• Publisher: SimBin
  • Release Date: In Open Beta
User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 9 out of 10
  1. Feb 14, 2013
    2
    This game is really a poorly designed arcade game. I got severely confused on what to do in the menu. When I finally got to drive, it is only time trials and no actual races, which got boring really quick with the unrealistic driving.
  2. Feb 22, 2013
    3
    Ok, I just tried the game. After several minutes trying to understand one of the most confusing UI ever and driving a little bit with one of the little cars and circuit available, I realize that this is a game developed to make people spent money, not to make gamers have fun with a great simulation. It was like if I wanted to do anything a popup appeared asking me to pay. This is a real proof that freemium games are killing gaming. I had high respect for Simbin, but this was the most disappointing experience ever. 3 points for the sound and graphics. Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2013
    3
    I found this game browsing through the free to play section in Steam. After wrestling with the menu and weird popup widgets (of all things on a PC game) I finally got my controls setup and ready to race. After some more fighting with the menu to race, I saw a dozen cars that seemed selectable, but when I did it turns out they would cost me about 5 euros each. Apparently, I had only one car and two tracks to play without having to spend (a ridiculous amount) of real life money. Anyway, I'm not shy of microtransactions but when I got to the actual racing I was completely disappointed. With controls that could fit a real sim, it felt like a more arcady version of GRID. Worse still, with a keyboard you tend to spin out at the slightest hint, so you end up carefully tapping the buttons in order to keep going forward. The problem is lessened with an analogue controller, but even then you need to be careful not to push too hard on the stick, or a 180 will ensue (as well as a hard time to turn around). In the end, it feels like a poorly put together demo. Should you actually buy all the content it's probably going to cost more than any triple A title out there, but without the polish in looks or gameplay. Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2013
    2
    Whilst this is classic SimBim stuff balancing simulation with arcade play-ability very well, sadly they've got lost along the way with the F2P model. What is sad is that I'd gladly pay good money to buy all the content as a complete game. Without mentioning the obvious names there are better driving games on the PC that give an awful lot more value to the player.
  5. Feb 16, 2013
    3
    Simbin is a company that is well respected in the sim racing community making hit titles such as the GTR franchise and Race07. However their latest effort RaceRoom Racing Experience is a joke compared with these excellent games. In an attempt to adopt the 'free-to-play' model, Simbin have tarnished their value as a sim game developer to such a level that I don't think I will bother with them in future. RaceRoom lets you (in theory), play a heap of cars on tracks from all over the globe either alone or online with friends and like-minded sim racers. In reality it gives you one car and two tracks and will not let you play online without forking out significant dough for little game. Tracks cost between 6-12 dollars and cars are similar. This is pathetic, considering how little content there is to sample in the first place. This leads me to think that Simbin have not thought out the free-to-play model in the slightest.

    I am an avid rfactor player and contributor to the community making around twenty circuits that you can google and have a go of. I love sim racing. Raceroom claims to be a sim racer but contains only arcade elements. You have traction control automatically enabled and as far as I can tell, it cannot be fully turned off. The AI are either uncatchable or hopelessly slow. This needs fixing to say the list.

    It is a shame, as there is one element to this game that is a fantastic idea. That is the updating drive line based on your skill. Basically, if you set a new best time on the track, the game will update the 'drive line' and braking zone to match what you have just done on track. This can then be shared online for others to try and beat. In a word brilliant. The graphics are as I expect for a 2013 PC title. However all other elements drag the game down to a certain fail. Hopefully the developers catch wind of these reviews and make changes, after all free-to-play titles can only survive with consistent updating and tweaking such as Tribes Acend has done. As for now in its current version release, Raceroom is only worth a 3/10 to a sim racer. If you are after an arcade experience then this could scrape through to a 5/10, but with next to no free content available, they are clutching at straws with their interesting gameplay mechanics.
    Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2013
    2
    Sorry for my score, I'm used to GT and Forza and compared to those two, this game is awful.
    First this isn't a sim, it's an arcade game which is promoted as a sim. Menu's are anti-intuitive, the game has a lot of bugs and the "free to play" design is retarted. Other games have done a good job with the free-to-play set-up, but this is not the case with RaceRoom because: "The more you pay,
    the better you are able to drive". Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    1
    This game would get a 4 if it was not marketed as a Simulation. I'm a Racing-Sim fan (and sports car driver) myself and I play several other titles wich i won't mention. Graphics are ok, so far the positive thing about this game. Besides the several bugs the game's F2P design is a bad, really bad, it's just a demo tbh. The feeling of driving is not good (compared to other titles), feel a bit "mechanical" and not "real" and the behavior of the car is wrong, not how it is IRL Expand
  8. Mar 2, 2013
    3
    This game seemed like a good idea in theory, but it's infuriating actually trying to play. Mainly because it tries to nickel and dime you at every turn. I've spent thousands on my racing setup, I don't mind paying for a game. But let me just buy the damned game instead of trying to sell me every single car and track individually. To the developer: Make up your mind. If you want to make it "Free to Play", then at least include some actually useful free to play content. (One mediocre car on a boring track does not constitute 'Free to Play'). If you want us to pay for it... then provide an option to purchase the entire game in one hit. I have my credit card handy.... and I'm taking my money elsewhere. Expand
  9. Mar 9, 2013
    3
    This game starts with a rather misleading claim from the CM marketing team: "Free to play." No way. Click on anything and you are asked for real money. US$7 for a track (yes, one track is $7). US$2 for a car. Want to race the AI? More money please. Want 'Get Real' physics? Cough up. Multiplayer? Have your credit card handy. Most racing games have about 20 tracks and at least one type of car you can drive. That makes this 'free' game cost well over $100. There is one free fictional track and one or two cars. There's no free racing though, just free hot-lapping (which, to be fair, is quite good) along with a free leaderboard challenge (also good) and one or two other novelties.

    It's the upfront promise of 'free' that leaves a sour taste. This is a very expensive game that may turn out to be very good when its fully released. But don't be fooled by the marketing graduates at CM. Free, it aint.
    Expand
  10. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    First you have to know that this game has not yet been released, it is still in open beta phase! Metacritic staff, please correct this error.
    To the game/beta itself:

    People complaining about arcade physics, too much understeer and alike should check two things: Are you driving in amateur mode? If so, switch to the "Get Real" mode. If you are using Get Real mode adjust the cars setup,
    it's up to you how your car behaves.
    For me physics are good, better than in previous Simbin titles.
    Graphics are decent but personally I would have wished for a bigger improvement compared to RACE07, it doesn't look as much better as I expected.
    The sound is great, just watch a replay, switch to a fixed camera and turn up the volume. You will hear the car all the way round the track, it's really impressive.
    There isn't much AI at the moment, but you can do a track test with 6 AI-drivers and supposedly they already use the "Adaptive AI" mode which does what it says, it adapts the AIs performance to yours.
    Leaderboard challenge is fun and allows you to challenge any other drivers ghost, which helps you improve a lot.
    There's already been a few challenges in some of which you could win prizes like Intel hardware or KW vouchers. You don't have to buy any content for challenges, you can participate even if you don't own the car used for the challenge, Try-before-you-buy challenges let you try a car for a limited time.
    There's still many things missing, a lot of which are going to be there when it's released. The biggest question mark for me is the pricing system. At the moment content is pretty expensive and there aren't discount packages. But I guess market dynamics will force them to make special offers once it's released.

    At the moment 8/10 for me cause it has got a lot potential.
    Expand

There are no critic reviews yet.