story short i really don't see much of a fix for this game at all.
  54. Aug 11, 2013
    8
    This game is better than any Assassin's Creed will ever be.

    Although there's a difference in focus and scope, Prototype 2 grows on its predecessor's stealth and guerrilla tactics. Graphics are OK, and just like Prototype 1, the amount of cutscenes, memories and missions is astounding. The character upgrades really make you feel like a super-powered badass, but most importantly, this
    game allows you to hunt your target, put yourself into position, drop in, take your target, and disappear by blending into the chaos. This is particularly where this game shines in comparison with other games on its category, and especially with the AC saga, thanks to an accessible and fun system that allows for almost total freedom in mission execution: not to mention collectibles that actually DO SOMETHING for the character, instead of being just another counter in your HUD to fill. No need to take a given path, no need to just smash on your "riposte" button until you go numb. On that respect, keyboard controls are poorly implemented and kinda suck. Not game-breaking, but can get kinda annoying.

    Game worked perfectly in an i7 3770, 8GB RAM DDR3, GeForce 650 2GB DDR5. If it doesn't work in your next-gen über computer... well, try without running it on crossfired dual-proc graphics card, you goddamn moron.
    Expand
  55. Nov 21, 2013
    0
    this game is all about sucking money out of you.it took me 4 hours of play time then told me if you want to continue you have to go online and pay $4.99 for the next board. don't buy this game it will not make you happy. the game makers are greedy
  56. Dec 4, 2013
    6
    Garbage compared to the previous part. Worse controls (not a very good console port), graphics look silly and too colorful but still dated, story was cool in the 1st one here it is really dumb with an extremely unlikable protagonist. Terrible progression model based on fu....ing collectibles!!! REALLY??? Great progression from 1st one ripped and turned into turd.
    Good things? Some new
    features compared to the first one like tearing miniguns of choppers.
    Not recommended for fans of Prototype 1 but for those who want action-packed game on their screens and don't want to get first one yeah go for it it gets 6/10.
    Expand
  57. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    The best thing about Prototype is the freedom of destructive action. You can dropkick a helicopter or tear off a tank's turret then smash it dead with that very turret. Pity you can't tear down buildings. And that destruction (and a new power) is the only high point of the game. The rest is worse than in the original.

    The plot is completely an excuse one and the protagonist is extra
    stupid with a side of macho man pain, which really lowers the amount of care given.

    The graphics are rather outdated, too. With no real innovation and a reduced array of fun activities this might be worth buying at a sale but only if you've completed over 90% of the original and desperately want to see a couple new enemy types.
    Expand
  58. Apr 8, 2013
    7
    This game definitely has its problems, but I don't really see why so many people hate it. I actually thought it was a pretty decent game. The powers are fantastic and otherworldly, and by the end of the game I wanted those powers myself. The minigames were quite fun too. Travelling around the city didn't feel like a chore, as you can run at race car speeds and jump over any obstacle in your way. It was actually quite fun just pressing the sprint button and seeing what will happen. This game makes you feel like a serious bad ass.
    There were a couple downsides. Graphics are just mediocre, and the story was dull. In fact, the story felt kind of nonexistent. The game felt more like an open world experience, with the story sort of like the main minigame.
    Expand
  59. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    Pro of Prototype 2 -Much much better graphic -Storyline is better -The ending is epic -It is very fun to messing around in green zone Cons of Prototype 2 -Prototype 2's mission focused on sneaking to consume some your target sneaky,Prototype 1 focused using the special ability on most of mission -Heller run slower than Alex -Alex's power is better than Heller's power -Shield too OP,it is possible to complete a mission by deflecting bullet and rockets
    -After you complete everything,Prototype 2 is getting very boring
    -Why do they make Alex became very evil person?
    Expand
  60. Jan 25, 2014
    6
    Great Game but this game isn't a "everone game" which mean thatbnot every age of people can play this game because this game contain badwords but for the game storyline , it's the best , why ? Because it is creating the next chapter of prototype 1 and alex mercer in this story is evil but no need worry he will be defeted in the last mission anyway this game is good
  61. May 21, 2014
    6
    Although I enjoy leaping around the city with my near-invincible superpowers, I can only give Prototype 2 a 6 because of the totally crap AI. I can toss a car into a bunch of soldiers, destroy a tank, then run around a corner, disguise myself, and come back in less than 10 seconds, and the stupid brainless AI soldiers have forgotten it happened. Even with the fires still blazing. But other than that...it's a lot of fun. Expand
  62. Jul 4, 2014
    5
    Same as the first game, HORRIBLE PC port. Playing with mouse and keyboard is really hard and tiring. But not only the controls, the fps jumps around from 20 fps back up to it's original place A LOT, and crashes do happen from time to time. Get yourself a controller to play with and the controls will be just fine though.

