User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 83
  2. Negative: 10 out of 83

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 14, 2015
    1
    There is a lot of shady stuff goes on in Puzzle Pirates the Ocean Masters are extremely one sided if you are a Elite player there is never any bans or suspensions for them they can do as they please run players off cheat and get by with it. Dead game all it has become is greed and gambling shut this game needs to be shut down permanently or new Ocean Masters need to be hired not friends !!!!
  2. Jul 26, 2014
    1
    It is FUN, and there is a real community feel about it :)
    Do NOT SPEND MONEY - in less than a year it has been out of action for a LOOOOONNNNG period of time,twice! Last time it was out of action for about 5 days...it is now out of action 5 days and still counting!
    (I have not counted minor times it has been down) Its a shame really, because it is a fun game...but its reaction to
    It is FUN, and there is a real community feel about it :)
    Do NOT SPEND MONEY - in less than a year it has been out of action for a LOOOOONNNNG period of time,twice! Last time it was out of action for about 5 days...it is now out of action 5 days and still counting!
    (I have not counted minor times it has been down)
    Its a shame really, because it is a fun game...but its reaction to technical glitches has a real cantbeassed hippy feel. Hippy was good in 1967....but this is the 21st century!
    Expand
  3. May 21, 2014
    10
    This is an MMO puzzle game. It has very nice cartoony graphics and fun gameplay. Since it is a "kid" game, it also lacks the annoying trolls of most "free" games. I can't think of anything to complain about in this game. I love it!
  4. Sep 7, 2013
    0
    Worst MMO I've ever played. Gave it 2 months and $40, and it just wants more. The game seems to be programmed to deliberately take your PoE so you need to keep swiping in that credit card. Typical Ubisoft garbage.
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    5
    Puzzle Pirates is not a bad game but man is it not good. The whole point of this game is to be the best pirate you can be. You have to join random pirate crew and do a puzzle that will help the ship move and eventually you will get paid for the job. That's all well or good but almost all the pirates puzzles are boring and not very fun. The whole idea is to be the best and trust me I am notPuzzle Pirates is not a bad game but man is it not good. The whole point of this game is to be the best pirate you can be. You have to join random pirate crew and do a puzzle that will help the ship move and eventually you will get paid for the job. That's all well or good but almost all the pirates puzzles are boring and not very fun. The whole idea is to be the best and trust me I am not going to play this game for more than over a hundred hours just to be really good a filling buckets of water and throwing them out of the ship. The only thing that I was really hoping to do was buy a ship, but there was no chance for me to because I will have to play more than three hundred hours just to afford a basic ship. For people like me however, they will go and play poker and just bet all there money away and will have to go do jobs because there broke. This is not a bad game its just ok, the graphics and music in the game are fine and the people on most of the servers are ok for people that just start playing the game. In the end its just me and my problems if you want to play this just ok game by all means go play it for me i'm going to go play Pokemon instead. Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2011
    3
    This suffers a major problem that many strategy and puzzle games suffer...
    Similar to Starcraft and other RTS' many of the puzzles are dominated by the 'best' players, it only makes sense doesn't it? Well that's the problem, many of these elite players are merely the people who revise strategies.
    For example, the person who clears the water fastest in bilging is the man who gets the
    This suffers a major problem that many strategy and puzzle games suffer...
    Similar to Starcraft and other RTS' many of the puzzles are dominated by the 'best' players, it only makes sense doesn't it? Well that's the problem, many of these elite players are merely the people who revise strategies.

    For example, the person who clears the water fastest in bilging is the man who gets the over-the-top Donkey combo and learns how to pull atleast one each time, whereas the man who get's countless 5X5 combos and better will generally end up in good, at best.

    PVP is similar as well in this aspect, sword fighting is not fluid, instead it is dominated by a series of strategies that will quickly put down those who don't memorise them.
    Expand
  7. Sep 3, 2011
    2
    I realized when I d/l'd from Steam that this was not an MMO, or action game. That was the reason for adding to my library. However, I did expect a user interface that was understandable, easy to navigate, and that wouldn't simply shut down when it felt like it. Apparently this was asking too much.
  8. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    This game is the ultimate MMOPG (Massively Multiplayer Online PUZZLE game) even though it did take some bits and pieces from other games. At least the grind is minimal.
