Ragnarok Online 2: Legend of the Second Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ragnarok returns to give you more online role-playing action. Ragnarok Online 2 is the sequel to Ragnarok Online, which sported anime-style graphics.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    54
    Ragnarok Online 2, at the end of the day, is an interesting MMO with some tragic design decisions. The good news is that most of these issues can be fixed, so long as the companies choose to fix them. I imagine the Ragnarok IP of old could be popular again one day, but for the time being, most people will want to let leave this title for the carrion.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    50
    It tries to balance between tried and true mechanics of World of Warcraft and the ideas that made the first Ragnarok popular. The outcome is mediocre – boring combat, gameplay based on uninspired quests (‘kill 20 of those’) and small, almost linear world. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.65]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 33
  2. Negative: 27 out of 33
  1. May 1, 2013
    9
    An amazing experience.
    Classes are your basic for any MMORPG but do a much better job than other games at handling them
    Combos really flow
    well.
    Jobs are amazing. Farming is not hard but not easy. All jobs such as cooking provide you with different benefits, feel free to go what you want. The game has wonderful graphics, amazing for a free to play game.
    People may give this 0/10 for not living up as a sequel, but that is not it's job, we are reviewing this game, not how well it did compared to it's predecessor.
    Overall, this game has amazing music, basic to moderate story, great graphics, wonderfully polished classes and professions, bosses, player interactions.. it is easily the best f2p mmo out there.
    Expand
  2. May 9, 2013
    5
    Ive noticed there are a ton of 0s and 1s and the like for this game, and I really dont think it is deserving of a 0 or 1 by any means, and those 0s or 1s are likely from people that are expressing their anger instead of actually properly reviewing the game for what it is.

    What the game is, is a generic run-of-the-mill F2P Korean-style MMORPG that takes place in the Ragnarok universe.

    It is not an outstandingly horrible game like how many scores give it, and if you think that Ragnarok Online 2 is a 0 or 1... then you havent truly played a horrible game.

    Dont get me wrong, I am a big fan of the original Ragnarok Online, and I am also disappointed in what this game has become, but really, if you think this game is worse than something like Bad Rats... you have issues.

    anyways, on to the actual review.

    RO2 has been in the making for years upon years, and it basically dropped off the radar for me for quite a long time until I saw the announcement that it was going to be available on Steam. Given that I was a fan of the original game, I decided to give it a try, not knowing what to expect.

    the positives:
    Less issues on launch with the servers than most other highly anticipated MMOs
    The 2D art for the game is still superb

    the negatives:
    they ripped out the Ragnarok Online "feel" and replaced everything with a generic 3D F2P Korean-style MMORPG feel
    Game engine feels like its more than half a decade old...
    Very limited settings (ex: camera sensitivity is in the stratosphere with no option to change it)
    LOTS of bugs
    LOTS of lag
    Poor localization

    So in the end, the game got boring extremely fast due to the crazy grindy nature (which Koreans tend to have a fetish with), and what was left of the the charm of the Ragnarok Online universe was easy worn through, with everything looking cheap. There just isnt enough about the game that can set it apart from the massive sea of mediocre MMORPGs out there.

    the only thing that makes it stand out in any way was the fact that it was in the Ragnarok universe, the rest of everything is as mediocre beyond anything.
    Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    3
    This game is awful. Poor, cartoony graphics, clunky gameplay, and bizarre game mechanics makes for a terrible game. Ragnarok tries combine a million different MMO style into one and does it poorly. Avoid this game Collapse
  4. Apr 5, 2014
    2
    Like Diablo 3 to Diablo 2. This game fail its predecessor.
    But unlike Diablo 3.
    This game FAIL like a LOT.
    Tons of mechanics are gone.
    All
    skills are uninteresting.
    If you notice. all skills are boring and straightforwardly dull.
    Its about damage and damage and damage again and again and again.

    Youll get about 2 same skills on the same skill tree that does dot.
    The higher one does the same thing but more damage...

    The skill that does strange thing like disarming your opponents and many other things in RO 1 is gone.

    And the card system is not an improvement.
    RO 2 card system is a major fallback from the whole series.
    Its all about stats, stats and stats.
    No cool/ strange mechanics. Its all bout stats.
    not to mention now there is no cool weapon that does this or that.
    Higher level weapon means more damage and stats. Thats it.
    It suffers from the same problem with D3 vanilla. Stats sticks everywhere.
    Expand
  5. May 3, 2013
    1
    An absolute borefest of a game, and an almost carbon copy of every other unimaginative free to play Korean mmorpg ever made. I'm not a veteran of this games predecessor, but having heard good things about the original Ragnarok Online, I decided to give this a shot.

