Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 60
  2. Negative: 1 out of 60
  1. Jun 21, 2012
    100
    This game is amazing, and I would gladly pay forty bucks for it. It almost seems wrong to enjoy a $15 title this much. Quantum Conundrum has more polish and charm than most full-price retail releases, and it plays just as well. It took me about eight hours to get through the story once, and I could easily spend another eight with it.
  2. 90
    Brilliant logical game comes with creative puzzles and great atmosphere – and you even learn something about the laws of physics. [Issue#220]
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    90
    Quantum Conundrum isn't of the same calibre as its inspirational predecessor at Valve, but if you're looking for a new first-person game that doesn't involve violence, weapons or adult themes of any kind, the low entry price seals it as a worthy addition to a genre that we hope will continue to blossom.
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    90
    Quantum Conundrum is a great game that stretches your brain and forces you to think in different ways. It's fairly long as well, and I spent about 10 hours finishing the main game. There are goals related to time and the number of shifts needed to solve a puzzle, which adds some replay value. It's a terrific game for puzzle and platforming fans alike, and at $15 it's a great bargain.
  5. Jun 21, 2012
    90
    It's a work of craftsman-like quality going for a ridiculously low price point, especially since the game has two upcoming DLC drops planned. High whimsy content aside, fans of new, interesting, brain-bending challenges need to seek this one out.
  6. Jun 21, 2012
    90
    A novel and original concept, executed cleanly and with style - in short, the ideal to which videogames should aspire.
  7. Jun 22, 2012
    88
    This is one of the best 3D puzzlers out there. The sheer genius of a certain Portal is still superior, but Quantum Conundrum is not far behind.
  8. Jun 25, 2012
    86
    Quantum Conundrum it's a funny and original title created with great mastery.
  9. Jun 22, 2012
    86
    By no means a perfect game. But it's an incredibly enjoyable one that preserves the spirit of Portal, introduces some fascinating new mechanics, and provides players with a great new set of puzzles. At $15, that's a steal, plain and simple.
  10. Jul 6, 2012
    85
    Quantum Conundrum, thin plot and kind of bland atmosphere aside, has some great puzzle action to it. For the bargain price of $15, it is well worth the price of admission.
  11. Jun 26, 2012
    85
    A brilliant puzzle game, one that feeds and satisfies the brain without ever frustrating the player. Put down the virtual guns and use professor Quadrangle's IDS for a while. It will be nice, trust us.
  12. Jun 21, 2012
    85
    With its physics-warping mechanics, thoughtful brainteasers, and playful atmosphere, Quantum Conundrum should appeal to the legions of Portal fanatics. Some may complain that it's not as funny or as clever as Valve's hit series, but Quantum Conundrum is a unique experience that deserves attention nonetheless.
  13. Jun 21, 2012
    84
    The challenges will please more core gamers while the comprehensible level design will likely attract new players attracted to the art style and refreshingly different gameplay mechanics. I recommend it heartily to fans of Portal (either version) as well as gamers who may be suffering from shooter fatigue.
  14. Jul 24, 2012
    83
    A cuddly, yet tricky, platform puzzler to rival, but not quite surpass, GLaDOS's finest. [Sept 2012, p.101]
  15. Jul 19, 2012
    83
    Quantum Conundrum is a great game that with a clear conscience can be recommended to all puzzlers.
  16. 83
    But yes, I do recommend it to anyone passionate about spatial puzzles that require switching dimensions (and more). Some of its shortcomings, like the platforming sequences, could be regarded as relative, because some people will be better than others at appreciating distances and the moments at which they need to react.
  17. Jun 22, 2012
    82
    A joy for players looking for something interesting and original. The clever puzzle design and the great mechanic of changing dimensions makes this a really good experiencie, only a bit flawed by some details that are bearable anyway.
  18. Jun 21, 2012
    81
    A really nice feel-good game.
  19. Jul 9, 2012
    80
    Quantum Conundrum is original and a catchy logical game. However, the game can't deny a fact it was being made under the same hands as the first Portal installment. Surprisingly enough, it doesn't even cast a shadow over the Portal series - quite the contrary.
