Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1545 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An action game set in a post-apocalyptic landscape jam-packed with driving and shooting, created by John Carmack and the rest of the Doom crew.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    In terms of RAGEs story, there is a lot of wasted potential in this otherwise brilliant shooter. The same could be said for the technical side of things, as RAGE undoubtedly looks good, but far from brilliant, "thanks" to its multiplatform-roots. Nevertheless: id's newest IP offers great atmosphere, spot-on gunplay, cool weapons, funny vehicle-combat and solid graphics; that leaves us hoping for Carmack's promised texture-patch.
  2. Oct 13, 2011
    86
    A must have for both fans of FPS and sandbox games because it succeeds in both genres. An addictive and furiously violent videogame that will be breathtaking for every action fan.
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    85
    It may lack the open-world versatility of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallout 3, the weapon diversity and sheer madness of Borderlands, yet it manages to provide thrilling corridor action and surprisingly well crafted racing that reasserts id's lofty position in the studio charts.
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    80
    Technically, Rage excels. The shooter mechanics are fantastic and the enemies vary in their tactics. However, the game starts to drag towards the (sudden) end, and the save system irritates.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    Rage won't change the FPS landscape, but it's beautiful to see in motion and a bombastic delight to play. [Dec 2011, p.52]
  6. Oct 21, 2011
    70
    I wasn't expecting miracles - the word "revolution" hasn't been associated with id Software for a long time. But still I was expecting an 8/10 game and even during E3 it seemed Rage would be just that. Unfortunatelly sometimes things simply don't work that way. Various flaws of the game - beginning with a fairly short single player, ending with technical issues - don't allow me to call it a well made product. I had fun, but that's not enough to praise a game that doesn't belong on a shelf labeled "hit".
  7. 45
    The threadbare story is filled with pointless motivations, poorly realised characters and bad dialogue - so cross out 'wanting to know what happens at the end'. The way the game challenges you is by simply sending more of the same at you and hoping you run out of ammo. It doesn't have story, it doesn't have gameplay - so why would you keep playing?

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the gameA thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the game with all the possible side quests. John Carmack has given one more winner. Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2011
    9
    Minor technical issues aside â
  3. Dec 26, 2011
    8
    Very fun game, fast and dynamic, the graphics are great too, i think that they have fixed the problems that the players were having in theVery fun game, fast and dynamic, the graphics are great too, i think that they have fixed the problems that the players were having in the release. The story is fine. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    5
    I played it on STEAM just a bit ago, it took me 19 hours trying to get everything and find everything and I am utterly dissapointed, TheI played it on STEAM just a bit ago, it took me 19 hours trying to get everything and find everything and I am utterly dissapointed, The ending just, ends. No explanation, no boss battle, no closure. I was enjoying the game 'ok' but kept feeling like something was going to happen. I kinda felt like the 'bad' guys had no reason to be labeled 'bad'. I never actually saw them do anything wrong. I thought there would be some kind of 'surprise! they aren't bad!' ending, but no.. bland and derpy. The character animations and textures are great and I didn't encounter any bugs aside from intentionally glitching out of the level once. I really wanted to know more about the people but each one only has maybe 5 lines of dialogue. The game is gorgeous as long as you stand still as if looking at a painting; quick movements cause texture pop-'up' not really pop-in, but sort of uprezzing on the fly. Even with a modern AMD 7850 and Intel 3570. In short, a huge let down, could have been so much more and leaves me with a dead feeling. Not recommended even at bargain prices since the ending is such a letdown. The DLC is absolutely worthless. Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2011
    2
    Another botched Steamworks release to add to Dead Island, Homefront, Duke Nukem Forever. Why do developers continue to use Steamworks it addsAnother botched Steamworks release to add to Dead Island, Homefront, Duke Nukem Forever. Why do developers continue to use Steamworks it adds nothing except more hassle to the PC gamer. No obvious QA standards publishers/developers can self-publish broken games @ launch no-one @ Steam seems to care there is minimal QA as they are too busy counting the profit margin!

    RAGE is just horrible. Maybe 5 years ago it would have ebeen something now its just a clone of Fallout3/Borderlands minus all the good parts but saddled with a broken concept of texture streaming via megatextures regardless of how good your PC is.

    ID sold out when they were bought by Zenimax now they have forever tarnished their previously excellent reputation so PC gamers will be very cautious about future releases.

    Tragic boring game & tragic downfall of ID From hero to zero in the space of a single game.
    Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm giving this game 1 point for living up to its name. By the time I was done I felt a bit of rage.
    Story/dialogue: Really weak. The mayor of "Subway Town" is supposed to be this big bad ass you have to impress to be able to stay around, then a couple missions later "The Authority" shows up and he is gone. No explanation, no resolution, he is just gone. I would assume he is dead, but the writers couldn't be bothered to actually write the story. Then the ending... wow such fail. Even though throughout the game you see the Arks as broken down and mostly full of dead people, the end of the game is when you make the rest of the Arks around the world surface. End scene. Really, look it up, it sucks. Even if we assume that the other Arks worked, why would they join the resistance against the stupid authority? Why does the game end without actually winning the war?
    Gameplay: Mostly boring. This is an area with so much missed potential. All of the different ammo types and little killing machines you can craft should have been awesome, but they just didn't work out. RC bombs always get shot before they reach their target, and the armor "effective" ammo is anything but. Also, why does it take precisely 2 perfectly aimed sniper headshots to kill a guy, when you clearly see a good liter of blood fly out of his head on the first one? Why does it take more than one point blank shotgun blast to the face to kill an un-armored human? This is what I call artificially inflating the difficulty and killing any possible fun. The lack of a map in towns is just ridiculous. I had a story mission to turn in to "Carlson" after taking a break from the game for a couple months, and with no map, no nav points, and no hints on where in town he would be I had to google it. Lame. Then later had to google where to find someone else. If the game wants me to literally make friends with the characters and remember their names, then they should at least have some personality or something.
    There is also a big chunk of racing mini games, but I was bored of them immediately and skipped it. Maybe that was the good part of the game.
    Graphics: Decent, as long as you don't turn your head. Textures pop in and out as you pan the view around. I don't play games for the graphics, but this was kind of annoying. I would rather just have lower res textures.

    Also, the comparisons to Borderlands should not be happening. This game is nothing like Borderlands. At all. If anything it was trying to be a Fallout clone, but it failed at that.
    Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    The game doesn't work, it runs smooth but textures are bugged, spent two days trying everything, it won't work for me. I kinda feel like I'veThe game doesn't work, it runs smooth but textures are bugged, spent two days trying everything, it won't work for me. I kinda feel like I've been stolen, we should all bring them to court and get our money back, you can't get stuff that doesn't work on the market and steal peoples money like that, this should not be legal... Expand

See all 673 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.