Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Designed specifically to entertain both casual and hardcore gamers with its deep immersion, five to fifteen minute play sessions and turn-based play style, Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords incorporates strategy, role-playing elements and a persistent storyline in a puzzle board setting. Set in the Warlords universe, the game challenges players to create, develop and customize the ultimate hero in order to save the land of Etheria from evil Lord Bane. To advance their character, players battle in turn-based, head-to-head "match-three" style puzzle games in one of three distinct gameplay modes: Single-player allows gamers to battle against the AI as they embark on over 150 challenging quests, Instant Action allows gamers to jump in and immediately play continuous battles to level-up characters without participating in quests, and Multiplayer allows gamers to battle live opponents. Victory will advance the player’s hero, magical arsenal, creature companions and more - ultimately rewarding gamers at nearly every turn and providing endless hours of replayability. [D3Publisher of America] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 100
    It will ruin Bejeweled for you forever, because you will be longing for some consequences beyond just getting points! You will also quickly descend into 'just one more turn' territory until you make your way to the end, which will take dozens of hours.
  2. A splendid puzzle made glorious on PC. [Apr 2008, p.70]
  3. Because of the deep sense of planning, strategy, story and general slickness, it'll probably suck you in, anyway. [Apr 2006, p.78]
  4. 86
    The unlikely marriage of puzzle gameplay with RPG mechanics makes for one of the most addictive experiences available to gamers today.
  5. I recommend Puzzle Quest to all those who love the Heroes series, artworks, the number 4 and, of course, puzzles.
  6. One of the most fun puzzle games since "Bookworm Adventures." [Jan 2008, p.74]
  7. 70
    The minute-to-minute gameplay is tried and true, and when you factor in the long-tailed character progression, well, let's just say it's a wrap. Puzzle Quest's designers are certainly onto something here.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Keno
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    Wow - this sure is an addicting game. It's got the "one-more-turn" that sucks you right in to playing and playing. This is not your typical match-three game, but more of a combination RPG and match-three. BUT - this game's insidious thing that puts it above others is that when you do the game boards you have an opponent who is trying to make you lose. Sure it seems weird, but you battle all sorts of Middle-Earth denizons - from Orcs to Trolls to Dragons. Each opponent has special abilities that you must learn to defeat. And this game isn't easy!! Try it - and I know you'll like it. It has captured me and is currently holding me prisoner. Expand
  2. MaxS.
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    I think that the best way to describe this game is a fully emersive RPG. but instead of turn based combat you play bejeweled. I was hooked from the start I can play for a few minutes or days. and through it seems minor i plan on replaying it to do a few choices over. Expand
  3. JuanM.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    I hate this game. Its to much addictive. I just want to play a few rounds and when i realize it, 3 hours have passed.
  4. BruceM.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    Both casual and deep, it's an innovative mix of a fantasy rpg combined with a puzzle game. It really surprised me. I ding it a single point because some of the battles take longer than I'd like. Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    Highly addictive, engaging and good for many more hours of game-play than your average A+ title Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords takes the gamer to a fantasy world where the player is trying to find out where all his people have gone after they've been abducted. You will meet several fantasy-creatures and some of them will become your allies, aiding you in battle. Others you can capture in order to learn spells from them. You can even capture cities that will provide you with additional gold, skillpoints and a place to craft your own items. All this is done through the Bejeweled-like combat system This system translates combat, crafting and interaction other than traversing the world-map into a puzzle game that's about matching and stacking "gems". There are 7 types of gems: 4 of these are considered "mana" that the player can gather in order to power his spells (Spells that may be unlocked by leveling up or by capturing creatures), 2 of these gems give you experience points or gold and the third, represented by skulls, allows you to directly damage your opponent. You need to stack a minimum of 3 gems to achieve any sort of effect. There are also wildcards which will increase the reward of the first four gems. The first combatant to get the other player to reach zero health-points ("Lifepoints") wins the match. The AI isn't too bright but it makes up for that by scoring mean combo's most of the time. It can also throw in a few spells here and there that can really turn the tide of a battle. Some people claim the AI is cheating and it does seem like it is very likely to get the gems it needs but rather than simply being given these gems, I believe it can see what's coming up next. (The player can't.) at the end of the day the player has the luxury of being able to fill his spellbook with powerful spells that can often make a come-back from a spree of bad luck so it tends to even out most of the time. And if not, you can just try the fight again. Seldom will losing a fight affect the out-come of a mission. I thoroughly enjoyed the story-line; It's nicely drawn, there's good humour and you'll find plenty of side-quests and back-story that's all easily accessible. Be warned: Once you start playing Puzzle Quest, you might not know when to stop! Expand
  6. PyerIv
    May 2, 2009
    9
    At first I was reluctant to try it, but since I heard so many good things about this game, I figured I'd give it a try... this game is very, VERY, addictive! It's hard to stop playing when you've started. The artwork is splendid and the battles are quite fun in this 3-in-a-row puzzle variation. recommend this game to everyone! Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2010
    3
    Puzzle Quest could have been just as big - if not bigger - than casual hits such as Peggle and Bejeweled. Great art, great music, and hey, it even has a story. Unfortunately, all of the good is countered by one very serious problem: the game suffers from the worst game balance I have ever experienced. It does not play nor feel like a modern video game title, the difficulty ramp up is the stuff of late 90s JRPG developers with too much testosterone and too little supervision. Do not buy this game if you want a fun and casual experience. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews