Rage PC

Rage Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1615 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An action game set in a post-apocalyptic landscape jam-packed with driving and shooting, created by John Carmack and the rest of the Doom crew.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    In terms of RAGEs story, there is a lot of wasted potential in this otherwise brilliant shooter. The same could be said for the technical side of things, as RAGE undoubtedly looks good, but far from brilliant, "thanks" to its multiplatform-roots. Nevertheless: id's newest IP offers great atmosphere, spot-on gunplay, cool weapons, funny vehicle-combat and solid graphics; that leaves us hoping for Carmack's promised texture-patch.
  2. Oct 13, 2011
    86
    A must have for both fans of FPS and sandbox games because it succeeds in both genres. An addictive and furiously violent videogame that will be breathtaking for every action fan.
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    85
    It may lack the open-world versatility of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallout 3, the weapon diversity and sheer madness of Borderlands, yet it manages to provide thrilling corridor action and surprisingly well crafted racing that reasserts id's lofty position in the studio charts.
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    80
    Technically, Rage excels. The shooter mechanics are fantastic and the enemies vary in their tactics. However, the game starts to drag towards the (sudden) end, and the save system irritates.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    Rage won't change the FPS landscape, but it's beautiful to see in motion and a bombastic delight to play. [Dec 2011, p.52]
  6. Oct 21, 2011
    70
    I wasn't expecting miracles - the word "revolution" hasn't been associated with id Software for a long time. But still I was expecting an 8/10 game and even during E3 it seemed Rage would be just that. Unfortunatelly sometimes things simply don't work that way. Various flaws of the game - beginning with a fairly short single player, ending with technical issues - don't allow me to call it a well made product. I had fun, but that's not enough to praise a game that doesn't belong on a shelf labeled "hit".
  7. 45
    The threadbare story is filled with pointless motivations, poorly realised characters and bad dialogue - so cross out 'wanting to know what happens at the end'. The way the game challenges you is by simply sending more of the same at you and hoping you run out of ammo. It doesn't have story, it doesn't have gameplay - so why would you keep playing?

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the gameA thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the game with all the possible side quests. John Carmack has given one more winner. Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    This game has issues but its not a bad game. It reminds me of Doom 2; a game that I really liked. Speaking of Doom 2, back then I had a reallyThis game has issues but its not a bad game. It reminds me of Doom 2; a game that I really liked. Speaking of Doom 2, back then I had a really slow computer and I had to sometimes wait a relatively long time for stages to load but I had fun. However, one thing this game does not have is dumb enemies. I liked Gears of War mostly because of the challenging enemies. However, GoW2 and GoW3 made the enemies stupid in favor of eye candy. In rage I get both eye candy and challenging enemies (I'm not big into stories, which is what so many are complaining about, what happen to those same complaints for Fallout, which had dry static animation, a slowwwww moving plot, and damn near card board npcs) -- so at least for me the game gets a 9. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2014
    8
    The technical showcase of the IdTech 5 engine, and a solid FPS game in its own right.

    The premise of the game is pretty well set up. You
    The technical showcase of the IdTech 5 engine, and a solid FPS game in its own right.

    The premise of the game is pretty well set up. You survived an apocalyptic asteroid impact and emerge from your cocoon into a world radically changed by this event.

    Now I'm a sucker for post-apocalyptic fiction, so this review may come across as slightly biased.

    The storyline in and of itself is fairly good, well written, with some memorable characters. But it's not by any means genre-defining.

    The graphics are the main draw of RAGE. Featuring IDTech 5, it introduces a new rendering concept called "Megatexturing", in which instead of a multitude of textures comprising a game world, the world of RAGE is rendered with one massive texture over everything in the environment. An ambitious method, for sure.

    However, this technique is still very new, so there are a lot of quirks in the game such as texture pop-in and a green tint in dark environments. Not to mention that in order for the game to be able to run decently on most consumer hardware, the textures had to be greatly compressed from their original state, and the effects do show sometimes.

