User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 77
  2. Negative: 4 out of 77

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Keno
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    Wow - this sure is an addicting game. It's got the "one-more-turn" that sucks you right in to playing and playing. This is not your typical match-three game, but more of a combination RPG and match-three. BUT - this game's insidious thing that puts it above others is that when you do the game boards you have an opponent who is trying to make you lose. Sure it seems weird, but Wow - this sure is an addicting game. It's got the "one-more-turn" that sucks you right in to playing and playing. This is not your typical match-three game, but more of a combination RPG and match-three. BUT - this game's insidious thing that puts it above others is that when you do the game boards you have an opponent who is trying to make you lose. Sure it seems weird, but you battle all sorts of Middle-Earth denizons - from Orcs to Trolls to Dragons. Each opponent has special abilities that you must learn to defeat. And this game isn't easy!! Try it - and I know you'll like it. It has captured me and is currently holding me prisoner. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2010
    3
    Puzzle Quest could have been just as big - if not bigger - than casual hits such as Peggle and Bejeweled. Great art, great music, and hey, it even has a story. Unfortunately, all of the good is countered by one very serious problem: the game suffers from the worst game balance I have ever experienced. It does not play nor feel like a modern video game title, the difficulty ramp up is thePuzzle Quest could have been just as big - if not bigger - than casual hits such as Peggle and Bejeweled. Great art, great music, and hey, it even has a story. Unfortunately, all of the good is countered by one very serious problem: the game suffers from the worst game balance I have ever experienced. It does not play nor feel like a modern video game title, the difficulty ramp up is the stuff of late 90s JRPG developers with too much testosterone and too little supervision. Do not buy this game if you want a fun and casual experience. Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Jan 31, 2008
    6
    This game has the potential to be a really really fun experience, however it is often marred by a few things that turn out to be a constant annoynace. The biggest problem is that the game seems to favor your computer opponent far more often than it does you. It does not seem random at all. It's not just pure coincidence that the computer gets to take 3295623489732849 turns way way This game has the potential to be a really really fun experience, however it is often marred by a few things that turn out to be a constant annoynace. The biggest problem is that the game seems to favor your computer opponent far more often than it does you. It does not seem random at all. It's not just pure coincidence that the computer gets to take 3295623489732849 turns way way more often than you possibly can. If that was fixed, this game would be well worth its price tag. Until then, save yourself the headaches and spend your money elsewhere. Expand
  4. BonesJ.
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    One of the best casual games i've ever played, and one that consumed (willingly) most of my game time in 2007. It's also got to be the ONLY credible game to come out on all platforms, not hard with the likes of The Simpsons, Superman etc, but definitely something worth congratulations.
  5. BruceM.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    Both casual and deep, it's an innovative mix of a fantasy rpg combined with a puzzle game. It really surprised me. I ding it a single point because some of the battles take longer than I'd like.
  6. AlexW
    Feb 6, 2008
    8
    Very addictive. Marred by a seeming lack of random board compositions and re-compositions that result in bias towards the opponent as a result of opponents being scaled. Less scaling would tend to make the game more of an RPG; spending time in a different area because of its higher level opponents although it PQ is not meant to be a full blown RPG anyway. The massive volume of side-quests Very addictive. Marred by a seeming lack of random board compositions and re-compositions that result in bias towards the opponent as a result of opponents being scaled. Less scaling would tend to make the game more of an RPG; spending time in a different area because of its higher level opponents although it PQ is not meant to be a full blown RPG anyway. The massive volume of side-quests makes this replayable for hours upon hours (upon days, and weeks) along with enough of a difference between the classes to warrant replaying. Lack of a central multiplayer server system makes multiplayer very community based which doesn't exist at the moment. Still a very enjoyable experience. Expand
  7. MaxS.
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    I think that the best way to describe this game is a fully emersive RPG. but instead of turn based combat you play bejeweled. I was hooked from the start I can play for a few minutes or days. and through it seems minor i plan on replaying it to do a few choices over.
