User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 317 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 317

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    In short: the game is amazingly fun, you really feel like a bad-ass superhero blinded by revenge who will go through anything to get his vengeance. Lots of awesome animations and powers; the city zones are interesting (the Red Zone really feels like a warzone); the story is intriguing with plenty of twists. The only downside is the performance on the PC. If you're not that big of a frames per second critic then you'll hardly notice the bad fps during all this awesomeness Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Great game! Very good graphics animation physics, awesome gameplay. I played at full settings it looks gorgeous in fullhd AMAZING JOB! Shame that the game dont come the same time as console verison maybe it would sell more and we would have NUMBER 3.

    + VERY GOOD GAME WITH EVERYTHING BETTER AND NICER THEN IN PROTOTYPE 1

    + LOOKS AWESOME ON PC IN FULL HD UBER
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    @Athinira: In response to your post and as an edit to my earlier post, I'm sorry to hear that so many people are having technical issues with the game. I do not feel that the technical issues with Prototype 2 are centered around people with high end computers, however, as I, and many of my friends have high end equipment. It seems to me as though there are technical difficulties within the software launch that users are experiencing across the board. Although this is a terrible thing to see, I don't think it can be condoned that users simply come and spam 0's for such a great game. That is why I appreciate your honesty in giving the game a realistic score and a separate score if it did not have the primary launch software issues. As for the game itself, I think @Dudda has an excellent review. After being on the second play through of the game, still no technical difficulties what so ever--call me lucky I guess, I still find the primary storyline interesting. However, I'm not going to try and fool anyone, you shouldn't buy Prototype 2 for the storyline. If you instead want to feel like a completely badass, indestructible beast, that can scale an entire skyscraper in a single bound and probably give the Hulk a run for his money, than yeah I would totally buy this game. As for any consumers that are worried about purchasing a game that may turn out as some of these users are experiencing, wait a bit. Because on my end the game runs perfectly, so I'm sure there will be a software patch out soon that will fix any lingering issues. Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best Action games I have ever played! What did you expect when you were buying Prototype 2? Ponies, rainbows or detective adventures with plot twists and unexpected reveals? NO! YOU WERE BUYING BLOODY DISMEMBERMENT OF EVERYONE AND EVERYTHING! A gorgeous mosh pit with body parts of people and creatures! 9/10! Don't whine lil' **** This what I expected and this is what I got with its awesome action and gameplay, nice graphics and audio! One exception is sometimes unexpectedly difficult challenges! But this doesn't matter CUZ WE ARE MEN! MEN LIKE DIFFICULTIES! AAAARGHHH! *censored* 9 out of 10! Bloody massacre in its apocalypse! Hell will be surprised! Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2012
    9
    Ironically, I bought the first Prototype game and experienced all of the lags described in the other reviews. With Prototype 2, the game ran perfectly on my I7 processor, 64 bit, 8gb, and GP200 graphics card. The game itself is exciting with alot of different powers and moves that are unique to this game. Story line was kind of boring, but the missions and fights more than made up for the shortfall. Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    Absolutely awesome! Playing on i7 laptop with 8GB RAM and GTX560M chip-set it's as smooth as butter, ignore comments to the contrary. Best played with a controller. If you're like me, looking for entertainment and not so much of a challenge, Prototype 2 will satisfy your destructive desires like nothing else. The violence is over the top but ridiculous in some ways because you mercilessly pulverize, explode, tear apart and destroy millions of innocent people for no reason other than because you can. Cuss-filled cut-scenes may offend. Best action game in years! Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    i found pc version to be bit smooth i could get handle on it frankly my pc in my bedroom could not handle the power of this cool game i play it on my laptop which so fast i found it good game texture brilliant i got my ps3 version even that bit better but i prefer both of the game


    i think you should play it over again again
  8. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    There are some people **** about technical issues. I've encountered none. After finishing the entire game I have to say that I really like this game and that people are idiots for giving it scores as low as a 0... The game is quite improved look at its prequel, the new way of upgrading your powers makes you feel like you're more in control of the way you play the game. The story is nice too, I love the idea of murdering your maker. Alex Mercer must and shall go down. Expand
  9. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    I like this game. You get exactly what you see in the videos and that's what I wanted - ton of action, lots of fun, unlimited aggression. The graphics are pretty good (in Prototype 1 they are way worse, just install simultaneously and see for yourself). Also, I've never experienced a single bug or low fps moment on my 1920x1200 screen during 18 hours of game play. So, some user reviews here seem to be stating facts that are just untrue. There won't be any technical problems on a good PC and the guy who says that 1080p is not supported just lies. Everything is stable and smooth at the top graphical settings. Expand
  10. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    Totally an kick-ass game where vengeance is everything. The only thing that i hated is the storyline. Playing as Heller is not as fun as playing as Alex Mercer was. Side missions are also helpful for Heller evolution.
  11. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome and i don't know why most other gamers don't like this game.This game's excellent features are its wall run and gliding.My favoirite weapon is blade.
  12. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Well i don't know about everyone else but i liked the Game. and the Free Roam was awesome.
    Not to mention The dude is pumped with God knows what in his body and is missing a Child i can understand the lack of Tact and more Rage. Intellect was unnecessary for this man and i think they played it well. If he was stupid he would have sided with the bad guy. The mutation Made him evil and it
    makes every one Evil including Heller and that's why he was killing Alex. Understand the story people. Open your Eyes. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 70
    Prototype 2 lets you feel like a hungry predator among defenseless chickens and it feels great. Only pity is you hit the same hennery over and over again. [Sept 2012]
  2. Sep 7, 2012
    60
    It could have been great, but this gruesome and ridiculous power fantasy is spoilt by a disgracefully shabby port to PC.
  3. Aug 31, 2012
    82
    Prototype 2 (the swan song of Radical Entertainment) is a decent open-world action game, that does not invent the wheel, but it does manage to offer solid amounts of entertainment, splattered with generous servings of blood and mayhem. [September 2012]