Rage PC

Rage Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1625 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An action game set in a post-apocalyptic landscape jam-packed with driving and shooting, created by John Carmack and the rest of the Doom crew.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Rage - Gamespot Exclusive E3 Gameplay Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    In terms of RAGEs story, there is a lot of wasted potential in this otherwise brilliant shooter. The same could be said for the technical side of things, as RAGE undoubtedly looks good, but far from brilliant, "thanks" to its multiplatform-roots. Nevertheless: id's newest IP offers great atmosphere, spot-on gunplay, cool weapons, funny vehicle-combat and solid graphics; that leaves us hoping for Carmack's promised texture-patch.
  2. Oct 13, 2011
    86
    A must have for both fans of FPS and sandbox games because it succeeds in both genres. An addictive and furiously violent videogame that will be breathtaking for every action fan.
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    85
    It may lack the open-world versatility of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallout 3, the weapon diversity and sheer madness of Borderlands, yet it manages to provide thrilling corridor action and surprisingly well crafted racing that reasserts id's lofty position in the studio charts.
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    80
    Technically, Rage excels. The shooter mechanics are fantastic and the enemies vary in their tactics. However, the game starts to drag towards the (sudden) end, and the save system irritates.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    Rage won't change the FPS landscape, but it's beautiful to see in motion and a bombastic delight to play. [Dec 2011, p.52]
  6. Oct 21, 2011
    70
    I wasn't expecting miracles - the word "revolution" hasn't been associated with id Software for a long time. But still I was expecting an 8/10 game and even during E3 it seemed Rage would be just that. Unfortunatelly sometimes things simply don't work that way. Various flaws of the game - beginning with a fairly short single player, ending with technical issues - don't allow me to call it a well made product. I had fun, but that's not enough to praise a game that doesn't belong on a shelf labeled "hit".
  7. 45
    The threadbare story is filled with pointless motivations, poorly realised characters and bad dialogue - so cross out 'wanting to know what happens at the end'. The way the game challenges you is by simply sending more of the same at you and hoping you run out of ammo. It doesn't have story, it doesn't have gameplay - so why would you keep playing?

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the gameA thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the game with all the possible side quests. John Carmack has given one more winner. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2011
    9
    Perfect game for me, The really like shooter from id software. Graphic are really good, probably one of the best game this year. The sound isPerfect game for me, The really like shooter from id software. Graphic are really good, probably one of the best game this year. The sound is good too. I wait to see next game created with that engine. Expand
  3. Dec 9, 2011
    8
    I have an average gaming pc and the game ran flawlessly except for one anamoly when it first started. The screen was filled with multicoloredI have an average gaming pc and the game ran flawlessly except for one anamoly when it first started. The screen was filled with multicolored triangles. I rebooted and I completed the game without a single problem. The ending was a disappointment, however. I have no idea what I accomplished. No feedback from the game in the form of a verbal or written epilogue or even a discussion with the captain. Other than that, and that is significant in my opinion, the game was an enjoyable shooter. A side bar: The driving portions of the game are an utter pain in the ass with a mouse/keyboard. Once I hooked up an xbox controller it was considerably more fun. Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2011
    5
    Rage is OK. Not great and certainly not what I had expected. I told the clerk at the store where I Pre-bought Rage that I usually don'tRage is OK. Not great and certainly not what I had expected. I told the clerk at the store where I Pre-bought Rage that I usually don't pre-buy games. However with Rage being made by id Software I told the clerk "that's a company I trust to make an excellent PC game" so I pre-bought the game. The graphics have been advertised as "jaw dropping". My jaw dropped alright but only when I realized I was stuck with low resolution graphics. To be fair some parts of the game like peoples faces looked like they were in higher detail but most of the back ground including a persons clothing outfit up close was low blurry detail. No Direct X 11?? Why?? No SLi?? Why?? While I'm at it, no PhysX?? I have 2 Nvidia GTX 460's in SLi in my computer. However Rage only uses one card and rarely pushes it past 80% load. My computer has since release had little trouble running this game. I've only had the game crash once. The textures do take longer to draw than any other games I've ever played on my PC. Considering the level of detail in them its hard to understand why it takes so long to draw. The reviewers who suggest this game has amazing graphics or the best graphics they've ever seen, I'm certain would really be impressed with some older games I've played with better graphics than Rage. The game is pretty easy. Even on the hardest setting it's not a hard game to play and win. I don't think I ever got through Doom 3 on nightmare but it was fun trying it and I didn't expect to anyway. Rage overall feels like the start of a good idea that never got finished. Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2011
    2
    i gave it a 2 simply because the graphics were great on my nvidia 275 oc ...if you got ati well, any game release is going to suck...Storyi gave it a 2 simply because the graphics were great on my nvidia 275 oc ...if you got ati well, any game release is going to suck...Story blows, gameplay is shallow and filled with filler... multiplayer is deserted on day 2.....i think you got the idea, worst game id has ever released to date.. Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2014
    1
    For PC, this game lives up to its name, as it brings unreal amounts of frustration and hatred towards the dev's at iD.

    I'm giving it a 1
    For PC, this game lives up to its name, as it brings unreal amounts of frustration and hatred towards the dev's at iD.

    I'm giving it a 1 because it's a fun game, but a only a 1 because it's a game that you can barely play (If you're able to play it at all).

    I've never, ever, EVER played a port so excruciatingly bad in my entire life
    The adventure begins at the menu as you struggle to have your cursor move smoothly, as it likes stopping in place, more than it does moving.

    I truly believe that the dev's had one person test this game for 15 minutes, and left the buyers to continue testing the game, only for there to be no final, working version.
    Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    The game doesn't work, it runs smooth but textures are bugged, spent two days trying everything, it won't work for me. I kinda feel like I'veThe game doesn't work, it runs smooth but textures are bugged, spent two days trying everything, it won't work for me. I kinda feel like I've been stolen, we should all bring them to court and get our money back, you can't get stuff that doesn't work on the market and steal peoples money like that, this should not be legal... Expand

See all 672 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.