  9. LaurenK.
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    I LOVE this game. It is definitely a multiplayer game, and it's easy to make friends. All the puzzles are great, even if they are a bit plain. Almost everyone is in their own crew, which encourages teamwork, as well as individual work as you strive to move up the ranks. You might even become a Captain yourself! Whether you like sailing, sea monster hunting, expeditions, having your I LOVE this game. It is definitely a multiplayer game, and it's easy to make friends. All the puzzles are great, even if they are a bit plain. Almost everyone is in their own crew, which encourages teamwork, as well as individual work as you strive to move up the ranks. You might even become a Captain yourself! Whether you like sailing, sea monster hunting, expeditions, having your own business, shopping, buying clothes and houses, or just going to the bar to play a few puzzles with your hearties, it's a great game! Expand
  10. TylerT
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Great game. Great admin staff. Most unique puzzle game you will ever find.
  11. ZachLittlejohn
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    It think this is the worst game because most of the Oceanmasters do not pay attention to what you say and some of them are to lazy to do their work and Ban you right away, Like my friend who wasted 20 bucks on this stupid game, got banned for saying bad words and did he apologize??? Yes he did, did the oceanmasters accept? no they didn't they were too lazy to, my friend wasted so muchIt think this is the worst game because most of the Oceanmasters do not pay attention to what you say and some of them are to lazy to do their work and Ban you right away, Like my friend who wasted 20 bucks on this stupid game, got banned for saying bad words and did he apologize??? Yes he did, did the oceanmasters accept? no they didn't they were too lazy to, my friend wasted so much time on that useless game and later regretted he played it, he was permamently banned ofcourse and the worst Oceanmaster of Puzzle Pirates is... EURYDICE! Yes, you hear me Old Lady, DO NOT BE LAZY TO DO YOUR WORK. Expand
  12. CristianC
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    Very addictive to play especially with friends, teaming up and co-operating with other players to beat people is fun.
  13. mauriciop
    Sep 11, 2009
    8
    veryu good game but in a short time you will be bored but donth cry....if this game be you bored wait some months and play again
  14. AnonymousMC
    May 7, 2009
    10
    absolutely brilliant. simple but brilliant graphics, addicting puzzles and a great community. im not gonna keep it long, but this game is great
  15. Daniel
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    Puzzle Pirates is a fun game. I like it becose you can have a crew, flag ,play puzzles.
  16. ChrisJ
    Feb 4, 2009
    10
    One of the Best games EVER to grace the internet. You can make your pirate however you like, earn money, and make your pirate life thrive.
  17. AyppPlayer
    Jan 7, 2009
    4
    P.P. offers the single player a variety of entertaining puzzles in an integrated environment providing a fun entrypoiint for a bunch of tetris- or bejeweled-like games. The real appeal of the game however is -- or, used to be -- the infinite possibilities offered by interaction with other players, both socially and in the synergistic cooperation of puzzles to achieve larger goals. As P.P. offers the single player a variety of entertaining puzzles in an integrated environment providing a fun entrypoiint for a bunch of tetris- or bejeweled-like games. The real appeal of the game however is -- or, used to be -- the infinite possibilities offered by interaction with other players, both socially and in the synergistic cooperation of puzzles to achieve larger goals. As initially conceived and implemented, the route to "success" -- fame and fortune -- in the game was for new players to join with a crew of other players and work together on piratical "pillages" and adventures, where cooperative puzzling would power the pirate ship and defeat the enemy. Plenty of other more isolated puzzles existed as well -- puzzles contributing to the economy, competitions with a few other players in "swordfighting", and even just parlor games (like hearts) -- but for most players, the route to wealth and success was to interact cooperatively or competitively with other players. The result was a dynamic social environment -- one marked more by cooperation and mentoring than by (as in so many MMORPGs) destructive competition -- and this social environment both "drove" much of the game (as much of the economy and many of the game features require such a society to make them truly effective and enjoyable) and provided continual change, challenge and interest. All this ended 3 years ago when P.P. introduced poker as one of the "parlor" games. A seemingly minor addition, poker essentially destroyed the coopeative pirating community and -- in doing so -- undermined the majority of the interaction and behavior that much of the game required. Though the old functionality remains, the dynamic "society" it requires to work has been destroyed. The reason for such a change is surprisingly simple and ought to have been anticipated. While other activities provided their "good players" comparable rewards - and, for most playrs, the cooperative "pillaging" was the steady source of income and rewards (thus creating the social & supportive cooperative society, where skill and teamwork were rewarded), poker offered its "winners" a pirate income rate of literally hundreds or even thousands more than they could make in other venues. Of course, very few players actually win that much on poker -- for every one player who wins 1000, ten have to lose 100. But the 'promise' of get-rich-quick for a minimal outlay of time, resources, or any participation in the cooperative pirate society means that the "engine" of rewards and interaction which made the game so effective and enjoyable was destroyed. In the months after poker was introduced, the effects were marked. New players ceased to have any interest in joining crews or the cooperative society, instead simply trying to find ways to exploit the system or cheat other players in order to get their "buy in" money to gamble away at the poker tables. The level of skill, competence and interest in coopeative pirate pillages and adventures dropped markedly -- as did, consequently, the enjoyability and profitability of those ventures. The "crew" and "flag" social life - the human element which kept the game dynamic and interesting - withered and died. And many long-term players who used to mentor new players (and provide the leadership and expertise which made many game opportunities even possible for those new players), in the face of this gambling obsession and the huge rewards being given to otherwise unskilled and non-teamwork players, either withdrew from active involvement or quit the game altogether. P.P. today is a very different game. Little of the dynamic "teamwork" society remains, and new players will be hardpressed to find skilled crews interested in recruiting or helping new players or providing them with good teamwork experiences. Nearly all the "rich" players now (and thus those who have the resources to lead larger group adventures) are exclusively pokerplayers, and most new players wind up simply drifting about the world using it as a glorified chatroom and putting in what minimal and unskilled effort they can to grab a little bit of game money to gamble away on the poker tables in the vain hope of "getting ahead" themselves. In short, today's YPP remains an entertaining collection of "solo" games if one is looking for a platform for various fun and creative little puzzles to do in isolation -- but because of the destruction of its cooperative and dynamic society at the altar of gambling, it has lost nearly all the unique appeal and dynamism which once made it far more than that. For those who are looking for a true multiplayer experience (as well as for those looking for a poker site or interactive chatroom), there are far better options out there, and P.P. no longer offers anything unique or dynamic for such players. A game which used to deserve a 10, it now falls well short of that mark -- not because the a"infrastructure" has changed (in fact, there have been clever new additions in the last 3 years), but because the "rewards" system which creates and sustains the society required for that infrastructure to be profitably & enjoyable used has been destroyed. Collapse
  18. AndyS
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    AMAZING! really good game, loads of enjoyable and very pleasant games to do could play for months and not get bored, even years for some pirates, the visual and graphics are perfect for the pirate like style, always something to do. very well designed the community involvement in the game is also excellent. good for all ages I'd say =D
  19. AnonymousMC
    Dec 19, 2008
    7
    an interesting twist on MMO, where the skill of the player actually effects the outcome. you can also play it for free. however trying to get ahead can turn into a real ratrace. the puzzles get old too. most of the game activities are variations on the same thing, i.e. Sea Monster Hunting (SMH) is just one big long tactical battle, during which you have to puzzle the entire time or getan interesting twist on MMO, where the skill of the player actually effects the outcome. you can also play it for free. however trying to get ahead can turn into a real ratrace. the puzzles get old too. most of the game activities are variations on the same thing, i.e. Sea Monster Hunting (SMH) is just one big long tactical battle, during which you have to puzzle the entire time or get booted off the ship. would be nice to have some non-mentally intensive stuff to do when your brain needs a break. take the 10 ratings with a big grain of salt, there are alot of addicts/fanbois on this game, its like crack for them. Expand
