Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Designed specifically to entertain both casual and hardcore gamers with its deep immersion, five to fifteen minute play sessions and turn-based play style, Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords incorporates strategy, role-playing elements and a persistent storyline in a puzzle boardDesigned specifically to entertain both casual and hardcore gamers with its deep immersion, five to fifteen minute play sessions and turn-based play style, Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords incorporates strategy, role-playing elements and a persistent storyline in a puzzle board setting. Set in the Warlords universe, the game challenges players to create, develop and customize the ultimate hero in order to save the land of Etheria from evil Lord Bane. To advance their character, players battle in turn-based, head-to-head "match-three" style puzzle games in one of three distinct gameplay modes: Single-player allows gamers to battle against the AI as they embark on over 150 challenging quests, Instant Action allows gamers to jump in and immediately play continuous battles to level-up characters without participating in quests, and Multiplayer allows gamers to battle live opponents. Victory will advance the player’s hero, magical arsenal, creature companions and more - ultimately rewarding gamers at nearly every turn and providing endless hours of replayability. [D3Publisher of America] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 100
    It will ruin Bejeweled for you forever, because you will be longing for some consequences beyond just getting points! You will also quickly descend into 'just one more turn' territory until you make your way to the end, which will take dozens of hours.
  2. A splendid puzzle made glorious on PC. [Apr 2008, p.70]
  3. Because of the deep sense of planning, strategy, story and general slickness, it'll probably suck you in, anyway. [Apr 2006, p.78]
  4. 86
    The unlikely marriage of puzzle gameplay with RPG mechanics makes for one of the most addictive experiences available to gamers today.
  5. I recommend Puzzle Quest to all those who love the Heroes series, artworks, the number 4 and, of course, puzzles.
  6. One of the most fun puzzle games since "Bookworm Adventures." [Jan 2008, p.74]
  7. 70
    The minute-to-minute gameplay is tried and true, and when you factor in the long-tailed character progression, well, let's just say it's a wrap. Puzzle Quest's designers are certainly onto something here.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Keno
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    Wow - this sure is an addicting game. It's got the "one-more-turn" that sucks you right in to playing and playing. This is not your Wow - this sure is an addicting game. It's got the "one-more-turn" that sucks you right in to playing and playing. This is not your typical match-three game, but more of a combination RPG and match-three. BUT - this game's insidious thing that puts it above others is that when you do the game boards you have an opponent who is trying to make you lose. Sure it seems weird, but you battle all sorts of Middle-Earth denizons - from Orcs to Trolls to Dragons. Each opponent has special abilities that you must learn to defeat. And this game isn't easy!! Try it - and I know you'll like it. It has captured me and is currently holding me prisoner. Collapse
  2. MaxS.
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    I think that the best way to describe this game is a fully emersive RPG. but instead of turn based combat you play bejeweled. I was hooked I think that the best way to describe this game is a fully emersive RPG. but instead of turn based combat you play bejeweled. I was hooked from the start I can play for a few minutes or days. and through it seems minor i plan on replaying it to do a few choices over. Expand
  3. JuanM.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    I hate this game. Its to much addictive. I just want to play a few rounds and when i realize it, 3 hours have passed.
  4. AnonymousMC
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    I couldn't even sleep when I started playing this game and when I finally drifted off into fitful slumber, I was dreaming about thisI couldn't even sleep when I started playing this game and when I finally drifted off into fitful slumber, I was dreaming about this game. Addictive doesn't even begin to describe Challenge of the Warlords. the only problem is the obvious "advantage" the CPU constantly seems to have, but after getting a hang of the game, you'll start decimating your opponents. Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    Really fun game. It's got great RPG elements and really explores a lot of possible variations on the bejeweled gem match-up gameplay whileReally fun game. It's got great RPG elements and really explores a lot of possible variations on the bejeweled gem match-up gameplay while still keeping the core elements essentially simple and enjoyable for the casual gamer. The game progresses well, the gameplay is familiar and has a lot of life to it. It doesn't feel short like other casual RPGs around. Definitely recommend if you are a fan of casual RPGs or want a Bejeweled game that is a little more involved. Expand
  6. AlexW
    Feb 6, 2008
    8
    Very addictive. Marred by a seeming lack of random board compositions and re-compositions that result in bias towards the opponent as a Very addictive. Marred by a seeming lack of random board compositions and re-compositions that result in bias towards the opponent as a result of opponents being scaled. Less scaling would tend to make the game more of an RPG; spending time in a different area because of its higher level opponents although it PQ is not meant to be a full blown RPG anyway. The massive volume of side-quests makes this replayable for hours upon hours (upon days, and weeks) along with enough of a difference between the classes to warrant replaying. Lack of a central multiplayer server system makes multiplayer very community based which doesn't exist at the moment. Still a very enjoyable experience. Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2010
    3
    Puzzle Quest could have been just as big - if not bigger - than casual hits such as Peggle and Bejeweled. Great art, great music, and hey, itPuzzle Quest could have been just as big - if not bigger - than casual hits such as Peggle and Bejeweled. Great art, great music, and hey, it even has a story. Unfortunately, all of the good is countered by one very serious problem: the game suffers from the worst game balance I have ever experienced. It does not play nor feel like a modern video game title, the difficulty ramp up is the stuff of late 90s JRPG developers with too much testosterone and too little supervision. Do not buy this game if you want a fun and casual experience. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews