Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 60
  2. Negative: 1 out of 60
  1. Jun 21, 2012
    100
    This game is amazing, and I would gladly pay forty bucks for it. It almost seems wrong to enjoy a $15 title this much. Quantum Conundrum has more polish and charm than most full-price retail releases, and it plays just as well. It took me about eight hours to get through the story once, and I could easily spend another eight with it.
  2. 90
    Brilliant logical game comes with creative puzzles and great atmosphere – and you even learn something about the laws of physics. [Issue#220]
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    90
    Quantum Conundrum isn't of the same calibre as its inspirational predecessor at Valve, but if you're looking for a new first-person game that doesn't involve violence, weapons or adult themes of any kind, the low entry price seals it as a worthy addition to a genre that we hope will continue to blossom.
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    90
    Quantum Conundrum is a great game that stretches your brain and forces you to think in different ways. It's fairly long as well, and I spent about 10 hours finishing the main game. There are goals related to time and the number of shifts needed to solve a puzzle, which adds some replay value. It's a terrific game for puzzle and platforming fans alike, and at $15 it's a great bargain.
  5. Jun 21, 2012
    90
    It's a work of craftsman-like quality going for a ridiculously low price point, especially since the game has two upcoming DLC drops planned. High whimsy content aside, fans of new, interesting, brain-bending challenges need to seek this one out.
  6. Jun 21, 2012
    90
    A novel and original concept, executed cleanly and with style - in short, the ideal to which videogames should aspire.
  7. Jun 22, 2012
    88
    This is one of the best 3D puzzlers out there. The sheer genius of a certain Portal is still superior, but Quantum Conundrum is not far behind.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 180 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 45
  2. Negative: 7 out of 45
  1. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    This is a really great game at a ridiculously low price. You will definitely get more than a bang for your buck. Infact, the one kinda irritating thing is just HOW much this game wants to give you. The voice over work for the uncle is quite good...but it's SO MUCH. It will start to grate on you after a while. Seriously, stop talking at me, Uncle Crazy! I wish there was a little less attempt at theatrics and a little more making this a tight puzzler as the story is essentially non-existant...but man your ear gets talked off about it. This is a lame complaint though, considering how much you are getting at a 15 dollar price tag. Play it for the puzzles and just try and tune out the continuous Vincent Price-esque monologue that's ever in your ear. Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    0
    I was excited to play this after I saw the different dimensions in trailer and started to imagine what amazing puzzles could be made with them. Unfortunately, every puzzle is way too easy, I bet even 10 year olds could figure them out quickly. I was in and out each room with ease. The only times I got stuck was when the execution of the puzzles was too clunky and needed multiple tries. Unlike Portal, you never have to think outside the box. Top that off with a lackluster story, a GLADOS rip-off commentary which makes no sense and is supposed to be funny but ends up annoying, and an obsolutely anticlimatic ending, there is no way I could have given it more than a 6.

    P.S. Metacritic is not allowing me to give it a proper rating, so I guess it will have to be a 0.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 25, 2012
    3
    This game is nothing compared to portal. Its biggest failing are badly designed puzzles. After figuring out what to do, I spent way too long trying to throw a box or something else just in the right spot. Very frustrating. Also if you fail, you usually have to start again, resetting almost all items.

    Writing is also average at best. Paintings and other assets are mostly recycled from previous levels. There is nothing that makes the player keep playing. Bottom line, don't waste your money.
    Full Review »