  20. LucyK.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    I love the game! I'm totaly addicted!
  21. NickC.
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    There's no such thing as Yohoho! Puzzle Pirates! It's the best free (if you play free) internet game, EVER! I would like to see a game replace it. It's even better than lots of "real console" games. You really get hooked and you can waste all day playin' it. You can always get better so the value/durability (not sure how to say it, but I hope you understand) is at max. There's no such thing as Yohoho! Puzzle Pirates! It's the best free (if you play free) internet game, EVER! I would like to see a game replace it. It's even better than lots of "real console" games. You really get hooked and you can waste all day playin' it. You can always get better so the value/durability (not sure how to say it, but I hope you understand) is at max. Graphic is a little childish, but in a good way. There's no really music in the game, but how much music kan be added to such a game? I just use Media Player to fill the need of music. Everyone can play it. Sayin' no more 'bout that. The only bad thing is that you'll spend thoundsands of hours on this game (if you really get into it). Expand
  22. TuukkaJuvonen
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    Puzzle Pirates is a ''MMOarrrRPG''. The idea of the game is not to ''Pwn the 5 level goblin to get the level up'', but the game is built on a world of puzzles. There's a puzzle or two for anyone: Are you more interested in fine art shipwrightery or do you enjoy a fast-paced swordfight? Every mate start as a greenie (not a n00b like in other Puzzle Pirates is a ''MMOarrrRPG''. The idea of the game is not to ''Pwn the 5 level goblin to get the level up'', but the game is built on a world of puzzles. There's a puzzle or two for anyone: Are you more interested in fine art shipwrightery or do you enjoy a fast-paced swordfight? Every mate start as a greenie (not a n00b like in other games) , trying duty puzzles like carprentry (repairing the vessel). After a quick ''tutorial'', ye can take a job on a vessel and go pillaging with up to 158 other mates! The athmosphere on pillages is absolutely fantastic because of chatting and funny pirate language. I enjoy much more of a pillage than a gangfight in games like Runescape, where you die and 30 guys come repeat ''n00b'' next to you. The one of the wondurous achievements of Three Rings Inc. is the player-run economy. Thou the commodities come from NPPs (Non-player pirates), all the stalles and shoppes are owned by players. All the basics are right, you have ie. about 10 chat channels, in-game report system for bugs and players, a button for asking help from the ''Oceanmasters'' and so on. And when ye can subscribe or buy doubloons, ye don't neccasarily need any real money to play, there's great updates all the time, and ye can make friends easily, why don't ye start playing? Thou Puzzle Pirates isn't gifted with enormous budget or a huge develoment team (but they have a exprienced one), it's new ideas, great gameplay system, sociality and a nifty community make it the best MMOarrrRPG ever. Expand
  23. SandyH.
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    I play this game and it is great.I love the whole idea of a player based econmy.And to take over isles and govern them. New isles open every month.
  24. Sinn
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    I'm not really into the whole MMO gaming scene but I love this game!
  25. RonM.
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Great collection of puzzle games! Gfx are fantastic.
  26. CM
    Mar 27, 2005
    6
    Way down deep, it's shallow. Got hooked and burnt out in little over two months. There's a limited amount of puzzles. The scoring system is so obscure that you're never quite sure if you are improving or not. The economic system leads to the traditional MMORPG flaw of defeating a bunch of NPCs, right after another, just so you can "reach the next level" or, in this case, Way down deep, it's shallow. Got hooked and burnt out in little over two months. There's a limited amount of puzzles. The scoring system is so obscure that you're never quite sure if you are improving or not. The economic system leads to the traditional MMORPG flaw of defeating a bunch of NPCs, right after another, just so you can "reach the next level" or, in this case, buying new swords and ships. A huge influx of immature players makes this more like an AOL chatroom with puzzles than a pirate themed game. Worth trying the free trial, but don't make any plans of long term play. Expand
  27. D.D.
    Oct 23, 2004
    9
    Great fun.....other pirates get TOOOOO serious instead of just chillin...especially the captains/ship owners! addictive (hmm)
  28. Elliemae
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    I'm not a "gamer", but my brother downloaded this game and as soon as I played I got hooked! I love the interaction aspect of the game - I'm part of a crew that's like family!
  29. Giblaut
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    I'm a total addict. I got sucked in quickly, but I've found the game just gets more interesting and complex the more I play. You can play at a simple level or you can play a game of politics, economics, and warfare. All in all, it rocks.
  30. TylerW.C.
    Feb 12, 2004
    10
    Tetris like games + mmpog environment = fun. Not only have I subscribed but so have several of my friends. if you Enjoy puzzle style games you'll love Puzzle Pirate.s
  31. TomS.
    Jan 21, 2004
    10
    A very exciting game! Very fun in all areas. Definitely worth Subscription!
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. The atmosphere more than makes up for any shortcomings in the visual department. Communication with other players is easy and the sense of community is quite refreshing.
  2. 85
    The puzzles are very interesting and there is a form of leveling, albeit abstract. A pretty deep player economy is built in as well. The entire game is well put together, even if the graphics and sounds aren't of Galaxies caliber.
  3. 85
    The graphics were an absolute delight, blatantly cartoon-y and so bright and colorful that my first sight of the game always made me smile.