Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    70
    This game was made for a target audience in mind, and it does well for the target audience. If you think you'd be into simulation games, particularly train simulators, you won't be able to find a better one than this.
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    79
    RailWorks 3: Train Simulator 2012 has a lot to offer those that have a diehard passion for trains of all types. It definitely adds some new features to the series that they will appreciate.
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    67
    Train Simulator 2012 is good at what it does but unfortunately that will appeal to a very narrow audience. Diehard train enthusiasts will love the incredible details and depth of gameplay but it will be lost on everyone else. Hardcore hobbyists need only apply.
  4. Oct 11, 2011
    50
    Train Simulator 2012 has its audience that will appreciate everything the game has to offer. Train enthusiasts will be able to look past the graphics and solely focus on the fact that this game offers an unrivaled simulation. However, every other player that either casually likes trains or is unenthused by locomotives will find Train Simulator 2012 to be an interesting concept that is easy to get into, but is often too complicated and dry to offer up more than a few hours of meaningful gameplay.
  5. Jan 16, 2012
    80
    A great way to try your hand at driving a train. Unfortunately, load times are long and DLCs all cost extra, but optional simplified controls and a great look with many details and weather effects make this a good game. If you like trains, but can't or won't go for a miniature train, this simulation is for you.
  6. Oct 19, 2011
    70
    Okay, so it was vaguely interesting for me, but, train nuts out there, by all means add a point or two to the score. It's a niche sim, but it does exactly what it says on the tin, does it fairly well, and has only a few bugs, none of which are truly gamebreaking due to the nature of the game and its community.
  7. Sep 29, 2011
    40
    It's interesting enough for a quick look but Train Simulator 2012 is only for devout train fanatics.
  8. Nov 26, 2011
    76
    Too similar to RailWorks 2 to be a sequel, and with little fresh content, but the series is chugging along in the right direction.
  9. Sep 22, 2011
    60
    To be blunt, TS2012 is a hard game to score. It's a fearsomely niche title (and I play Paradox strategy games for heaven's sake) with a fanbase who'll be judging it by a completely different set of criteria. To them, the interest may be in how accurately the Horseshoe Curve is represented or the potential for inclusion of their favourite engine. My job is to critique it as a game.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    0
    I can tell from reading the rest of the reviews here that I'll get a lot of flak for saying this, but here goes... I'm going to be blunt here:I can tell from reading the rest of the reviews here that I'll get a lot of flak for saying this, but here goes... I'm going to be blunt here: this is my least favorite game of all time. Why? It's a blatant money making scheme that almost insults the intelligence of the simulation gamer. The game itself is a pretty OK simulation game that can keep your attention for an hour at a time, and maybe for as long as you own it about 10 - 15 hours total. Then you realize that the base game, overpriced already as it is, is incomplete. There seems like there should be so much more there... and there is! You just need to pay about $200 in area expansion DLC. Now here's where things get worse: there are now about $1800 worth of Railworks Train Simulator 2012 DLC. Only those $200 I mentioned earlier are justifiable, because all of the DLC besides those (and a mildly exciting Zombies vs. Trains DLC) are seriously them just reskinning trains (to an experienced modeler this can take less than 10 minutes). That's about $1600 in reskins that have had so little effort put into them. I don't know one gamer, NOT ONE, who can look me in the eyes and tell me that $1600 is a justifiable amount of money to spend on ANY game, much less a decent train sim, especially when most of that money is pouring into something that just about any modder could do in an hour or two. If you think the base game will be fun, wait until it's like 75% off and go for it, but DO NOT let it become a money sink-hole, and DO NOT buy into their scheme. You and I both know you're smarter than that. Full Review »
  2. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    I'm not sure how you can rate a game a 0 just because it has over $1000 of DLC. Most games, or simulators of this type have lots of contentI'm not sure how you can rate a game a 0 just because it has over $1000 of DLC. Most games, or simulators of this type have lots of content made by 3rd parties. Just look at all the content for Microsoft Flight Simulator. This actually makes the game more interesting because you can add what you want and keeps the replay value high. That being said I think the game should be rated on it's merits. This game does exactly what it says. If your interested in driving a train through beautiful landscapes and challenging environments, then this game is for you. If you have no interest in driving a train, don't buy it. It is definately made for a select niche of simulator fans. And for these fans it's an awesome simulator. Make sure you have the machine to run it though. Full Review »
  3. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    I like simulators and the better they are, the more I like them. The whole idea of a sim is to engross yourself into something you could notI like simulators and the better they are, the more I like them. The whole idea of a sim is to engross yourself into something you could not otherwise do maybe due to cost, or because you've retired etc. This sim includes wonderful detail and drive-ability and I like to get completely lost in it after a stressful day at work. The only shortcoming is the hooter sound on some loco's. Considering how fantastic the diesel engines sound and their power, some of the hooters are embarrassing! Obviously electronic synth. I don't believe this is my PC since the engine, doors, ambient sounds etc are all really good. Can we please have a free sound upgrade??
    Fantastic sim tho!!!
    Full Review »