    Apart from the negatives, this game is very entertaining. If I
    would rate it on the console I'd give it a solid 7 for it's (not so well written but) interesting story, mind-blowing non-stop slaughter action and it's very efficient way of letting you roam the streets and rooftops of New York . I'd say this is the evil version of Spider Man. Expand
  63. Dux
    Jul 22, 2014
    3
    After having played and completed the first Prototype twice, I forgot about this type of game for a while. I liked the game, but two times was enough for me. After a while, Prototype 2 came out, and I suddenly remembered how much fun it was to plow through crowds of standard sods and military personnel alike. Needless to say, I was very excited. But also very broke. So I put off playing this game. Not too long ago, however, this game appeared on the Steam Summer Sale for 5 euros. I bought it without a second's hesitation. I was very excited.

    So now for the fun part: it didn't work. The game would start up, show me the first developer logo, and then freeze, so that I had to manually kill the process. I've googled the problem, still optimistic, hoping for a quick and easy solution. What I found instead was a literal tome of complaints, bugs, glitches, issues and other nasty stuff. I dug and dug the google search results for days on end, and didn't find any solution to my problem. At this point in time, mind you, the game was already out for more than a year.

    After a week or so, I managed to find a solution, and even posted it on Steam forums, in case it could help someone. But then I stumbled upon another set of problems: abhorrent lag and graphical issues. Those two were easier to fix, but at a great cost. I had no other choice than to use a third party program to cap my game at 30 FPS (!), while on my machine, it should be running at atleast 100. Also, I had to restart it every hour or so, so the lag wouldn't come back.

    Apparently, the issue was my graphics card. The devs were very kind to nVidia users, optimizing their game to those cards. If you have an ATI though, you are truly, for lack of a better word, **** This port is HORRIBLE. It has absolutely zero redeeming qualities. Textures are rendered at half resolution, the options menu is lackluster to say the least, the framerate skips and jumps on ATI's, and is locked to 30 from what I read on nVidia's. All in all, absolutely revolting port.

    But, me being a fan of the first game, I managed to live with all the problems, and found the game itself quite good. The gameplay is fun, the story is not half bad, and there are a few new additions to the gameplay. Overall, it's an improvement on the first game.

    So, long story short. If you own an ATI card, don't buy it. If you want it to look and run well on the PC, don't buy it. If you don't want a headache from having to deal with all the problems, don't buy it. If you don't care, are willing to persevere just to play it at mediocre settings and graphical fidelity, give it a try. The game is good, the port is **** terrible.
    Expand
  64. Jul 31, 2012
    0
    In short: the game is amazingly fun, you really feel like a bad-ass superhero blinded by revenge who will go through anything to get his vengeance. Lots of awesome animations and powers; the city zones are interesting (the Red Zone really feels like a warzone); the story is intriguing with plenty of twists. The only downside is the performance on the PC. If you're not that big of a frames per second critic then you'll hardly notice the bad fps during all this awesomeness Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 70
    Prototype 2 lets you feel like a hungry predator among defenseless chickens and it feels great. Only pity is you hit the same hennery over and over again. [Sept 2012]
  2. Sep 7, 2012
    60
    It could have been great, but this gruesome and ridiculous power fantasy is spoilt by a disgracefully shabby port to PC.
  3. Aug 31, 2012
    82
    Prototype 2 (the swan song of Radical Entertainment) is a decent open-world action game, that does not invent the wheel, but it does manage to offer solid amounts of entertainment, splattered with generous servings of blood and mayhem. [September 2012]