    One effect from this compression might be the aforementioned green tint, but also the textures in general may look fairly muddy and blurry, especially on consoles and lower-end hardware on PC.

    As Megatextures use a new transcoding method to render objects, SLI and Crossfire are not supported. The game will not even recognize anything beyond one GPU. I'm fairly optimistic that ID Software will address this with future titles though (I can't comment on Wolfenstein: New Order, as I have yet to play it myself on my SLI computer).

    But I digress...

    The gameplay itself is very solid and quite fun. ID Software is a master of the FPS genre, so as expected, the gunplay is extremely well presented and gives a visceral experience as enemies realistically react to localized damage.

    The multiplayer, however, feels a tacked on. But I had a lot of fun with co-op.

    I bought the game while it was on sale on Newegg back in late 2011, and I enjoyed the experience quite a bit.
    Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2011
    5
    Small bits of fun here and there but overall a very shallow experience in a large world that boxes you in (look at this gap - I can ju...no ISmall bits of fun here and there but overall a very shallow experience in a large world that boxes you in (look at this gap - I can ju...no I guess I can't...look at that I'll be able to explor...no I guess I can't go there either). Graphics need tweaking (although by now people will say "DUH!") but once it's tweaked it does look very pretty. I just couldn't get attached to any of the characters in game as they were pretty boring (and lifeless too - not convincing enough to make me care at all about what I was doing...although it's not like I had any choices anyway) and I didn't find much of a story to write home about (actually not much of a story to do anything with).

    It's a shame that this will most likely be my last ever id/bethesda game that I buy (and I was so hoping for a Doom 4) as they seem to care very little about PC Gamers (and I just refuse to play an FPS on a console - sorry John Consolmac but you can kiss my @ss you sellout).

    Conclusion: Wait for the steam super sale...this one ain't worth full price!
    Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2011
    2
    This game is the great equalizer - It will make your $3000 PC gaming rig feel like your friends $400 scrap-box built with budget orThis game is the great equalizer - It will make your $3000 PC gaming rig feel like your friends $400 scrap-box built with budget or hand-me-down hardware. Dare I say that the console release is the preferred release? Terrible texture resolutions (not counting the pop-in) and lots of invisible walls or low edges or curbs, couches, or railings which will keep you from freely exploring the world. I do not find the game world fun or explorable due to this, and the sound seems completely dull and uninspired. It does not seem to use my Realtek 5.1 surround. Poor or nonexistent shadowing. It's a very poor attempt at a Borderlands-type game. Nothing during the game play has made me say 'Wow' and I do not feel there's anything new or exciting offered. This is a budget console title at best, and frankly anyone who's not played Borderlands should make that purchase instead. Also, some keyboard mappings cannot be altered, which is a terrible sin in my book. Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2014
    1
    For PC, this game lives up to its name, as it brings unreal amounts of frustration and hatred towards the dev's at iD.

    I'm giving it a 1
    For PC, this game lives up to its name, as it brings unreal amounts of frustration and hatred towards the dev's at iD.

    I'm giving it a 1 because it's a fun game, but a only a 1 because it's a game that you can barely play (If you're able to play it at all).

    I've never, ever, EVER played a port so excruciatingly bad in my entire life
    The adventure begins at the menu as you struggle to have your cursor move smoothly, as it likes stopping in place, more than it does moving.

    I truly believe that the dev's had one person test this game for 15 minutes, and left the buyers to continue testing the game, only for there to be no final, working version.
    Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    The game doesn't work, it runs smooth but textures are bugged, spent two days trying everything, it won't work for me. I kinda feel like I'veThe game doesn't work, it runs smooth but textures are bugged, spent two days trying everything, it won't work for me. I kinda feel like I've been stolen, we should all bring them to court and get our money back, you can't get stuff that doesn't work on the market and steal peoples money like that, this should not be legal... Expand

See all 668 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.