User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1629 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 30, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game deserves a "GG!". All of those so-called "bad reviews" were made in Rage's early days; when the game had just come out and still had problems (albeit big ones). Now however, the game has been out for about 1 1/2 years, and it has improved a lot. I bought it for 5$ on steam during a sale, and it was totally worth it. The fighting is fun and hilarious, both on foot and in the cars. The guns are awesome and the different types of ammo you get for the guns (my favorite so far is the Mind Control Bolts for the Striker Crossbow weapon) make them really dynamic. There is racing in the game (which at first, I was not all that excited about) but it turned out to be seriously cool. There are 4 different race types, "Time Trial", "Rally", "Non-combat", and "Combat". The Time Trial race is a SP race only, where you try to complete a race track 3 times before a timer runs out. The Rally race is an SP or MP race where racers compete to try and collect rally points that are scattered across the map, and the first to 50 points wins, with the rally points giving 5 points each. The multiplayer is not quite what I had thought it was, as you cannot do the entire campaign with a friend, but rather, you can do specific quests from the campaign with a twist to them. The physics is amazing. The way they react when you shoot them is phenomenal. You hit a helmeted enemy in the head, and he falls over and tries to recover. You hit a mutant in the leg as he charges you and he starts to trip. The AI is really smart, they know what you are doing and tell their friends what to do based on that. I take out 3 bandits out of a group of 5 and they yell, "Fall back! Don't let him get through!". One of the negatives however, was that, it was not quite as much of an open world game as I would have liked. It feels a little bit like there is one path to go down and there are only a few other places to go besides there, but they do it in such a way so you get used to it. Another negative I had was how short the game was (I finished the solo campaign in about 44 hours even though I did most of the side missions as well) but for 5-15$, I suppose I shouldn't have expected as much length (I Also, they don't do a good job explaining what the options do in the game. For example, there is an option in there called "GPU Transcode"...huh? What does that do/mean exactly? I turned it on and the benchmark went up by 50, so I left it on, but I would like to know what that means. All of the intro movies and all cutscenes are inescapable as well. So in the end, I take 1 point for the shortness and linearness, and 1 point for the other negatives I mentioned earlier. All in all, great game. Good luck in the Wasteland! Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    This game is funny. I remember the movie mad max Run on the desert is beatifull and dangerous.
    The races are excelent too much hardcore.
    The weapons are excelent, real.

    The only problem that make me sad DON' T HAVE A FINAL BOSS...
    without a final boss I only can put 8 points to score.