    Having circumvented the usual login issues that are pretty much standard with today's mmo releases, I was greeted with some cheerful music cool looking character creation screen, however it was all downhill from here. The first thing that jumped out at me was a lack of racial choices, you can either be a human or nothing at all. Next up you get to customize your character, when I say customize I actually mean you can change their hair and facial features. That's right no height adjustment or body build, you pick your pre-set over the top anime hair, give it a weird color, decide if your character is moody or off his face on cocaine levels of happy and off you go. This naturally means that every character in this entire game looks the same, also the hyper feminine males mean that telling the difference based even on sex is almost impossible without some serious investigation.

    Upon entering the world your greeted by a short story detailing a classic struggle against good and evil (probably relating to the original Ragnarok Online), and your set loose. Set loose to perform endless fetch quests that is. That's right every single quest in this game is a fetch quest, even old school games like wow managed to add a little bit of variety into their quest repertoire. As for graphics, they're mediocre, a bit better than wow, but you rarely notice due to the bland area's they're rendering and the fact that all the characters look the same.

    I played a acolyte, which to the uninitiated is a healer class. Now standard mmo fare is to give healers a reasonable set of offensive skills that they can use to level up, but that at endgame are greatly outclassed by DPS classes. In Ragnarok Online II however you get a grand total of one useful offensive spell, a useless multi target spell, a dot (damage over time) and a weak instant cast offensive spell. So my entire time was spent pulling enemies with a dot and casting the same spell over, and over, and over again. Now before I get a bunch of flak, I don't expect healers to be as fun to dps with as other classes, I do however expect to have more than one useful attack.

    And finally upon reaching level 25 I was able to change from a acolyte to a cleric, and get a bunch of shiny new skills. Oh wait, you want to reset your skills to make best use of your new class? Cash shop time! It costs $10 to reset your skills or stats, and $15 to reset both, so if you want to modify your character to fit your play style this Ragnarok Online II is not going to be cheap. Also this Ragnarok Online II has some sneaky play to win features cleverly hidden in the cash shop as "VIP accounts". These give you a flat set of stat boosts along with a hefty movement speed increase for those who want to pay to have the edge over their compatriots.

    The UI is a mess of spelling mistakes, poor English and glitches with some windows not even opening upon clicking the relevant icon. This would be acceptable if this were the first release of this game, but it's not, this was released over a year ago in Korea meaning they've had over a year to iron these issues out prior to international release. The fact that this hasn't happened is testament to the pure laziness that permeates almost every aspect of this game, and to top it all off the voice acting, is incredibly annoying, over the top, and poorly volumed.

    Finally, in conclusion Ragnarok Online II takes what was a cornerstone of classic mmo gaming, and completely destroys it, while dancing on the ashes and sticking two fingers up at you. While i'm sure there's some nostalgia value here for veterans of Ragnarok Online, the tedium you have to bear to get at it is certainly not worth it.

    In short avoid this game.
    Expand
  6. May 10, 2013
    1
    Honestly, i'm deeply disgusted by this game. Being someone who played the original Ragnarok, the game has strayed so far from its roots that I no long recognise it. The gameplay has became linear, taking on the MMO style "trinity" system, boring linear quests that anyone who has played an MMO will be sick to death of completing. My third complaint, and probably the biggest for me, is that the animation and art style is actually worse. The sprites from the old game had better detail, depth and animations compared to this newer version. Overall I would suggest this game to nobody, maybe those who have yet to touch an MMO as it will be a new experience but what this game does is nothing new and that they have deeply upset me by calling this game the sequel to a great game. Expand
  7. Oct 22, 2013
    0
    This game was released in working order and with every patch they create more bugs. The common term most people used before 99% of the community up and left in rage was BUGNORAK. Not only this they seem to spend 99% of the office hours on keeping up with moderating the forums because sooo many people have negative things to say not only concerning bugs. The publishers also play the game and give out free items only playing favorites. Whole guilds leave constantly because the end game content is so buggy everyone exploits it and every time they play favorites by taking the castle away from one exploiter only to give it to another. There are soooo many things wrong with this game and blatant lack of care shown by the developers and publishers.

    That being said they will wrongfully ban people not using exploits and not ban the people actually using them. There is nothing but case after case of poor customer support and seriously this games redeeming qualitys are being ruined by a greedy company every day. No apologies have ever been given out for any game breaking bugs, and believe me every patch there is dozens of bugs and exploits introduced.
    Expand

See all 33 User Reviews