Rage PC

Rage Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1623 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An action game set in a post-apocalyptic landscape jam-packed with driving and shooting, created by John Carmack and the rest of the Doom crew.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Rage - Gamespot Exclusive E3 Gameplay Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    In terms of RAGEs story, there is a lot of wasted potential in this otherwise brilliant shooter. The same could be said for the technical side of things, as RAGE undoubtedly looks good, but far from brilliant, "thanks" to its multiplatform-roots. Nevertheless: id's newest IP offers great atmosphere, spot-on gunplay, cool weapons, funny vehicle-combat and solid graphics; that leaves us hoping for Carmack's promised texture-patch.
  2. Oct 13, 2011
    86
    A must have for both fans of FPS and sandbox games because it succeeds in both genres. An addictive and furiously violent videogame that will be breathtaking for every action fan.
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    85
    It may lack the open-world versatility of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallout 3, the weapon diversity and sheer madness of Borderlands, yet it manages to provide thrilling corridor action and surprisingly well crafted racing that reasserts id's lofty position in the studio charts.
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    80
    Technically, Rage excels. The shooter mechanics are fantastic and the enemies vary in their tactics. However, the game starts to drag towards the (sudden) end, and the save system irritates.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    Rage won't change the FPS landscape, but it's beautiful to see in motion and a bombastic delight to play. [Dec 2011, p.52]
  6. Oct 21, 2011
    70
    I wasn't expecting miracles - the word "revolution" hasn't been associated with id Software for a long time. But still I was expecting an 8/10 game and even during E3 it seemed Rage would be just that. Unfortunatelly sometimes things simply don't work that way. Various flaws of the game - beginning with a fairly short single player, ending with technical issues - don't allow me to call it a well made product. I had fun, but that's not enough to praise a game that doesn't belong on a shelf labeled "hit".
  7. 45
    The threadbare story is filled with pointless motivations, poorly realised characters and bad dialogue - so cross out 'wanting to know what happens at the end'. The way the game challenges you is by simply sending more of the same at you and hoping you run out of ammo. It doesn't have story, it doesn't have gameplay - so why would you keep playing?

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the gameA thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the game with all the possible side quests. John Carmack has given one more winner. Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    This game has issues but its not a bad game. It reminds me of Doom 2; a game that I really liked. Speaking of Doom 2, back then I had a reallyThis game has issues but its not a bad game. It reminds me of Doom 2; a game that I really liked. Speaking of Doom 2, back then I had a really slow computer and I had to sometimes wait a relatively long time for stages to load but I had fun. However, one thing this game does not have is dumb enemies. I liked Gears of War mostly because of the challenging enemies. However, GoW2 and GoW3 made the enemies stupid in favor of eye candy. In rage I get both eye candy and challenging enemies (I'm not big into stories, which is what so many are complaining about, what happen to those same complaints for Fallout, which had dry static animation, a slowwwww moving plot, and damn near card board npcs) -- so at least for me the game gets a 9. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2014
    8
    The technical showcase of the IdTech 5 engine, and a solid FPS game in its own right.

    The premise of the game is pretty well set up. You
    The technical showcase of the IdTech 5 engine, and a solid FPS game in its own right.

    The premise of the game is pretty well set up. You survived an apocalyptic asteroid impact and emerge from your cocoon into a world radically changed by this event.

    Now I'm a sucker for post-apocalyptic fiction, so this review may come across as slightly biased.

    The storyline in and of itself is fairly good, well written, with some memorable characters. But it's not by any means genre-defining.

    The graphics are the main draw of RAGE. Featuring IDTech 5, it introduces a new rendering concept called "Megatexturing", in which instead of a multitude of textures comprising a game world, the world of RAGE is rendered with one massive texture over everything in the environment. An ambitious method, for sure.

    However, this technique is still very new, so there are a lot of quirks in the game such as texture pop-in and a green tint in dark environments. Not to mention that in order for the game to be able to run decently on most consumer hardware, the textures had to be greatly compressed from their original state, and the effects do show sometimes.

    One effect from this compression might be the aforementioned green tint, but also the textures in general may look fairly muddy and blurry, especially on consoles and lower-end hardware on PC.

    As Megatextures use a new transcoding method to render objects, SLI and Crossfire are not supported. The game will not even recognize anything beyond one GPU. I'm fairly optimistic that ID Software will address this with future titles though (I can't comment on Wolfenstein: New Order, as I have yet to play it myself on my SLI computer).

    But I digress...

    The gameplay itself is very solid and quite fun. ID Software is a master of the FPS genre, so as expected, the gunplay is extremely well presented and gives a visceral experience as enemies realistically react to localized damage.

    The multiplayer, however, feels a tacked on. But I had a lot of fun with co-op.