    Id software are doing funny games, I'm wainting to the continuation
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    underrated game. great gameplay, great shooting. great design (the best!). one of my all time favorites.
    It has an abrupt ending. that was disappointing. Also, I would like to see more in the wasteland. there was not much to do. No good reason to explore.
    i had no technical issues with it. (geforce 9800 gtx & geforce gtx 550 ti)
    i hope they make a sequel
  4. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    Great game period. Granted not perfect but obviously its combo of incredible graphics, textures, gorgeously fitting color pallet, and stunning frame rate (60fps) make it a visual masterpiece with best in class aesthetics dominating its commonly compared borderlands and fallout 3 bretheren in this department. Guns feel heavy, gunshots sound aggressive and badass, and enemies react to everyGreat game period. Granted not perfect but obviously its combo of incredible graphics, textures, gorgeously fitting color pallet, and stunning frame rate (60fps) make it a visual masterpiece with best in class aesthetics dominating its commonly compared borderlands and fallout 3 bretheren in this department. Guns feel heavy, gunshots sound aggressive and badass, and enemies react to every shot they are hit with in a realistic way with impressively animated deaths. The animators at id software knocked it out the park with the games many fluid and jaw dropping animations, from crazed mutants ravenously coming after you, to salty bandits flailing back from gunfire ultimately spinning and falling face first to their death these animations are handled with a smoothness and degree of movement not often(if ever) seen in the video game industry. The sound shines with the vaunted John Goodman lending his voice acting talents. The game isn't short with all the side quests and loot hunting offered as well as a very arcade like but enjoyable racing and vehicle combat section (though a bit easy). The weapons are varied enough with all guns and crossbow having several different ammo types, but the clear cut star of your arsenal is the innovative and devilishly fun wing stick. The wing stick is a type of three bladed boomerang that you throw at your enemies for frequent decapitations and severed limbs, it also can be upgraded to target enemies,do more damage, and return to your hand like a boomerang (did i mention it can slice the head off of multiple enemies in a row).You also find or buy blueprints in the wasteland which build new weapons/guns, upgradable turrets and robots, and even a mini remote controlled truck with bombs attached to it which you can remote detonate (also useful for scouting out enemy camps). You do however rehash the same levels at times with minor differences but with having to make such detailed landscapes it's understandable. The game includes many enjoyable mini games such as five finger fillet, a guitar hero like game called strum, and a very fun card game similar to magic the gathering with picture cards of different in game characters and factions that you find throughout the wasteland to strengthen your deck(trust me i am not a card or magic t.g. fan but this is fun). The world isn't as big as fallout but it is as big as it needs to be.It has a fun but not as varied separate coop campaign and online multiplayer in the form of exciting vehicle combat races. I know it isn't the 4 player coop of borderlands but unless you are the type who is compulsive about having 50,000 guns and cell shaded graphics it might be a better all around game than the first borderlands(i do love borderlands by the way). People say Rage doesn't have a story and it has an "okay" if not fleshed out enough story but borderlands though it is entertaining has basically no story at all(you are on pandora- now find this vault).Some found Rage to have a weak ending? Not half as dissapointing as borderlands ending (can anyone say they were pleased with what they found in the vault?) Overall Rage is a breath of fresh air that beckons back to id's yesteryear of gaming (doom,quake) the combat is in your face and aggressive differing from this generation's Gears of Wear totally cover based pop and shoot style of combat (when i am a badass muscle bound space marine i don't want to spend 75% of the game on my knees, i know a few gals who hangout on the corner they can give marcus pheonix a pair of kneepads they spend alot of time on their knees too).Rage has a ton of nostalgic eastereggs too, if you are a Doom,wolfenstein, Quake or id fan you need to get this game for the eastereggs alone! I won't spoil it but let's just say these eastereggs are very.....interactive. The sad thing is that Rage2 was in the works but seeing how Rage undersold they cancelled production and killed the would be series. This was new IP from the fathers of FPS and after all that time they delivered, and after getting their feet wet in this generation with Rage i can assume building on Rage's engine and the experience with Rage would have prepped them to deliver even bigger on Rage2 (can you imagine what that game would of looked like.) Rage is a very strong game and worth the experience it should have sold 5mil. Rage gets a 9 out of 10. j Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    Your enjoyment depends on what you expect. If you expect a game that is Skyrim, Doom and Fallout all in one, then you will be disappointed. But if you expect a good shooter, variable enemies and enviroments with some more space to walk and more RPG like story then you will be happy. The only bad thing is tons of bugs at launch of the game (currently in 2013 all problems are fixed) and weakYour enjoyment depends on what you expect. If you expect a game that is Skyrim, Doom and Fallout all in one, then you will be disappointed. But if you expect a good shooter, variable enemies and enviroments with some more space to walk and more RPG like story then you will be happy. The only bad thing is tons of bugs at launch of the game (currently in 2013 all problems are fixed) and weak ending. Also I didnt like that main character has Gordon Freemans syndrome. But overally if you dont expect too much you will love this game. Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2015
    8
    ID software made the fps genre. Lately they are over passed by other companies. Rage can be seen as such an example. The game takes place in a Mad Max kind of setting and the graphics are good but not excellent. As always with ID games the weaponry is good so shooting is fun. Negative points are lack of story; RPG element is hardly existing and especially the vehicle experience. NowID software made the fps genre. Lately they are over passed by other companies. Rage can be seen as such an example. The game takes place in a Mad Max kind of setting and the graphics are good but not excellent. As always with ID games the weaponry is good so shooting is fun. Negative points are lack of story; RPG element is hardly existing and especially the vehicle experience. Now suddenly you swap to a 3th person perspective which breaks the atmosphere. Also the driving is hard and mostly I got killed in those car wars.

    On launch in 2011 it crashed many videocard drivers but I didn't have any trouble in 2013.
    Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2015
    8
    That games is just stunning. Amazing graphics, Great AI , opponents are doing amazing tricks and tactics to avoid your bullets . for each group of enemies you need to use different tactics. For example for mutants for me it was better to use fists and Wingstick :D . Weapons have different ammo which gives a really wide and varied tactical possibilities. For example Striker Crossbow has aThat games is just stunning. Amazing graphics, Great AI , opponents are doing amazing tricks and tactics to avoid your bullets . for each group of enemies you need to use different tactics. For example for mutants for me it was better to use fists and Wingstick :D . Weapons have different ammo which gives a really wide and varied tactical possibilities. For example Striker Crossbow has a steel-triped bolts ,electro bolts , mind control bolts, dynamite bolts :D . Graphics is so grade that very often I just stoped to admire the landscape. Minus is a lack of big bosses . There is only one and few smallest guys . The games is quite easy do I recommended to take something higher then normal level of difficulty Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. PC Games (Russia)
    Nov 23, 2011
    80
    A pretty, fast and aggressive shooter, striving in vain to be something more. [December 2011, p.62]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 15, 2011
    80
    Far from perfect Rage somehow is has fun post-apocalyptic action where the principles are set –fortunately – bit different than in other games of FPS genre. [Nov 2011]
  3. CD-Action
    Nov 9, 2011
    75
    It seems id Software is still living in its golden days and failed to notice that times have changed since Doom and Quake. Rage is just a decent, linear, old school shooter combined awkwardly with an arcade racing game. The world is only 'kinda openish' and the story must have been written by the coders while they were compiling the alpha version. The game looks great though – if you're lucky enough to have the it run smoothly and without technical issues that haunt the PC version. [November 2011, p.46]