Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 289 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rayman Legends is the follow-up to last year's Rayman Origins and aims to bring innovative multiplayer interactions for you to use.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    90
    Rayman Legends is one of the finest platform games on any system. It's bright, colourful, clever, well-designed, and the vast majority of it is a sheer joy to experience.
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    90
    A charming and inventive platformer that understands what makes the genre special, and never rests on its laurels.
  3. Sep 5, 2013
    90
    Rayman Legends falls just short of being an absolutely timeless classic, but that’s just about the worst thing anyone can say about it. It’s every bit as good as its predecessor — stronger on some fronts and a little weaker on others — and continues to strengthen Rayman’s position as an enduring gaming mascot.
  4. Sep 11, 2013
    90
    While in many ways superior to Origins I’m giving it the same score because it’s a little bit too similar in places, nevertheless Rayman Legends is one of the best platformers of all time and you should definitely buy it if you want to have a smile on your face.
  5. Sep 2, 2013
    85
    The soundtrack is 100 percent tuned into the environment, which is terrific!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Ubisoft has brought this supposed-to-be WiiU exclusive game to pc,ps3 and xbox 360 and i have to say that they have done a fine job.StunningUbisoft has brought this supposed-to-be WiiU exclusive game to pc,ps3 and xbox 360 and i have to say that they have done a fine job.Stunning visuals,great level design(you'll never get bored as you will witness something new and creative in every level),tons of levels(main game is roughly about 12 hours) and special mention to the background score.The game has a nice mixture of easy and tough levels.For gamers who want challenging levels, its gonna be extremely fun.Four player co-op is an absolute treat, and will be a lot more easier to play than single-player.It will be among the best platformers ever. Go for it! Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    This game is the single best platformer I have ever played. It is colorful, fun, and full of imagination. Make sure you have a solid gamepad though.
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    I've been a die hard fan of rayman games since the old days of dos and I have to say, Ubisoft did it again with another spectacularI've been a die hard fan of rayman games since the old days of dos and I have to say, Ubisoft did it again with another spectacular platforming experience. This game is about as perfect as platformers can get with a phenomenal sound track, beautiful level design and a slick control scheme (assuming you are using a gamepad of some sort). The only complaint I have throughout the entire game is the fact that the keyboard controls are kind of wonky, but if you have gamepad that problem is eliminated completely. All in all, if you are even the slightest bit interested in platforming style games, this is a must buy. Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    Very rarely i have the pleasure of witnessing such a level of creativity and quality in a game. I am really glad they haven't made it consoleVery rarely i have the pleasure of witnessing such a level of creativity and quality in a game. I am really glad they haven't made it console exclusive because i would've lost the change of experiencing such and incredible game. Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    So, I didn't play Origins and I decided to pick this up because I wanted to check out Rayman's modern offering, and Rayman Legends didn'tSo, I didn't play Origins and I decided to pick this up because I wanted to check out Rayman's modern offering, and Rayman Legends didn't disappoint. The game controls fluidly, especially with a controller, although if you rebind the keys to something sane, the keyboard controls work fine. The main thing that makes the game good, though, is the great design of everything, from the daily challenges, to the individual and varied sequences of levels, even to the hub world from which you select levels everything feels polished and perfectly designed. The game varies heavily, one world focuses heavily on wind currents, having a Zero-Wing style shooting mini game at one point, while a later world is focused on James Bond 2D 'stealth' (more timing-based, but it still feels like stealth). In the end, Rayman Legends is just a fantastic game, and it's so good that if I owned a PS Vita and Wii U I'd buy it again for those systems. It has endless, polished, well designed content. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2015
    8
    As of late, the 2D platforming genre has seen a bit of a resurgence, especially in indie games like Super Meat Boy, I Wanna Be The Guy and toAs of late, the 2D platforming genre has seen a bit of a resurgence, especially in indie games like Super Meat Boy, I Wanna Be The Guy and to a lesser extent in more high-profile titles New Super Mario Bros. and the like. Rayman Legends, the sequel to 2011's reboot of the Rayman series, Rayman Origins, is one such platformer, and quite possibly one of the best in its genre.

    Rayman Legends, like its predecessor, is very simple in terms of its gameplay: Run, jump and punch your way through each of the levels, rescuing the small, fairy-like Teensies (who replace Origins' Electoons) as you go. It's actually quite a good thing the gameplay is this simple, because this game's difficulty is certainly not to be sniffed at. On some of the Challenge levels in particular it might take someone many different tries to get past a particular area of the game, and whilst at first this may seem aggravating there's no feeling quite like finally completing that ONE level. Another interesting addition is the Murfy mechanic - whilst playing, the player can use Murfy to guide their character through the level, by for instance moving platforms or distracting enemies, adding a little variety to the gameplay whilst still retaining the simplicity that makes it so enjoyable. There are also additional characters, but the differences are mostly cosmetic and don't change the gameplay, though in all honesty this is more to the game's benefit, since the gameplay is OK as it is, and doesn't really need any different character abilities to make it any better.

    Also like Origins, Legends' story is barebones, quite possibly to the overall game's benefit. Not focusing much on the story means that the player can divert their attention to actually enjoying the gameplay and uniquer art style, which are the game's main points.

    I have but two overarching criticisms of this version, however: First of all, the implementaion of the uPlay DRM system, even on the Steam version, which is unnecessary and cumbersome. Second: This game was clearly meant for the Wii U, a fact that shows as you play the game. I thought that maybe the Wii U's features would transfer more easily to the PC, but unfortunately Ubisoft didn't really take advantage of the keyboard ands mouse in the same way they took advantage of the Wii U's gamepad. Actions formerly performed by the player themselves as Murfy on the Touch Pad are now performed with a single touch of a button on the controller, which if you ask me is a bit of a missed opportunity.

    To summarise, despite clearly being designed for the Wii U, Rayman Legends is the best anyone could ask from a platforming game. It's challenging, it has funny characters, enjoyable levels, it doesn't focus too much on the plot, and most importantly - It will keep you entertained for a VERY long time. Yes, it can get very, VERY difficult, but as you play it, you realise that that's the whole point: Trial and error, improving with every failed attempt, slowly but surely perfecting your strategy. And it's exactly that that makes Rayman Legends special.
    Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2015
    0
    Unoptimized crap of a bame. I have a beast of a pc as far as 2015 gaming pc's go and this game still plays only at 15fps! Was excited to tryUnoptimized crap of a bame. I have a beast of a pc as far as 2015 gaming pc's go and this game still plays only at 15fps! Was excited to try the game out after i read alot of reviews online. But i never try getting past the first level because the game performs so bad. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews