Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the second Puzzle Agent game, ace puzzle investigators will return to the snowy mid-west to help Agent Tethers solve the mystery haunting the realm.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Jul 6, 2011
    88
    a very enjoyable game. The puzzles will keep players on their toes, and the story is interesting and entertaining. The price is totally right and for what you get; it's definitely worth the price.
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    80
    Puzzle Agent 2 is by no means perfect but it does improve on the first Puzzle Agent and demonstrates the potential of the series.
  3. Aug 2, 2011
    75
    Puzzle Agent 2 combines brilliant story and clever puzzles – and that's the Holy Grail of adventure games. It does, however, recycle some of the challenges from its predecessor. [August 2011, p.50]
  4. 62
    There are only 35 puzzles, many of them are poorly designed, and the story isn't too impressive.
  5. Jul 24, 2011
    60
    Due to its comical demeanor, childish puzzles, brief length, and its absence of violence and crude language, Puzzle Agent 2 would be best enjoyed by the adolescent demographic, or by those looking for pure casual fun. For the more seasoned puzzle fanatic, or those who would expect more from a name like 'Puzzle Agent', may do well to spend their ten bucks elsewhere.
  6. Jul 6, 2011
    60
    FBI problem-solver Nelson Tethers is back for more of the same in Puzzle Agent 2.
  7. Jul 11, 2011
    40
    Releasing for a budget price doesn't excuse mediocre puzzle design, heavy repetition and a story with so little coherence.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Dec 31, 2011
    8
    I have recently finished the game and I really enjoyed it. I fell in love with the art style, goofy characters, and over-the-top story. I do need to point out that the game ends the story a few scenes too soon. This maybe TellTale's way of leaving openings for a third installment (which I encourage). The puzzles were not that difficult but I don't find that as a bad thing. That is not to say I didn't get stomped once or twice. If your looking for some real head scratch-ers, you will not find them here. With that said, I would recommend this game to any of my friends Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    it's the plot! and the quirky drawings! same as the first game; the puzzles are easy, the game is short, and there's no replay value. it's $10 on steam right now, so for a budget-conscious gamer, it might not be worth getting (that's $5 an hour!). but if it's on sale, definitely check it out! Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    7
    I really thought that Puzzle Agent 2 really fixed a lot of the major flaws from the first. Fewer ambiguous puzzles, more substantial hints, and better explanations. All around the puzzles were much better designed, and as a result, I had a much better time with this game. The major downside, however, is that this game is easier than the first. Even the game's hardest puzzles only took maybe 5-10 minutes. A few puzzles might be more difficult for people with no background in math... something to consider. The story continues from the first and I thought it was decent, but it's more plot-driven and loses some of its charm in the rush.

    If you were able to stomach Puzzle Agent 1, then this will be a welcome improvement. If you're a fan of puzzles, this isn't as good as the Layton games, but it's cheaper and still fun.
    Expand
  4. AWG
    Aug 14, 2013
    6
    I liked the introduction of achievements and the fact they continued the story from the first game, but everything is a little too random for my taste (and some puzzles are just badly designed). Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2012
    6
    I thought it was just about as charming as the first one. I really enjoy the art and the story, although the story gets a bit carried away before it's over. The puzzles all felt familiar, but most were still fun. I have to disagree about puzzle directions being fixed, though; a few puzzles took one attempt (which counts against you) to determine some of the rules or behaviors. (I'm looking at you, electron puzzle and rock-throwing puzzle.) Toward the end of the game, the occasional typo or lack of clarity in puzzle directions and hints left me wondering if some puzzles had gotten the rush job on the editorial process. And at least one puzzle was downright frustrating to me, even after seeing all hints (*cough* racoons *cough*), and that's one too many to unreservedly recommend a puzzle game to friends (or be certain I'd buy another sequel unless the issues are specifically addressed). Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2011
    5
    A disappointing sequel to the original game. Telltale fixed the problem with bad puzzle directions by simply dumbing down the puzzles and making the solutions to them entirely arbitrary. The story starts off promising amid the same creepy atmosphere as before but then descend about half way through into weirdness and silliness. The ending is atrocious from any point of view. The original game wasn't perfect but it at least had the benefit of feeling crafted. The sequel feels rushed and more about exploiting art assets rather than any love for game play. The only thing that is really a positive is that the old characters (and some new ones) possess their own vibrant personalties. If you played the original game there is enough here to draw you in to see how the story ends and then by the end you wished you hadn't. The two games had potential and it's unfortunate that Telltale dropped the ball. Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2013
    4
    Puzzle Agent 2 is a completely lackluster experience. I get that the art style is trying to make it look like a comic, but it feels like i'm looking at a comic through a magnifying glass. It just hurts the eyes, and the framerate is god awful during cutscenes, i pretty much had to close my eyes and just listen to what the characters were saying. The gameplay itself has you solving puzzles. These puzzles are either extremely simplistic, or near impossible. The progression just isn't right, and the game suffers from it. The only real saving grace of this game is its relatively decent story. It's quite over the top, but I honestly was interested in seeing what happened in the end. Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews