User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 172

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2012
    7
    This game does become very frustrating at times, especially if you're trying to reach the time and shift goals in each level. The environments do get a bit repetitive as well, but the addition of new dimensions throughout the game keeps the experience fresh. The puzzles are challenging to get right and require a bit of thought. Like most puzzle games, the story is non-existent, but that doesn't keep it from being a rather pleasant experience. Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    To me, this is what "portal 2" should have been: innovation, new ideas, fresh puzzles and, most importantly, a challenging game overall. I always look forward into puzzle games with interesting mechanics and when I saw this game about changing dimensions I really got curious and I wanted to see how it would go, and luckily my hopes weren't crushed. First of all, I like how the graphics are simple yet colorful: it's a nice touch and really looks nice in this game, especially since when you use a different dimension, even the colors change according to that dimension (and props too). The mansion is huge and puzzles are many: you have 4 choices of dimensions (fluffy, heavy, slowmo, reverse gravity) but you won't always have all of them which means you need to work out with whatever you got. Puzzles have different difficults: some are easy, some are very challenging and sometimes you'll need to think quite much in order to go on, but strangely never seems unfair and it's usually VERY logic. Overall, the puzzles are very good and, at least for me, they are varied.. The story is almost non existant: you basically have to power up the generators of your uncle's house, and for that you need to do these puzzles in order to reach the generator. Only big flaw for me, at least I think it is, is that there's almost no life inside the house (except for that little furball that always disappears!). You'll basically never see anyone (not even your uncle. Not even yourself), showing that it's a very simple game....Infact I believe it's also kinda short (I haven't finished it yet, but I played for 4 hours and I'm at 3/4 of the game), and for that we will have future dlc (cheap at least), but except that we only have challenges (which I never do, but for those who like them...). Overall, It's a very good game and attempts a new concept (sort of) and a variety of ideas for the puzzles: it's not as detailed as many other games (like portal 1 or 2) but for 15 bucks it's a very puzzle game and it's pretty harmless (as in, it could have been more, but it didn't overdo it, and to me it's fine). If you like puzzle games, give it a look, you might enjoy it a lot. Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    5
    Quantum Conundrum is a clever little game. The commentator is nice and quirky and the visual design is pleasantly unique. The puzzles work overall well enough, it should be mentioned that a lot of them is based on platforming which might scare some people away. The platforming works alright considering that its a first person game. A couple of puzzles later in the game does get a little bit annoying since the platforming gets a little bit harder and you really start to feel the limitations of the first person view. But overall they puzzles are quite nice though a little bit samey. What i do think the games six hour-ish campaign is missing though is impact. Even the ending is abruptly finished and never reaches the big climax. QC is a nice little puzzle game but no more. I would still recommend it though if you are a fan of the genre. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2012
    7
    Game feels like Portal with different gaming mechanisms. So, it is quite entertaining. The timed jumps can be frustrating though, mainly due to the first person view. Sometimes, it's difficult to see how far you can go in order to jump - especially under the pressure of time - and you end up wondering if you're doing what is necessary to solve the puzzle or just failing at jumping properly. So it leads to a lot of trial and error where you keep dying. But overall, that's a good game, with interesting puzzles/concepts. This game has a lot of potential; if it had the Steam Workshop feature enabled where players could submit their puzzles, it would become exponentially richer and famous. Ultimately, getting it at a good discounted price (like 75%) is a good deal. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2012
    8
    im honestly enjoying this game, clever little puzzles, neat idea in general, its a good puzzle game, i would recommend it for portal players, however, it is a little laggy at first well, it is on mine
  6. Jul 17, 2012
    7
    There is good reason to compare QC to Portal. Both games are FPS puzzlers that employ physics manipulation. QC is a solid game in its own right. The graphics are friendly, the characteristics of the alternate dimensions are interesting and the premise is adequate. The puzzle difficulty seems to be either too easy or maddeningly reliant on high precision twitchery. If you just want to solve puzzles, this game may not be for you. After thinking your way through a puzzle, you must then execute your plan which is sometimes much easier said than done. The conclusion is unsatisfying, you won't be playing this game for plot. The game is pretty short and encourages replay for various bragging rights (not dying, fast completion, fewest dimensional shifts) if that's your cup of tea. All in all, because of the low cost of this game ($9 on sale), it's worth the investment. Just don't expect it to be Portal 3. Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2013
    6
    Resolution only gots up to 1920x1200 have to force geforce drivers to enable antialiasing and other standard graphics features. Menus optimized for controllers and not mouse. Unrealistic expectations for "time goals". Very frustrating to be a quarter second off after playing through a crappy level 10 times having to listen to the scientist tell the same joke each time. Slippery feel to movement controls (Tip: turn off mouse smoothing to reduce the "slippery" controls.) Expand
  8. Aug 12, 2012
    6
