Railroad Tycoon 3 PC

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 57
  2. Negative: 7 out of 57
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. L.Burgess
    Oct 26, 2003
    3
    Great graphics, awful gameplay i am really disappointed......the track laying routine blows, no signals!, no options to even do minor terrain leveling to smooth the bumps.....this is a major oversight and kills the game.
  2. KarstenK.
    Apr 30, 2004
    1
    Don't believe the anonymous critics who are trying to push up the average score on RRT3. The gameplay is broken and the graphics are mediocre. Buy RRT2 instead, if you don't have it yet.
  3. BarryD.
    Jun 3, 2007
    6
    Although much improved feature-wise over its predecessors, there is a lack of focus on railways. It is quite simple to gain a boatload of money by buying industries and not laying any tracks except to complete the goal. Otherwise, a good game, especially with the more realistic economy.
  4. J.F.M.
    Nov 8, 2003
    6
    Ok, Cool graphics and a better Economic Model are Great, but the availible maps and senarios are very poor. Where is the US Map? Where is the Transcontenantle senario? I also wish they had spent more time improving the RR operations model.
  5. FilthyIke
    Nov 26, 2005
    1
    This is a very late vote, seeing as how you can't find this game anymore, but I wanted to make it clear that this game was pushed out WAY before it was ready and crashes often. Here is a hint to the manufacturers (Tropico), if you want my buisness ever again, make a game that works. Should there be a question as to whether or not it should be compatable with the latest version of Windows?
  6. Feb 11, 2011
    9
    Actually, this game isnt just for trainspotters. Well, not quite but the graphics are excellent even now to an extent and the management abilities are incredible. I played this after being a big fan of rollercoaster tycoon games and although you cant spend hours killing guests, it maintains the economic side and has more missions than you would ever believe. Also, its actually possibleActually, this game isnt just for trainspotters. Well, not quite but the graphics are excellent even now to an extent and the management abilities are incredible. I played this after being a big fan of rollercoaster tycoon games and although you cant spend hours killing guests, it maintains the economic side and has more missions than you would ever believe. Also, its actually possible to make money, a stunning achievement comparitively. Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Despite its age, new maps and scenarios are still popping up on line. Most scenarios are easy, but some can be really challenging (according to my critics). I must admit, however, that I fell in love with RT 2 when the 1st train pulled out of the station in the Tutorial, while I hated RT 3 until I was in the 2nd Tutorial scenario and that it took the 1.05 patch to make the game a 10. IfDespite its age, new maps and scenarios are still popping up on line. Most scenarios are easy, but some can be really challenging (according to my critics). I must admit, however, that I fell in love with RT 2 when the 1st train pulled out of the station in the Tutorial, while I hated RT 3 until I was in the 2nd Tutorial scenario and that it took the 1.05 patch to make the game a 10. If you try to play this game out of the box in Vista or higher, it might not work, but a patch is availble at http://hawkdawg.com/rrt/rrt3/rrt3.htm

    There's also new scenarios and help availble at that sitealong with a 1.06 user patch and lots of really neat railroad cars to replace the generic ones that come with the game.
    Expand
  8. TimothyG.
    Oct 30, 2003
    0
    While the game does have good graphics, the gameplay is is down right awful. The trains do not even slow down on steep grades, I had one of the first trains go right up a 15% grade without even slowing down. Also the train zoom by even at 40 MPH. Cargo automaticly gets move to the nearest city, so you do not need to bring it in, to me a big part of the 2nd game. But the biggest letdown While the game does have good graphics, the gameplay is is down right awful. The trains do not even slow down on steep grades, I had one of the first trains go right up a 15% grade without even slowing down. Also the train zoom by even at 40 MPH. Cargo automaticly gets move to the nearest city, so you do not need to bring it in, to me a big part of the 2nd game. But the biggest letdown was the lack of option when starting a endless game, and the size of the maps, there is NO U.S. map just part of the U.S. all taking together the only good thing about Railroad Tycoon 3 is the Graphics. Expand
  9. AnonymousMC
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    This is by far one of the most enjoyable RTS games I've played. Not even those decent war games can compete. What this game has is charm and challenge, both never overdone in the slightest. A game where you can mini or micro manage and still get the same results. my copy was damaged on purchase and I couldn't see all the cutscenes, which is a shame because the game featuresThis is by far one of the most enjoyable RTS games I've played. Not even those decent war games can compete. What this game has is charm and challenge, both never overdone in the slightest. A game where you can mini or micro manage and still get the same results. my copy was damaged on purchase and I couldn't see all the cutscenes, which is a shame because the game features beautiful scenes before EVERY mission. I honestly reccomend this to RTS or train fans. Expand
  10. GS
    Oct 30, 2003
    7
    Looks great, plays much like it's predecessors (a GOOD thing) with some enhancements. As a downside, I've experienced occasional crashes to the desktop and corrupted save files. Let's hope they fix it soon!
  11. MarkS.
    Feb 14, 2005
    8
    While I still believe that Railroad Tycoon 2 is still the biggest leap in the genra, RR3 is a great game. The 3D is great, but it wears thin after awhile. Some aspects of the game are limited, like the track building. I do like the new cargo movement. The patches are great. The only major problem is that the game is buggy on Windows XP, the sound breaksup and the game crashes every once While I still believe that Railroad Tycoon 2 is still the biggest leap in the genra, RR3 is a great game. The 3D is great, but it wears thin after awhile. Some aspects of the game are limited, like the track building. I do like the new cargo movement. The patches are great. The only major problem is that the game is buggy on Windows XP, the sound breaksup and the game crashes every once in awhile. I believe that this is the next step in the evloution, but I think there is room for improvement, which might be there way of getting me to buy version 4. Expand
  12. RichC.
    Mar 4, 2006
    8
    Great way to waste a week of (sleepless) nights. Economic model is confusing, and could use a little guidance, but otherwise a fine product.
  13. BillL.
    Sep 8, 2006
    9
    The game is fun to play. It is fairly easy to pick up but you can get caught up in lots of details. There are many solutions to the same problems. Sometimes an economic or industrial solution works best, other times simply haul loads between key places on the given maps. Many 3rd party maps and scenarios are available of various qualities. On the downside, I do not like the new track The game is fun to play. It is fairly easy to pick up but you can get caught up in lots of details. There are many solutions to the same problems. Sometimes an economic or industrial solution works best, other times simply haul loads between key places on the given maps. Many 3rd party maps and scenarios are available of various qualities. On the downside, I do not like the new track laying controls RRT 2 allowed much more control in laying track in tight places. Expand
  14. [Anonymous]
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    If you liked the past Railroad Tycoon series, you'll love this one even more!
  15. SjaakK.
    Oct 29, 2003
    10
    It is very good.
  16. BrianN.
    Aug 24, 2006
    9
    Fun strategy, NOT A SIMULATION GAME. Has never crashed after playing months, others must have unpatched or pirate copies. Automatic movement of truckable goods is realistic and GREAT. The level of action is right. The routine for laying track is poor, it often get blocked by houses instead of going around them. Thi si sthe only annoying item in the game, and that says alot. Laying track Fun strategy, NOT A SIMULATION GAME. Has never crashed after playing months, others must have unpatched or pirate copies. Automatic movement of truckable goods is realistic and GREAT. The level of action is right. The routine for laying track is poor, it often get blocked by houses instead of going around them. Thi si sthe only annoying item in the game, and that says alot. Laying track in a couple of patches allows you to do what is needed, but would love to be able to use the cursor keys like RRT1. Trains do slow down on hills when they have weight with them, they even use momentum. Another falsehood betrayed by others. Hundreds of hours of great entertainment, a fantastic game. Expand
  17. KadeH.
    Oct 19, 2003
    10
    Love the graphics engine, it's pretty! This game is more addictive than anything else. A must have.
  18. AnonymousMC
    Aug 14, 2008
    9
    Brilliant!

    Economic model is not confusing, it is just more complex than your typical (basic) game. The graphics are not as flash as modern games, but are good enough for the job.

    I am still playing it now, in 2008. If I could only have one game, it would be this or COH:OF.
  19. Dec 2, 2013
    7
    Nice graphics but this game is too easy.
    Can be fun at beginning, but after you'll learn now to play...it's even easier than RT2.

    Best thing in this game is...window mode.
    This is allowing me to play poker during game :D
  20. Nov 27, 2015
    8
    Good game. Always been one of my favorites. Consider RT2 to be a bit better, unfortunately many sim/tycoon games when they get more sequals they are being dumbed down to appeal to the masses rather then the real tycoon lovers. Still is a great game though
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Few business games currently on the market are as enjoyable as this one.
  2. I'm a big believer in the theory a great game always has that "just one more game" feeling, and Railroad Tycoon 3 delivers that in spades.
  3. The game is much more accessible and deeper at the same time, but doesn’t force too much simplicity or complexity on anyone. In those regards, it’s perfect.