  8. AnonymousMC
    Jan 28, 2009
    5
    The game is interesting, unfortunately it has two enormous flaws for me. The first one is the JRPG look and dialogs are extremely childish. They are simply an uninteresting waste of time. The game would have been much more tolerable without the "story" and the world map. The second major flaw is luck plays far too much in the outcome of a battle. It makes this game totally unsuited forThe game is interesting, unfortunately it has two enormous flaws for me. The first one is the JRPG look and dialogs are extremely childish. They are simply an uninteresting waste of time. The game would have been much more tolerable without the "story" and the world map. The second major flaw is luck plays far too much in the outcome of a battle. It makes this game totally unsuited for people who like more serious games. Basically, this is a great game for children, but not for adults. Expand
  9. MarkB.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    I played it for 9 hours straight after buying it. Totally addicting and an interesting take on the puzzle genre.
  10. H.S.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    This game is terribly addictive! It's absolutly the best puzzel game I have played. I am usually more interested in the shooters, but this game has really taken ahole of me!
  11. JuanM.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    I hate this game. Its to much addictive. I just want to play a few rounds and when i realize it, 3 hours have passed.
  12. EricE.
    Feb 5, 2008
    7
    Fun game but it definitely cheats in favor of the AI in order to make it more difficult and to make up for the AI's dumbness. Many many times where the AI would get bonus after bonus after bonus with extra turn after extra turn absolutely killing the player. I couldn't get past the cheating puzzles in order to enjoy the game. My mother noticed the same thing and both of us Fun game but it definitely cheats in favor of the AI in order to make it more difficult and to make up for the AI's dumbness. Many many times where the AI would get bonus after bonus after bonus with extra turn after extra turn absolutely killing the player. I couldn't get past the cheating puzzles in order to enjoy the game. My mother noticed the same thing and both of us decided not to buy it. Expand
  13. AzazelG.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    At first it seems that this game HATES you and that the randomness of it all is working against you, until you start to get in the flow of how to play and then you will start to find that the randomness is working for you as well. I can not stop playing this game. I find myself doing the same quests over and over just for the sake of playing.
  14. AnonymousMC
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    I couldn't even sleep when I started playing this game and when I finally drifted off into fitful slumber, I was dreaming about this game. Addictive doesn't even begin to describe Challenge of the Warlords. the only problem is the obvious "advantage" the CPU constantly seems to have, but after getting a hang of the game, you'll start decimating your opponents.
  15. PyerIv
    May 2, 2009
    9
    At first I was reluctant to try it, but since I heard so many good things about this game, I figured I'd give it a try... this game is very, VERY, addictive! It's hard to stop playing when you've started. The artwork is splendid and the battles are quite fun in this 3-in-a-row puzzle variation. recommend this game to everyone!
  16. SamF.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    The best way to descibe this game is bejeweled with all the elements of RPG . When you first hear this it seems like its impossible to take a simple puzzle game and use the RPG Gameplay but Puzzle Quest actually does this very well by changing the different colors into mana which you use for magic/spells. You also have coins which when matched adds to you money to buy better spells/magic The best way to descibe this game is bejeweled with all the elements of RPG . When you first hear this it seems like its impossible to take a simple puzzle game and use the RPG Gameplay but Puzzle Quest actually does this very well by changing the different colors into mana which you use for magic/spells. You also have coins which when matched adds to you money to buy better spells/magic weapons and items. Add to this skulls that you and your opponent use to attack each other instantly. There are various defence spells and offensive moves which you must really think about as every move is crucial as it may help your enemy. When your done fighting on the bejeweled like board your taken back to a map to buy items, upgrade your citadel, find quests and upgrade your character. An amazing game that changes simple puzzle games forever. Expand
  17. WebsterB.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Combines everything that's addictive in RPGs with everything that's addictive in puzzle-games. The most addictive game I've ever played. Great fun, no faults, try it out.
  18. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    Really fun game. It's got great RPG elements and really explores a lot of possible variations on the bejeweled gem match-up gameplay while still keeping the core elements essentially simple and enjoyable for the casual gamer. The game progresses well, the gameplay is familiar and has a lot of life to it. It doesn't feel short like other casual RPGs around. Definitely recommend if you areReally fun game. It's got great RPG elements and really explores a lot of possible variations on the bejeweled gem match-up gameplay while still keeping the core elements essentially simple and enjoyable for the casual gamer. The game progresses well, the gameplay is familiar and has a lot of life to it. It doesn't feel short like other casual RPGs around. Definitely recommend if you are a fan of casual RPGs or want a Bejeweled game that is a little more involved. Collapse
  19. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    Highly addictive, engaging and good for many more hours of game-play than your average A+ title Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords takes the gamer to a fantasy world where the player is trying to find out where all his people have gone after they've been abducted. You will meet several fantasy-creatures and some of them will become your allies, aiding you in battle. Others you canHighly addictive, engaging and good for many more hours of game-play than your average A+ title Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords takes the gamer to a fantasy world where the player is trying to find out where all his people have gone after they've been abducted. You will meet several fantasy-creatures and some of them will become your allies, aiding you in battle. Others you can capture in order to learn spells from them. You can even capture cities that will provide you with additional gold, skillpoints and a place to craft your own items. All this is done through the Bejeweled-like combat system This system translates combat, crafting and interaction other than traversing the world-map into a puzzle game that's about matching and stacking "gems". There are 7 types of gems: 4 of these are considered "mana" that the player can gather in order to power his spells (Spells that may be unlocked by leveling up or by capturing creatures), 2 of these gems give you experience points or gold and the third, represented by skulls, allows you to directly damage your opponent. You need to stack a minimum of 3 gems to achieve any sort of effect. There are also wildcards which will increase the reward of the first four gems. The first combatant to get the other player to reach zero health-points ("Lifepoints") wins the match. The AI isn't too bright but it makes up for that by scoring mean combo's most of the time. It can also throw in a few spells here and there that can really turn the tide of a battle. Some people claim the AI is cheating and it does seem like it is very likely to get the gems it needs but rather than simply being given these gems, I believe it can see what's coming up next. (The player can't.) at the end of the day the player has the luxury of being able to fill his spellbook with powerful spells that can often make a come-back from a spree of bad luck so it tends to even out most of the time. And if not, you can just try the fight again. Seldom will losing a fight affect the out-come of a mission. I thoroughly enjoyed the story-line; It's nicely drawn, there's good humour and you'll find plenty of side-quests and back-story that's all easily accessible. Be warned: Once you start playing Puzzle Quest, you might not know when to stop! Expand
  20. Mar 11, 2015
    5
    Do you like games that claim to be random, yet you can never get a good move lined up, while an improbable number of moves "drop into place" for your opponent? Are you addicted to grinding on foes so much weaker than you that you can overcome this imbalance? I have the perfect game for you...
  21. Dec 31, 2011
    0
    Really fun game. It's got great RPG elements and really explores a lot of possible variations on the bejeweled gem match-up gameplay while still keeping the core elements essentially simple and enjoyable for the casual gamer. The game progresses well, the gameplay is familiar and has a lot of life to it. It doesn't feel short like other casual RPGs around. Definitely recommend if you areReally fun game. It's got great RPG elements and really explores a lot of possible variations on the bejeweled gem match-up gameplay while still keeping the core elements essentially simple and enjoyable for the casual gamer. The game progresses well, the gameplay is familiar and has a lot of life to it. It doesn't feel short like other casual RPGs around. Definitely recommend if you are a fan of casual RPGs or want a Bejeweled game that is a little more involved. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 86
    The unlikely marriage of puzzle gameplay with RPG mechanics makes for one of the most addictive experiences available to gamers today.
  2. One of the most fun puzzle games since "Bookworm Adventures." [Jan 2008, p.74]
  3. 70
    The minute-to-minute gameplay is tried and true, and when you factor in the long-tailed character progression, well, let's just say it's a wrap. Puzzle Quest's designers are certainly onto something here.