    This game is constantly compared to Portal (game designer and all), but the problem is that whatever likeness to Portal has been diluted, painted pastel colors and dumbed down so severely that it's more of a Farmville FPS. Slightly boring toothless kind-of-fun for the whole family. You repeat the same pseudo-entertaining tricks for six hours, like a slightly stupid dog jumping through hoops, in process discovering almost nothing about almost nothing, and, for lack of a worthy narration, entertaining yourself by looking at various paintings in various dimensions (they change, somewhat predictably, in a cringe-inducingly fun way). Now that I think of it... the game is a dementia simulator. You don't know who you are, you are locked in a strange place with no reason and you do strange things because a condescending voice in your head tells you to. Meanwhile learning the laws of physics and enjoying the view. Expand
  9. Nov 25, 2012
    5
    This game is not worth your time. Anyone who compares it to portal as if it is any where near it is mistaken. Portal already has done everything this game set out to do, it is unnecessary and not worth the purchase, regret buying.
  10. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    This is a really great game at a ridiculously low price. You will definitely get more than a bang for your buck. Infact, the one kinda irritating thing is just HOW much this game wants to give you. The voice over work for the uncle is quite good...but it's SO MUCH. It will start to grate on you after a while. Seriously, stop talking at me, Uncle Crazy! I wish there was a little less attempt at theatrics and a little more making this a tight puzzler as the story is essentially non-existant...but man your ear gets talked off about it. This is a lame complaint though, considering how much you are getting at a 15 dollar price tag. Play it for the puzzles and just try and tune out the continuous Vincent Price-esque monologue that's ever in your ear. Expand
  11. Jul 16, 2012
    8
    Quantum Conundrum isn't a Valve game, but it really aspires to be. As everyone by now knows, Kim Swift was one of the key contributors to Portal and it's spiritual predecessor, Narbacular Drop. And you can't help wonder if Narbacular Drop would have turned out a little more like Quantum Conundrum if Valve hadn't turned it into Portal.
    But her time at Valve has certainly rubbed off. You
    have a first person perspective, the classic Valve learning curve, a silent protagonist, a guiding voice, Team Fortress-style graphics, and no annoying cutscenes whatsoever.
    Although it never reaches Valve's high quality-bar, QC is funny, charming, inventive and has just enough variety of puzzles to keep you going. It suffers from being just a little too easy (and I don't think I'm being immodest!), and from a very basic plot which only offers any true feeling of peril in it's closing minutes.
    What QC does well is to remind you that fun and originality don't have to be confined to indie titles. Well done Square Enix.
    Expand
  12. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    Worth the money, some parts of the game can be extremely difficult and quite frustrating, but the interesting gameplay and physics engine are something else. Definitely give this game a look.
  13. Jul 23, 2012
    6
    An entertaining, if frustrating game. The cartoonish environments are unique, though they quickly become repetitive. John de Lancie's performance delivers his usual wit, though the character still manages to lack personality. Professor Quadrangle is no GLaDOS. I did enjoy the game mechanics; they did have a Portal-esque planning-requirement when solving puzzles. I did find some puzzles were too lacking in direction, as if they hadn't been playtested enough (but I admit I may just be a bit of a dolt). The lack of a real conclusion was rather annoying, with the climax over before it really has a chance to begin. Don't expect nearly the level of polish and awe that you got with Portal. A somewhat overall repetitive environment and series of puzzles leaves the game feeling both too long and too short- as if the designers simply ran out of ideas and decided to add in more of the same until it met an arbitrary length requirement. Overall, QC is something to pick up on sale to kill some time. Expand
  14. May 15, 2013
    6
    The game has nice humour, nice artstyle but it also has a feeling that it missing something. Something crucial. Levels were really repetitive, only except parts when I had to use physics, like when I had to spin a lever to open the safe door by changing dimensions in a right time, but still, I didn't like it too much. Also, this game is more like changing the dimension in the right time to complete an objective instead of solving puzzles. But it's cheap and nice, so you can buy it if you like puzzle games. Expand
  15. Jun 27, 2012
    7
    Probably because Quantum Conundrum's developer is Kim Swift, which was one of the minds behind the first Portal, this game actually feels like a casual version of Portal. Instead of targeted teleports and strange substances though, our weapon of choice influences ("shifts") the whole environment, making everything ultra-heavy, ultra-light, super-slow-motion, or gravity-inverted. It's actually quite fun. Like Portal, all puzzles are divided in rooms, and a sarcastic voice follows you throughout your gameplay. Unlike Portal though, this game doesn't deliver in many aspects. The atmosphere is quite bland. The story is utterly un-compelling. The sarcasm is usually nice but nothing special nor peculiar. The platform elements are annoying (as in any first-person platformer), though not terribly awkward.
    Anyway, considering the price range, it's a nice little game, with relatively easy but entertaining puzzles.
    Expand
  16. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    Another great concept that redefines the way a game is played, just like Portal with the Portal Gun, and Half-Life 2 with the Gravity Gun, however, unlike Portal, the story fails to excite, interest or stimulate emotions apart from the occasional monotonous "lol" thought of in the head. At times the setting and direction make the game feel like the recycled Portal it is, but the game-play keeps you hooked until the end, which is MINOR SPOILER: a little disappointing and anti-climactic. Expand
  17. Jun 23, 2012
    8
    The game is quite fun, but after playing portal I and II you will figure out that the concept and some puzzles are the same, the game suffers little bugs when respawning after falling from some places or getting hit by a laser, the game has good things, it has good humor and some funny jokes, the colors and details of the games are beautiful and the concept about the dimensions is pretty neat.

    The prize is so good that you should buy this game, even if it have some negative things, but which game doesn't have them? the game is also pretty long, it worth every buck you will spend on this game and there's always something that will make you fall in love with the game.
    Expand
  18. Aug 5, 2012
    5
    I think this game has a really good sense of humor and voice acting. The puzzles weren't as hard as I would have liked them to be and I found the controls hard to get used to. I thought the controls felt slippery and the character ran too fast to make some of the jumps easily.
  19. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    This game is very fun and I would recommend it to anyone who loves a good puzzle. Although it may not be as good as some other puzzle games I have played, it is worth every penny.
  20. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    John deLancie (aka "Q" from ST:NG) quides you through the tutorial, and pokes fun all game long...as he will do in his well-casted roles. And who better to explain dimensional rifts, fluffy space, and the unavoidable indeterminacy of faux-quantum physics without the gamer becoming dizzy. Kim Swift creator of Portal and lead designer of this title puts Quantum Conundrum right in line for greatness; it's flawless, cheap, fun, challenging, well made, and laugh out loud funny. We need more games like this!

    If you love Portal 1 & 2, get this now. If you love puzzles, get this now. If you love to laugh...GET THIS NOW! BUY IT!!! BUY IT NOW!!! BUY IT NOW!!!
    Expand
  21. Nov 9, 2012
    7
    While I enjoyed this game, it was certainly not the experience that I was hoping for. The puzzles are fun for a while but seemed to get stale after playing the game for very long. At many points in the game it feels more like a platformer than a puzzle game as I spent too much time on moving a safe or box into the perfect spot or failing to execute a jump properly. The story is sub-par at best and while the Professor's dialogue throughout the game can be amusing at time it just feels like a bit too much. The game is definitely worth playing and I feel like I should enjoy it much more than I do but something about it just leaves me unsatisfied. Expand
  22. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    This game is great. I don't know how anyone can dislike it.

    Its funny, Its well coded and tested, great voice acting. There's a great deal of variety in the powers and puzzles in the game. And its very long for a puzzle game. Even after you finish the main storyline puzzles, there are still a ton of additional levels to complete.

    Some of the puzzles did require a bit of timing, but
    none of them were impossible or "blocking". Not once did I have to go and look up the answer online, as long as I gave it a good thought and tried a few things. Expand
  23. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    This game is like portal 2, only boring and repetitive. I was more excited with watching in-game paintings changing art styles in a different game modes then actually playing game itself. I'm fine with a game being arcade itself, although there are much better arcades with puzzle elements. And I hate laser levels with constant trial-and-error parts the most.
  24. Apr 28, 2013
    6
    pros: Interesting mechanics and a couple really good puzzles. some decent platforming levels. cheap.
    cons: half the game is filler not real puzzles. The story is awful and same with the dialogue. The environment is very boring Antechamber has an awesome environment even though its an Indie but this game tried to imitate the environment of bigger budget games on the cheap.

    If you
    like puzzle games, don't mind playing games directed at children (or you are a child), and you're bored, its worth 10 dollars. Expand
  25. Jul 17, 2012
    7
    An enjoyable puzzle game, regardless of it's obvious similarities to portal. The lack of graphics options didn't really bother me so much, as it's just a casual puzzle game, but the choice should still be there. There is not very much i can flaw, apart from the puzzles being too easy, some repetetiveness (both in the puzzles and especially the voiceover), and most annoyingly, you are given HINTS constantly by the voiceover when you don't need them.

