Ragnarok Online 2: Legend of the Second Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ragnarok returns to give you more online role-playing action. Ragnarok Online 2 is the sequel to Ragnarok Online, which sported anime-style graphics.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    54
    Ragnarok Online 2, at the end of the day, is an interesting MMO with some tragic design decisions. The good news is that most of these issues can be fixed, so long as the companies choose to fix them. I imagine the Ragnarok IP of old could be popular again one day, but for the time being, most people will want to let leave this title for the carrion.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    50
    It tries to balance between tried and true mechanics of World of Warcraft and the ideas that made the first Ragnarok popular. The outcome is mediocre – boring combat, gameplay based on uninspired quests (‘kill 20 of those’) and small, almost linear world. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.65]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 34
  2. Negative: 28 out of 34
  1. May 1, 2013
    9
    An amazing experience.
    Classes are your basic for any MMORPG but do a much better job than other games at handling them
    Combos really flow
    well.
    Jobs are amazing. Farming is not hard but not easy. All jobs such as cooking provide you with different benefits, feel free to go what you want. The game has wonderful graphics, amazing for a free to play game.
    People may give this 0/10 for not living up as a sequel, but that is not it's job, we are reviewing this game, not how well it did compared to it's predecessor.
    Overall, this game has amazing music, basic to moderate story, great graphics, wonderfully polished classes and professions, bosses, player interactions.. it is easily the best f2p mmo out there.
    Expand
  2. May 9, 2013
    5
    Ive noticed there are a ton of 0s and 1s and the like for this game, and I really dont think it is deserving of a 0 or 1 by any means, and those 0s or 1s are likely from people that are expressing their anger instead of actually properly reviewing the game for what it is.

    What the game is, is a generic run-of-the-mill F2P Korean-style MMORPG that takes place in the Ragnarok universe.

    It is not an outstandingly horrible game like how many scores give it, and if you think that Ragnarok Online 2 is a 0 or 1... then you havent truly played a horrible game.

    Dont get me wrong, I am a big fan of the original Ragnarok Online, and I am also disappointed in what this game has become, but really, if you think this game is worse than something like Bad Rats... you have issues.

    anyways, on to the actual review.

    RO2 has been in the making for years upon years, and it basically dropped off the radar for me for quite a long time until I saw the announcement that it was going to be available on Steam. Given that I was a fan of the original game, I decided to give it a try, not knowing what to expect.

    the positives:
    Less issues on launch with the servers than most other highly anticipated MMOs
    The 2D art for the game is still superb

    the negatives:
    they ripped out the Ragnarok Online "feel" and replaced everything with a generic 3D F2P Korean-style MMORPG feel
    Game engine feels like its more than half a decade old...
    Very limited settings (ex: camera sensitivity is in the stratosphere with no option to change it)
    LOTS of bugs
    LOTS of lag
    Poor localization

    So in the end, the game got boring extremely fast due to the crazy grindy nature (which Koreans tend to have a fetish with), and what was left of the the charm of the Ragnarok Online universe was easy worn through, with everything looking cheap. There just isnt enough about the game that can set it apart from the massive sea of mediocre MMORPGs out there.

    the only thing that makes it stand out in any way was the fact that it was in the Ragnarok universe, the rest of everything is as mediocre beyond anything.
    Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    3
    This game is awful. Poor, cartoony graphics, clunky gameplay, and bizarre game mechanics makes for a terrible game. Ragnarok tries combine a million different MMO style into one and does it poorly. Avoid this game Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    2
    This game lacks so many features of typical mmos it's hardly even a skeleton of a game. You'll be spending hours grinding on fetch quest with nearly every quest being identical go here kill or gather a certain amount of quest items dropped from monsters repeat sometimes with some boring dialogue inbetween to try and add in a story. The combat is simply clicking a single button repeatedly over and over to do more damage. if you can get past the first 30ish levels you'll be able to promote your class to the next tier problem is the game has no refunds, so if your placed points into skills to simply test them out guess what your screwed and stuck with that build unless you pay for in the cash shop. There's 4 job classes in the game that gather materials off the corpses of enemies to make items on paper it seems nice having a huge variety of different items for each job, problem is that every item in that list are horribly generic and do the same thing as something made previously except slightly better.
    The loot is boring the only thing remotely interesting is the card system which is used to insert cards into equipment but that's also fairly limited.
    Avoid spending money on this game wait until they either add new content or completely remake the game as it is right now it's horribly dull and repetitive.
    Expand
  5. May 5, 2013
    1
    It's an MMO, one could expect some issues, but RO2's are far worse then just the usual problems when an MMO launches.

    First, it's an MMO
    with quests, very generic, nothing new, nothing fancy. It's F2P so you won't waste any hard earned money but you'll waste time.

    Second, it's very repetitive and if you want action, you'll get bored fast.

    third, good luck logging into the game, that alone is a quest by itself.
    Collapse
  6. Oct 22, 2013
    0
    This game was released in working order and with every patch they create more bugs. The common term most people used before 99% of the community up and left in rage was BUGNORAK. Not only this they seem to spend 99% of the office hours on keeping up with moderating the forums because sooo many people have negative things to say not only concerning bugs. The publishers also play the game and give out free items only playing favorites. Whole guilds leave constantly because the end game content is so buggy everyone exploits it and every time they play favorites by taking the castle away from one exploiter only to give it to another. There are soooo many things wrong with this game and blatant lack of care shown by the developers and publishers.

    That being said they will wrongfully ban people not using exploits and not ban the people actually using them. There is nothing but case after case of poor customer support and seriously this games redeeming qualitys are being ruined by a greedy company every day. No apologies have ever been given out for any game breaking bugs, and believe me every patch there is dozens of bugs and exploits introduced.
    Expand
  7. May 11, 2013
    0
    This game sucks need I say more? ok...I'll elaborate.

    1. Your generic f2p mmo with outdated graphics, poor optimaztion not even AA is
    enabled.
    2. Music is uninspiring and forgettable, I found myself muting the game and listening to RO1 sound tracks.
    3. HORRIBLE voice acting, people's voice do not match their appearance (a young looking npc sounding like a 70 year old lady) and the same phrase being repeated by all NPC (Something with my sword honour with my shield, rings a bell?)
    3. Combat extremely boring, mixed in with the same quest over and over again.
    5. Combat extremely easy, I have not died a single time this entire time.
    4. The quest system can be summarized into 3 sections: meet people, kill stuff, fedex. (not kidding, not a single variety)

    Overall this is a just another horrible, bland, generic and boring mmo branded with a title of a once great game, I see this game dying very soon like all the other low budget f2p mmos out there

    RIP my childhood
    Expand

See all 34 User Reviews