Rage Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1632 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An action game set in a post-apocalyptic landscape jam-packed with driving and shooting, created by John Carmack and the rest of the Doom crew.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Rage - Gamespot Exclusive E3 Gameplay Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    In terms of RAGEs story, there is a lot of wasted potential in this otherwise brilliant shooter. The same could be said for the technical side of things, as RAGE undoubtedly looks good, but far from brilliant, "thanks" to its multiplatform-roots. Nevertheless: id's newest IP offers great atmosphere, spot-on gunplay, cool weapons, funny vehicle-combat and solid graphics; that leaves us hoping for Carmack's promised texture-patch.
  2. Oct 13, 2011
    86
    A must have for both fans of FPS and sandbox games because it succeeds in both genres. An addictive and furiously violent videogame that will be breathtaking for every action fan.
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    85
    It may lack the open-world versatility of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallout 3, the weapon diversity and sheer madness of Borderlands, yet it manages to provide thrilling corridor action and surprisingly well crafted racing that reasserts id's lofty position in the studio charts.
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    80
    Technically, Rage excels. The shooter mechanics are fantastic and the enemies vary in their tactics. However, the game starts to drag towards the (sudden) end, and the save system irritates.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    Rage won't change the FPS landscape, but it's beautiful to see in motion and a bombastic delight to play. [Dec 2011, p.52]
  6. Oct 21, 2011
    70
    I wasn't expecting miracles - the word "revolution" hasn't been associated with id Software for a long time. But still I was expecting an 8/10 game and even during E3 it seemed Rage would be just that. Unfortunatelly sometimes things simply don't work that way. Various flaws of the game - beginning with a fairly short single player, ending with technical issues - don't allow me to call it a well made product. I had fun, but that's not enough to praise a game that doesn't belong on a shelf labeled "hit".
  7. 45
    The threadbare story is filled with pointless motivations, poorly realised characters and bad dialogue - so cross out 'wanting to know what happens at the end'. The way the game challenges you is by simply sending more of the same at you and hoping you run out of ammo. It doesn't have story, it doesn't have gameplay - so why would you keep playing?

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the gameA thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the game with all the possible side quests. John Carmack has given one more winner. Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    This game has issues but its not a bad game. It reminds me of Doom 2; a game that I really liked. Speaking of Doom 2, back then I had a reallyThis game has issues but its not a bad game. It reminds me of Doom 2; a game that I really liked. Speaking of Doom 2, back then I had a really slow computer and I had to sometimes wait a relatively long time for stages to load but I had fun. However, one thing this game does not have is dumb enemies. I liked Gears of War mostly because of the challenging enemies. However, GoW2 and GoW3 made the enemies stupid in favor of eye candy. In rage I get both eye candy and challenging enemies (I'm not big into stories, which is what so many are complaining about, what happen to those same complaints for Fallout, which had dry static animation, a slowwwww moving plot, and damn near card board npcs) -- so at least for me the game gets a 9. Expand
  3. Oct 11, 2011
    8
    After finally getting the right video drivers for my E8400 and 5850, to get smooth FPS, the game was nice.
    Cool enemy animations, sick outdoor
    After finally getting the right video drivers for my E8400 and 5850, to get smooth FPS, the game was nice.
    Cool enemy animations, sick outdoor design, with themes of flesh and mech, as with all id tech games. Plus little bit rpg elements.
    Not really worth 60 bucks, unless you're fan of grotesque art style games, I guess, with classic sawed off double barrel shotty action.
    Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2011
    5
    Many years ago, id software made Quake and Doom very very good game. But now... What it is? It is so bad shooter. Very short single, bad coopMany years ago, id software made Quake and Doom very very good game. But now... What it is? It is so bad shooter. Very short single, bad coop and boring multiplayer! Very bad, id software, very bad! Expand
  5. Oct 4, 2011
    2
    Graphics are well done so are the animations, thats really all this game has going for it. Over the last decade we are noticing more and moreGraphics are well done so are the animations, thats really all this game has going for it. Over the last decade we are noticing more and more games turning into plane old shooters nothing more. This game is clearly only for those who like to run and gun and ignore everything else. Loot is not exciting at all, its find ammo and things to open doors for more ammo. There is not alot of originality to this game just alot of repetitive action. We have all already played games like this we should all save 60$$. Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2012
    1
    Oh dear, I must remember never again to look forward to a new ID game. After the somewhat awesomeness of quake wars enemy territory, I hadOh dear, I must remember never again to look forward to a new ID game. After the somewhat awesomeness of quake wars enemy territory, I had quite high hopes for the mention of a new title to add to my ever favourite game developers name and with mention of the new 'ID tech 5' engine I couldn't wait to pre-order this 'Big crazy shooter'.
    'ID tech 5' was actually just a slightly suped up bulletstorm engine and was used badly. The graphics are medioca at best with many glitches, boring combat and although there are a hell of a lot of weapons, they all seem a bit, samey. Co-op was also un-surprisingly boring with hour after hour of banging one's head against the wall trying to ****ing defibrillate yourself to life.
    I enjoyed the classic ID titles: Doom, quake (Oh, I could gush about quake SO MUCH) and wolfenstein but rage is a title that should bring ID shame as such a poor comparison.
    Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    The game doesn't work, it runs smooth but textures are bugged, spent two days trying everything, it won't work for me. I kinda feel like I'veThe game doesn't work, it runs smooth but textures are bugged, spent two days trying everything, it won't work for me. I kinda feel like I've been stolen, we should all bring them to court and get our money back, you can't get stuff that doesn't work on the market and steal peoples money like that, this should not be legal... Expand

See all 671 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.