    Also, i don't know if i missed it, but the game never really explains what IKE is, either.
    Expand
  26. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    the story is not Portal, the fact that it takes place in a kid safe world takes away from the wit of the writing, as if the author thought they were writing Portal, however the game play has significant changes from Portal and at that it works. Fun and sometimes hypnotic when you get to the time stop levels it starts to pick up. A genuinely enjoyable release with so-so graphics, and a story line that doesn't quite live up to Portal's almost embarrassingly high levels, the mad narrator of this story is a bit of a let down, I would rather had played as him than as his far to quiet nephew. regardless well worth the big 15 usd and buy it with the dlc season pass for two additional add ons that will probably make it more worth the while. Charming, but not brilliant. Expand
  27. Jun 25, 2012
    3
    This game is nothing compared to portal. Its biggest failing are badly designed puzzles. After figuring out what to do, I spent way too long trying to throw a box or something else just in the right spot. Very frustrating. Also if you fail, you usually have to start again, resetting almost all items.

    Writing is also average at best. Paintings and other assets are mostly recycled from
    previous levels. There is nothing that makes the player keep playing. Bottom line, don't waste your money. Expand
  28. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun.
  29. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    I always liked puzzle games, and this game just gives me another reason why I liked them. In this game, there are 5 dimensions, in which each dimension has their unique properties, but the main character would still remain constant when shifting to various dimensions. The difficulty increases steadily, often you'll bump into levels that you find difficult at first glance, but after sometime, you'll figure out the solution. The visual representation is amazingly great, everything has their unique look in the 5 different dimensions including the original dimension. Additionally various portraits throughout the game will change when you shift dimensions, and they give a distinct feel to the dimension you're in currently. The story goes something like this: During your current visit to uncle, some explosion happened, and uncle goes missing, so you have to rescue him. The story is good enough, it's not great because there isn't too much change in atmosphere, it always feels positive. With games like this, you expect a perfectly happy ending, meaning, you'll rescue uncle and together you live happily ever after, right? Well, not entirely, but yeah. Throughout the game, the uncle talks to you occasionally. The dialogues are interesting to listen to, as some of them might help you out at times, some of them are hilarious/humorous, and some of them tell gives you some stories that happened before the your current visit to uncle. For 15$, you'll get the main game that comes with a lot of content. For 20$, you'll also get the soundtrack and 2 upcoming DLCs. I would recommend the 20$ version, not because of the soundtrack, but because you'll also get the 2 upcoming DLCs. The 2 DLCs weren't released yet, but judging by the quality of this game, you should look forward to playing them. Expand
  30. Jul 8, 2012
    7
    I found myself really trying to like this game. It had all the things that it needed to be a great game. And it might be. In a few patches. This game came from Kim Swift, known for working on Portal, a GREAT GAME, and for another first-person physics puzzler I expected it to be a lot like Portal. But I think Portal somehow did the concept and pulled it off much better. While I was playing, I was getting a lot of frame lag so as the game was nearly unplayable. I looked at the system requirements and found that my computer was only 0.1 Ghz away from being able to run this game well enough, and I'd just like to make a point to the developers - if you're going to create a game with such an intensive physics engine, make some freaking graphics settings. Anyways, I continued playing it on the PC in my living room which could run the game better, and I actually started enjoying it a lot, and only found a few things that were very bad about the game. Either the jump length is much to high or the rooms are much too small, because you had to stop yourself most of the time when jumping to the next object. Also, sometimes the safes fell and just tumbled into patterns that made the test lengthier as you had to wait for another one. This wasn't game ruining, but it was annoying. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 60
  2. Negative: 1 out of 60
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    60
    Quantum Conundrum lacks many things that made Portal so entertaining. It never shocks you with amazing possibilities. It doesn't make you head spin with ingenious ways to solve a trite problem. It doesn't force you to look at the problem at a completely different angle. This is just a puzzle about moving boxes from one place to another.
  2. Oct 14, 2012
    76
    Interesting puzzles, marred by dull environments and stupid requirement for jumping, seemingly with roller skates. [Sept 2012]
  3. Aug 31, 2012
    79
    If you enjoyed Portal, puzzle games in general, or… Mirror's Edge (due to the first-person platforming), buy Quandum Conundrum with no second thoughts. It's not a perfect game, technically it's somewhat mediocre and the humorous personality of Portal is absent, but the gameplay is fun and- like always- that's what it's all about. [August 2012]