    I bought the game while it was on sale on Newegg back in late 2011, and I enjoyed the experience quite a bit.
    Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2011
    5
    Rage is OK. Not great and certainly not what I had expected. I told the clerk at the store where I Pre-bought Rage that I usually don'tRage is OK. Not great and certainly not what I had expected. I told the clerk at the store where I Pre-bought Rage that I usually don't pre-buy games. However with Rage being made by id Software I told the clerk "that's a company I trust to make an excellent PC game" so I pre-bought the game. The graphics have been advertised as "jaw dropping". My jaw dropped alright but only when I realized I was stuck with low resolution graphics. To be fair some parts of the game like peoples faces looked like they were in higher detail but most of the back ground including a persons clothing outfit up close was low blurry detail. No Direct X 11?? Why?? No SLi?? Why?? While I'm at it, no PhysX?? I have 2 Nvidia GTX 460's in SLi in my computer. However Rage only uses one card and rarely pushes it past 80% load. My computer has since release had little trouble running this game. I've only had the game crash once. The textures do take longer to draw than any other games I've ever played on my PC. Considering the level of detail in them its hard to understand why it takes so long to draw. The reviewers who suggest this game has amazing graphics or the best graphics they've ever seen, I'm certain would really be impressed with some older games I've played with better graphics than Rage. The game is pretty easy. Even on the hardest setting it's not a hard game to play and win. I don't think I ever got through Doom 3 on nightmare but it was fun trying it and I didn't expect to anyway. Rage overall feels like the start of a good idea that never got finished. Expand
  5. Oct 4, 2011
    2
    Graphics are well done so are the animations, thats really all this game has going for it. Over the last decade we are noticing more and moreGraphics are well done so are the animations, thats really all this game has going for it. Over the last decade we are noticing more and more games turning into plane old shooters nothing more. This game is clearly only for those who like to run and gun and ignore everything else. Loot is not exciting at all, its find ammo and things to open doors for more ammo. There is not alot of originality to this game just alot of repetitive action. We have all already played games like this we should all save 60$$. Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2012
    1
    Mac version... I DLed this from the App Store (£27) having heard it's similar to Borderlands. OMG what a mistake. Filled withMac version... I DLed this from the App Store (£27) having heard it's similar to Borderlands. OMG what a mistake. Filled with technical glitches, which meant it took 2hrs to even get playing. Driver support for controllers is a nightmare; I lost count of the number of times I went through various processes, restarted my iMac, etc, etc, before finally getting the blasted thing to work. The game itself is filled with dire, dull, excruciatingly bland cut-scenes which cannot be skipped. Replete with characters it's tremendously hard to give a monkey's about, and who spiel out the most unutterably bland dialogue. "I'm a mechanic. You can fix your car here. Press Y to have me fix your car. You can also call me by radio..." Bluergh. I've taken to checking my emails / cutting away from Rage whilst the dull-as-ditchwater cutscenes play out. Gameplay is uninspiring. The RPG / upgradeable element is almost non-existent. 'Choose one of four armour suits, which'll give you a static benefit throughout the game.' Great. Firing weapons is remarkably tedious: all weapons have 100% predictable stats (unlike Borderlands), with crosshairs that *do not waver one inch*, even in hyper-zoomed sniper rifle mode. There's no element of chance, either; every weapon (even the pistol) hits 100% if your entirely stable crosshairs are 100% on the target. Bleurgh. Silent weapons - afaict, and having completed the single campaign - are utterly pointless, bringing no benefits whatsoever. Even the potentially interesting weapons - like mind control bolts - turn out to be futile 95% of the time, and only marginally less useful than usual bullets the other 5%. AI is dull. Everyone behaves the same. Everyone seeks exactly the same cover points: keep throwing grenades until everything's obliterated. Things only get remotely interesting in the later levels, with LARGE hordes of melee fighters. Penultimately, the racing rapidly switches between ridiculously easy and a matter of raw luck; the 'driving' aspect of the game only brings 4 cars with it, each of which have a very finite number of worthwhile upgrades. Finally, the campaign is chuffing tiny. Like, 11hrs and 20 minutes in - and I thought I was taking things slowly - I've finished a 'normal' campaign. Replay value feels minimal, though I'm trying to gather the inspiration to have a go at 'hard' or 'nightmare.' Compare that with Borderlands - the best part of a year on, I've got 2 characters running the various campaigns, with well over 60hrs of gameplay between them. I was kinda stunned when I realised I'd finished Rage, in a very much 'is that ACTUALLY it?!' kinda way. On any replays, I'll look for a bit more in the way of side missions / exploring... but I get the feeling there isn't much there. All in all, vapid, dull, characterless, bland. Beautiful scenery. But - good grief - I really can't understand why anyone would choose this over Borderlands. Or even Bioshock (or Bioshock 2, soon to be released). Particularly on a Mac, at the moment, Rage is nowhere near worth it. Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    The game doesn't work, it runs smooth but textures are bugged, spent two days trying everything, it won't work for me. I kinda feel like I'veThe game doesn't work, it runs smooth but textures are bugged, spent two days trying everything, it won't work for me. I kinda feel like I've been stolen, we should all bring them to court and get our money back, you can't get stuff that doesn't work on the market and steal peoples money like that, this should not be legal... Expand

See all 671 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.