  20. Jul 3, 2012
    80
    You liked Portal ? Then you'll like Quantum Conundrum. It's impossible not to compare the two title as they have so many similarities in terms of narration and gameplay. Of course, the players won't be as surprised as they were with Valve's title, but surely they will spend some good times as well. Playing with dimensions is something easy to learn and it's a real pleasure to solve the many puzzles the game has to offer. And for a low price, there is no reason not to be tempted.
  21. Jun 29, 2012
    80
    While Quantum Conundrum might owe its existence to Portal, it stands in the shadow of no game. Anyone who enjoys a good puzzle owes it to themselves to play this one.
  22. Jun 29, 2012
    80
    Quantum Conundrum is the new title from Portal's creator Kim Swift, a fun, brilliant puzzle game. Well worth the price of admission, despite some frustration and a lack of polishing.
  23. Jun 29, 2012
    80
    Quantum Conundrum won't live on in memes and in gaming history quite like that, but if you're in the mood for a solid, entertaining puzzle-action romp, it's hard to go wrong with this game.
  24. Jun 29, 2012
    80
    Despite a few minor shortcomings it's very hard to say something negative about Quantum Conundrum. It's a very charming game that manages to strike the same chords that the Portal games did, and does it well.
  25. 80
    Quantum Conundrum is a fun and challenging romp, and jumping between its four dimensions becomes wildly satisfying towards the end. The story doesn't live up to the borderline genius of the gameplay, but we're more than willing to forgive that considering the price tag.
  26. Jun 26, 2012
    80
    Quantum Conundrum nails the puzzles, and does okay with the atmosphere, leaving a well-crafted "Diet Portal"-style adventure that succeeds when it matters.
  27. Jun 25, 2012
    80
    It'll surely be recognized as one of the better puzzle games of 2012, despite its liberal platforming demands in the first person.
  28. Jun 25, 2012
    80
    With Quantum Conundrum, Kim Swift proves her talent for designing puzzle games. The structure of the game is the same than in Portal, so it's hard to feel lost or even surprised. But manipulating the dimensions is fun and solving the puzzles will make you feel powerful and smart. Too bad the story isn't on par.
  29. Jun 23, 2012
    80
    Most disappointing of all, as hard as it tries (and it sure does try), it's just not funny.
  30. Jun 22, 2012
    80
    It's funny, it'll push your mind to breaking point but never go over, and is expertly designed and polished to perfection. Well, at least in its puzzle rooms, which are basically the entire game so we won't worry too much about the repeating filler rooms.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 45
  2. Negative: 7 out of 45
  1. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    This is a really great game at a ridiculously low price. You will definitely get more than a bang for your buck. Infact, the one kinda irritating thing is just HOW much this game wants to give you. The voice over work for the uncle is quite good...but it's SO MUCH. It will start to grate on you after a while. Seriously, stop talking at me, Uncle Crazy! I wish there was a little less attempt at theatrics and a little more making this a tight puzzler as the story is essentially non-existant...but man your ear gets talked off about it. This is a lame complaint though, considering how much you are getting at a 15 dollar price tag. Play it for the puzzles and just try and tune out the continuous Vincent Price-esque monologue that's ever in your ear. Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    0
    I was excited to play this after I saw the different dimensions in trailer and started to imagine what amazing puzzles could be made with them. Unfortunately, every puzzle is way too easy, I bet even 10 year olds could figure them out quickly. I was in and out each room with ease. The only times I got stuck was when the execution of the puzzles was too clunky and needed multiple tries. Unlike Portal, you never have to think outside the box. Top that off with a lackluster story, a GLADOS rip-off commentary which makes no sense and is supposed to be funny but ends up annoying, and an obsolutely anticlimatic ending, there is no way I could have given it more than a 6.

    P.S. Metacritic is not allowing me to give it a proper rating, so I guess it will have to be a 0.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 25, 2012
    3
    This game is nothing compared to portal. Its biggest failing are badly designed puzzles. After figuring out what to do, I spent way too long trying to throw a box or something else just in the right spot. Very frustrating. Also if you fail, you usually have to start again, resetting almost all items.

    Writing is also average at best. Paintings and other assets are mostly recycled from previous levels. There is nothing that makes the player keep playing. Bottom line, don't waste your money.
    Full Review »