Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 295 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rayman Legends is the follow-up to last year's Rayman Origins and aims to bring innovative multiplayer interactions for you to use.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    90
    Rayman Legends is one of the finest platform games on any system. It's bright, colourful, clever, well-designed, and the vast majority of it is a sheer joy to experience.
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    90
    A charming and inventive platformer that understands what makes the genre special, and never rests on its laurels.
  3. Sep 5, 2013
    90
    Rayman Legends falls just short of being an absolutely timeless classic, but that’s just about the worst thing anyone can say about it. It’s every bit as good as its predecessor — stronger on some fronts and a little weaker on others — and continues to strengthen Rayman’s position as an enduring gaming mascot.
  4. Sep 11, 2013
    90
    While in many ways superior to Origins I’m giving it the same score because it’s a little bit too similar in places, nevertheless Rayman Legends is one of the best platformers of all time and you should definitely buy it if you want to have a smile on your face.
  5. Sep 2, 2013
    85
    The soundtrack is 100 percent tuned into the environment, which is terrific!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    This game is the single best platformer I have ever played. It is colorful, fun, and full of imagination. Make sure you have a solid gamepad though.
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    I've been a die hard fan of rayman games since the old days of dos and I have to say, Ubisoft did it again with another spectacularI've been a die hard fan of rayman games since the old days of dos and I have to say, Ubisoft did it again with another spectacular platforming experience. This game is about as perfect as platformers can get with a phenomenal sound track, beautiful level design and a slick control scheme (assuming you are using a gamepad of some sort). The only complaint I have throughout the entire game is the fact that the keyboard controls are kind of wonky, but if you have gamepad that problem is eliminated completely. All in all, if you are even the slightest bit interested in platforming style games, this is a must buy. Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Ubisoft has brought this supposed-to-be WiiU exclusive game to pc,ps3 and xbox 360 and i have to say that they have done a fine job.StunningUbisoft has brought this supposed-to-be WiiU exclusive game to pc,ps3 and xbox 360 and i have to say that they have done a fine job.Stunning visuals,great level design(you'll never get bored as you will witness something new and creative in every level),tons of levels(main game is roughly about 12 hours) and special mention to the background score.The game has a nice mixture of easy and tough levels.For gamers who want challenging levels, its gonna be extremely fun.Four player co-op is an absolute treat, and will be a lot more easier to play than single-player.It will be among the best platformers ever. Go for it! Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    So, I didn't play Origins and I decided to pick this up because I wanted to check out Rayman's modern offering, and Rayman Legends didn'tSo, I didn't play Origins and I decided to pick this up because I wanted to check out Rayman's modern offering, and Rayman Legends didn't disappoint. The game controls fluidly, especially with a controller, although if you rebind the keys to something sane, the keyboard controls work fine. The main thing that makes the game good, though, is the great design of everything, from the daily challenges, to the individual and varied sequences of levels, even to the hub world from which you select levels everything feels polished and perfectly designed. The game varies heavily, one world focuses heavily on wind currents, having a Zero-Wing style shooting mini game at one point, while a later world is focused on James Bond 2D 'stealth' (more timing-based, but it still feels like stealth). In the end, Rayman Legends is just a fantastic game, and it's so good that if I owned a PS Vita and Wii U I'd buy it again for those systems. It has endless, polished, well designed content. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2014
    8
    Usually even if I try my best, I can't 100% a large majority of games, I only finish them and then move to another one, but both RaymanUsually even if I try my best, I can't 100% a large majority of games, I only finish them and then move to another one, but both Rayman Origins and Legends kept me busy for a long period, and i probably will replay them sometime or another. Legends takes what Origins did by itself really well and makes it even better!

    Every world but also every level feels different, and they do not have any resemblance to the ones in the first game (And even if you miss them, there is a section of the game that allows you to "replay" many levels of Origins, so I suggest you could buy Legends if you didn't play the first one), so you'll have the actual feeling that you are not playing a cheap DLC but a real successor.

    Other than the story mode there are many other modes that makes the game even longer, like the challenges, which are not hard to end, but taking a gold trophy? That's another story. You'll have to try many times to take one and to maintain a good ranking position. There are also multiplayer modes that i didn't actually play, so there is even more of what I'm trying to explain!

    It's a nice platformer and not hard to play, i would recommend this even to players not fond to this genre.
    Expand
  6. Jul 4, 2014
    8
    I like the game, I really do. Fun and often challenging, but it has near-enough no story and much less charm than the original Rayman title.I like the game, I really do. Fun and often challenging, but it has near-enough no story and much less charm than the original Rayman title. Yes okay you can play like 20 different characters, but even Mario games can afford to give them different abilities, enough to change the gameplay.

    Now I haven't been with the Rayman franchise's evolution, but the open, exploration platformer that the first game was is nowhere to be seen, taking a faster, quicker and linear pace; even in the non-action levels.

    So the game is good but not quite exceptional. Fun but it has lost something important to the years.

    Close but no cigar.
    Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2015
    0
    Unoptimized crap of a bame. I have a beast of a pc as far as 2015 gaming pc's go and this game still plays only at 15fps! Was excited to tryUnoptimized crap of a bame. I have a beast of a pc as far as 2015 gaming pc's go and this game still plays only at 15fps! Was excited to try the game out after i read alot of reviews online. But i never try getting past the first level because the game performs so bad. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews